Game Day Stuv's 150th game - Port Adelaide v StKilda: Saturday 29th July 4.35pm @ Adelaide Oval

Aug 25, 2004
Melbourne Storm, San Antonio Spurs
A look to the future this week with a team that is the youngest we've seen in years. Perfect time for the young brigade to take ownership of this team & show us what they're capable of.

No Riewoldt, no Montagna, no Gilbert.

Let's get out there & crack in hard fellas. We'll really need all the 24-29yr olds to lead the way out there, particularly Gears, Brown, Carlisle, Bruce, Newnes, Webster & Ross.

100% effort for 100% of the time & if they do that, we'll win comfortably. Make us proud boys. Get the job done :)

Edit: Cheers George , big game for Stuv's 150th. Let's give our 3-time B&F winner a good win in his milestone game :)

Rors should add Stuv's 150th game in the thread title!

Looking forward to this. We played them well on their deck early last year, stuck with them for three quarters. Obviously different circumstances now but our season is basically on the line this afternoon. If we don't win we fall even further behind the top eight and if results don't go our way we could be staring at being a game and percentage out with 4 games remaining. However win this and we find ourselves 10-8 with winnable games to come.

It's also the first time we've played without Riewoldt, Montagna and Gilbert since 2010. Not one player from today's side played in our 09 and 10 Grand Finals.

Congrats to Stuvvy on 150 games...took him a while to get there but has been a superstar for us the past few years.

I was lucky enough to meet one of our players during the week. He said the players were disappointed with what they dished up last week against Sydney, but he was adamant it wasn't due to a lack of effort but rather poor execution of our skills. He said the inaccurate kicking for goal had little to do with a lack of ability, but was due to the mental pressure players feel as they are lining up for goal. When I said that Port Adelaide was going to be another tough one he surprised me by saying that the boys reckon they're going to beat Port. He sounded very confident. Going by that conversation, I think we are going to see a very confident, fired up Saints this arvo.

I would be very disappointed if he said they thought they would get beaten . I feel confident even though I'm not sure why as they have had the wood on us for awhile . Maybe it's because we haven't beaten them for awhile because you think the tide has to turn eventually. I just hope we get a decent run from the umpires during an interstate game for once .

Really trying not to get my hopes up today, the funny thing is you look at the team on paper and looks not to bad at all.
We just dont seem to click as a team yet, maybe the players just don't trust/understand each other yet. Anyhow every time i
think we will stand up we get smashed so Port by 8 goals ;).

Really Hope White can find his spot and play the rest of the year out in the 1s

I dont care if we win 'ugly' take the four points and run.
Good to see White in the side.
Marshall will be better in his second game.
A lot to get excited for.
Hope Carlisle bounces back from last week.
I feel we'll need to curve Ryders influence today. Absolute barometer for them.
Pittard back in the side for them after being dropped, will have something to prove but we also have Mav coming in so that should cancel out.
Stuv 150 games well done mate, one of my favourites to watch when up and about.
I think we'll actually look a lot more balanced side without Rooey and Joey (hate saying that)
We should see the younger ones take ownership and rise to the occasion.
We'll be back on track if we win today, lose and you'd think finals is out of reach.

Very excited to see how the youngsters go today. Looking at the team on paper, the glaring area of weakness is the midfield. Not a lot of experience and genuine quality in there today aside from Ross and Steven (whose form has been way down lately). With that in mind, I think we'll be looking to get Armo back in the side soon, and Koby is a big loss.

Dunstan had a good game last week and can hopefully back it up. Steele has been a bit inconsistent lately, his best is superb though and he's still developing ( high hopes for him for next year). Acres I would say the same, but he's one I'd really like to see step up today. I think we'll need to see the likes of Gresham, Weller and Lonie go through the middle a bit too. We need to get better around the ball and at clearances - it's very hard to play the game well as a team when you're getting flogged at every stoppage, I think that was a big factor last week.

Some of these young guys that we feel get played out of position - well they're going to get a shot through the middle today I'd say, and I really hope they can step up to the plate.

The BIG inclusion is Membrey. I think you could make an argument that he's our best player now. He's just a pure footballer, amazing hands, attacking, goes back and impacts the contest there too.

A little bit of a concern is if the whether is going to be sloppy and what not, we look a little tall. Having said that, stoked to see Marshall get another run as he actually provides a proper relief ruck option and had a good debut.

Really excited to see how White goes. He is basically the perfect size and pedigree to be a dominant half back player. Has a searing left foot kick, nice and tall, hopefully he can play well and stay in the side for the rest of the year. I'm loving the makeup of our backline right now and he can add something.

When you look at this young side, the forward and back lines are looking very nice (with Paddy to come in of course). The midfield is the area, so it's vital that we get some more young guys stepping up in this area.

Over to you kids...

Cripes, how did Hawthorn manage to sneak up to just two points behind us? Need this win today - would throw a huge cat amongst the pigeons what with Sydney looking likely to go 2/4 for the remainder of the season.

A win would also allow us to sit back and have a proper lol at whoever loses out of the doggies and EFC tomorrow.

Go Saints.

I hope we bring our best game today otherwise say goodbye to finals this year.

Lots of things to consider:

Life without our veterans
Our young brigades
Young team dynamics
Our pressure game
Our kicking skills

Another strange selection for the Saints . With nothing wrong with Longer , according to Richo , the extra player the Saints took with them for the Port clash is Tom Hickey . So you take a player who can only replace one player in the team when they could have taken another mid or defender. Given that it's going to be wet and cold taking a spare ruckman when you number 1 ruckman is ok , plus Marshall is already in the side , just sounds plain dumb to me .

Lonie gets a game every week

I did the ladder predictor and changed a few wins and losses, we can finish as high as 4th if we win all remaining games and 4th last if we drop off and games go roughly as they should for other teams. We can lose one more game for the season and still make the 8, hopefully we can win this and have one up our sleave.

Very excited to see how the youngsters go today. Looking at the team on paper, the glaring area of weakness is the midfield. Not a lot of experience and genuine quality in there today aside from Ross and Steven (whose form has been way down lately). With that in mind, I think we'll be looking to get Armo back in the side soon, and Koby is a big loss.

Dunstan had a good game last week and can hopefully back it up. Steele has been a bit inconsistent lately, his best is superb though and he's still developing ( high hopes for him for next year). Acres I would say the same, but he's one I'd really like to see step up today. I think we'll need to see the likes of Gresham, Weller and Lonie go through the middle a bit too. We need to get better around the ball and at clearances - it's very hard to play the game well as a team when you're getting flogged at every stoppage, I think that was a big factor last week.

Some of these young guys that we feel get played out of position - well they're going to get a shot through the middle today I'd say, and I really hope they can step up to the plate.

The BIG inclusion is Membrey. I think you could make an argument that he's our best player now. He's just a pure footballer, amazing hands, attacking, goes back and impacts the contest there too.

A little bit of a concern is if the whether is going to be sloppy and what not, we look a little tall. Having said that, stoked to see Marshall get another run as he actually provides a proper relief ruck option and had a good debut.

Really excited to see how White goes. He is basically the perfect size and pedigree to be a dominant half back player. Has a searing left foot kick, nice and tall, hopefully he can play well and stay in the side for the rest of the year. I'm loving the makeup of our backline right now and he can add something.

When you look at this young side, the forward and back lines are looking very nice (with Paddy to come in of course). The midfield is the area, so it's vital that we get some more young guys stepping up in this area.

Over to you kids...

Members lack of height is actually an advantage when the weather goes to crap too. Wet should suit Dunny and Steele too as they won't need speed and just need to go in head down at the ball. Marshall has neat skills which don't get shown up in any weather and having played a fair bit of country and VFL footy should cope okay.

I think you will find we take a ruckman on most interstate trips and have for a while, bit harsh to have Marshall go up against Ryder in his 2nd game if something happens to Longer before the game. And if Longer is a little suspect for tonights game Richo is not going to tell the media that

This. Our ruck stocks and cover are very ordinary and Ryder is in the top couple of ruckmen in the league at the moment.

Can you imagine Billy going down in the warm up and us having to play Marshall as full-time ruck with Bruce giving relief or vice-versa? The only upside to that is we might be able to get the High Court of Australia to issue an injunction halting the game on the grounds of it being cruel and unusual punishment.

Off to bed for two hours of Kip before the game starts. Stating the obvious, but we really need this one! Young side, strong opposition, GO SAINTS!!!!!!

id love to see Acres break some tackles and kick to advantage, the Gresh get around the ground and sell some candy, and Dunstan get plenty of it both inside and outside, he needs to back last week up with a great performance!!!!!

Off to bed for two hours of Kip before the game starts. Stating the obvious, but we really need this one! Young side, strong opposition, GO SAINTS!!!!!!

id love to see Acres break some tackles and kick to advantage, the Gresh get around the ground and sell some candy, and Dunstan get plenty of it both inside and outside, he needs to back last week up with a great performance!!!!!
If dunstan is our best player then were in deep kaka