Expansion Tasmania Officially Granted 19th Licence

Enjoy your sentimental journey of joy.

Meanwhile…watch the new Tasmanian team become the biggest financial mistake in the history of our great game.
Welcome to our world Tassie fans.

You will get congrats from true fans happy to see you have a club of your own.
And shots by fools who take it as a personal attack that you get to support your own club.

Demons and Devils are very similar.
Fox Tv Help GIF by AniDom

Welcome to our world Tassie fans.

You will get congrats from true fans happy to see you have a club of your own.
And shots by fools who take it as a personal attack that you get to support your own club.

Thanks GG, we're chuffed mate.
Vics are just worried about us taking over the game again.

so if it was officially named the "Tasmanian Devils Football Club" and is always to be referred in full, does that get around any logistics for merchandising/trademarks? :think:
The problem will always be that "Tasmanian Devil' would be part of the name that would be on merchandise.
If it appears WB aren't defending their commercial trademark, then they lose it.
So even if they come to the party, some sort of deal would still have to made.

Demon and Devil are different. It's the same difference between angels and God. It's not synonymous.

Satan is to devils as God is to angels. "The Devil" is a particular fallen angel - i.e. Satan, but that's not to say there are not other devils in mythology.

To say demons and devils are as different/similar as cats and lions is simply not true. That's not to say the nickname can't work, but there's a lot of mental gymnastics from Tasmanians in this thread to justify the nickname when they could/should just embrace that the two nicknames are similar but that people shouldn't care.

Satan is to devils as God is to angels. "The Devil" is a particular fallen angel - i.e. Satan, but that's not to say there are not other devils in mythology.

To say demons and devils are as different/similar as cats and lions is simply not true. That's not to say the nickname can't work, but there's a lot of mental gymnastics from Tasmanians in this thread to justify the nickname when they could/should just embrace that the two nicknames are similar but that people shouldn't care.
I think the mental gymnastics is to say that tassie devils and demons are the same.

See what I mean? Tassies keep going back to "Well Tassie Devils and Demons are different" when not one person has contended otherwise! People are saying the two nicknames, specifically Devils and Demons are very similar. Just give it up haha. As I said, embrace that they're similar like some have with suggestions of building up a marquee game between the two sides.

They are pretty similar, but not similar enough to worry about. They aren't even synonyms and they don't rhyme or refer to the same creature. Like the Tasmanian Tigers would be way too similar to Richmond even though they are two different animals.

But again the nickname isn't 'Tasmanian Tiger' just as it isn't 'Tasmanian Devil' it's 'Tiger' and 'Devil' respectively. Or would the team be the Hobart Tasmanian Devils lol?

Hey Jazny, how'd you change your club to Tassie, I cannot see it in Account Details.

Should of happened in 1998.
Hopefully their stadium has a roof, TV audiences don't want wet weather footy week after week. IMO.
Practically absolutely but I kind of like the idea of a club with a particular environment and it’s own home ground advantage

Happy for Tasmania to get a team but I cant see it being succesful.
GC and GWS cant keep their talent in areas where theres lots to do away from the game, who's going to want to spend 3/4 of the year in a cold environment with little to do outside of training and playing long term.
This will become another feeder club.

Happy for Tasmania to get a team but I cant see it being succesful.
GC and GWS cant keep their talent in areas where theres lots to do away from the game, who's going to want to spend 3/4 of the year in a cold environment with little to do outside of training and playing long term.
This will become another feeder club.
Gws and GC were effectively junior clubs that were given an AFL license. The league didn't realise the work needed I don't think.

Tassie knows the worl they'll need to put in

Expansion Tasmania Officially Granted 19th Licence