The "It's not fair that we have to play Geelong in Geelong" thread.

Richmond are receiving both State and Federal Govt. funding for Punt Rd Oval's redevelopment to up its capacity to 8,000(LOL) which is basically used for nothing on a national level apart from AFLW.
Nah we just need five more of them and we're square 🙄

"It's OK when my footy club gets given Govt. funding for our meagre paddock that has little to no use outside of women's football, but when yours does despite it being to go-to venue in the second largest city in the state and is used for international sporting events I will throw a tantrum."

Fascinating.

"It's OK when my footy club gets given Govt. funding for our meagre paddock that has little to no use outside of women's football, but when yours does despite it being to go-to venue in the second largest city in the state and is used for international sporting events I will throw a tantrum."

Fascinating.
Every club gets government funding *******. Only one gets to have a 50,000 capacity stadium for no reason other than for Geelong's hga.

Yeah I really enjoyed watching Sri Lanka vs Namibia play in front of 200 people. Nice international sporting event bro.

Every club gets government funding *******. Only one gets to have a 50,000 capacity stadium for no reason other than for Geelong's hga.

Yeah I really enjoyed watching Sri Lanka vs Namibia play in front of 200 people. Nice international sporting event bro.
40k, but yeah it's pretty neat having our own home ground. Sri Lanka vs Namibia had over 16k with reduced capacity by the way. But that's besides the point, you were getting worked up about Govt. funding when your own backyard is hands-out wasting taxpayer's money on a venue that may as well be shutdown such is the limited use it gets. No offence to AFLW but if that's all Punt Rd is used for these days then you've got to wonder if the taxpayer really should be forking the bill.

This is what Minnow Road Oval brings in:
minnow road oval.png

40k, but yeah it's pretty neat having our own home ground. Sri Lanka vs Namibia had over 16k with reduced capacity by the way. But that's besides the point, you were getting worked up about Govt. funding when your own backyard is hands-out wasting taxpayer's money on a venue that may as well be shutdown such is the limited use it gets. No offence to AFLW but if that's all Punt Rd is used for these days then you've got to wonder if the taxpayer really should be forking the bill.

View attachment 1855337
You leave Punt Rd alone. We're trying our best!

View attachment 1855337
How dense are you?

Every. Club. Gets. Funding.

There's something seriously wrong with you if you think that us improving our training facilities (as any other club does) is on the same scale of waste as Geelong's cheat ground.

By the way, getting 16,000 to the opening day of a world cup is not the flex you think it is (and look at the crowds for their other games 🌚).

How dense are you?

Every. Club. Gets. Funding.

There's something seriously wrong with you if you think that us improving our training facilities (as any other club does) is on the same scale of waste as Geelong's cheat ground.

By the way, getting 16,000 to the opening day of a world cup is not the flex you think it is (and look at the crowds for their other games 🌚).
Backtracking won't save you now. I'm already organising a protest to stop the Victorian taxpayer being fleeced millions to fund an AFLW ground that only draws in 1.4k fans on average. Dirty pokies money, Govt handouts - enough is enough, the Punt Road Parasites have been exposed.

Bulldogs are not a big enough club to play away games against Geelong away from the Cattery.
kardinia Park is a bloody horror pit, even on a good day. Yes Freo and GWS have fluked wins there in 2022 and 2023.

I dont want North Melbourne playing there until they are half decent again. I wont forget them kicking 1.8.14 a few years ago.

Backtracking won't save you now. I'm already organising a protest to stop the Victorian taxpayer being fleeced millions to fund an AFLW ground that only draws in 1.4k fans on average. Dirty pokies money, Govt handouts - enough is enough, the Punt Road Parasites have been exposed.
More money for aflw and less for kp please!!!!!

it definitely feels like some geelong fans on here are trying to drum up a narrative that everyone expects them to continue sliding so when they come out and make finals again they can shout from the rooftops about how wrong these imagined figures were
Take a peak in the ladder prediction thread. It's not an imagined narrative. But as alluded to I think it's more of a BigFooty thing than a wider population thing. Bookies still have Geelong 7th favourite for the flag and that sounds about right. Moreso than 15th favourite anyway.

I consider Docklands our home ground. We only play big drawing teams at the G.
Yep this is still disputed by some, but Essendon and Carlton are primary tenants at Marvel. It wouldn't ever be possible for logistical reasons but they would be more likely to win games against Collingwood and Richmond at Marvel rather than the G.

Midget clubs like Geelong will suffer significantly if they do not get to play home games to clubs like Collingwood. This is why they request it year after year. If they play every game at GMHBA, they will start whinging come finals time that they don't get enough exposure at the G
Somebody's not happy that their side lost an extra home game this season.

Midget clubs like Geelong will suffer significantly if they do not get to play home games to clubs like Collingwood. This is why they request it year after year. If they play every game at GMHBA, they will start whinging come finals time that they don't get enough exposure at the G
Geelong isn't a small club... Fan base wise

The fact that they get so many games at the G kind of proves that point. When the big Melbourne clubs are relevant, they will mostly play Geelong at the G as it'll draw a decent crowd.
Well I know its wikipedia, it says Kardinia parks capacity is 26,000, which is suprising to me.

Still remember 2013 when cats had a home final vs freo, the attendance was 32, 815. Other home games cats had got crowds of at least 28-30,000.

Docklands tenants like Saints and North struggle to get 15-20,000 vs the low drawing non vic sides like the suns or dockers.

Saints fans on here would love Moorabbin to be turned into an AFL standard ground that would hold 30-35,000 seats, with cheap rent like Kardinia.

Its not about how big the cats fan base is.

I just find it suprising Cats make more money getting 30,000 in Kardinia Park than getting 50,000 at docklands. you would think setting the ticket prices to $30-$40, you would think more profits would be made at docklands.

Then I found out Kardinia parks rent is dirt cheap compared to Docklands or the MCG.

I cant wait to see Kardinia seating capacity rise to 40,000. I might get a chance to go there.

St Kilda don't play in St Kilda
Bulldogs don't play in Footscray
Essendon don't play in Essendon
Carlton don't play in Carlton
Hawthorn don't play in Hawthorn
North don't play in North Melbourne
Collingwood don't even train in Collingwood

Why do Geelong have this entitlement that most Victorian clubs don't have?

Are you upset that Gold Coast get to play their home games at Metricon too?

Shouldn't they be forced to play their home games at a larger stadium in the capital city of Queensland?

Even with the new stand it doesn't have enough seats for its own members let alone the opposition team, its really only suitable for interstate clubs and clubs with tiny supporter bases.

Maybe Richmond could just play with themselves.

You know you really haven't made it until your membership base is twice the size of your home ground's capacity.

1700346484853.png

1700346546852.png

1700346579130.png

Honestly can't wait to go to GMHBA.

Take the train up in the morning, nice stroll on Eastern Beach, score some smack in Norlane and pick up the four points.

Sounds like a great day.

While you're in Norlane getting the smack you can stroll over to the docks in North Shore and jump on the boat back to Tassie.

kardinia Park is a bloody horror pit, even on a good day. Yes Freo and GWS have fluked wins there in 2022 and 2023.

I dont want North Melbourne playing there until they are half decent again. I wont forget them kicking 1.8.14 a few years ago.

I still remember about half a dozen Dockers leaving Kardinia with mild cases of hypothermia.

The "It's not fair that we have to play Geelong in Geelong" thread.