The numpty questions thread

Don't get to many games live (this will be my 4th at the Gabba plus one each at MCG and Etihad since mid season 2001 :eek: ) but one of them will be the saints game on this Sat - getting dropped off before hand and picked up afterwards - about what time should I look to get dropped off by and approx when from should they be ready for the pick up...?

Thanks

This may not work for everybody, but I used to time drop offs and pick ups around Bar opening and closing times.

Alas, the love of my life, no longer loves me enough to accommodate this sensible approach.

This may not work for everybody, but I used to time drop offs and pick ups around Bar opening and closing times.

Alas, the love of my life, no longer loves me enough to accommodate this sensible approach.

Game starts at 7:40. If you want to be in your seat in time to see the team run out you'll probably want to aim to be dropped off by 7:10.

If you want to see the team warm up before hand or explore the Lion Park outside, you'll want to be earlier again.

Pickup around 10:30PM I reckon.

Make sure you work around the road closures etc. The Lions website normally has a mtchday info bit that will give advice about that.

If a player from Team A kicks the ball out of bounds on the full, does it count towards Team B's free kick count?

If a player from Team A kicks a behind, does that count towards Team B's free kick count?

If a player from Team A kicks the ball out of bounds on the full, does it count towards Team B's free kick count?

If a player from Team A kicks a behind, does that count towards Team B's free kick count?

I would say yes to the first question and no to the second, but I'm not 100% certain.

I thought the free kick was counted towards the players disposal count and a kick in is counted if the player kicks to himself and plays on...

you are correct on both accounts, a pure kick in after a behind is not counted as a disposal, I should have worded it better.

One I've always been curious about: I've always assumed slapping it forward doesn't count as a disposal since it's neither a handball nor a kick. What about kicking it forward off the ground?

a kick is a kick.

What is the best way to go about getting Simon Black's signature (for his guernsey that was just delivered)? Don't include training sessions as I will be going to scheduled ones but need a fall back option in case I can't get it there.

Rock up at his house at 2am.

creepy-dude.gif

If a team nominates players for father/son or academy at draft time, are they still eligible to enter bids for other teams nominees?
If North, Brisbane, Gold Coast, Sydney, GWS (and others?) are ineligible to bid, it reduces the pool of potential bidders significantly.

Also, how is the order of nominees determined?
for example, if a gold coast academy players is being bid upon, is it possible that the lions use their third round selection on a gold coast academy player?

If a team nominates players for father/son or academy at draft time, are they still eligible to enter bids for other teams nominees?
If North, Brisbane, Gold Coast, Sydney, GWS (and others?) are ineligible to bid, it reduces the pool of potential bidders significantly.

Also, how is the order of nominees determined?
for example, if a gold coast academy players is being bid upon, is it possible that the lions use their third round selection on a gold coast academy player?

They're able to bid on other team's nominees.

The order is determined by top down to avoid a loophole where a team may commit a draft pick to someone else's father/son who was nominated first but then when their father/son comes up they get it effectively for free a round later if they were a comparable value.

So - GWS declares if they're going to bid pick 1 on any of the nominees, then Melbourne with pick 2, etc. When a team bids on a player, the nominating team chooses whether to use their next pick or not on them. If they do the bidding team can try to bid on another player or pass. If they don't the bidding team is locked in for that pick and it moves on to the next team.

Stupid question... if you bounce on a set-shot approach, is it immediately play on?

Not sure why you would bounce, maybe to give the "shot on the run" feel to the kick... but yeah, interested in what the ruling would be.

Stupid question... if you bounce on a set-shot approach, is it immediately play on?

Not sure why you would bounce, maybe to give the "shot on the run" feel to the kick... but yeah, interested in what the ruling would be.
I've seen it happen at local level where a player marked the ball and as he was walking back to take his kick he casually bounced the ball, umpire called play on. Hilarious to watch. I assume that umpire knew what he was doing.

What about when Lloyd used to put the footy on the ground before a set shot? has it got something to do with when it is considered "time off"?

You often see a player pick up the footy after a behind, walk into the goal square and then toss the footy to the designated kick in player. Could that be play on, incorrect disposal?

What about when Lloyd used to put the footy on the ground before a set shot? has it got something to do with when it is considered "time off"?

You often see a player pick up the footy after a behind, walk into the goal square and then toss the footy to the designated kick in player. Could that be play on, incorrect disposal?

Brown used to roll the ball back from the mark when he was about to take a shot on goal. Umpires won't call play on if it's obvious they're not playing on, but against GWS I saw a player throw the ball to a team mate as he was going back to take a shot on goal, which I thought was risky. 1 in 100 times the ump might confuse that as an attempt to play on.

against GWS I saw a player throw the ball to a team mate as he was going back to take a shot on goal, which I thought was risky. 1 in 100 times the ump might confuse that as an attempt to play on.

Brown has a tendency to do this as well. No umpire has been game to call play on though :p

Yes it is without a doubt play on. I did that to a player once... By far my best umpiring memory.

The numpty questions thread