Competitions The Contest - predict Geelong's National Draft selections

I agree , I had him as my alt. at 79 but in muttonchops defense , we have two picks , IF he was a player that Wells wanted he would have to use 16 even if he is 40 ish. It would be a huge call , I haven't see any Phantom with him that high , It would mean several more preferred players on the table.

I will give him this , to me he is more than he looks. OK not the athlete that will churn out good time for 10 k runs but "in" game he knows how get the ball and kick goals. Very efficient set shot and that is worth more and more these days.

Exactly my thinking. For a guy of his size to be Sa's leading goalkicker for 2 championships in a row and be All Australian says that he knows his way around especially when the spotlight is on. Look it is outside but as Pivotonian said i just dont like same old same old that everyone else does. I could have said Troy Menzel at pcik 16 but where is the fun in that.

With the way Wells drafts, you'll probably end up being the closest anyway! :)

I'm gonna change my pick #79.

As much as I like Sumner I'm gonna to hop off him and onto Jackson Thurlow from Tassie.

Nice and versatile too Pivo.

189-190cm 79-80kg depending on source

Tuesday, 23 October 2012

Launceston’s Jackson Thurlow has capped off a stellar 2012 season by taking out the prestigious Davidson Medal as the most valuable player in the Tasmania Under 18 team for 2012.

The emerging Launceston Football Club player’s top year saw him also selected in the Under 18 All-Australian team and to participate in the NAB AFL Draft Combine earlier this month.

Thurlow’s Davidson medal win was a unanimous decision by all the coaches who adjudicated that he was the best-performed player in the NAB AFL Under 18 Championships.

The versatile Thurlow had a number of roles on the field at this year’s championship, playing as a midfielder, running defender and was able to fill key post positions at both ends of the field.

A highlight of his season was his game against Vic Metro where he gathered 45 possessions for the game.

http://www.tasmanianstateleague.com.au/index.php?option=com_content&task=blogcategory&id=1&Itemid=59

Ex-Essendon Lonergan I assume? I wouldn't be opposed to picking him up with 79, some mid-age midfield depth would be handy.

I wouldn't mind him either.

A guy that can play the defensive role through the middle, but actually win some clearances himself as well. It is something we have missed going from Ling to Taylor Hunt. Ling would win some clearances, Taylor Hunt has done pretty well as a run with but that isn't his game.

I wouldn't mind him either.

A guy that can play the defensive role through the middle, but actually win some clearances himself as well. It is something we have missed going from Ling to Taylor Hunt. Ling would win some clearances, Taylor Hunt has done pretty well as a run with but that isn't his game.

That's the reason I think we should consider drafting him if he's still around.

16 Troy Menzel
79 Brodie Murdoch

I need to change my original pick 16 as I believe that Troy will be well gone, before we come around, and Im going to chuck in a Bolter.

16 Tim O'Brien, I reckon this guy has Wells all over him, comes from a country town where he played in two Prem's (senior)for a club that hadnt won for forty years, so he doesnt carry the hype only playing state leagues last year, has tested really well(agility)(running), had a great championship, very consistant, is a good mark, can play either end of the ground, I think if he had been in the AFL system for longer, you would hear a lot more about Tim, Wells seems to see through hype and pick the best availible for Geelong and we are due for a new Ranga.

79 Brodie Murdoch, more red the better I say, family reunion sounds good, has the tools, wont pump the tyres, needs to slide for us to get him...

After our inclusions and delistings, I'd say our immediate needs are a tough, classy midfielder and a tall defender, in that order. I think we'll take Sully if he's available at 79 (and there's every chance he will be), but since this is a contest, there's no point picking him here.

So...

#16 Nick Vlastuin (Northern Knights, midfielder): I love everything I have read about him, particularly the part about it not being beyond the realms of possibility that he stays on the board this long. He just sounds like a Geelong midfielder: tough, tallish, skillful and can go forward to kick goals. With the addition of Caddy and Vlastuin in this preseason (should it happen), all of a sudden we'll have one of the most promising young midfields in the league. If he's gone, the 5-20 region of the draft is so even, and there's so many teams who will specifically be looking for talls, that we should get a quality midfielder anyway (Menzel, Garlett, Lonergan, Simpson, Macrae, Kennedy).

#79 Sam Siggins (Lauderdale Tas, key defender): There's actually a fair few tall defenders who could be around this range, including Sully, Matt Wallis, Nick Rodda and maybe even Michael Close. I've gone with Siggins because he has prototype KPD height (194cm), he looks to rebound, he's athletic and it should only take him 8-10 months in the gym to have an AFL body.

If we get Vlastuin and any of the above defenders, that will be a very exciting draft.

I wonder if the cats go left field with pick 79 and get a Dylan Roberton (probably go in PSD) or a Lucas Cook (ex - Melb pick 11 or so) and give them a crack at developing into that Key Defender we need for depth.

16: Stringer
79: L.Cook

My hunch is a player not really linked to Geelong in any forms of the Media...
I have always been high on Josh Simpson... a fast, fleet-footed outside player who would be the second coming of Travis Varcoe...
BUT....BUT... at Pick 16 Stephen Wells will select....
16. SAM COLQUHOUN 180cm-74kgs / medium-def/mid
Comes from Central Districts, SA... Played on the wing-midfield in their Reserves Flag...
Averaged 28 disposals a game(in the champs)... and QUALITY disposals to boot...
Graded a 20-30 pick by pundits... But what do they know?? Go Catters!!
and at Pick 79.... well it's a raffle... isn't it...
Murdoch would be great... so would Thurlow... But can't see them still there...
So lets stick with the man that we shall not name...

I have always been high on Josh Simpson... a fast, fleet-footed outside player who would be the second coming of Travis Varcoe...
Comes from Central Districts, SA... Played on the wing-midfield in their Reserves Flag...

Great selection i reckon GGL. Im surprised that no one has mentioned him more. When i watched his highlights he looked like the style of player we select. Could end up playing half back or through the middle.

Who the bloody hell is the man we shall not name, am i missing something?? If we cant name him can soemone at least PM me who it is.

You clearly do not spend enough time in front of your computer reading posts on TOTAL FOOTY.

Pick 16: Will be Stringer if he's available, but I think he'll be gone before then, so I think it will be Josh Simpson.

Doubt we'll pick a kid at 79. On that basis I will go Sully.

Pick 16: Will be Stringer if he's available, but I think he'll be gone before then, so I think it will be Josh Simpson.

Doubt we'll pick a kid at 79. On that basis I will go Sully.

News from the Hun about Simpson:

Lobbing a curve ball into the countdown to Thursday's national draft, recruiters have been surprised by news that electrifying wingman Josh Simpson has a one-year-old daughter near Geraldton, Western Australia.
With the help of Simpson's management, the AFL notified clubs of the development in an email yesterday.
While talent chiefs yesterday insisted that being a father would not hinder his draft hopes, many would like to talk to Simpson about the prospect of living away from his daughter, or relocating his family, before they draft him.
He is expected to be taken between pick No.5 and No.20 on Thursday night.
It is believed he is looming large for Port Adelaide (No.7), Gold Coast (13), Geelong (16) and Fremantle (17).
AFL talent manager Kevin Sheehan said Simpson would be on the Gold Coast from Wednesday for last-minute talks with clubs.
"He is one of the invited players, so we will schedule talks with any clubs that want to talk with him about what some would consider is a change in circumstance," Sheehan said.
"He has said he will still go wherever the draft takes him. It was just a little bit of a curve ball."

Now if it had been a son......

Competitions The Contest - predict Geelong's National Draft selections