Southern FL Div One 2015

Who will win the SFL Div 1 Flag in 2015

Not sure we are talking about the same thing here. Not questioning Chelt Rosellas efforts to make the SFL colts viable and they certainly made a strong commitment in the early days. But through no fault of their own their participation has ebbed and flowed. From memory a few times they were unable to field a team. Don’t profess to know much about them but they seem like a pretty good club to me who like others are trying to compete with the high volume of other clubs in close proximity.

Chelt Panthers are an entirely different club. Juniors only, play at Le Page Park, different jumpers and even a different council area. Going way back I seem to recall they were a merger of 2 other Cheltenham based junior clubs (St Francis and Chelt Assumption?)
Not disputing that many end up at the Rosellas but the panthers do not have an alignment with any senior clubs in particular. Would suggest that just as many, if not more of their juniors end up at St Bedes and Beaumaris.

Chelt Panthers is very much St.Bedes territory.

Jack Hellier, the McGettigans etc etc, there'd be as many Chelt Panther juniors in the senior footy side as St Bedes juniors.

They all went to St Bedes during the time when there was no SFL under 18s or Colts competitions. We had no hope!!
Super I am sure you like many would remember that Chelt despite all the challenges and blocks forged relationships with the Panthers and had nights at Chelt for them, sponsored the trophies, sent senior players down all the time etc, it wasn't easy but you guys did it and got blood out of a stone. Clubs that have juniors playing at the same ground are in a much better position to create that pathway. Just a thought but something that a third div club did that have been in the news recently whilst forming there club also formed juniors from under 9's up and now have about 6 - 8 age groups and building. Do you reckon you could get G brown out of his office to help set up an Auskick in 2015 then 9's in 2016 etc etc?? BTW great job on the radio just so insightful..

Hey guys moving up to Melbourne from Geelong and sussing the talents of a few different leagues, just wondering if anyone knows what league this would compare to down there? Assuming GFL or BFL (Bellarine football league). Cheers

St Kilda City were supposed to be flat broke weren't they? Aaron Purvis & Jay Bruno obviously playing for the love of the club. Next thing you know Ezra Poyas will be back at the Peanut Farm ;)

The signing of Purvis & Bruno are a double edged sword in my opinion. Let's hope they're still there after Round 8. Both don't have good track records for different reasons

hahah I don't think Ezra will be making a comeback, perhaps Miles Quinn though...perhaps even Johnny Mac..

Yes they were "individuals" to say the least.. throw in Tasiyan and Cassett and it rounds it off nicely. They could all play though..

Big Phil Smith definitely at the Vampires 2015 after surgery to his wrist. Pretty hard match up if he goes forward which would be expected. Former junior returning home! Apparently made the approach himself to finish his career with former junior mate Liam Bowman

Ha ha big Phil Smith still trying to chase that premiership.

Matt Andrews at Chelsea apparently just wants to play with Walsh and not against is sick of not getting a kick and getting told to get out of the space for the Chelt recruiting manager

I hear Canavan was all set to go at Chelsea heights and then found out the job comes with a s&it bag of peanuts...still no coach for them and Clayton, bit of a worry for both. Ryan goodes coaching keysborough so that's one option for Clayton gone, maybe Richie returns to help, 125th year for a proud club .... Not great.
In regards to the other mob, the coach gone, plus Walsh, no Big show again, probably no terech, apparently Young Erish is off to the VFL, puppet retired, Flack not returning... And maybe more, maybe they could get Mark Fitcher to coach them, has retired, might be a good fit

St Kilda City were supposed to be flat broke weren't they? Aaron Purvis & Jay Bruno obviously playing for the love of the club. Next thing you know Ezra Poyas will be back at the Peanut Farm ;)

The signing of Purvis & Bruno are a double edged sword in my opinion. Let's hope they're still there after Round 8. Both don't have good track records for different reasons
Bruno and Purvis, interesting...
You could recruit 5-6 good players for the price of these two peanuts!
Why is it that some clubs put all there eggs in one basket? Wouldn't you be better off creating depth within a list rather then signing a couple of so called marquee players?

There's a long way to go between now on round 1 or even February when the clearances open. Anything could happen and there are a lot of clubs that could trump St Kilda city's offers to these blokes
Rumour has it that Purvis was short listed for "The Recruit" but was cut near the top 50

Mighty, I am not full bottle on Purvis but Bruno just won a comp Best and Fairest in 2014 so he can still play very good footy, he started his career at City and may finish it there.

Southern FL Div One 2015