Since '94, a side from outside the 8 has made the top 4 every year. Who

Well yours was a pretty silly statement. North had a pretty horrible start to the year injury wise.

The Cats have been without Chapman, Scarlett, Rooke all year, Ottens, King, the list goes on. We have had only 6 players play every game, and that will be at least down to 5 after this week.

Trying to play down the efforts of the sides that finished ahead of you by claiming a 'dream run' injury wise is a little bit pathetic.

geez what a "special" piece of analysis.

The funniest thing about this thread is the way that Hawks like cschreuder61 and GALON threw massive hissy fits when it was suggested Norh were a chance for top 4 and were better than Richmond, Essendon and Hawthorn.
They just cannot bear the thought of it.

GALON in particular...what a knob.
I am sure he reads over this thread dasily (he logs off first so no-one will ever find out) but he will never put another reply in it. Rightfully so.

And a big shout out to our old friend Nip/Tuck who always thinks he is doing his credibility wonders but bagging out his own team. Get together with GALON, pool your money and I will give a crash course 101 in rating a list and understanding footy.

$1,000 2 for 1 Zebra limited offer. We will have you back on track to compete with the big boys on this board in no time.
Unfortunately for you Zebra, you seem to believe your own hype. It was a simple prediction and one that you were right with. Someone was bound to be. BFW.
I wasn't on my pat malone in tipping the Roos for the spoon.

From memory(can't be figged looking thru the thread) I was more adverse to the whole 'we don't want to finish last, so we won't' theory that you propped up your argument with.

P.s. Just went back and had a squiz, and I stand by my thoughts about our list and it's upside.
That was our main argument, and I still think our list is in better shape than yours. Like it or not.

i know its all hindsight but was it actualy that difficult to pick the likely top4 jumpers 06 to 07?

06 hawks - most could see as they finished the season they were a much improved unit

06 power - ok no good but a large injection of youth could have pointed to an expected improved side come 07

06 roos - no good as well but did laidley announce prior to the start of 07 that they has turned their game plan on its head & that a poor 06 was mainly due to his coaching?

so who can we compare 06 to 07

07 lions = 06 hawks
07 tigers = 06 power
07 bombers = 06 roos/06 power

wouldnt expect all 3 to make the top4 but surely 1 will

i know its all hindsight but was it actualy that difficult to pick the likely top4 jumpers 06 to 07?

06 hawks - most could see as they finished the season they were a much improved unit

06 power - ok no good but a large injection of youth could have pointed to an expected improved side come 07

06 roos - no good as well but did laidley announce prior to the start of 07 that they has turned their game plan on its head & that a poor 06 was mainly due to his coaching?

07 lions = 06 hawks
07 tigers = 06 power

I think Richmond and Essendon will finish 15th and 16th.
Improvements will be Brisbane into the top 4. The blues to leap up to midtable and the saints to scrape into the 8.

Interesting.

Port look to have added some speed to their midfied, and if Treadrea came back and was in form they could rise up the ladder quickly. Cornes at CHb, Tredrea at CHF and the Burgoynes in the guts is a pretty good start.

The Cats could easily rise into the top 4. Plenty of improvement to come from their core group and if Ablett can replicate his late VFL form, and Hawkins provides any type of presence they will have enough scoring options. They are very even over the ground, but speed in midfield is still the biggest flaw. May see Gary jnr spending more time in their which would make a difference.

The Roos finished 5th in 2005 and then had a year this year where pretty much every player played well below previously displayed form. If they can pick up a CHF in the draft to even half cover the gaping hole at CHF then they ould be a chance as they are otherwise pretty even across the ground. A new reliance on young guys in the midfield may see an inconisistency that would see them get that high..

Can't see any of the other teams doing it.
Right on the money.

The funniest thing about this thread is the way that Hawks like cschreuder61 and GALON threw massive hissy fits when it was suggested Norh were a chance for top 4 and were better than Richmond, Essendon and Hawthorn.
They just cannot bear the thought of it.

Your obsession and hatred for Hawthorn is nothing short of amusing now

I could argue just the same about your north supporters taunting us for giving away our future, and saying that we'd be bottom 4 for 3-5 years because of trading away experienced players. Not talking about anymore though I see.

But just choose to highlight what you wish.

We can't bare what? Its an AFL competition, I want to win a flag, not some stupid rivalry you North supporters have created because of hatred over some trading we did we you, and the taunts you received because of it.

Its you guys that can't bare losing to us, which is why you try to bring up the semi final at every possible moment in order to gain some sort of superiority, when in reality it means very little for 2008 onwards.

I was wrong about North, and admitted I was wrong, and impressed by what they did this year numerous times.

But keep taking pot shots nonetheless.

As I said its just amusing.

07 lions = 06 hawks
07 tigers = 06 power

and Dogs 07 = Cats 06.....

Lions probably, maybe Saints or Dons

Dons will be interesting. Knights will show just how good the list is vs how good the previous coach was
I tend to think we'll make an improvement, there were some very illogical decisions made in the last few years

Lions probably, maybe Saints or Dons

Dons will be interesting. Knights will show just how good the list is vs how good the previous coach was
I tend to think we'll make an improvement, there were some very illogical decisions made in the last few years

fair dinkum the delusion of your supporters about "how good your list is" never ceases to amaze me...

Who's next?

Since the final 8 began in 1994, we have had a situation where EVERY season a side from outside the top 8 has made the top FOUR the next season. Fremantle continued the trend for the 12th consecutive year when they jumped from 10th to 3rd this season.

1994: Richmond (9th) finished 3rd in 1995

1995: Sydney (12th) finished 1st in 1996

1996: Adelaide (12th), St.Kilda (10th) and the Bulldogs (15th) finished 4th, 1st, and 3rd on the ladder respectively in 1997

1997: Melbourne (16th) finished 4th in 1998

1998: Brisbane (16th) finished 3rd in 1999

1999: Melbourne (14th) finished 3rd in 2000

2000: Port (14th) finished 3rd in 2001, Richmond (9th) finished 4th in 2001

2001: Collingwood (9th) finished 4th in 2002.

2002: Sydney (11th) finished 4th in 2003

2003: Geelong (12th) finished 4th in 2004, St.Kilda (11th) finished 3rd in 2004.

2004: Adelaide (12th) finished 1st in 2005

2005: Fremantle (10th) finished 3rd in 2006

2006?: "X" (9th to 16th) finished "1st-4th" in 2007?

That means one (or more) of these teams WILL make the top 4 next season, barring an unusual break in the trend:

Port Adelaide
Brisbane
Kangaroos

Who will it be? The easy answer is to pick the teams that finished 9th and 10th, but if you look at history, 9th has only climbed into the top 4, three times, 10th has done it twice. 12th has done it four times and 16th has done it almost as many times as 9th! (twice.) So ladder position from the previous year is no real indicator.

For some reason, I'm gonna tip Port. Don't know why, just a feeling. I think the only teams I would definately rule out would be Carlton and Brisbane.

North Melbourne, Geelong and Port Adelaide i reckon ;). ..........Oh it's already happened.

This year it'll be Brisbane.

Interesting.
Port look to have added some speed to their midfied, and if Treadrea came back and was in form they could rise up the ladder quickly. Cornes at CHb, Tredrea at CHF and the Burgoynes in the guts is a pretty good start.

The Cats could easily rise into the top 4. Plenty of improvement to come from their core group and if Ablett can replicate his late VFL form, and Hawkins provides any type of presence they will have enough scoring options. They are very even over the ground, but speed in midfield is still the biggest flaw. May see Gary jnr spending more time in their which would make a difference.

The Roos finished 5th in 2005 and then had a year this year where pretty much every player played well below previously displayed form. If they can pick up a CHF in the draft to even half cover the gaping hole at CHF then they ould be a chance as they are otherwise pretty even across the ground. A new reliance on young guys in the midfield may see an inconisistency that would see them get that high..

Can't see any of the other teams doing it.

c'umon Zebra, whats your tip for 2008?

you suggested North could make the top 4.

They have no chance.

All of your unnecessary over analysis isn't going to change that.

No chance hey?

The longer this trend continues for, the more chance (if you take the whole string as a whole) there is that it will snap. I predict that this year no team outside the eight will make the top four.

Saints for the flag.

Yes, feel free to show me this in September when I shall eat my words, on the former, not the latter, hopefully.

Here are those words, sorry.

Wow, what a great thread.

One thing I noticed was that consensus opinion had the Cats as a lock for top four and now a similar favouritism seems to be emrging for the Lions, will be interesting to see if this is born out.

Freo played very well in 2006 and still have a lot of talent on the park, so they would have to be in with a shot in 2008 id Harvey can instill a bit of disipline.

Carlton have spent a lot of time 'rebuilding' and have some pretty good talent in terms of trades in Stevens and Judd, Kreuzer will play senior footy in 08 you would think, Murphy and Gibbs will improve, Fev up front, they could rise up pretty sharply, although I am not sure if they can make the top four without some more experience down back and in the ruck.

Are the Saints ready to put it all together?

And then there is the question of who will drop out!

I notice a lot of people answered a slightly different question when addressing that issue and gave us predictions of who would drop out of the 8, but for a team to get into the top 4 a team must get out of the top four, and if recent history is any guide a team outside the top 4 can't win the flag, so who is it to be?

I can make a case for all four;

Cats: Inconsistant year to year, premiership hangover
Power: shattered confidence after whipping, Aging stars less support for talented youth
Roos: see Power
Eagles: No Cousins, no Judd, no Chick, could come back to the field

Really is quite amazing how close the feild really is from year to year, isn't it.

Freo, Saints or Brisbane. I'm leaning towards the Lions, though there's a fair chance this weird coincidence will be broken in 2008, and no team from outside the top 8 in 2007, will be in the top 4 next year.

Since '94, a side from outside the 8 has made the top 4 every year. Who