News Steven Icke leaves Carlton

Austin seems to be the name going around at the moment.
I know nothing of his capabilities. Is he a good peoples person?

Has been well respected in AFL circles for many years. Of course he has coached at AFL level, including State of Origin & worked under Mick Malthouse.

Having worked up close with some of the AFL heavyweights I think he is probably the ideal person to have on board in the next couple of years as free agency gets up & running. He will have as good an understanding of how best to make this work for our club as anyone in the AFL community.

All in all, a fantastic appointment if this comes to fruition.

This is pretty terrible timing when you think about it i.e. a few weeks before trade week. If any trade was going to be executed, the groundwork would have been done over the previous 3-4 months, and Icke would have been a major player in the negotiations. Getting a new guy in right now is not ideal. Presumably Swann does a lot of trade week negotiation stuff as well. I'd be surprised if we do anything in trade week this year, and that's probably not such a bad thing. Trade week's mostly a time for the weak clubs to fight over disgruntled fringe players from other clubs. Rarely will any significant deal get through now because everyone's holding onto draft picks. Anyway, we need a tough savvy negotiator who's good at creating Win-Lose trade deal outcomes in our favour. The idea is to subtly shaft the other club in a trade negotiation, and it takes some skill to do that e.g. The Fev trade, The Warnock trade etc.

:)

Greg denham reported on SEN earlier that rod austin is favourite to take over icke position at cfc . Your thoughts on austin ?

No idea about Austin. But we need a skilled negotiator with a heap of contacts throughout the industry and a lot of inside info. Apparently he's been working for the AFL recently - not sure if that's a positive or negative actually. If you believe the HUN (and that is a massive highly qualified "IF"), then the possibility of this departure would have been apparent to Greg Swann for quite a while, and so he'd almost certainly have been sounding people out as potential replacements. It's a very important appointment.

:)

I did some hard yards on a Cybex machine next to Steven Icke ,I had ripped my Rectus Femoris off the bone in a 4x100 at Olympic Park. He did his knee playing for Melbourne and did his rehab at Ashwood Sports Medicine ,circa 1986 I think.

If we do appoint Austin it adds some merit to the talk that Icke was in fact sacked/ forced to resign. Seems a bit odd that the very next day it seems certain that we have found a replacement in Austin. However I do acknowledge that the 'resignation' wouldn't have been dealt with in the last 24 hours, but rather the last few weeks.

FWIW, friends of mine worked with Curly years ago, said he was a top guy, fantastic to work with and popular.

He knows footy, for sure, premiership plaeyer, on the match committee with maltouhse at the dogs, coached Fitzroy '94 & '95, popular at Visy

Yeh Nah..who knows.

I did some hard yards on a Cybex machine next to Steven Icke ,I had ripped my Rectus Femoris off the bone in a 4x100 at Olympic Park. He did his knee playing for Melbourne and did his rehab at Ashwood Sports Medicine ,circa 1986 I think.

Ouch! Pretty sure Collingwood are going to have their rectus femorus ripped off the bone tomorrow too. Bad injury that one...getting the plaster cut off is a real bugger!

* regarding a few themes on this thread ...

- whatever the problem between ratts and icke: sticks would always support a premiership player / team mate / club captain / 200+ games player over an outsider - no discussion ...

- the mclean trade: troubling as it takes me back to all the high draft picks we wasted in the early 2000s on rubbish (maybe unfair as 'crock' mclean has probably worked his backside off to try to shake injuries) ...

- roos: there must have been something going on between him and the blues behind the scenes. otherwise it makes no sense that an astute football analyst would continually make unfairly negative comments about the blues / our game plan / our list / ratts in general ...

- malthouse: it took him 10 yrs to get a premiership out of the filth ... we don't need to wait that long ...

- whatever the problem between ratts and icke: sticks would always support a premiership player / team mate / club captain / 200+ games player over an outsider - no discussion ...

Why?

Thats the stupid attitude that got us in the shit in the first place.

Who gives a toss where they are from as long as they are one of the best at their job.

Icke was a great asset that we've now lost.

What are peoples thoughts about a Swann/Malthouse combo with a slight re-jig in roles? Swann to take all negotiation/contracts and Malthouse the list management /football tasks. Plausible?

Malthouse being appointed in any role would just be heaping unnecessary pressure on Ratten. As soon as we go through a bad patch of form everyone from media to supporters would be speculating/calling for Malthouse to replace Ratten. Not what Ratten needs.

That's all great in theory and exactly the way it should work, but clearly egos get the better of us at times.
It sounds as though Icke may have made his own bed in this matter and if we had to lose him because he didn't want to be part of the team then that's fine.
We move on.

Does it though?

Or are there other egos there that forced him out.

Does it though?

Or are there other egos there that forced him out.

What... are you seriously thinking that the rest of the club didnt want Icke in there?

If he had approached Malthouse before Ratts contract was ratified or binned, then he was well out of order and deserved getting his arse kicked to the curb for it. If he had made a tentative agreement in principle with Malthouse that he would be the coach of Carlton next year even if Ratts made his KPIs then he had severely stepped over the line.

We were not going to shaft Ratts if he made his KPIs and had a successful season. The club isnt like that.

However, I reckon that this is another part of your agenda against Ratts and Sticks and is showing your disappointment that the club is successful again and the board isnt leaking like a sieve anymore.

Told you guys as far back as mid 2009 that Icke was gone . Swann chasing Geoff Walsh and Neil Balme .... Alan Richardson looks red hot to get Saints senior job .... thank god..... easy way to get rid of him ....

Told you guys as far back as mid 2009 that Icke was gone .

I'm sorry, but if there was a problem worthy of getting the sack 2 and a half years ago, it wouldn't have dragged on this long.

I predict that Ratten, Swann and Kernahan are gone in the next 2-7 years. Judd will retire in two years (plus 2 and a half wriggle room).

it was mid season 09 , club had to wait for contract to expire to avoids costs ... anyway believe what and who you want .... the guy had no friends at the club .... now to get someone who can do the job properly..

Told you guys as far back as mid 2009 that Icke was gone . Swann chasing Geoff Walsh and Neil Balme .... Alan Richardson looks red hot to get Saints senior job .... thank god..... easy way to get rid of him ....

You obviously have some issue with Richo:rolleyes: as everyone at the club speaks highly of him, he'd be a big loss to us even after just 1 year in the job.

and you reckon a club will hold onto a guy they wanted gone got back in 09 for 2 years?????......right

tumblr_lpybock8cf1qiszdjo1_400.jpg

Has anyone heard anything regarding Icke's replacement?
Was anything mentioned at the B&F??

News Steven Icke leaves Carlton