The OFFICIAL 2012 Draft thread: Picks 15, 38, 42, 48, 58, 63

We currently have 1 small/medium forward. Just saying.

And no electric defender should anything happen to Atley.

Ben Kennedy is a small forward/midfielder.

Thomas plays the small/medium forward role.

Harvey plays the small forward role.

Just saying.

We currently have 1 small/medium forward. Just saying.

And no electric defender should anything happen to Atley.
You don't draft 18 year olds to fill gaps in the side as of next year. Atley is going to be impossible to replace. In fact, our best bet if anything happens to him might just be giving Wells or Harper a run behind the ball. It certainly won't be Irra or Tipungwuti.

Here's something I threw together, with a bit of wishful thinking:
15 - Kennedy
38 - Towers/Jacobs
42 - Towers/Jacobs
48 - Bourke
58 - Ben Ross
63 - Hine

rookie - Daniel Currie/some ruckman, Duffy, Richardson, Speight

NB - in preparation for the rookie draft I'd delist Max Warren and then re-draft him if someone pinches Richo or Speight off us.

This will leave our list in good shape and will recover a lot of lost depth by trading out the likes of Pedo, Hamish, Azza and losing Garlett and Campbell. Jordan Bourke appears a real project player, but everyone else should be pushing for senior games next year. Kennedy appears ready to go and everyone else is 19 years or above and have pre-seasons under their belt.

Safe to say our first round pick this year will be one of: Kennedy, Stringer, Garlett, Garner or Hrovat.
I agree and i would be happy with any of the 5 mentioned above.
I have a feeling/hoping one of menzel or o'rourke will be available at 15 in which case we would definetly take them.

But to play it safe i think our draft should end up something like this if most things go as predicted
15: Hrovat, Kennedy or Garner
38: Jacobs, Temay or Graham
42:Mcbean or Haynes
48: Pongracic, Atkins or shane nelson
58: Myles Bolger, Rodda or Spencer White
63: Taylor Hine

wanted know the thoughts on jesse lonergan at pick 15 only if stringer and menzel are chosen.....personally would choose between lonergan and kennedy however i think lonergan has more upside

181cm/90kg inside type, explosive and athletic. Wouldn't be a bad selection.

Give us your best case scenario then?
pick 15 stringer,menzel both gone lonergan or kennedy
pick 38 Jacobs
pick 42 mcbean
pick 48 small forward most say tipungwuti
pick 58 Hine
pick 63 medium forward /utilty (maybe throw a lifeline to Ricky pettard)

This is precisely the reason we will go risky in this draft.

Wright is our best tagger and probably our classiest duel sided player, IMO that suggests perfect wingman.
Harper is tracking ahead of Paddy Danger at the same age with a similar build and pace and by right should be pushing into the midfield shorty along with Atley.

We just need some freaks now, we have the grunt but lack just pure class, talent & pace. Not only overall, but we need to replace the gun kids who do possess these qualities in their respective positions as they move into the midfield permanently in the coming years.

My wish list.

Pick 15: Josh Simpson
Pick 38: Marvin Worrell
Pick 42: Mathew McDonough
Pick 48: Dean Kent
Pick 58: Emmanuel Irra
Pick 63: Taylor Hine? not sure of how we get him but want. If we have this pick, Anthony Tipungwuti
Majak
Mullet
Gibson

And Rookie: Orren Stephenson, Ricky Bobby, Jacobs (not convinced he is worth more than tbh)

McDonald and a Free Agent the following year and i don't think there'll too many teams we'll be worrying about.

We won't get 5 better players than Hine before pick 63.

I highly doubt we'll get 3.

is ricky pettard worth picking up .....the times he wasnt injured he looked really promising at afl level , he also played a few games in the midfield and defense and played pretty good example i think it was a draw against collingwood
dont know if his nominated for the draft that been said he is a delisted freeagent and wont cost a pick just a spot a the main list imo can add another dimension to our game similar to role thomas plays

Is it just me, but I can't see why Garner is rated so highly (based on the clips). Very, very outside and skills and evasiveness are good, but not so exceptional I go "wow". A good pickup, but for pick 15? Of the WA Aboriginal kids, I prefer Simpson (based on the clips) as he displays a cool head in traffic, but I wonder whether either of these guys are the style of player we need... just yet. (inb4 'racist'. :p )

Then again, perhaps they are what we need if we're hoping the likes of Gysbert and Jacobs, if we get him, step up and provide more of the inside midfielder depth. But, I like how O'Rourke, Kennedy, Hrovat have the inside/outside element to them. Had to smile at O'Rourke making sure that message got through.

On Stringer, while I appreciate Pykie's assessments (always), I do wonder about him, notwithstanding the leg issue. Does his height make him a bit of a 'tweener', despite his contested marking ability? Does his (lack of) pace make him a liability in the middle, despite having some footy smarts? Love to hear your thoughts on this Pykie.

What I'd be interested in people's thoughts on how their preferred choices fit in, in a team and list management sense, not just on an assessment of their independent potential.

You don't draft 18 year olds to fill gaps in the side as of next year. Atley is going to be impossible to replace. In fact, our best bet if anything happens to him might just be giving Wells or Harper a run behind the ball. It certainly won't be Irra or Tipungwuti.

Here's something I threw together, with a bit of wishful thinking:
15 - Kennedy
38 - Towers/Jacobs
42 - Towers/Jacobs
48 - Bourke
58 - Ben Ross
63 - Hine

None of these guys will play next year. They are all for the nursery.

What do you think about Worrell? Big game player, outstanding prospect... I would have thought he is exactly the player we need in our nursery and a perfect fit for 38.

Jacobs is a poor man's Levi Greenwood. Wasting pick 42 on that spud would be poor.

What do you think about Worrell? Big game player, outstanding prospect... I would have thought he is exactly the player we need in our nursery and a perfect fit for 38.

Jacobs is a poor man's Levi Greenwood. Wasting pick 42 on that spud would be poor.
Worrell is worth consideration late or in the rookie draft.

Jacobs is a better kick, mark and is quicker than Levi. He's had more injury problems than Levi though, so the only question is what impact that has had on his development and what the future holds on that front. His injury history is why I am not so interested in Menzel, Stringer or Garlett at our first pick. Shouldn't take many kids with injury problems.

Nah mate, Jacobs is better than that. He's just going to take time. I expect he will be a good player from 24 onwards.

I hope you're right mate as we have a hard on for him.

On that basis I'll revert to a wishlist of the following:

Pick 15: Kennedy, Garlett, Simpson (Boomer, Jetta/Bennell, Wells)
Pick 38: Ben Jacobs
Pick 42: Marvin Worrell (Yarran, but likes the big stage)
Pick 48: Mathew McDonough (Porplyzia, without dodgy shoulders)
Pick 58: Dean Kent (Alex Fasolo crossed with Luke Parker apparently, depending on who you listen to)
Pick 63: Darcy Fort (Goldstein, with competitive spirit)

Perhaps we can rookie some of Hine, Tipungwuti, Speight, Irra and Currie with a bit of luck.

Flawed Genius' is probably the best group on paper, absolutely no doubt, but not convinced any of them will be available at our selections.

I for one am hoping Lonergan's injury concerns and because he is a div 2 player make him fall significantly to our 2nd pick. Actually wouldn't be surprised if he went top 15 on draft day. Like the cut of his jib.

My ideal draft day would be:

15:Stringer/Kennedy/Hrovat/Longeran/Slider (O'Rourke)...I don't want Garner.
38: Ben Jacobs/Taylor Hine/Tom Temay/Jason Pongracic/Dean Towers
42: Tom Temay/Shane Nelson/Taylor Hine
48: Spencer White/Jake Calvert/Michael Close/Nick Rodda
58: Marvin Warrell/Tingpungwuti/Shannon Taylor
63: Daniel Currie/Myles Bolger/Chris Prowse

Rookie pick 1: Max Duffy/Shane Nelson/Ben Duscher
Rookie pick 2: Project/Mature ruckman
Rookie pick 3: Speight/Richo

Ideally I hope our strategy is:
15:Genuine mid
38:Mid/Mature Mid (Jacobs or Hine)
42: Mid
48:project Key position
58: Small forward
63: Mature/Project Ruck

Ideally I hope our strategy is:
15:Genuine mid
38:Mid/Mature Mid (Jacobs or Hine)
42: Mid
48:project Key position
58: Small forward
63: Mature/Project Ruck
if stringer and menzel are gone imo lonergan or kennedy is the type we should select
in your strategy is there a late round or rookie selection for a medium forward type such as maybe pettard as has the motor to play mid or back and at 24 can play straight away

i would like to put another plug in for anthony bonaddio (northern knights)as a late rd pick,havent seen him mentioned in many phantom drafts or draft discussion,but i have seen him play a few games,would classify him as a small forward type,above average pace,good disposal,very handy around goals,and is a little tackling machine,really chases hard and tackles with purpose,he apppears to relish that aspect,so would be a good asset on the forward line,the other guy from the knights who i have seen mentioned quite a bit is matthew haynes,reckon he will go top 30 or so,but looks like an afl player to me

if stringer and menzel are gone imo lonergan or kennedy is the type we should select
in your strategy is there a late round or rookie selection for a medium forward type such as maybe pettard as has the motor to play mid or back and at 24 can play straight away

If we wanted a mature half forward we would have kept one of warren, Edwards or McKinley who are all superior to Pettard.

i would like to put another plug in for anthony bonaddio (northern knights)as a late rd pick,havent seen him mentioned in many phantom drafts or draft discussion,but i have seen him play a few games,would classify him as a small forward type,above average pace,good disposal,very handy around goals,and is a little tackling machine,really chases hard and tackles with purpose,he apppears to relish that aspect,so would be a good asset on the forward line,the other guy from the knights who i have seen mentioned quite a bit is matthew haynes,reckon he will go top 30 or so,but looks like an afl player to me

Haynes is a bit meh to me. He is a good one on one player, but needs to be more damaging. I wouldn't pick him with one of our picks in the 30's but would be a solid pick later on. Would much prefer Temay!

Bonnadio would be a solid pick! Needs to add more strings to his bow, and may take a while to get his body up to size so he can compete with mature bodies.

The OFFICIAL 2012 Draft thread: Picks 15, 38, 42, 48, 58, 63