Strategy Trade and List management Thread Part 5 (opposition supporters - READ posting rules before posting)

Why would you think he's taking the piss? We take one vanilla Footscray mid each year.

In all seriousness, we'd definitely be looking at drafting him (rightly or wrongly) unless another club snapped him up first.
Because in all seriousness, if we pick up Sullivan at the end of the year in any capacity our football department needs to pull the reins on whoever is making those decisions. I was crossing my fingers VD didn't have inside knowledge on us looking at Sullivan. He's a 25 year old mid with average disposal and is only solid at VFL level, not standout in any way. If our recruitment team, or Bevo thinks that a player like him could realistically make a long lasting impact in our senior team they'd be flat out wrong. I'd be willing to put my neck on the line with a call like that. Any late / rookie picks we take over the next couple years should be for areas of need, or players that have an outstanding trait to work with or significant potential upside. I'm talking lightly built key position types, rucks etc., players with great footy smarts that may need to work on endurance, elite pace types who may not win heaps of the ball, guys with a point of difference. We only have maybe 5-7 years left of some of the best midfield talent we've ever had as a team, and we should be looking to build around that with areas of need, not break-glass-in-case-of-emergency type guys who will never make the grade. AFL level players stand out in the VFL like a sore thumb, and Sullivan is not that guy. Neither was McComb, Hayes or even Gowers really. Speculative picks have worked for us with Bedendo recently, with Arthur Jones also showing flashes so it's got me stuffed why we don't back ourselves in to make those calls more. Watching the VFL has been pretty grim viewing this year, as it's genuinely hard to see where our next group of young talent is going to come from outside of JUH, Darcy, Jones and maybe Garcia. We have no developing key backs whatsoever, it's baffling and a glaring issue we need to fix especially as we don't seem to be a destination club for trade or free-agency big names.

So we're not after Logue a KPD but we're looking at drafting a small inside vanilla mid we don't need... Far out this hurts my brain

or Logue's manager is saying wake up Dogs ask the question as my client would consider it.

AFL site has the Blues pondering a contract for Caleb Marchbank:

He has an injury history that's pretty tough to read, but if the Blues lowball him on contract length because of that I'd be open to trying to pry him away with (slightly) more security. He's a damn good KPD, and these are the kind of risks you need to take when you don't have a lot of cap space/assets.

PS: the article also has two Vic clubs circling Lachie Sullivan. One club enquired about him for the mid-season draft but he was ineligible.

If Marchbank is our only defensive target, god help us.

You've drawn possibly the longest bow imaginable from my post.

Looks like we're back to the good old days where we are the preferred stalking horse for managers of tall guys as they begin to shake the tree, looking for better deals or to move clubs. Then this board get sucked into these strategically leaked then denied stories only to lose its collective shit to a chorus of 'Sam Power do somethings' if it doesn't happen.

We're being played.

Looks like we're back to the good old days where we are the preferred stalking horse for managers of tall guys as they begin to shake the tree, looking for better deals or to move clubs. Then this board get sucked into these strategically leaked then denied stories only to lose its collective s**t to a chorus of 'Sam Power do somethings' if it doesn't happen.

We're being played.

Reminds me of the Tim Boyle glory days

I find it hard to believe that a club that has been extremely open about hunting KPDs hasn’t even made a basic inquiry about the most prominent OOC KPD.

Young is slippery as.
Its equally hard to believe that Young wasn't the original source of the rumour.

These guys know how to feed the chooks and are experts at planting and then rescinding stories into a media machine desperate for content. All the while they get to project a facade of plausible deniability and journalists get two stories for the price of one.

I have no doubt that Sam Power is currently in the process of turning over every rock in the land and talking to the likes of Colin Young.

Do we need Lobb? To me it doesnt make much sense we need a CHB and our cap is full. If Lobb comes in then where does Jamarra and Bruce fit into that forwardline? All the good teams have 2 key forwards and a fleet of smalls to apply pressure. Are you going to play 4 talls? Madness
I understand your argument but what about Lobb as 2nd ruck / forward and play Darcy as 3 rd defender for a couple of years. we still need to bolster our backline with another Kpb from draft or trade.

Its equally hard to believe that Young wasn't the original source of the rumour.

These guys know how to feed the chooks and are experts at planting and then rescinding stories into a media machine desperate for content. All the while they get to project a facade of plausible deniability and journalists get two stories for the price of one.

I have no doubt that Sam Power is currently in the process of turning over every rock in the land and talking to the likes of Colin Young.
Sammy’s been busy negotiating extensions for Hannan, Bedendo and Buku. He’ll get to Logue soon.

Because in all seriousness, if we pick up Sullivan at the end of the year in any capacity our football department needs to pull the reins on whoever is making those decisions. I was crossing my fingers VD didn't have inside knowledge on us looking at Sullivan. He's a 25 year old mid with average disposal and is only solid at VFL level, not standout in any way. If our recruitment team, or Bevo thinks that a player like him could realistically make a long lasting impact in our senior team they'd be flat out wrong.

Well he would be cheap let’s get him

Scott, Gardiner, Hannan, McComb and Sullivan playing round 1 2023 oh wow

Well he would be cheap let’s get him

Scott, Gardiner, Hannan, McComb and Sullivan playing round 1 2023 oh wow

Tv Land Reaction GIF by [HASH=785530]#Impastor[/HASH]

Really depends on price for mine - I just don’t see what features he has to his game he’s just so bland. Average size if not undersized, not really great one on one, markings okay without being great, footskills probably on par with Gards & O’Brien.

I really just don’t see any stand out qualities- he’s definitely an upgrade on what we’ve got but I’m not sure that’s going to justify his cost, which will be quite expensive considering his situation imo
Spot on. He’s an upgrade on Gardner on O’Brien and yeah I’d take him over both, but that ain’t saying much. Logue is pretty limited himself.

At the right price, sure, but feel we’ll be giving up too much and paying overs for this deal.

He’s very overrated on here.

I find it hard to believe that a club that has been extremely open about hunting KPDs hasn’t even made a basic inquiry about the most prominent OOC KPD.

Young is slippery as.
Young is the slimiest person in the AFL
A) They arent "seeing where everything lies" at the end of the year without having clubs lined up to be traded to as an in contract player
B) He is absolutely the person who leaked it in the first place

I wouldnt be surprised if the has never said a completely true sentence in his entire life

You mentioned him not me. So Marchbank might be available. Our prayers answered
I'll refrain from raising new names then. Let's all spend another 20 pages discussing whether we have / why we haven't contacted Logue. To which the answer is, "Nobody knows, it's round ****ing 17." :thumbsu:

Brad
Jackson is being hugely overrated imo
I don't think he can play full time ruck. He is great utility, very similar to our Tim but more nimble to play a CHB or CHF role while Tim is the better ruck/mid ala Dean Cox. Jackson should definitely cash out while he can, his value/bargaining power has never been higher.

Really depends on price for mine - I just don’t see what features he has to his game he’s just so bland. Average size if not undersized, not really great one on one, markings okay without being great, footskills probably on par with Gards & O’Brien.

I really just don’t see any stand out qualities- he’s definitely an upgrade on what we’ve got but I’m not sure that’s going to justify his cost, which will be quite expensive considering his situation imo
Louge is a decent player, and improving rapidly.
I can’t believe someone so obsessed in Jordan Sweet can’t see the upside in any player..

I wonder if Jack Henry could be prised out of Geelong with the emergence of DeKonig. Might not be big enough for kpd1 though.