Injury SJOGHCIU - Offseason Edition

Fair but this probably makes me less certain jamo is fit for this weekend and probably think he probably split off from contact stuff

Williams is split off from contact stuff because his spleen is still healing and they need a medical clearance before he can risk contact. Baker I don’t know much about other than it was said last week he was building his fitness ahead of a return to play

Contact isn’t an issue for Jamieson as such, rather he needs to be able to run and jump. If he’s training today with the rest of the group whilst not a guarantee he’s right to play is still a good sign

Williams is split off from contact stuff because his spleen is still healing and they need a medical clearance before he can risk contact. Baker I don’t know much about other than it was said last week he was building his fitness ahead of a return to play

Contact isn’t an issue for Jamieson as such, rather he needs to be able to run and jump. If he’s training today with the rest of the group whilst not a guarantee he’s right to play is still a good sign
Anyone that's training at the mo's a good sign...😂👍

Also Eagles don’t train on the “mcg” field that much. Unless they got the bloke above to do both pitches, which wouldn’t make sense then

Nah he did both pitches apparently - I might have said it confusingly, he was 'the guy' in Victoria who if they redid the MCG that's who they'd get is more what I meant, eg very good in Victorian climates. Just didn't have WA knowledge. Don't think we went "ok we want this one's grass to feel like the MCG, and this non MCG sized one to feel like WA" - I think we just backed him in and let him do his thing as he sounded pretty well credentialed albeit no body of work in our state.

Think we would have wanted both pitches with 'the best quality surface money can buy', the two including an MCG sized one but the surfaces were done the same (though obviously neither I or my random mate actually know the specifics of what was requested).

If the case wouldn't Perth footy club have 33% of squad on the injury list.
4 player out of 50.

Yeah not sure, think another person mentioned training loads but I'm sure it's of course a combination of things. Probably not likely to have caused heaps of new injuries but maybe a case for it making the niggles our players already had turn into an extra week out after a big preseason. Sort of a snowball effect where the oval quality might just be like a little section of the slope that keeps things rolling downwards

whis this NGA they're talking about? can they play this week?

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

NGA is Tyler Dewar - on our list as a Cat B rookie along with Jordyn Baker courtesy of them being part of our Next Generation Academy and not being drafted in the main draft

They are both eligible to play like any other player on our list although they are both very raw/undersized (Baker is also returning from injury so not actually available)

If you have one - or even two seasons - of a bad injury run, particularly when they are collision based injuries, then yeah that is down to bad luck.

But the same injuries, mostly soft tissue, to mostly the same players for 3-4 years is not bad luck. It's terrible player management.

The obvious starting point is the training ground, and it's pretty common for new grounds to be subpar. It took nearly a ****ing decade before Docklands stadium was decent to play on.

P.S. Yeah, totally late to the party on this take I'm sure.

The fact that The West Coast Eagles, a professional and historically successful club is having to resort to (possibly) playing a first year cat B rookie who wouldn't even get a run in a normal WAFL side in their AFL side is scandalous and embarrassing.

Tony Notte was at least a second round draft pick at end of his first season. Yes, he was the size of a mophandle, but at least he'd had a full season.

Dewar has had three months in the system as a cat b rookie!!!
Poor lad.

The fact that The West Coast Eagles, a professional and historically successful club is having to resort to playing a first year cat B rookie who wouldn't even get a run in a normal WAFL side in their AFL side is scandalous and embarassing.

Tony Notte was at least a second round draft pick at end of his first season. Yes, he was the size of a mophandle, but at least he'd had a full season.

Dewar has had three months in the system as a cat b rookie!!!
Poor lad.

At this stage Dewar is just filling out the emergencies. Notte had to actually play.

Cmon mate. We're all waiting for three players to get food poisoning or something equally unlikely. Maybe a Tim Houlihan-esque bathroom incident? A Hip-E bar suspension? COVID outbreak? Daniel Kerr / Ben Cousins stair pushing?
He'll play. The footy gods demand blood!

How long have we been in the comp and flying every 2nd week? 30 years plus.

Why is flying causing so many injuries now and not in the first 27 years of playing?

What has changed?
I can't be to sure but I imagine that players are playing longer than they used across the competition and the fact that we are travelling on average so much more than the other teams our older players (who are older than older players of previous eras) are more susceptible to soft tissue injuries than other teams.

That would also explain why Freo are not having these issues as their squad is so much younger than ours.

Having said that this is all unscientific speculation and based purely on observation. Could be way off the mark.

I can't be to sure but I imagine that players are playing longer than they used across the competition and the fact that we are travelling on average so much more than the other teams our older players (who are older than older players of previous eras) are more susceptible to soft tissue injuries than other teams.

That would also explain why Freo are not having these issues as their squad is so much younger than ours.

Having said that this is all unscientific speculation and based purely on observation. Could he way off the mark.

Strong username to content ratio

Bad Luck GIF by Wellington Paranormal

Injury SJOGHCIU - Offseason Edition