Discussion The Random Discussion Thread

Gringo seriously mate have you seen the pictures and numbers from the absolutely disastrous border policy of Biden/Harris. It’s real, not a beat up and was a massive election issue. Trump and the republicans have no issue with legal immigration as stated clearly yet again by Trump after his win.

Kamala Harris was a terrible candidate with a list of crazy positions which the legacy media tried their best to hide. There’s a reason she was first out of the race back in 2020. So no imo it wasn’t just shades of grey it really was a stark choice and the people across the US have made that choice.

The democrats have a lot of work to do if they want to turn things around but at present they seem shocked and hell bent on continuing with the same garbage, trump is hitler, we’re great, look what you’ve done you morons blah blah.

I’ve been around a while and I’ve never seen anything like the hit job the legacy media did on trump and they still lost. Cutting and dicing conversations to a few words to convey sinister completely misleading meaning happened time and time again, just a disgrace. That and just straight up bold faced lies by so many people again just terrible . It will be interesting to see how they fair going forward given despite their best efforts Harris lost. The reach and impact of guys like Rogan is very interesting and will no doubt be studied in depth. One things obvious the legacy media have to get back to reporting in a fair and balanced way and stop acting like political activists. Maybe then they can regain some trust and relevancy, but a lot are bleeding money, interesting times to say the least.

Whoever has been working Biden’s strings has turned the US into a joke, third world tactics of lawfare and trying to jail or in some cases jailing your political opponents and on and on it goes. An absolutely amazing win by Trump and the republicans with every chance unless they **** things up badly of getting 12 years in the White House imo.

Trump couldn’t have been more upfront about what he wanted to do out of the blocks and has a clear mandate to do as he promised. Let’s see how that works out and just watch the dems continue the yeah we know but we know better resistance at every turn.

As for Albanese there’s a very real chance he will get turfed out as well which is quite amazing given where he started. I guess if you do a lousy job and ignore the voters a new more volatile electorate will turf you out. Interesting early play out of the dems playbook, cancel student debt = reduce HECS debt by 20%. Negative gearing is a looser, Keating effectively abolished it and quickly had to reverse course. Best approach might be shut up, play and straight bat, pray for a rate cut and hope to squeak back in.

Anyway game over back to the draft.

Trump is aided by the legacy media making him out to be a rebel and outsider. He's still a corporate stooge.

The border stuff is partly true but again the whole illegals being brought in to vote stuff is a load of crap. Capitalism needs to import people to make the economy keep moving because growth stops as soon as they do. Kamala was a terrible choice no argument there.

Not sure why anyone thinks Trump is a saviour or outsider though. I think people will be bitterly disappointed when he doesn't do a lot of the stuff he claims he will. Hopefully he doesn't do a lot of his reforms because I don't think it will be good for the people who think he's going to fix their issues.

Albo will go down for the same reason. He's not fixing structural stuff while there is a real strain on household budgets. Inflation is an incumbent killer.

I definitely don't think it was the deciding factor, especially when Biden would have lost by even more. But you can't just disregard the fact that there is a certain amount of people in the US who are not ready for a woman president.

It's probably a factor for some as is race and a few other things but at the end of the day people want things to go back to how they were when you could have a better standard of living in the west. Capitalism is a limited system. Perpetual growth needs to start eating itself at some point. I read a lot of Twitter, people are raging that they can send billions to Israel and Ukraine but Americans can barely get by on two wages.

Ironically the Trump right are less hawkish than the Biden/Harris left at the moment. They talk about ending the constant wars that syphon money back to the military industry. I hope that is the one legacy Trump does leave.

Albo will go down for the same reason. He's not fixing structural stuff while there is a real strain on household budgets. Inflation is an incumbent killer.
I reckon a lot of political parties deep down wish they lost the during covid/post covid elections due to the inflation and the ones that did are soon realising that it was a blessing in disguise.

I reckon a lot of the analysis into the election is redundant.

I think it is as simple as this, the majority of people think they are being asked to vote: Are you left wing or are you right wing?

People are then voting based on their biases for or against either side of this false dichotomy.

People aren't analysing the economy, it's all based on gut feel.

People like Trump because he's anti-woke in their eyes. The right have a much more unified base, people are all marching to the same beat.

The left wing are too busy infighting based on how far down the purity cycle you are. I'm super left wing, welcome to countries don't bother me, I'm happy to use people's preferred pronouns, I believe in the gender pay gap etc. etc. Despite this I've still been called a transphobe for saying I wouldn't want to sleep with a transgender woman, I've still been called sexist for believing that athletes pay should be proportionate to the revenue they generate and I've still been called racist for thinking the Voice vote was a waste of time which I didn't believe would accomplish anything.

If you have reasonable people who are in the centre to the left, it's not hard to see how they get pushed to the right.

It's probably a factor for some as is race and a few other things but at the end of the day people want things to go back to how they were when you could have a better standard of living in the west. Capitalism is a limited system. Perpetual growth needs to start eating itself at some point. I read a lot of Twitter, people are raging that they can send billions to Israel and Ukraine but Americans can barely get by on two wages.

Ironically the Trump right are less hawkish than the Biden/Harris left at the moment. They talk about ending the constant wars that syphon money back to the military industry. I hope that is the one legacy Trump does leave.
Which is stupid in itself, anyone with half a clue about military contracts knows what Ukraine is being sent.

Are you referring to obsolete surplus?

The Ukraine aid argument is another one I find pretty dumb. They're sending equipment that was just going to rot away in storage facilities before being destroyed and at the same time, they are significantly leaking the armed forces of a hostile nation.

It's a win/win.

All my mates reckon Trump is going to end the war on day 1 without having to concede any captured territory to Russia.

They seriously believe that Putin is just going to walk away from the gambit that he has staked his entire legacy on just because Trump is a "strong negotiator"... it's a shame he didn't use those skills when he handed Afghanistan back to the taliban or gave Iran a free run at becoming a nuclear power...

And let's also be real, the USA's military industrial complex loves that sweet sweet money and is a key part of their economy.

And the US Military needs a good RnD testing field.

This is a footy forum site not a policical site

Trump would be a generational full forward. Tall, strong, incredibly handsome.
Sure, they're getting the equivalent of $8 billion worth of military gear, while new military gear is bought for the US.. Still, that $8 billion is being spent on weapons, instead of helping the people within the country that need real help.
I know it's much much more than $8 billion, but that's just an example.

All my mates reckon Trump is going to end the war on day 1 without having to concede any captured territory to Russia.
Some territory should be conceded to Russia. Some of that territory is close enough to Russia that it ultimately wouldn't matter. Nobody cared about Crimea 10 years ago. If it ends the war, it's a fine outcome.

Trump would be a generational full forward. Tall, strong, incredibly handsome.

Sure, they're getting the equivalent of $8 billion worth of military gear, while new military gear is bought for the US.. Still, that $8 billion is being spent on weapons, instead of helping the people within the country that need real help.
I know it's much much more than $8 billion, but that's just an example.

Some territory should be conceded to Russia. Some of that territory is close enough to Russia that it ultimately wouldn't matter. Nobody cared about Crimea 10 years ago. If it ends the war, it's a fine outcome.
America are spending that $8B you refer to on new equipment regardless to keep the military industrial complex ticking over. It either goes to Ukraine or it gets destroyed. What they could do with that money instead is irrelevant as neither party is willing to consider reducing military expenditure as it would be political suicide.

As for the idea that some territory should be conceded... that's just silly. You think capitulating to Putin is going to stop him from taking more land? It wouldn't be the end of the war, it would be the eye of the storm. It would be The Munich Agreement mk 2. The Trump cult would still be singing about peace for our time.

Some of us hold our tongues, just to say, you are wrong in this statement, so very wrong.

In other news...

Pakistan keep Australia in it as they give up a wicket in absolutely trashing Australia in the ODI. is to say Aus has never had a 10 wicket loss in Australia in ODI this came close as only 9 wicket win for Pakistan.
babar GIF

With the winning runs.

Discussion The Random Discussion Thread