Yeah l dunno. Arguing with hard-core oppo supporters about player's you've never seen seems a bit odd.They might draft 2 stars
They might not
A lot depends on this draft with probably 3 a graders drafted recently (NWM, Pou, Wilson)
AFLW 2024 - Round 9 - Indigenous Round - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Yeah l dunno. Arguing with hard-core oppo supporters about player's you've never seen seems a bit odd.They might draft 2 stars
They might not
A lot depends on this draft with probably 3 a graders drafted recently (NWM, Pou, Wilson)
I would not want to be middle of the table or at a point where you should have completed a rebuild, but are nowhere near contending as Tassie sides are about to roll in. Would need to rebuild hard for the next two years STK and somehow develop from their existing core.
They've traded out of the best draft in 20 years for a 30 year old with back issues and made Josh Battle one of the highest paid players in the comp.Hawks fans are up and about aren't they. Saints made finals last year with a really young list then things didn't quite happen this year.
Lets hope the Hawks don't have a few things go astray for them next year. It doesn't take much. Margins are so slim. Some suggesting they might be premiership favourites are deluded.
Saints list has many holes. Club knows this and is working hard to fix things. We have drafted well in the last 3 years and if they can nail 7 & 8 this year we will be on our way. Probably due for a bit of luck tbh.
Don't get ahead of yourself.
Saints list has many holes. Club knows this and is working hard to fix things. We have drafted well in the last 3 years and if they can nail 7 & 8 this year we will be on our way. Probably due for a bit of luck tbh.
The two guys who we’ve delisted from the 2022 draft have both had pretty serious injuries. Van Es’s ankle might be rooted and Hotton has had a pretty significant back injury.Drafted very well in 2021 but 2022 looks poor given a number have already been delisted.
Phillipou obviously looks a real talent based off the back half of last season.
2023 is far too early to tell either way.
The two guys who we’ve delisted from the 2022 draft have both had pretty serious injuries. Van Es’s ankle might be rooted and Hotton has had a pretty significant back injury.
While all 5 of the guys we drafted last year had debuted by about R15 this year, which is pretty remarkable (especially as none came from the top 17) and suggests that we’ve picked well there.
We also picked up a 19yo Caminiti during this period and he looks one of the best young key position prospects we’ve had in a long time.
It might not 'sway' the argument strongly but given he was picked up that same off season as that draft crop and is basically the same age as them, including him puts it as two best 22 players from 5 brought in which most clubs would be happy with two years into their careers.Sure. He looks as though he could become a player.
I don't know that one SSP selection is enough to sway the argument though.
Got copper Sharman in mid season draft as well his looking very promisingI loved both Hotton and Van Es in their draft year.
Injury or not, it's hard to claim anything other than it being a poor result. It's certainly not indicative of having "drafted well".
Good on them but it's not that remarkable when you consider St Kilda was sitting in 14th spot after 15 rounds.
It doesn't suggest you've picked well, or that you've picked poorly. It's far too early to call one way or the other, and it really only suggests you turned to youth in a poor season.
Sure. He looks as though he could become a player.
I don't know that one SSP selection is enough to sway the argument though.
Jury well and truly out on caminiti.The two guys who we’ve delisted from the 2022 draft have both had pretty serious injuries. Van Es’s ankle might be rooted and Hotton has had a pretty significant back injury.
If this draft wasn’t considered so good I imagine we’d have kept him on, to see if he progresses.
Getting Pou from that draft means it’s hard to consider it “poor” though. Enormous ceiling.
While all 5 of the guys we drafted last year had debuted by about R15 this year, which is pretty remarkable (especially as none came from the top 17) and suggests that we’ve picked well there.
We also picked up a 19yo Caminiti during this period and he looks one of the best young key position prospects we’ve had in a long time.
Only time will indeed tell, but I think it’s pretty certain that this is easily the best group of young guys we’ve had at the club since the very early 2000’s. To which we can add two more from the top 10 in this years draft.
Going at 1 goal a game over his 33 games.Jury well and truly out on caminiti.
Could be good. Could be bad.
It was a point of MUCH discussion amongst the saints faithful early in the year, were we bottoming out and the 23 finals were a dead coach bounce and let me tell you i was scathing of them early on.Saints have got an alright list.
No shame finishing 5th to 12th. I mean if you can get a couple of elim final wins, why not get them?
Point is, Saints cant be rebuilding despite having 2 picks in the top 10 this season. they made finals last season.
Saints cant afford to rebuild like North has done since round 1 in 2020, it kills off the fan base.
They've traded out of the best draft in 20 years for a 30 year old with back issues and made Josh Battle one of the highest paid players in the comp.
Hawthorn:
View attachment 2153620
Hawks fans are up and about aren't they. Saints made finals last year with a really young list then things didn't quite happen this year.
Lets hope the Hawks don't have a few things go astray for them next year. It doesn't take much. Margins are so slim. Some suggesting they might be premiership favourites are deluded.
Don't get ahead of yourself.
I had a feeling Hawks weren't St Kilda, the colors gave it away.....The best draft in 20 years? That is not accurate. It may be the most even draft but certainly doesn't seem to have any standout talents. We have brought in two best 23 players which in some years is much better than what you will do in a draft. The draft is just one way to bring in talent. As far as us jumping the shark or getting ahead of ourselves well that's left to be seen. One thing Hawthorn is certainly not is St Kilda so stop comparing us to your failures as a club. Just because you failed after making finals doesn't mean Hawthorn will.
The lack of premiership cups at Moorabbin was another dead giveawayI had a feeling Hawks weren't St Kilda, the colors gave it away.....
Yeah I'll accept adding him into that draft crop. I am not convinced he has a long term future at the top level but he has already surpassed expectations for a player picked that late.It might not 'sway' the argument strongly but given he was picked up that same off season as that draft crop and is basically the same age as them, including him puts it as two best 22 players from 5 brought in which most clubs would be happy with two years into their careers.
If three best 22 from the 2021 crop is drafting excellent, than two from our 2022 group is better than poor.
Got copper Sharman in mid season draft as well his looking very promising
Exactly we have no shared experiences.I had a feeling Hawks weren't St Kilda, the colors gave it away.....
hahaha its ok we keep ourselves warm by surrounding ourselves with all those recent premiership cups mate.I for one hope the hawks really are finally out of basketcase territory.
We all know they don't handle adversity well.
View attachment 2154201
I think they raise very good points. St. Kilda certainly are not a loser club with loser mentality that use their public platforms to play victim and whine about how hard they have it while acting like a 15 year old who’s friend didn’t comehahaha its ok we keep ourselves warm by surrounding ourselves with all those recent premiership cups mate.
Wait let me try what was stated earlier in this thread. Hawthorn won a 3pete recently so St Kilda will win the same? umm no.
Yes, call me an arrogant campaigner but it has no effect on my team. In all honesty Hawthorn has nothing to do with this thread and is probably derailing it
Best draft in 20 years before the draftThey've traded out of the best draft in 20 years for a 30 year old with back issues and made Josh Battle one of the highest paid players in the comp.
Hawthorn:
View attachment 2153620
You would think St Kilda have won anything they way they carry on about their youthYou would think Hawthorn had won a premiership this year the way their supporters are carrying on instead of winning one final.
Definitely a pass and a free hit. You got him for nothing so really anything is a bonus from hereGoing at 1 goal a game over his 33 games.
He may not develop beyond what he currently is but he's currently hitting the pass mark for what you'd expect from a 2nd year key forward.