Analysis The Coach – Simon 'Standard Practice' Goodwin: It's time to go (for real this time)

All of whom are otherwise employed so what are we supposed to do?
Goodwin may not be a good coach but geez we're guessing a bit.
We lost some games last year that we shouldn't have but we've done that for years and whilst the buck stops with him, the players need to cop a bit of that.
We also won some games we didn't think we would.
The injuries cruelled us last year. Every team gets them but we got it bad.
Certainly needs a good year this year to build our trust but I reckon we're going a bit early here. Gawns kick goes straight and this whole board is a different place this week.
Round 1 loss by under a kick!!

Topkent and I aren’t saying Goodwin is rubbish, we are saying he is unproven and results will dictate a lot this year.

Yeah 100% and I agree mate.
My point is more that, well let's give him that time to prove himself. If he's currently unproven, then there's not much he can do until time tells us whether he's up to it or not.
We'll never know if one of those 3 gun coaches would have got us to finals or not but the insinuation was that Goodwin is no good and that they would have got us there - guesswork.

Not that confident if we don't get much Viney. Dunno if Goodwin would lose his job if we don't make finals, might depend on his contract?

Viney not playing much/at all might finally kill off Misson so there could be that silver lining. :rainbow:

Not that confident if we don't get much Viney. Dunno if Goodwin would lose his job if we don't make finals, might depend on his contract?

Viney not playing much/at all might finally kill off Misson so there could be that silver lining. :rainbow:
I dont wanna think about it but missing finals this year would put Goodwin onto one last year to make ammends

If we regularly play the type of football we played on the weekend, I'd be moving him on in favour of someone who can develop a coherent game plan.

goes 12-10 in first season. Worst case goes 10-12 in second season.

He is no chance of being sacked!!!

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

goes 12-10 in first season. Worst case goes 10-12 in second season.

He is no chance of being sacked!!!

Worst case he goes 0-22.
Let's not pretend 10 wins are guaranteed. Injury is a piss-weak excuse though. Dogs did all right with fairly decent injuries all through '16

Worst case he goes 0-22.
Let's not pretend 10 wins are guaranteed. Injury is a piss-weak excuse though. Dogs did all right with fairly decent injuries all through '16
if we go 0-22 I will live stream me eating my own dick

Next two weeks are hugely important for Goodwin. Two teams who are tipped to go bottom 4. Zero excuses. He's had all summer to sort out the kinks in our game, and although we nearly beat the Cats, those kinks still were on display. Simply have to find a way to win and win well next two matches. If we lose one or both, I'm scared that this season is already cooked. Next two weeks will be telling. Especially with high expectations to win and win big. This club has not handled expectations well, so let's see how he and the team go and judge him after round 3. I'll be shattered if we lose a game in the next fortnight and I feel pitchforks will be out again if we don't smash Lions and Kangas..

Agree with your post but we don’t need to smash Brisbane and North, we just need to win. Comp is very even and as I’ve said before it is rare to smash teams in the first month when everyone is still fresh.

Call this blind faith, stupid whatever you want but the talk around sacking Goodwin is nonsense, he is 23 games into his coaching tenure. He improved us last year and going on what we have done this year we've improved again. Even if this year was a disaster i'd still back him in next year.

We will make finals this year and some of these posts will come back to haunt you doubters.

Agree with your post but we don’t need to smash Brisbane and North, we just need to win. Comp is very even and as I’ve said before it is rare to smash teams in the first month when everyone is still fresh.
It’s just about playing four quarters really. If we play four quarters we will smash them by default because we’re easily 15-20 points a quarter better at least. Meanwhile we could also outscore them by 80 points in the first, third, and fourth quarters but concede eight unanswered goals in the second and only win by 30.

Man this board has blueballs for a win
It's been awhile since our last win and tbh, that Collingwood loss still burns. Add to that the heartbreaking loss last week, and I think the team owes us a couple of comfortable wins against average opposition. Definitely not saying I want Goodwin sacked if we lose to either Lions or Kangas, but most people agree the time is now to start showing something more. We have the list, we have the footy world expecting us to make finals and the club owe their very patient and loyal fans more than just expectation. Despite the injuries to Viney and TMac, their are no more excuses.

Next two weeks could honestly make or break our season. Teams who play finals win both these games, and win them well. Let's not forget percentage played a massive part in us not making finals last year. On paper, we should win both these games by 5+ goals..

if we go 0-22 I will live stream me eating my own dick

When "eating your own hat" just isn't enough...

Sacking talk is premature, but if at the end of the season, we're still bombing it long into the forward line for all six forwards to try and take the big pack mark with no one crumbing, it raises serious concerns about Goodwin's style of play or his ability to get the players to improve / play to the game plan. The talent is on the list, just need a coach who can improve the players and get the team to play as more than the sum of its parts. Not expecting Goodwin to work miracles, but we should be seeing signs of progression.

Analysis The Coach – Simon 'Standard Practice' Goodwin: It's time to go (for real this time)