Analysis The Coach – Simon 'Standard Practice' Goodwin: It's time to go (for real this time)

Looks like some else needs to get off their high horse, spare us your indignation and as I suggested previously respond to what’s actually been posted, being civil is a two way street, generally people with nothing to say resort to petty name calling.
Honestly, what's the point of discussing his replacement on conditions that are over a year away?

Looks like some else needs to get off their high horse, spare us your indignation and as I suggested previously respond to what’s actually been posted, being civil is a two way street, generally people with nothing to say resort to petty name calling.

Honestly, what's the point of discussing his replacement on conditions that are over a year away?
The points could be many and varied, maybe people just enjoy the conversation, that would seem to me to be the whole point of posting on Bigfooty. My point was if you are going to discuss the topic and respond to people at least respond to what they posted, don’t strawman and if you want civil conversation don’t be condescending when someone offers a different opinion.

It's complete hypothetical nonsense. Anything can change in the time that is being talked about that would make the entire point moot.

And tbh Adelaide, GWS and Hawthorn we had our chances to but win but couldn't take them

In fact the only game we didn't deserve to win as Collingwood. Not bad from 17 games

But hey fu** it lets already start gearing towards sacking the coach
You are talking about 4 of the bottom 5 teams us having our chances🤣🤣🤣 we should have buried them all ffs. I haven't checked but I reckon we are the only team in the 8 to lose to a bottom 4 team besides Geelong I round 1 coming off a shorter pre season.
history would say he's closer to being sacked than not. So why not talk about it if we don't win a flag. the greatest coach of our Era is gettable.

You are talking about 4 of the bottom 5 teams us having our chances🤣🤣🤣 we should have buried them all ffs. I haven't checked but I reckon we are the only team in the 8 to lose to a bottom 4 team besides Geelong I round 1 coming off a shorter pre season.
history would say he's closer to being sacked than not. So why not talk about it if we don't win a flag. the greatest coach of our Era is gettable.

If we'd not even buried but simply beaten those bottom sides this team would be on track to have one of the greatest seasons any side has ever had.

The only way I see us even considering Clarkson is if we completely fall off a cliff next year and Goodwin is sacked before the end of the season in which case Goodwin is gone anyway.

If Clarkson decides to coach in 2023 he will be the number 1 priority for any team looking for a coach, that means he will most likely be hired before the finals come around, so the notion that we get rid of Goodwin even if we make the Grand Final two years in a row and lose is absurd.

We are the only team to have beaten every one in the top 8 as well so your point is mute

It's complete hypothetical nonsense. Anything can change in the time that is being talked about that would make the entire point moot.
I don’t disagree its totally hypothetical but if we aren’t going to deal in hypotheticals we might as well shut down the trade and free agent tread and the changes for this weeks game thread and we definitely shouldn’t talk about where the club will finish on the ladder after the h&a games.

You think it’s a nonsense discussion, thats subjectively your opinion but I wouldn’t call you an idiot for having it just because I disagree, I just wouldn’t get involved in a conversation I thought was nonsense.

I don’t disagree its totally hypothetical but if we aren’t going to deal in hypotheticals we might as well shut down the trade and free agent tread and the changes for this weeks game thread and we definitely shouldn’t talk about where the club will finish on the ladder after the h&a games.

You think it’s a nonsense discussion, thats subjectively your opinion but I wouldn’t call you an idiot for having it just because I disagree, I just wouldn’t get involved in a conversation I thought was nonsense.

I don't mind hypotheticals but hypotheticals based on unrealistic conditions that are over a year from being relevant is just pissing in the wind.

How good is Simon Goodwin though?

Saw in the Age today he was giving "Dermie" a bit of a serve for suggesting Slick is getting a reputation for being a thug.
Nothing article, but it did remind me about that time Slick smashed some Essendon campaigner into a goal post before a Tommy Mac goal. Brilliant bit of footy that, that and Tommy Mac's goal of the year against Port are my two favourite Dees moments this year.

FYI "Slick" is much easier to spell than "Fritsch".

Anyway, carry on.

I don't mind hypotheticals but hypotheticals based on unrealistic conditions that are over a year from being relevant is just pissing in the wind.
Why is what’s being discussed unrealistic and not yet relevant?

Ive said previously if we win every game for the rest of the year (**** I hope so) this would all become irrelevant , Goodwin can coach until the end of time, but if by the end of September the club hasn’t won at least one final it would be irresponsible not to ask the best coach of a generation what he has planned for next year.

No one has asked for Goodwin to be sacked this week or before the end of the season from my memory, but in my opinion it’s an enjoyable relevant conversation to have in regards to Goodwin’s future as long as people respond to what was actually said.

Why is what’s being discussed unrealistic and not yet relevant?

Ive said previously if we win every game for the rest of the year (fu** I hope so) this would all become irrelevant , Goodwin can coach until the end of time, but if by the end of September the club hasn’t won at least one final it would be irresponsible not to ask the best coach of a generation what he has planned for next year.

No one has asked for Goodwin to be sacked this week or before the end of the season from my memory, but in my opinion it’s an enjoyable relevant conversation to have in regards to Goodwin’s future as long as people respond to what was actually said.

Just going to be honest mate don’t really consider it enjoyable talking worst case scenarios when we’re on top of the ladder. Let’s just see where we end up in 10 weeks time yeah?

How good is Simon Goodwin though?

Saw in the Age today he was giving "Dermie" a bit of a serve for suggesting Slick is getting a reputation for being a thug.
Nothing article, but it did remind me about that time Slick smashed some Essendon campaigner into a goal post before a Tommy Mac goal. Brilliant bit of footy that, that and Tommy Mac's goal of the year against Port are my two favourite Dees moments this year.

FYI "Slick" is much easier to spell than "Fritsch".

Anyway, carry on.
Who knows how good he really is but the facts as it stands right now is could he be doing a better job than having us 13-1-3. I very much doubt it

Also found it funny that Dermie was having a crack at a guy pushing people when he literally stomped on a kids head. But the thing with Dermie is what ever that campaigner says he believes that no one else or other opinion can be right except his

Just going to be honest mate don’t really consider it enjoyable talking worst case scenarios when we’re on top of the ladder. Let’s just see where we end up in 10 weeks time yeah?
I appreciate you’re honesty mate and have no problem what so ever with you having that opinion, that seems a more than reasonable opinion to hold. But I’m going to keep discussing it if I feel it’s relevant and I’m enjoying the discussion but have no issue with you or others not joining in

trump-interviewing-himself.jpg

I'd love to think that the prospect of us falling off a cliff next year is unrealistic but, given our history, it would be no surprise at all.

Not that I'm not enjoying the moment... just saying, it's a very Melbourne thing to do.

Crikey opened up a bit of a hornets nest here.

Thanks for the interesting discussion, I certainly got a lot from it. I stand by my original opinion but happy to proven wrong and at the end of the day I don't care who the coach is as long as we win a flag in my lifetime.

I'm happy to move on now. To whoever called me an idiot - play the ball not the man. I'm allowed an opinion just as you are and let's respect that.

Go Dees and show the comp we are the real deal (again) this week!

Who knows how good he really is but the facts as it stands right now is could he be doing a better job than having us 13-1-3. I very much doubt it

Also found it funny that Dermie was having a crack at a guy pushing people when he literally stomped on a kids head. But the thing with Dermie is what ever that campaigner says he believes that no one else or other opinion can be right except his
I don't recall Dermie saying anything negative towards the 'unsociable Hawks' he probably was encouraging. I remember seeing Hodge bump Travis boaks head into the behind post, still don't recall anything negative from dermie there either.

And tbh Adelaide, GWS and Hawthorn we had our chances to but win but couldn't take them

In fact the only game we didn't deserve to win as Collingwood. Not bad from 17 games

But hey fu** it lets already start gearing towards sacking the coach

I don't think anyone is saying sack him are they? I'm firmly in the camp of letting his contract run out and seeing what the go is then.

Analysis The Coach – Simon 'Standard Practice' Goodwin: It's time to go (for real this time)