Autopsy The aftermath

OK who else have we got to go into the middle and give Mundy some help .
You tell me because right now there is no one else .
MAYNE oh yes lets strip the forward line completely .
Silvagni can't and won't play a whole game on the ball but he like Pavlich as a bigger body type player can do spend time in there to help .
Please DO NOT come back with the line that I'm in any way saying that Pav should go back in there because I'M NOT.
Lee Spur.

Meh. Round three. Two of the best midfielders in the competition out, a vertebrae of the defensive backbone in Dawson wasn't there. I'm not going to read a massive amount into it. There's 20 more games to play. That is a lot of football. Ross Lyon might be trying to implement a things, the players might be getting used to it... who knows. If this was a semi or a prelim then we could all meltdown, but as disappointing as it is, it's just a regular season game.

The other thing is Hawthorn are a pretty, pretty, preeeeetty good side. They ran over us in the first 15 minutes and we did well to recuperate, but the damage was done. We had a few similar instances last season where we'd have little moments of poor play and let other teams in. We fixed it. The Grand Final aside, which was something else entirely, we never felt it again once everyone realised the reason behind it.

We'll be fine.

For what it's worth, I really liked Sherro and Croz giving us some run. Thought Crozier especially did some nice things, his running patterns have already impressed from when you're watching birds-eye – one of the few remaining proponents of the lead. I really hope we keep him in, which is looking likely if old Sonny's injured.

Mayne looked lame at the end of the game. Hobbling and slow.

Nick Suban, what can you say.
Suban is the most inconsistent footballer we have.

My assumption is that he isn't a natural athlete. He's a natural footballer, he knows where to run and what to do, but he just doesn't have the athletic ability. He always has to run his guts out and I don't know if he has the body to naturally carry it out. He is a real enigma though because you don't know whether he needs another game to get a decent string, or whether to drop him because he'll be another passenger.

I'd put Sheridan in there for him. How far away is Clancee?

Watching Josh play in his last game for Peel, the problem he has is that he is an instinct player and that comes from his childhood in playing bare-foot street footy in Yalgoo.

They have to now harness his talent and teach him the professional way to play the game.

He has to learn the Ross Lyon style of play, of which Colin Sylvia has to learn also.

I therefore think that Josh is a long way off playing in the AFL. He shows signs of skill and brilliance but needs to also develop a good footy brain as well.

I know others disagree with me on this, but Josh is just not there yet for mine.
Harry
I love your posts and agree that Simpson is not there yet as an AFL player but what we all saw was what Bondy saw for the first time in the Peel game .
Simpson needs to play a few more WAFL games and star and then be given a game . RTB will reward him but only after more games
Sylvia in my opinion is closer to playing than Simo but even after such a poor performance of our midfield he still has a question mark next to his name .

Suban is the most inconsistent footballer we have.

My assumption is that he isn't a natural athlete. He's a natural footballer, he knows where to run and what to do, but he just doesn't have the athletic ability. He always has to run his guts out and I don't know if he has the body to naturally carry it out. He is a real enigma though because you don't know whether he needs another game to get a decent string, or whether to drop him because he'll be another passenger.

I'd put Sheridan in there for him. How far away is Clancee?
Silent is that you ,are you sure ,OK then good post can we have some more positive posts please

Clancee and Silvagni are both strong bodied and competitive beasts which is a like for like replacements for Fyfe and Barlow .
Care to specify who is "like for like" with who there couldhavebeen ??
OK who else have we got to go into the middle and give Mundy some help .
You tell me because right now there is no one else .
MAYNE oh yes lets strip the forward line completely .
Silvagni can't and won't play a whole game on the ball but he like Pavlich as a bigger body type player can do spend time in there to help .
Please DO NOT come back with the line that I'm in any way saying that Pav should go back in there because I'M NOT.
We do not have like for like replacements for our two best-big-bodied-ballwinners because they are two of the competitions elite and no club has spares of that standard.Sylvia is the hope and we may see him explode this arvo.I certainly hope so.
I was asking whether you saw Fish Pub as Micky's replacement and Raging Bull as Cleaver's or vice versa?

We do not have like for like replacements for our two best-big-bodied-ballwinners because they are two of the competitions elite and no club has spares of that standard.Sylvia is the hope and we may see him explode this arvo.I certainly hope so.
I was asking whether you saw Fish Pub as Micky's replacement and Raging Bull as Cleaver's or vice versa?
Scon
Listen to Ross's presser on sen radio then come on back and tell me WHO THE F***k ELSE is there .
These guys Clancee and Snoz are fill ins ,that's it nothing else but RTB knows what's missing even if you don't .
Clancee is still building his tank and needs a couple of runs to get his MOJO working and running through the middle is as good a place as any to find it .
In the mean time we need him to fire up for Peel .

I have listened to it.Not at all sure what you are saying except that I don't know what's missing but you and RTB do??
I thought my question was pretty straight forward but I won't ask it again.
Last night a few played their way out;now some need to play their way in.

I think our game plan can bet them at etihad and subiaco, but not at the G. The ground is wide and we can't effectively close down space and pressure. If we could face Hawks in a final a subiaco that would be preferred.

No one is overrating Snoz we all acknowledge his faults but he has big plusses as well .A huge heart and bleeds purple
To him it doesn't matter what the scores are he will give a contest and support his team mates no matter the cost to him personally .
He will play what ever position the coach gives him and he will contribute to the team .
What more can you ask of the man .

Platitudes are cute.

However, he's not a midfielders dinger.

Pump up Clancee's tyres for that role and you might get a few takers.

Somebody better tell that to Gerard Healy who seems to be quite upset with you lot at the moment.

He kept going on and on. Lost count of the times he mentioned our two losses to WC in the pre-season. If I was paranoid, I would've thought he's got some kind of vendetta against us.

Given that Centurions has not made himself available,that bag of low quality commentary knob-ends is what we've got to deal with.
Apart from Robbo who can only play the lightweight-but-ever-so-sincere-buffoon role I thought the SEN interview Seppo posted was good,but as we know Matt Price was in his own league and that quality has never been replaced.

It really happened, didn't it? :(

No you were just having a bad dream. We actually beat Hawthorn by 10 goals.

Pavlich took 15 contested marks and kicked 10 goals, Walters had 32 possessions and kicked 5 goals and Mundy tore apart the midfield with 38 possessions, 18 clearances, 10 insides 50s and 3 goals. Sandilands monstered Hale with 68 hit-outs and a massive 39 to advantage, along with 12 marks and 3 goals. Sandi also took what will be the mark and goal of the year which involved a huge hanger on Roughead's shoulders, playing on immediately and snapping a goal from 45 out on a 65 degree angle.

He kept going on and on. Lost count of the times he mentioned our two losses to WC in the pre-season. If I was paranoid, I would've thought he's got some kind of vendetta against us.

I'd say he just desperately wants Fremantle to win the premiership and is concerned that this is a return to the bad old days.

it must be bizarro world if I liked 3 of lach72's posts.
he or she is usually so wrong
as for the game last night
they smashed us inside & when they won the contest they went wide
i really reckon the wide MCG is a problem for our game style
as a former coach i used to direct my players to make sure it was 1 vs 1 per contest,so as to avoid the overlap, but the high pressure RTB game has as many at the ball carrier as possible.
love it.
but in a wide arena, such as MCG, where GF is always played, it can be found out with spread.
the hawks, not only won inside, but also spread us apart.
I'm sure RTB will have something up his sleeve.

It's interesting that a Hawks poster noted the strange situation that they have the wood on us , Geelong on them and us on Geelong.
Style of play? , tactics ? . I don't think so . I think it's all psychological.

When we play Geelong I always think we are going to win - totally confident - even when we lost last year it didn't bother me.
The Hawk's on the other hand deep down I feel we will lose and they scare me with there movement - the players
actually have to front up and face them rather than sitting at home ranting at the TV like us or me at least.

Take out two of our best three mids and a key player in our defence and it had to tell to some degree on the confidence of the group.
With the build up to a Grand Final replay it would have been extremely hard to completely ignore the issue. Those players back in and
we would probably have seen a completely different game and this not due just to the greater experience and ability of the said players.
Apart from a handful of players last night - it was a team loss. Tossed up the idea of whether the previous weeks game affected us - nup
too many players down right from the very start.

We may have only lost by 3 goals or so in Grand Final courtesy of the maggots but the difference was far greater than that in reality.
We got back to 3 points in the third... well we should have won from there. So what's the answer? Simple - we have to beat them.
But we have to believe we are going to do that first.

Autopsy The aftermath