Autopsy The aftermath

Rock, Paper, Scissors

Rock - Geelong hard at it for a number of years smashing through teams again and again.
Paper - Fremantle.... completely smother opposition and envelope the rock of geelong .
Scissors - Hawthorn... precise kicking cuts through opposition like butter and shreds Fremantle paper.... but gets smashed on the rock of geelong.

Time for a change. Rock, paper, scissors, lizard, Spock and we're Spock.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rock-paper-scissors-lizard-Spock

I like this analogy. Let's be the dynamite and blow everyone else up.

No effort
No intensity
No heart
No passion

Yes there were some mitigating factors
- Fyfe, Dawson and Barlow out
- 6 day break
- Coming off a slog in the wet
- Losing Ibbo in the first quarter

Regardless, everything that Hawthorn did came off and the ball didn't bounce our way

This actually reminded me of Freo in the days of Connolly/Harvey when you could see a heavy loss coming.

It was disgusting.

As a supporter I was filthy at that, filthy at the umpiring (they were an easy target for me last night given some of the shockers they awarded/didn't award), and filthy that I spent money on ticket, footy record and food to watch that shit.

The only positive is that it's Round 3 but fair dinkum, if we don't put 4 quarters together next week, we will get done.

The other positive is that alcohol does have the ability to numb the pain of a loss.

Good to see the sun has risen in other places too and we are acknowledging that Hawthorn gave us a lesson which we have to learn.Failure certainly provides a truckload of feedback from last night.
Too simplistic to say Clarkson is cleverer than Lyon or even their brains trust is brainier than ours.It was a lesson in professionalism and the bar has been raised yet again from where we thought the benchmark actually was.
Fair enough they certainly won't duplicate that quality of performance each week but that was scary good and they know they can do it which makes them harder to beat.
Last night they executed a gameplan which appeared tailor made for their personnel who are top quality;no team could have stayed with them but our effort was clearly unacceptable and I'm quite confident that our current regime will not be hiding from the real truth about performances from top to bottom.Everything that can be learned will be and then we'll see whether we have enough improvement in the outfit to compete.I must say it did not look like it last night but I've still got confidence in the club's personnel to demand and extract every skerrick of improvement possible.
Whether we can be as good as they were last night..It would sure be nice:D

With Dawson available, Silvagni will enjoi his time at Peel.
Silvagni can play a number of roles including Ibotson e\replacement or in the midfield as the bigger body till Fyfe returns but he can also act as the foil for
Pavlich in the forward line .
Mundy can't do it on his own and others have already stated that Neale , Crozier and Suban aren't the answer due to their lack of build and size .
The natural replacements are Clancee and Silvagni .
Dawson goes back into his natural role at FB .
Clancee and Silvagni are both strong bodied and competitive beasts which is a like for like replacements for Fyfe and Barlow .
Suban and D Pearce as the support crew and we have a big strong versatile midfield again ,OK not AAA rated but willing and able .
We can't risk Walters in the midfield at the moment as his body is already showing the signs of wear .

Couldn't buy a decent clearance last night. Fyfe and Barlow were really noticeable outs.

Sandi tried, but he's only a man. Part man anyway.

Pav was a trooper for the whole night, bit hard too when you're always outnumbered. Was Mayne played forward at all? Don't remember him doing much, though I remember him rolling his ankle.

Sun sun was AWOL.

I wouldn't worry too much about it, with the OUTS you had it would have been a pretty damn impressive win.

Somebody better tell that to Gerard Healy who seems to be quite upset with you lot at the moment.

PS how many arsey bouncing along the ground goals can one team kick in a game? i'd reckon the Hawks kicked 5-6 goals like that last night. Some times its just not your day.

Certainly helped their momentum and would have created doubt in the Freo players. The ball just seemed to bounce exactly in favour of Hawthorn. Goals from the most obscure angles. Another game and they are points not goals and the gap is not insumountable.

Couldn't buy a decent clearance last night. Fyfe and Barlow were really noticeable outs.

Sandi tried, but he's only a man. Part man anyway.

Pav was a trooper for the whole night, bit hard too when you're always outnumbered. Was Mayne played forward at all? Don't remember him doing much, though I remember him rolling his ankle.

Sun sun was AWOL.

I wouldn't worry too much about it, with the OUTS you had it would have been a pretty damn impressive win.

Somebody better tell that to Gerard Healy who seems to be quite upset with you lot at the moment.

Not sure what is up with Mayne. I know Freo were slimming him down to become the third tall after Pav and Gumbleton. He started 2013 so strong but seems to have lost this edge in 2014.

Silvagni can play a number of roles including Ibotson e\replacement or in the midfield as the bigger body till Fyfe returns but he can also act as the foil for
Mundy can't do it on his own and others have already stated that Neale , Crozier and Suban aren't the answer due to their lack of build and size .
Clancee and Silvagni are both strong bodied and competitive beasts which is a like for like replacements for Fyfe and Barlow .
Suban and D Pearce as the support crew and we have a big strong versatile midfield again ,OK not AAA rated but willing and able .
We can't risk Walters in the midfield at the moment as his body is already showing the signs of wear .

Your man-love for Silvagni is admirable, however having him play in the midfield, (be real please, he is a lumbering ox with very average skills in close), is borderline stupidity.

Just because he is a strong boy who throws his weight around, does not justify his selection there.

Don't think Silvagni has the skills or tank to go anywhere near the midfield. Clancee with his skills and fitness at peak would make a contribution.

Not sure what is up with Mayne. I know Freo were slimming him down to become the third tall after Pav and Gumbleton. He started 2013 so strong but seems to have lost this edge in 2014.

He's still got a few credits in the bank, but I'd be lying if I said I wasn't a little concerned with the way he's started this season.

I'm looking at the disposal of Hawthorn and thinking that Josh Simpson could become a massively important player for us.

A quick flanker/winger with lovely skills.

And further to this, if Sylvia and Morabito can hit their straps, players with inconsistent performances/low ball winning abilities and substandard skills eg DeBoer, Suban, Sheridan will get punted

I'm looking at the disposal of Hawthorn and thinking that Josh Simpson could become a massively important player for us.

Yeh if he keeps building his tank he has some similarities to brad hill and could be used in a similar way. B hill is a running machine though, gets to the right places continually also

Silvagni has been tried in the forward line with dismal results. He is a depth backliner and a good, solid WAFL player.

Way, way overrated by some on here.
No one is overrating Snoz we all acknowledge his faults but he has big plusses as well .A huge heart and bleeds purple
To him it doesn't matter what the scores are he will give a contest and support his team mates no matter the cost to him personally .
He will play what ever position the coach gives him and he will contribute to the team .
What more can you ask of the man .

Don't think Silvagni has the skills or tank to go anywhere near the midfield. Clancee with his skills and fitness at peak would make a contribution.
Fully agree on Silvagni, his wafl games are great but hardly delivers for Freo. No doubting his endeavour, it's his decision making that lets him down. It's ok to have a head full of steam but skills and the right decisions are important.

Yeh if he keeps building his tank he has some similarities to brad hill and could be used in a similar way. B hill is a running machine though, gets to the right places continually also

But more to the point, like Brad Hill, he won't get the tag. that's already taken up by Stephen Hill, Mundy and Fyfe.

And to be frank I'd rather 15 possessions by Josh Simpson, than 15 from De Boer, Suban etc

last nights game was outstanding for Hilly, I saw heaps of off the ball work and hard running from one contest to the next. I reckon they have done considerable work with him to get his k's up per game. He should be proud of his work over summer, he wins so many contests, if he can get to more he will go from exciting to outstanding. well done Hilly - especially last night. BOG for Freo

Watching Josh play in his last game for Peel, the problem he has is that he is an instinct player and that comes from his childhood in playing bare-foot street footy in Yalgoo.

They have to now harness his talent and teach him the professional way to play the game.

He has to learn the Ross Lyon style of play, of which Colin Sylvia has to learn also.

I therefore think that Josh is a long way off playing in the AFL. He shows signs of skill and brilliance but needs to also develop a good footy brain as well.

I know others disagree with me on this, but Josh is just not there yet for mine.

Boys I would be interested on what you thought on our flexibility. I think our game plan revolves on each player playing their roles specifically. The problem being if they are asked to fullfill another role they arent capable of adjusting their game. For instance if Crowley wasnt a tagger, and was asked to hunt the ball like he did last night he looks lost! I feel like that is the case with quite a few of our guys. Whereas a great team like the Hawks have players they can role through every line, in every position. I tell you what, we would want to bring back our A game quickly otherwise we could quickly be staring down the barrel with our draw! Can someone please enlighten me what Ross sees in Hannath? He is a great judge of footballers and rarely gets it wrong, but I have seen very little to suggest he deserves his spot..

Can someone please enlighten me what Ross sees in Hannath? He is a great judge of footballers and rarely gets it wrong, but I have seen very little to suggest he deserves his spot..
I reckon Ross doesn't think Hannath is the answer, especially with Clark and Griffen in our ranks. It probably says more about where Clark is at. I remember Ross saying Clark needed to prove his worth this time last year before he was going to get a gig. No free rides.

Care to specify who is "like for like" with who there couldhavebeen ??

OK who else have we got to go into the middle and give Mundy some help .
You tell me because right now there is no one else .
MAYNE oh yes lets strip the forward line completely .
Silvagni can't and won't play a whole game on the ball but he like Pavlich as a bigger body type player can do spend time in there to help .
Please DO NOT come back with the line that I'm in any way saying that Pav should go back in there because I'M NOT.

Mayne looked lame at the end of the game. Hobbling and slow.

Nick Suban, what can you say.

Autopsy The aftermath