Soft flags

Brissie in 02-03 when the Pies kept knocking out the only team with half a shot?

I guess you are referring to Port Adelaide with that? Your right, Port probably were the only team that had a real legit shot of knocking off Brisbane in 2002 and 2003. But, we all know what happened, we just werent good enough in the prelim finals.

Who knows what coulda happened had we got through those pre-lims. Port coulda been the club that had 3 straight AFL flags.

Unlisted haven't won a premiership the last time I checked.
No alleigance buddy just stating the facts.Anyway you should be more worried about North Melbourne becoming remembered for being a glorified truck route than a footy team because when your gone university football club will be better remembered.In twenty years i can just hear it now.Yeah but we had Wayne Carey !!!!!!! You can hang your hat on that.:eek:

I think what he's suggesting is that your team finished 6th, and still made it through, something that wouldn't occur in the modern era. In all fairness you deserved to win the GF that year, even if it was because we couldn't kick straight.:p

5th wasnt it?

Changing the finals system wouldnt have made any difference as far as making it goes IMO... we win round one, and still face sydney in sydney in round 2.

Finished 3 games clear on top. Highest scoring team in the comp (by a whopping 228 points!!). No.1 defence in the league.

All this in what was frequently refered to as the most even season for ages. Soft??? I don't think so.

Pop down and watch a few training sessions of any AFL side and then come back and tell me that some teams win soft flags.

It was even after Geelong. We were all that far behind you last year, but still, that's a credit to Geelong as a team:thumbsu:

Pricks:D

No alleigance buddy just stating the facts.Anyway you should be more worried about North Melbourne becoming remembered for being a glorified truck route than a footy team because when your gone university football club will be better remembered.In twenty years i can just hear it now.Yeah but we had Wayne Carey !!!!!!! You can hang your hat on that.:eek:

Well it certainly is easy to dish out criticism to the Swans, and not be able to cop any back.

1996 was not soft.

North finished second with a percentage of 127.4, Sydney finished first with 123.9 and Essendon 6th with 109.2. Sydney flogged North to the tune of 79 points at Princes Park/OO/MC Labour Park.

North Melbournes average winning margin in the finals was 47 points. Essendon would not have got within a bulls roar of the Kangas in 1996.

That is weak and stupid. I mean at least be man enough first of all to show us who you support on your user name area so we under stand that you actually love your team and not be embarrassed of showing in public.

I for one hope the Kangaroos don't relocate. Their members don't talk crap like most people here do and that i like. when their down their easy targets and now with all this relocation crap its weak ! :mad:

Bahaha look at the big Cartlon supporter. Looking forward to your great dissapointment yet again champ :D

**** me, beats a team that didn't turn up and now he's talking like a dynasty is around the corner. Oh the joy of bringing you inbreds down.

I remember reading various comments over the years that rated certain years as "soft flags" - eg 1990 Collingwood, 1993 Essendon; 1997-98 Crows and even 2007 Geelong.

For various reasons the winners of these years were dismissed as lucky where things fell their way and competitors for various reasons had a bad run enabling the respective success.

I reckon its a load of crap. Theres no such thing as a soft flag. A flag is a flag is a flag and thats all there is to it.

That's what I like to see, opening and closing a thread in the one post. Hats off.

Double standards. You say that the Crows only won in 98 because of a 'soft, stupid finals system', which im assuming is related to the fact that we lost our first final, yet you lost your first final in your supposedly 'legit' 2006 finals series.

West Coast were minor premiers in 2006
Adelaide were 6th in 1998

Yes, a flag is a flag is a flag, but you can still be very lucky in the process. Geelong in 2007 were just that, you dont like it, stiff.

No luck in our flag buddy, the club got everyone fit, worked out an excellent game plan. No luck in how we smashed clubs over the course of the year. No luck that we finished top by a mile. And no luck that we decimated everyone in the finals en route to winning the flag.

Jealousy is a curse.

First off whipper - get over your stupid, jealous Geelong bashing. It's just ****ing sad and pathetic you fool.

Next the 96 flag by the Roos was definitely not soft. They finished 2nd only just behind Swans 1st. Smashed Geelong who were inconsistent but good on their day in 96 (and beat Nth both times in reg season) before convincing win over good Brisbane team at peak of their powers (before rebuild and rise in 2000s) and then belted minor premiers Sydney in GF. By the end of 96 that North team were playing as well as Geelong 07, Dons 2000, Blues 95 etc and one of the better units I have seen.

5th wasnt it?

Changing the finals system wouldnt have made any difference as far as making it goes IMO... we win round one, and still face sydney in sydney in round 2.

Actually under the current finals system you would have played Melbourne at the G in the second week of the finals and considering they creamed you in week one - game over.

Stating the facts hey. Don't see it in this post.:eek:

Yes, a flag is a flag is a flag, but you can still be very lucky in the process. Geelong in 2007 were just that, you dont like it, stiff.

A wooden spoon is a wooden spoon is a wooden spoon, Luckily the blues haven't found those to hard to come across recently hey ???? Here comes another one in 2008 i just have that little inkling

Doubt it,not while they have and think of the messiah.;)

AFL era
1995 - Carlton - legit
1990 - Collingwood - Sumich can't kick straight

Carlton's 1995 flag is 'legit' even though they blatantly cheated, yet we won ours by luck?

After the draw, we were unstoppable, flogging WCE by 59 in the replay, Essendon by 63 in the semi and again in the GF by 48.

Yeah, we were really lucky. :rolleyes: