NO TROLLS Taylor Walker racial slur

There's also a petition going around asking to ban Tex from entering a football stadium for 12 months. There's extremists on both sides of this.
Let's compromise... 6 matches, $20k fine and cultural sensitivity education

There's also a petition going around asking to ban Tex from entering a football stadium for 12 months. Where was the petition to ban Eddie McGuire from ever commentating again? There's extremists on both sides of this.
Where’s the petition for no more petitions?

I remember going to the footy back some years ago now at Footy park to watch games with Joel - he was in the wider friendship group. I have to say the a funny memory was at a showdown, a group of port supporters sitting in front of us in the members stand bragging how Tredrea was going to kick a bag on us and port would thump us. Well Truck did what truck did and destroyed Tredders on the day and about halfway through the 3rd quarter, these port flogs were getting up to leave with their side about 10 goals down. Joel - never a shy one, gets up and and as loud as he could say to them said 'no - you stay and support your side like you tell us to - don't go leaving now' the entire bay heard it and the port supporters got heckled on their way out. He was a real passionate guy and was good fun to go to the footy with

if it was me I would of just pulled walker to the side and said "come on mate what you just said is unacceptable behavior and you know better." he would of known he made a mistake straight away.

would I of reported it? probably not.
You're the sort of person who would fill out an optional survey with "no opinion either way", aren't you

Why even push this narrative if you don't care about something

"

Because the connotation of “leaning on us” suggests that we’ll be squashed and trampled so as to ensure the non-Aboriginal person feels empowered.

I can’t be more clear – a victim should not be the one consoling the perpetrator, as we saw this week."
This media campaign to analyse body language and phrasing is solely to maintain the rage.

It would also have been achieved by Tex saying nothing. No win situation.

That was Robbie Young putting his hand on Walker for comfort. If that's what he wants to do, if that's what he feels is right, then let him do it.

Robbie didn't asked to get dragged into this, and now he's copping it from "experts" for how he is supposed to act in these situations. This bloke needs to pull his head in. It's not Robbie's role to react on behalf of all indigenous people. He should just do what he wants to do. He's shown empathy for Walker. That shows strength. More than this author has.

interesting of the author to tell the victims what he should or should not do

i think the author is

What business is it of anyone if Robbie decides he’s gonna reach out and sit down as he did with tex to do that video where he consols tex?..

Are we somehow suggesting Robbie cant decide for himself what way he is going to deal with this incident?

I think you guys are grasping the wrong end of the stick here. That article is not having a go at Young for how he conducted himself on the video, or his decision to console Tex, or any of that. It's commenting on the fact that we often expect the victim in these situations to do the educating, or to be the bigger person, or to spare a thought for the person who abused them. Despite (presumably) not being done intentionally, that same pattern was perpetuated by Tex talking about leaning on Young for support in the video. That video was supposed to be about Tex apologising for his actions and going some way to healing the hurt caused to Young and the wider aboriginal community, not about his own struggles. No doubt the fallout from all this has hurt Tex as well, but that video was not the place to talk about that.

On the whole, I thought the article was very good.

No, we want change.
The AFL has it's flaws but being multicultural isn't one of them. (Perhaps someone with too much time could checkout ethnicity of the AFL players).
In this country, the AFL has been highly visible in it's work against racism. Unfortunately, pockets exist still in society and occasionally, these leak into the AFL population.
I'm absolutely fu***** shattered by Tex. He has been my AFC here since Riccuito retired and it hurts to feel so disappointed. It hurts to explain to my 6 year old daughter who wears his number in front of the TV on gameday that her hero has been so disrespectful.
However, in spite of my hurt, I'm more upset for my fellow Australians who feel they are treated as inferior. As a "white fella" I will never appreciate how hurtful it must feel to be treated as inferior in your own country. Racism is simply un Australian. We're far better people than to allow this stuff to remain as...meh, whatever.
I offer you my respect as a fellow crows fan here on BF. I'm not trying to pick a fight at all.

I've posted earlier of my thoughts on what the future might look like for Tex but for those who don't want to scroll back... Tex needs to remain high profile in his efforts to fight racism. Forget about talking footy as much as possible and focus on fighting racism. I can't see any other way he can rebuild his lost trust and respect. If he plays next year, it's only because he has achieved this to the extent that many have forgiven him. (But it will never be forgotten)
It's been a hard week for "the pride of South Australia"
You do realise that your angst is not felt by everyone. I can guarantee you I’ll be forgetting about this in about 2 weeks and I won’t be the only one. The worst thing Tex can do is bang on about it for all eternity. Bringing this Robby Young guy into it when he apparently was completely unaware is the real tragedy. Why the **** would anyone want to do that to him, I have no flaming idea. Then make him have to console Tex. It just gets more “corporate spinny” by the minute. Next thing some nut job will suggest young Robby should take poor Taylor camping and sit around a campfire and heal on country. It’s just tokenism, fake tokenism.

You do realise that your angst is not felt by everyone. I can guarantee you I’ll be forgetting about this in about 2 weeks and I won’t be the only one. The worst thing Tex can do is bang on about it for all eternity. Bringing this Robby Young guy into it when he apparently was completely unaware is the real tragedy. Why the fu** would anyone want to do that to him, I have no flaming idea. Then make him have to console Tex. It just gets more “corporate spinny” by the minute. Next thing some nut job will suggest young Robby should take poor Taylor camping and sit around a campfire and heal on country. It’s just tokenism, fake tokenism.

Does it really not bother you that a former captain and leader of our football club has said something that has the potential to create an incredibly toxic culture?

Don’t you want to see him take measures to win trust and prove that this was a horrible once off mistake and not a reflection of his character?

You do realise that your angst is not felt by everyone. I can guarantee you I’ll be forgetting about this in about 2 weeks and I won’t be the only one. The worst thing Tex can do is bang on about it for all eternity. Bringing this Robby Young guy into it when he apparently was completely unaware is the real tragedy. Why the fu** would anyone want to do that to him, I have no flaming idea. Then make him have to console Tex. It just gets more “corporate spinny” by the minute. Next thing some nut job will suggest young Robby should take poor Taylor camping and sit around a campfire and heal on country. It’s just tokenism, fake tokenism.
Good to hear your opinion.

Does it really not bother you that a former captain and leader of our football club has said something that has the potential to create an incredibly toxic culture?

Don’t you want to see him take measures to win trust and prove that this was a horrible once off mistake and not a reflection of his character?
Nope, it should have been dealt with in-house and never left the inner sanctum of the 3 or 4 people that may have heard it. He definitely should have copped a bollocking from the coach and someone in the club he looks up to. But I should have never been aware of it.

Walker apparently didn't want to do the video. His manager, the club and the AFL were pushing for it. It was a disaster imo and made things worse. For starters they should have been sitting together on the same row. Walker sitting in front and awkwardly looking back was odd.

I don't think he should have done it regardless of the pressure from the AFL and the club. He should have done a one on one interview with someone like Tony Armstrong where he could have come out of this looking a lot better than he has as long as he was totally honest.

If we are a possibility to lose one of our major sponsors they will definitely cut him and may regardless anyway imo. It sounds like Optus may be putting pressure on them. I think that's why the CEO is positioning the club that there are no guarantees. I still think if Nick's and some players don't want him back he won't be there regardless of what senior management says.

It's probably slightly unfair to lose your job over one real bad mistake but it's the reality of the world we live in. The issue for the club moving forward is that potential sponsors are going to view how we handle this and decide if they want to be associated with us. Added we aren't a onfield powerhouse of the comp for the next 5 years so our ability to sign major sponsors isn't easy. The problem for the club is that we have been down this path before with the camp and this was the straw that broke the camels back.

It's a good learning experience for all and the positive out of it is that it's created real debate throughout Australian society. If we hear rascist crap the offender needs to know that they will be challenged. Once this occurs it will stop. Rascists feel confident to say something rascist as they feel they are part of a bigger group. The more people call it out the quicker they will realise that group isn't that big.

Last edited by a moderator:
No, we want change.
The AFL has it's flaws but being multicultural isn't one of them. (Perhaps someone with too much time could checkout ethnicity of the AFL players).
In this country, the AFL has been highly visible in it's work against racism. Unfortunately, pockets exist still in society and occasionally, these leak into the AFL population.
I'm absolutely fu***** shattered by Tex. He has been my AFC here since Riccuito retired and it hurts to feel so disappointed. It hurts to explain to my 6 year old daughter who wears his number in front of the TV on gameday that her hero has been so disrespectful.
However, in spite of my hurt, I'm more upset for my fellow Australians who feel they are treated as inferior. As a "white fella" I will never appreciate how hurtful it must feel to be treated as inferior in your own country. Racism is simply un Australian. We're far better people than to allow this stuff to remain as...meh, whatever.
I offer you my respect as a fellow crows fan here on BF. I'm not trying to pick a fight at all.

I've posted earlier of my thoughts on what the future might look like for Tex but for those who don't want to scroll back... Tex needs to remain high profile in his efforts to fight racism. Forget about talking footy as much as possible and focus on fighting racism. I can't see any other way he can rebuild his lost trust and respect. If he plays next year, it's only because he has achieved this to the extent that many have forgiven him. (But it will never be forgotten)
It's been a hard week for "the pride of South Australia"
When I reflect back on my life and the things I used to say because thats what we did back then, to say that racism is un Australian suggests that you have no idea of how "whitey" has acted in the past. Racism has been part of the Australian landscape for years. We have often told jokes about "abos" that reflected poorly on them. We have often referred to aboriginals in the same manner that Tex expressed. We have been a nation of racists and we still are.

We also had a total lack of understanding about what the Jews went through and similarly, years ago, we would tell jokes about the Jews and had a good laugh at their expense. But when you learn more about what they went through and visit some of the Jewish Cultural Exhibitions (fantastic exhibition in Washington) you start to reflect on your thoughts and comments that you made when you were young. Today most people have changed their attitudes towards the Jews.

I personally think, we are changing our attitude but its hard to change something that was drummed into you as a kid. I sure that Tex's comment came from the things that were said back in country Broken Hill when he was young and the expectations from his peers that he would say the same things. As each generation moves through society so too will our attitude towards racism change. But means it will be a slow process.

Its bloody hard to force change. It wont happen over night but it will happen. (heard that before)

Tex is a hero to many young people. They respect and admire him. He's not perfect and not eloquent. Hes a bit rough around the edges but its that larrikinism that makes him likeable. He could be the "white man" to help make a real change in our (Aussie Rules fan's) attitude to how we treat our first generation, perhaps even more so than having an aboriginal trying to make us change. If Tex can stand up and try to educate us about racism I think a lot of people would listen. Imagine Tex and Eddie doing it together. The media would support them. They would get the exposure that is needed.

If we hear rascist crap the offender needs to know that they will be challenged. Once this occurs it will stop. Rascists feel confident to say something rascist as they feel they are part of a bigger group. The more people call it out the quicker they will realise that group isn't that big.
This, kudos.
There are not enough letters in the word 'like' to say how much I liked and respect this point-of-view.
It applies to racism, and sexism, and homophobia and all hate-behaviours.

What we tolerate with respect to these unacceptable behaviours, we will get more of.

they don’t own the rights to how people must feel & think

No but they make some valid points. Michael Long always regretted shaking hands with Damian Monkhorst, as he was pressured to do. There's always a lot of pressure for the indigenous player to minimize the damage quickly so everyone else can move on. It's an uncomfortable dynamic to witness in 2021.

Tex needed to front up by himself. The time to shake hands with indigenous people is at the end of his penance, not before.

When I reflect back on my life and the things I used to say because thats what we did back then, to say that racism is un Australian suggests that you have no idea of how "whitey" has acted in the past. Racism has been part of the Australian landscape for years. We have often told jokes about "abos" that reflected poorly on them. We have often referred to aboriginals in the same manner that Tex expressed. We have been a nation of racists and we still are.
I've made similar reflections internally about how I used to think/behave as opposed to now.
Nearly everything has changed with respect to women/sexism, racism (triggered by this incident and the discussions in here, and others), my views on friendships/relationships, drink-driving, substance abuse and so on. It's a part of getting older that no-one told me about and I like the changes and perspective they bring.
The upshot from the above 90-odd pages for me is that we all need to look inside and at least question some of our most deeply ingrained beliefs, because in my life they're the ones that have changed the most. We all need to be the changes we want to see --- yeah, that's a slogan, but I'm trying to live it, not always with success.
Was Adam Goodes booed "because he played for free kicks ... etc" ie it had nothing to do with racism? I used to think so; now i absolutely do not. It was racist but the people who booed him could not admit their own racism to themselves so they found other reasons. I was one of them.
I reckon that's happened in here. Some of the posters who have realised that they too have thought/said similar things to Tex's racial slur are trying to minimise what he said and its wider impact, lest they have to look inside and change their own thinking, which is bloody hard to face and do.
I think Tex is facing it and doing something about it. So should we all.

We also had a total lack of understanding about what the Jews went through and similarly, years ago, we would tell jokes about the Jews and had a good laugh at their expense. But when you learn more about what they went through and visit some of the Jewish Cultural Exhibitions (fantastic exhibition in Washington) you start to reflect on your thoughts and comments that you made when you were young. Today most people have changed their attitudes towards the Jews.

I personally think, we are changing our attitude but its hard to change something that was drummed into you as a kid. I sure that Tex's comment came from the things that were said back in country Broken Hill when he was young and the expectations from his peers that he would say the same things. As each generation moves through society so too will our attitude towards racism change. But means it will be a slow process.

Its bloody hard to force change. It wont happen over night but it will happen. (heard that before)

Tex is a hero to many young people. They respect and admire him. He's not perfect and not eloquent. Hes a bit rough around the edges but its that larrikinism that makes him likeable. He could be the "white man" to help make a real change in our (Aussie Rules fan's) attitude to how we treat our first generation, perhaps even more so than having an aboriginal trying to make us change. If Tex can stand up and try to educate us about racism I think a lot of people would listen. Imagine Tex and Eddie doing it together. The media would support them. They would get the exposure that is needed.
The Jewish museum in Berlin really opened up my eyes to the horrors of what the Jewish race was subjected to. I will never forget some of those images. Disturbing but life changing.

As gutted as I am about Tex, copping the Vic media pile on and this Port flog pouring on the petrol just pisses me off. None of them are wrong, but we just keep serving them up every opportunity to knock us down. It’s been a bad week to have footy players as heroes.

I think you guys are grasping the wrong end of the stick here. That article is not having a go at Young for how he conducted himself on the video, or his decision to console Tex, or any of that. It's commenting on the fact that we often expect the victim in these situations to do the educating, or to be the bigger person, or to spare a thought for the person who abused them. Despite (presumably) not being done intentionally, that same pattern was perpetuated by Tex talking about leaning on Young for support in the video. That video was supposed to be about Tex apologising for his actions and going some way to healing the hurt caused to Young and the wider aboriginal community, not about his own struggles. No doubt the fallout from all this has hurt Tex as well, but that video was not the place to talk about that.

On the whole, I thought the article was very good.
But he is having a go at Young.

Saying the video is “rehearsed and staged” (like that’s a bad thing? Of course it would be)

Calling out the term “lean on you” as though it’s a bad thing, which Young was nodding along to and acknowledging.

So now after experiencing racism, he now has to deal with his peers writing articles saying his response isn’t doing enough to address it, reverting back to the authors mums experiencing completing a census? What’s Robbie’s responsibility to fight for this man’s mum?

And the final lines are a direct spit in the face to Young.

I can’t be more clear – a victim should not be the one consoling the perpetrator, as we saw this week.

We would never allow that to occur in any other context.

And that last line is clearly wrong. It’s called forgiveness.

Honestly how do you think Robbie Young would feel reading comments like these?

Come on. There's no way "leaning on you" means squashing you as this 'author' says. It's his way of asking Robbie to help him understand the problem, nothing more. This guy is just sore that Robbie displayed some compassion rather than anger. Who's the bigger person here, Robbie Young or Joel B?
Certainly I hope Joel B never said or says anything out of line
Kind of depends which way you read that last bit. The way I took it, when he was saying ‘leaning for support’ he probably meant look to him for guidance and further education in his quest for redemption and forgiveness. (Not you personally) but there seem to be many that are over analyzing every single word of the video. Take it for what it is
Agree
Yeah
So now Tex isn’t just being publicly slammed for what he did but now for how he’s apologized

And the haters just keep on hating
Pathetic
There's apparently a petition going around demanding the club not sack Tex? I don't like where this is heading
Yeah , well just maybe this should have been seen coming by taking the course of action that was taken

Not rocket science

Walker apparently didn't want to do the video. His manager, the club and the AFL were pushing for it. It was a disaster imo and made things worse. For starters they should have been sitting together on the same row. Walker sitting in front and awkwardly looking back was odd.

I don't think he should have done it regardless of the pressure from the AFL and the club. He should have done a one on one interview with someone like Tony Armstrong where he could have come out of this looking a lot better than he has as long as he was totally honest.

If we are a possibility to lose one of our major sponsors they will definitely cut him and may regardless anyway imo. It sounds like Optus may be putting pressure on them. I think that's why the CEO is positioning the club that there are no guarantees. I still think if Nick's and some players don't want him back he won't be there regardless of what senior management says.

It's probably slightly unfair to lose your job over one real bad mistake but it's the reality of the world we live in. The issue for the club moving forward is that potential sponsors are going to view how we handle this and decide if they want to be associated with us. Added we aren't a onfield powerhouse of the comp for the next 5 years so our ability to sign major sponsors isn't easy. The problem for the club is that we have been down this path before with the camp and this was the straw that broke the camels back.

It's a good learning experience for all and the positive out of it is that it's created real debate throughout Australian society. If we hear rascist crap the offender needs to know that they will be challenged. Once this occurs it will stop. Rascists feel confident to say something rascist as they feel they are part of a bigger group. The more people call it out the quicker they will realise that group isn't that big.
As I said chock o’ block with corporate spin that just gets worst and worst the more it’s dealt with by disingenuous hand wringers. These morons can’t help themselves but botch everything they lay their fingers on. Time is the only healer.

Well if you can't answer the question then how tf are you winning the argument.
👍🏼👏🏻
Nope, it should have been dealt with in-house and never left the inner sanctum of the 3 or 4 people that may have heard it. He definitely should have copped a bollocking from the coach and someone in the club he looks up to. But I should have never been aware of it.
👍🏼
Predictably stupid club reaction is predictably stupid

FFS
😐
Sick thread boiz.

I think my favourite recurring bit is the gaming chair PR heroes who reckon they would’ve rescued Tex straight onto his redemption arc with the master stroke of seating Robbie on THE SAME ROW as our fallen hero - seemingly oblivious to our global plandemic.

same people: “yeah good post game interview but it would’ve been dope if the player wasn’t standing 4 koalas away from the interviewer.

play on!!11
Yep 😀
The same row would have had Spurrier buying in on this ! That said - I think she’s about the only one that hasn’t
But he is having a go at Young.

Saying the video is “rehearsed and staged” (like that’s a bad thing? Of course it would be)

Calling out the term “lean on you” as though it’s a bad thing, which Young was nodding along to and acknowledging.

So now after experiencing racism, he now has to deal with his peers writing articles saying his response isn’t doing enough to address it, reverting back to the authors mums experiencing completing a census? What’s Robbie’s responsibility to fight for this man’s mum?

And the final lines are a direct spit in the face to Young.

I can’t be more clear – a victim should not be the one consoling the perpetrator, as we saw this week.

We would never allow that to occur in any other context.

And that last line is clearly wrong. It’s called forgiveness.

Honestly how do you think Robbie Young would feel reading comments like these?
What’s your stand on a victim accepting an apology and trusting that the person apologizing is genuinely sorry ?

As I said chock o’ block with corporate spin that just gets worst and worst the more it’s dealt with by disingenuous hand wringers. These morons can’t help themselves but botch everything they lay their fingers on. Time is the only healer.
Spot
flipping
On

NO TROLLS Taylor Walker racial slur