SFNL Div 1 2025

It was the federal government who have also found another $450k down the back of the couch to give them a new lighting upgrade. Expect the odd twilight match at the Beena arena over the next few seasons
Yes, that’s what I am saying. Other teams in the catchment area are struggling to stay solvent and all levels of government are throwing money at Murrumbeena. Its not what you know, its who you know.

And clearly the Elites in the area are all associated with the Murrumbeena FC and can turn on a government money tap to get whatever they want.

That football ground is state of the art and it is a shame that the money isn’t spread over other Clubs in the region.

Have St Paul’s lost Hunt,Ameet,Heynan, Purcell VFL Sandy?Big losses. King is a good outside runner.l don’t expect the Doggies to be much better than last year.They lack height at the back but they run well and are well coached!
The St Pauls younger brigade is coming through and some of them are extremely talented. St Pauls have lost a few but the players they have replaced them with are strategically put there to maximise team performance. The only knock on them is their toughness and some of the younger ones can be roughed up and lose interest which happened a bit in the finals last year when it was wet. They are extremely well coached as well and their ball movement at times is outstanding. They set up with a plus one in defence, win the ball and spread. Precise and quick ball control and movement to a one out forward in an open forward line. We will see how far it carries them but for mine, they are early favourites this year. Of course, everything comes down to execution on the day and they couldn't find a goal in last year's Preliminary final where they had every chance.

Just a shame it’s the size of a postage stamp

Having them as early favourites is mind boggling probably make finals but I don’t have them near the top 2

Having them as early favourites is mind boggling probably make finals, but I don’t have them near the top 2
We will see, there is an argument that they should have won the premiership last year.

Drew with Chelt late in the season, a game they should have won. Beat Dingley in the last round oof the season.

And went agonisingly close in the Preliminary vrs Dingley where they couldn't buy a goal (neither could Dingley I agree).

If they had got over the top of Dingley, I reckon they would have had the wood on Cheltenham.

Anyway, all three teams are mightily close and it makes for a great 2025 SNFL season.

We will see, there is an argument that they should have won the premiership last year.

Drew with Chelt late in the season, a game they should have won. Beat Dingley in the last round oof the season.

And went agonisingly close in the Preliminary vrs Dingley where they couldn't buy a goal (neither could Dingley I agree).

If they had got over the top of Dingley, I reckon they would have had the wood on Cheltenham.

Anyway, all three teams are mightily close and it makes for a great 2025 SNFL season.
For mine it’s still the top 2 out in front.
Dingley and Chelt.
Then throw a blanket over the next six sides. Anything could happen with these teams
Springvale
St. Pauls
Cranbourne
Port Colts
East Brighton
Narre Warren
Then, it’s up to Beena and Bentleigh to prove they are amongst that list or not.

Bentleigh are a strange club. They are in prime position behind the RSL club in the middle of the main street area near the library, yet they never spend any money getting any big names down the club. It has been eons since they have been successful. They pinch great young players from other clubs with big offers and then play them in the reserves. They just seem to be plodding along. Surely a big sugar daddy could come in and help them and get a kick out if such a well-located club?

Yes, that’s what I am saying. Other teams in the catchment area are struggling to stay solvent and all levels of government are throwing money at Murrumbeena. Its not what you know, its who you know.

And clearly the Elites in the area are all associated with the Murrumbeena FC and can turn on a government money tap to get whatever they want.

That football ground is state of the art and it is a shame that the money isn’t spread over other Clubs in the region.

The ground itself is ****ing average, the rest of the set up is great. CPL Have the best rooms I've been too.

Yes you are right. In the winter, their oval is extremely muddy, its that boggy type mud that takes about 3 washes to get off. In winter, the oval is a bit like the dog park near it.

Cheltenham v Dingley (toss up)
Murrumbeena v East Brighton (East Brighton)
Narre Warren v Cranborne (Narre Warren)
Springvale Districts v Port Colts (Springy)
Bentleigh v St Pauls (St Pauls)

Cheltenham, the defending premiers, could lose the first two games of the season to Dingley and St Pauls.

Bedders, we are truly blessed to have so many good teams and so many good games in different leagues in our catchment area. I try to get along to every Friday night game that there is as the spirit and values that local footy gives the community is second to none. Plus, there is always a smiling face and someone you know to chat to. Local footy is the universal language of the Victorian community and we should have gratitude that we all have something in common. It also gives you a chance to taste a plethora of different quality pies. God bless local footy.

Bentleigh are a strange club. They are in prime position behind the RSL club in the middle of the main street area near the library, yet they never spend any money getting any big names down the club. It has been eons since they have been successful. They pinch great young players from other clubs with big offers and then play them in the reserves. They just seem to be plodding along. Surely a big sugar daddy could come in and help them and get a kick out if such a well-located club?
What players were offered big money to then play reserves :sweatsmile:

Are we talking about the right club here ! !....

Everything you hear from them is that they will blood their youth and back them in. Which I do respect as it seems there are more clubs than ever disregarding youth and splashing cash for quick sugar hits to get to the top. That being said them and Murrumbeena must be eyeing off that round 2 clash already. An early win for either is a must.

St Paul's at their best are as good as anyone but their depth has been an issue for so many years now and I see no improvement in that regard again. Kreymborg will be out to begin the season too? I may be wrong on that though.

I have St Pauls making finals but I feel Dingley will be my favourite for the flag. Improved greatly with their recruits and will be hurting after last years grand final. I fear Cheltenham could suffer from a little bit of a premiership hangover.

My smokey are definitely EB. Great top-end recruits and have now solidified themselves in the division so they'll be prime.

Impossible to make a call on Narre Warren. They may just scrape in or dominate the competition. Who knows they may even be battling it out with Bentleigh and Murrumbeena !

It wasn't big money; Bentleigh give a thousand or so in "sign on" bonuses for a few young chaps from other local clubs who had never really known they could be paid to play footy before. As you said, it's the youth that they are targeting. Not only through their aspiring under 19s system but other teams' top juniors as well.

[emoji[emoji6]][emoji[emoji6][emoji6]][emoji6]" data-quote="Wild Thing" data-source="post: 0" class="bbCodeBlock bbCodeBlock--expandable bbCodeBlock--quote js-expandWatch">
Who has matches on this weekend? When and where?

Only one I have seen in Div is ormand vs Beena at E.E Gunn reserve

There’s a couple Div around

For mine it’s still the top 2 out in front.
Dingley and Chelt.
Then throw a blanket over the next six sides. Anything could happen with these teams
Springvale
St. Pauls
Cranbourne
Port Colts
East Brighton
Narre Warren
Then, it’s up to Beena and Bentleigh to prove they are amongst that list or not.
I think narre will finish top 2 they will be hard to beat, was only a praccy match but I watched them beat Berwick pretty easily last week with half a side playing,

Yes you are right. In the winter, their oval is extremely muddy, its that boggy type mud that takes about 3 washes to get off. In winter, the oval is a bit like the dog park near it.

The last couple of years they have used the cricket covers over the middle to try and limit the bog (has worked well) however right in the middle of winter it gets a bit shit (when the council ask clubs to stay off the track for two weeks)

Bedders, no one gives a **** if your beloved Ormond is spelt wrong. This is big footy not an English class.

Also are you going to suck off Tolongs in person today when you see him and then slag him off here after the game?
Steves a mate and reads this and we have a laugh , so go forth
It was a joke about it being spelt ormAnd as he did it twice
Maybe go and lighten up
Go the All Stars

SFNL Div 1 2025

Write your reply...