List Mgmt. Trade & Draft Discussion 2023 post season - Picks Reid,30,40,49,66 (Bush league)

Hello Eagles fans!

The embedded resources below are kept up to date by the trade board mods (as much as possible – we are human after all). Enjoy!

Keys you may like to sticky this post & move it to the start of the thread (so the sticky post doesn't rotate if a post is deleted before it), or copy it to your draft thread if you have one.

My 2 cents for everyone to have there fun.

Wce F1 for Geel F1 and pick 8
WCE pick 1 and 8 for north picks 2,3

Geelong take the risk that they are trading in for next years first, west coast hope they can finish higher than Geelong and get a steal, essentially then being pick 1 for 2 and 3 which as much as everyone disagrees is a bloody good deal for west coast.

West coast take duursma and curtin this year.

If Geelong don’t agree more than happy with Reid at 1
I’d say that’s a fraction of a cent. Perhaps 2 x TRON or 2x DOGE at best

To be honest we haven't added two best 22 players at all. Williams > Flynn and Cripps/Long/Pet/Jones are all better than brockman.
Added depth to those positions but haven't really made a substantial improvement. At all😒 Hopefully we can get a few games into Barnett if he's in good form rather than cement Flynn in.

But we at least have some bodies in the mix and for the WAFL team which doesn't need floggings every week.

(If we were going to go collard then you'd think he's also in that small fwd/flank mix further pushing Brockman back in the pecking order)
Adding Depth is fine and retaining our draft hand is more important. Our improvement will come internally from the previous drafts and this coming one. It just takes a little more patience.

Geelong take the risk that they are trading in for next years first, west coast hope they can finish higher than Geelong and get a steal, essentially then being pick 1 for 2 and 3 which as much as everyone disagrees is a bloody good deal for west coast.

1 & 8 for 2 & 3 ?? Are you insane man????

Not if we rate Curtin similarly to some of the top prospects next year.
In the end it comes down to Draper/O'Sullivan/Smith/Smillie vs Curtin + Windsor + late F1.
But I'm not informed enough to make a call on that. Can only cross our fingers and hope that ROB and co. make the right one.
Let's stop kidding ourselves on Curtin. There is at best a small chance he transitions to an elite midfielder given what he's shown so far, and to give up Reid who is as close to a sure thing and what we need as you're going to get for somebody whos midfield potential is speculative at best is plain and simply moronic. If he wasn't west australian he wouldn't even be in the discussion. He'd be nice to have but he is not a priority and I will lose no sleep if we miss out on him.

Wtf

Curtin is no where near good enough below his knees to be a midfielder.

I think at best he projects as a taller James Sicily/ grant Birchall

How is this draft so shallow - I was reliably told last year that this year's draft was better?

Which is the same as what we've been told every year since BigFooty has existed.

How is this draft so shallow - I was reliably told last year that this year's draft was better?

Which is the same as what we've been told every year since BigFooty has existed.

Goes back to the notion that people always over value what they can't have.

Has to make you think maybe that why Reid has looked so good, BC he has been playing against a bunch of kids who aren't up to it.

On Pixel 6 Pro using BigFooty.com mobile app

So could we strike a deal on draft night where we offer to the Suns that we won’t bid on Walter?
3000 pts down to 2517pts minus the 20% exception gives you 386 pts.
Say to the suns we will meet you in the middle and give you another 50% saving.
Approximately 193 pts.
Would upgrade our pick 37 up to either pick 27 or 28 which the Suns currently hold.

kearnsy

If you click on a posters name you’ll see a button that says “Ignore”

It can be a useful tool

BTW, the likelihood of getting into the top 10 this year without using our F1 are nil

Possibly swapping future firsts with Geelong for pick 8 but that’s risky since we’re a good chance at a bottom 2 finish and we’d get better value either using that pick or splitting it next year
Cheers mate I’ll keep that in mind 😂

So that would be us getting 8 this year and roughly 6-8 next year for our pick 1-3. I’m inclined to do that for Curtin and still pick up a good midfielder with Geelongs pick next year.

Do you reckon Melbourne would give up 6&11 for our future 1st and 23?

The F1 trade is risky if Geelong rediscover their mojo in 2024 and pick 1 or 2 for a pair of 8s isn’t great so I’d be looking to balance that up a bit better somehow. Maybe our F3 for their F2

1 and 8 for 2 and 3 when 1 is Reid, I’d rather 1 and 8 tbh. As 8 is either Curtin or O’Sullivan. So it needs one of 15,17 or 18 to come with 2 and 3

Then talk to Melbourne to swap 3 and 15 for 6,11 and their F1

Gives us 2,6,8,11 plus 2x F1 picks (Melbourne and Geelong) for the cost of Pick 1 and our F1

McKercher, Curtin, O’Sullivan, Leake or something like that

Plus we have 23 and 37 to then use on getting a pick this year to either move up higher this year or turn it into a pick this year and a future pick

Won’t happen of course

Well that's one of the worst trade suggestions I've seen recently so you've got that going for you
You could say that trade is one for the ages

We have an excellent trading history with Sydney as well.

Apart from jetta who they were happy to let go who have we got from Sydney?

Great trading relationship whilst they keep poaching our players .

If we went after and convinced MacDonald to leave Sydney I doubt they would be happy and want to give us a fair deal

So 2 x potential pick 1s for 2 & 3 and maybe a future 8?

no thanks

and Curtin and Duursma? Yuck
Yeah worst case scenario that is the case. Another scenario west coast could be doing 1,F6 for 2,3,F2 so how about taking an educated punt because let’s be honest Geelong definitely aren’t getting any better next year. They are about to drop off the edge of the cliff.

And I think people are putting too much value on the number one. Have a look at a few other drafts.
What would you choose out of mccluggage and Taranto or McGrath and logue.? Or what about McCartin and wright or petracca and brayshaw? Tom Boyd and mcdonald or bont and Kelly ?

WCE see curtin as our next big bodied midfielder and yes like many recruiters I think he and duursma are pick 2 and 3

I think this year has more opportunity later on due to more talls being in it than last year. Long has been the outlier from last year so well done Rob and team.
However this year there will be opportunities hopefully we nail one or two of them again.

I look forward to ROB scratching his neck when responding to a question regarding pick 1 and that being turned over for 40 pages in under an hour.

Interesting angle.

But yes Curtin by putting himself up as a midfielder adds more complexity to his selectiin and adds doubts about his best position. As opposed to just going with what we know, he's an outstanding 197cm defender with great skills and leadership qualities.

And yes, there are two very good Vic CHB's mid first round as well.

Maybe why we are sniffing around the Cats 1st pick?
Outstanding defender ? He was owned 2 games in a row in the champs . They then moved him to the midfield.

I would be more inclined to start the ball rolling with busslinger who is a better defender and interceptor and will be in competition with so many young talls at bulldogs .

Oh boy am I salty tonight for absolutely no reason!

Gonna take it all out in britzoon when he inevitably pops his head up to mansplain the draft to the board for the 72nd time.

Adding Depth is fine and retaining our draft hand is more important. Our improvement will come internally from the previous drafts and this coming one. It just takes a little more patience.
I'm not against the moves as they were basically free and do improve our list. Just wont be the ones to take us to a flag in 6-8 years.

Yeah worst case scenario that is the case. Another scenario west coast could be doing 1,F6 for 2,3,F2 so how about taking an educated punt because let’s be honest Geelong definitely aren’t getting any better next year. They are about to drop off the edge of the cliff.

And I think people are putting too much value on the number one. Have a look at a few other drafts.
What would you choose out of mccluggage and Taranto or McGrath and logue.? Or what about McCartin and wright or petracca and brayshaw? Tom Boyd and mcdonald or bont and Kelly ?

WCE see curtin as our next big bodied midfielder and yes like many recruiters I think he and duursma are pick 2 and 3
Stupid way to look at pick 1. Should be looking at types of players and attributes as the pointy end of the draft, not where they were arbitrarily picked. Petracca was the highest rated in his draft year but saints decided to pick mccartin instead. Petracca is also one of the players that Reid's attributes are similar to. How about we just choose the established midfielder, instead of the guy who maybe one day can be one, who also isn't half as good in the role, as the other guy. Crazy thought?

To be honest we haven't added two best 22 players at all. Williams > Flynn and Cripps/Long/Pet/Jones are all better than brockman.
Added depth to those positions but haven't really made a substantial improvement. At all😒 Hopefully we can get a few games into Barnett if he's in good form rather than cement Flynn in.

But we at least have some bodies in the mix and for the WAFL team which doesn't need floggings every week.

(If we were going to go collard then you'd think he's also in that small fwd/flank mix further pushing Brockman back in the pecking order)
I have to disagree. Flynn was a CHB growing up and a very good kick he just grew to ruckman size . He is in his prime as a tall and we got him for nothing .
He can be used as a ruck and go behind the ball when needed .

Brockman is 20 and competing with cripps who is finishing his career , long who most with a good eye can see will become a mid and Ryan who plays his best footy is field kicking inside 50 .

Even if we get collard this draft period brockman will have plenty of opportunities.

So for free + pick 44 + 63 we have done pretty well considering both Flynn and brockmans ages