Expansion Tasmania Officially Granted 19th Licence

Saw someone on Reddit suggest a Devils vs Demons match during Dark Mofo festival.
I'd love that. Haven't been to a MONA festival but MONA is one of the coolest art museums I've ever been to and I've been to 25+ countries and seen art galleries in all of them.

Infact, Tasmania is more unique and interesting than most of the Countries I've ever visited. Tying in something as cool as Dark Mofo with a Devils vs Demons game would be super theatrical and impressive.

I wonder what players and clubs do re: contracts over the next couple of years.

I would assume the Devils will have the "Sign an OOC player from every club" type access the Suns and Giants had. Players might want to try and make sure they are available to the Tassie team if there's gonna be a few $1 million deals thrown about.

I wonder if they go hard for the Tassie born players as well?

Kids like Chayce Jones, Jye Menzie and Lachie Cowan. Maybe a few older heads like Nankervis and Kolodjashnij to help the kids for a year or two?

Will be very interesting to see what sort of list they are able to put together.

Watson half alluded to this on SEN.
The afl and the tassie team should be looking at talented juniors now, set their families up with jobs and houses in tassie, and have them playing and training in the region

3 years of investment with coaches etc, they'll be so far in front of other juniors, and dominate early

Watson half alluded to this on SEN.
The afl and the tassie team should be looking at talented juniors now, set their families up with jobs and houses in tassie, and have them playing and training in the region

3 years of investment with coaches etc, they'll be so far in front of other juniors, and dominate early
Didnt the Giants get hammered for something similar with Scully? Ended up having to put his dads contract into the cap.

Congrats to Tassie. So well deserved. I love the place and the people who live there and think it will be a huge success. I know some are concerned about the cost of the stadium for a small city but It will create jobs and be massive for the tourism and hospitality industry for decades to come. Bellerive doesnt cut the mustard and is in a terrible location.

I can't wait to go down their to watch the footy. They are also about to open a world class complex rivalling Barnbougle just 5 minutes from the airport. Combined golf and footy trip. Bring it on!!

Didnt the Giants get hammered for something similar with Scully? Ended up having to put his dads contract into the cap.
A bit different.
The giants used the dad to recruit scully.

This would be getting families of juniors who are still in high school to move to the state BEFORE they're eligible for the draft

Best way to get their list together is give them a bigger salary cap. If the AFL salary cap is 14 mill, then Tassie should be getting 20 mill for the first 10 years. Then goes back to normal. Then can attract players from others clubs and don’t have to give them as many draft picks as say the giants got.

A bit different.
The giants used the dad to recruit scully.

This would be getting families of juniors who are still in high school to move to the state BEFORE they're eligible for the draft
Is it though? Still a way of circumventing the cap.

I’m all for ways of helping Tassie retain and get players. A strong club down there is great for the game.

Will be interesting how it’s done and the media response over the next few weeks and years and how it differs from their response to the concessions to the Giants & Suns.
Cam Luke’s idea today for instance.
If you haven’t seen it.

Demon and devil is very much the same thing though. It'd be like having Saints and Angels. Just feels pretty redundant. Having the same first letter just makes it even more the same.
This is my concern.

Everyone obviously knows the difference between a Demon and a Tasmanian Devil visually, but without the context of the location, Demons and Devils are very similar.

They'll probably just be colloquially known as the 'Tassie Devils', and I know 'Demons' gets shortened to 'Dees' but you're compromising both teams' branding to begin with.

This is my concern.

Everyone obviously knows the difference between a Demon and a Tasmanian Devil visually, but without the context of the location, Demons and Devils are very similar.

They'll probably just be colloquially known as the 'Tassie Devils', and I know 'Demons' gets shortened to 'Dees' but you're compromising both teams' branding to begin with.
It's about as close as Tigers and Lions. They are both big cats.

It's much closer than that. Down to the alliteration. Demons and devils are synonyms. Tigers and lions are distinct animals.

Player retention is a valid concern I think.

I found hobart really depressing. Lowest literacy rate in the country. very white, not as much cultural diversity. seemed like a lotta old people too. But yeah actually the dumbest pol in the country, and that’s a fact sorry. Nice as they are. Not too much in my way of interests personally, but that’s just me, heaps of others are into outdoor activities, food wine etc.
Can't even begin to imagine the impact that a random statistic that you've pulled from a gvt website had on your trip down to Hobart. Those extra few percentage points in state illiteracy make all the difference!

It's much closer than that. Down to the alliteration. Demons and devils are synonyms. Tigers and lions are distinct animals.
Demon and Devil are different. It's the same difference between angels and God. It's not synonymous.

In the spirit of the recent "GWS Giants" just give them the name Tasmanian Terrors or something. Devils is too cliche imo
Giants is a great name, Terrors not so much, as bad as “Western”. 😉

I still don’t get why WB would be able to step in. Tassie Devils is bang on for them surely.

Enjoy your sentimental journey of joy.

Meanwhile…watch the new Tasmanian team become the biggest financial mistake in the history of our great game.
Does footy in Tasmania really effect you personally on any level? Seems like you have 0 investment or knowledge but are fishing for an 'I told you so' moment that will probably never come.

Expansion Tasmania Officially Granted 19th Licence