• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

SFL Div One 2013

Soooo, thoughts from the weekend everyone?

Chelsea Heights continue to get the job done.. not to mention the return of Travis Johnstone.
The Heighters look a genuine chance to finally go all the way this season, with plenty of depth and their star players firing.

St.Pauls edged their way to a close win over Dingley with no Luke James. Anyone know what the story is with him?

East Brighton sit outside the top 5 for the first time in a long time!

It's certainly nice to have a few players back from injury. We had a legit 20 odd injuries through the club for the 1st half a dozen games, which was really stretching our depth.

Everyone is pretty happy at Dingley with their effort. Were within a goal with 4 or so minutes on the clock. James was a loss for them with an infection and Barnes is back training but Dingley probably had their best onballer out (Sawers) best forward (Ball) out and still have Luke Forrest to return in the second half of the year as well as Fridman who is coming back from 10 months off through the seconds. Let's just hope finals aren't at Clayton.

Got our footy's today... Chelt & St. Pauls boys, have you got yours?
580362_10151396343495146_1207819845_n.jpg

Forfeit by Highett in the Ressies.Pretty disappointing turn of events for Highett and for St Pauls. On a positive note it was good to see Heatherton ressies get up for a win against East Malvern. SFL Executive has a lot of thinking to do over the summer about the Div 1 structure next season. Clearly three teams are not upto Div 1 football.

That is why the 2 up 2 down system should at least be trialled so as the obviously 2 weakest sides in Div one can regroup and become viable in div 2 otherwise they will possibly fold. The gap between Div 1 and 2 is massive and not sure if a div 2 club is up to the challenge of div 1 either at the moment.

Handy win from our boys on the weekend... Generally have really tight games v Chelt but snuck away in the 3rd 1/4 keeping them scoreless I think.

Pretty thankful the bye is this week though.

As soon as the rain came, the game changed. If it stayed dry, I think we would have been in it right until the end, but the bigger bodies just took over the game.
I thought your game and the E.Bri v Clay games would have been a lot closer.
They said on the radio you were missing a couple of players, is this true and if so the bye should be helpful.
How did TJ go

We were missing a few and the Heights were nearly at full strength from what they were saying. Not that its an excuse, the better team won the game.

Johnstone was pretty good. Looks to be carrying a few extra kgs but still class when he has the ball.

Totally fair to say that he's a bit underdone.. But as you said, when he gets it, he generally does something good with it. His instruction and leadership on the ground is invaluable though, as is his input at training.

We probably have 1 to come back in.

What happened to Clayton? That was the big surprise of the round for me.
Me too. I went along expecting an upset due to the weather. East were more desperate and harder at the ball whereas Clayton got sucked in and played the man. Both sides may cop suspensions from the game though.

Great to see St Pauls have signed ex Casey Scorpions Skipper and B&F Winner Steve Harrison. A great get for the club! Looking forward to seeing him pulling on the Doggies jumper!

footy never ceases to amaze why would stpauls recruit another mid whose asking price is a $1000 a game (cant wait for #10's response) when you bat 10 deep there already plus barnesy will play 2nd half, a couple of players will have there noises out of joint as they will be in the twos guaranteed, and number 10 sorry to moz ya mate but i reckon from what i hear you will 1st cab.

having seen this thing done in the past it can unsettle a club believe, why would you do it when youve got the comp covered by 5 goals anyway????????

footy never ceases to amaze why would stpauls recruit another mid whose asking price is a $1000 a game (cant wait for #10's response) when you bat 10 deep there already plus barnesy will play 2nd half, a couple of players will have there noises out of joint as they will be in the twos guaranteed, and number 10 sorry to moz ya mate but i reckon from what i hear you will 1st cab.

having seen this thing done in the past it can unsettle a club believe, why would you do it when youve got the comp covered by 5 goals anyway????????
Sounds like it's win a flag at whatever cost. Harro gave away coaching at Chelsea and was on decent coin. To bring him out of retirement the offer must have been good because his body is pretty banged up and he already has a decent job.

That is why the 2 up 2 down system should at least be trialled so as the obviously 2 weakest sides in Div one can regroup and become viable in div 2 otherwise they will possibly fold. The gap between Div 1 and 2 is massive and not sure if a div 2 club is up to the challenge of div 1 either at the moment.
2 up 2 down will never work! As you point out it might be beneficial for 2 sides to go down given the current environment but circumstances this year are more unusual than recent times. Generally Div 1 may have 1 basket case, this year there are 3. What needs to be addressed is what can come up. Bentleigh , Springy, Oakleigh, Skye? The only Div 2 club IMO that could have a long term future in Div 1 is Bentleigh but their attitude will need change. Apparently they have $70K in the bank. Doesn't do much good there. But it's not the SFL's fault for Heatherton, Highett and East Malvern. It falls to the clubs themselves. So you may promote 2 Div 2 clubs and simply replicate the current undesirable scenario. Look at the situation Heatherton, Highett and East Malvern will never win a Div 1 premiership and never even threaten. 5 clubs have won div 1 flags in the last 20 years. The only likely contenders in Div 2 currently are Bentleigh and Skye but both are a fair way off and forget about Div 3 although Barnsey probably has visions of grandeur with CPL

Sorry Bug include Mordialloc in that but I wouldn't include them as a potential premier in Div 1

Sounds like it's win a flag at whatever cost. Harro gave away coaching at Chelsea and was on decent coin. To bring him out of retirement the offer must have been good because his body is pretty banged up and he already has a decent job.

apparently nigel carmody is going to play as well, look good luck to them , if youve got the coin spend it i suppose, also they probably wont get kreymborg back so??? lets wait and see