List Mgmt. Trade & F/A - 2018/2019 - Part 2!

There needs to be some decisions made. Who’s realistically going ?

Fasolo
Oxley
Kirby
Smith
Wills ?
Blair
Broomhead
Wells
Crocker
Reid
Murray

That is my list I would of started with, I’m a fan of stability so obviously not going to turn them all over.
Can't argue with your list. Every one of them is highly dispensable, some more quickly disposed of than others.

Really hoping we just back our own and not panic .

Personally I don't think Steven May is worth it.

Keeping Moore is massive and if keep Langdon too it gives us a healthy mix with Goldsack also a rangy type.

At some point Scharenberg and Dunn will also be available (and if you see how quickly Goldsack returned, that should give both players the drive and confidence to be able to push towards a similar return time).

There's no need to panic but in this off season- especially since we have 2 quality academy prospects on the way and with our salary cap beginning to open up next year onwards.

Shaz would go to Adelaide or Port. They would send some players (ready made) to Gold Coast. Picks would get exchanged. We get May. I reckon Shaz would suit Adelaide after they lost Lever.

But you're right, with Shaz's injury and likely return date, it's probably not the time to discuss him in trades. I still wonder where he fits in with us now?
By the time he returns, there will probably be a ward full of players to replace. Nobody does injuries better than us. Shaz will probably have a smorgasbord of positions from which to choose.

Shaz would go to Adelaide or Port. They would send some players (ready made) to Gold Coast. Picks would get exchanged. We get May. I reckon Shaz would suit Adelaide after they lost Lever.

But you're right, with Shaz's injury and likely return date, it's probably not the time to discuss him in trades. I still wonder where he fits in with us now?
Fairly sure they’re happy with what Doedee provides in Levers former role.

I'm not liking the connection of Jake Neade to Collingwood. He's super quick forward. But not AFL standard as a sub one goal a game small forward who doesn't find nearly enough of the footy.

When I think unwanted, underrated forwards. I think Tim Membrey if I want someone who can take a grab and Jeff Garlett if I want someone who can crumb/pressure. Daniel Menzel is unwanted and is good for two goals a game and is one of the more dangerous general forwards in the competition and completely undervalued as one of not only the best goalkickers but also having the skills and setting up a lot of goals. Luke Dahlhaus would also be excellent, though conditional on the asking price being low - though he's expected to go to Geelong. Ben Keays has long been underused by Brisbane - though looks set to go to Gold Coast. There are some good options out there and better ones than Neade who can be had cheaply. Aaron Hall if we want outside speed - he's extremely undervalued on the open market and North will be robbing Gold Coast if they can get him for a late pick.

If Atu through the draft isn't enough. Boyd Woodcock if he's available late is one through the draf could be something like Jarryd Blair has been, if not a similar type who can offer slightly more scoreboard impact. He's had a great finals series with 3 goals in a winning grand final (albeit 3 cheap goals), 3 goals the week before and 25 disposals and 2 goals the game before that all in finals. Pretty good for an u18 kid in the SANFL at League level. Mitch Maguire from the NEAFL or Haiden Schloithe from the WAFL while they can also play through the midfield are much better forwards and have fairly complete games as two who can pressure, win it and hit the scoreboard. Ben Cavarra in the VFL has his fans. Ben Sokol can take a grab and has the endurance to push up the ground and find a lot of it. There's some talent out there.

As for May. It's the right move to sign up Langdon/Moore and not move both for May, who is to say Moore doesn't have a better career than May, or Langdon for that matter? The 2018 first rounder and 2019 second rounder can always be offered for May and if that's not enough, then that's fine. There are younger, more durable key defenders who can be had more cheaply elsewhere.

*Also as a further side comment. With Sam Murray likely to get done with the ASADA business, I'm looking at our own Marty Hore as someone who is able in his own right to earn a best 22 position in defence. Callum Wilkie I also like for that same role from the SANFL.

Fasolo
Oxley
Kirby
Smith
Wills ?
Blair
Broomhead
Wells
Crocker
Reid
Murray

That is my list I would of started with, I’m a fan of stability so obviously not going to turn them all over.
Reid and Wells are definitely contracted next year and will stay. You would think Broomhead will get another go around as well as they do think highly of him, he’s just had a terrible run with injuries. Fasolo we know is almost certainly of to Carlton and Murray highly depends on what happens with ASADA.

That would leave
Oxley
Kirby
Smith
Wills
Blair
Crocker

With decisions to be made. I would be surprised to see Crocker go unless he is traded.

I wouldn’t mind Daniel Menzel on the cheap. He could easily play De Goey’s role as the deepest forward. This allows Jordan to play more midfield minutes.

They average about the same tackles Inside the Forward 50.

I wouldn’t mind Daniel Menzel on the cheap. He could easily play De Goey’s role as the deepest forward. This allows Jordan to play more midfield minutes.

They average about the same tackles Inside the Forward 50.
Averaged 2 goals per game. 40+ goal season players on the cheap isn't the worst pick up. Not sure if he would fit in the 22 though. Seems similar to Fas.

Really hoping we just back our own and not panic .

Personally I don't think Steven May is worth it.

Keeping Moore is massive and if keep Langdon too it gives us a healthy mix with Goldsack also a rangy type.

At some point Scharenberg and Dunn will also be available (and if you see how quickly Goldsack returned, that should give both players the drive and confidence to be able to push towards a similar return time).

There's no need to panic but in this off season- especially since we have 2 quality academy prospects on the way and with our salary cap beginning to open up next year onwards.
I actually agree....
I don’t really get the big deal about May?
McLarty?
Will Kelly?
Moore?... they’re all big boys
Langdon?
Howe?
Schazza?
Howe?
Madge?
Mihocek?...
They’re all med to big
Maynard?
Murphy?
Apples?
Greenwood?
Crisp?... they all play medium to small.

How many goddam defenders do we need.
Not to mention, squeezing a bit more juice out Reid, Dunn and Goldy.
...and this Quaynor kid is meant to be a real defensive talent.
Bringing in May on big bucks and potentially losing a guy who had a STELLAR finals series...that could piss off a few of the boys.
I’m happy to pass on May.

Reid and Wells are definitely contracted next year and will stay. You would think Broomhead will get another go around as well as they do think highly of him, he’s just had a terrible run with injuries. Fasolo we know is almost certainly of to Carlton and Murray highly depends on what happens with ASADA.

That would leave
Oxley
Kirby
Smith
Wills
Blair
Crocker

With decisions to be made. I would be surprised to see Crocker go unless he is traded.
I’m pretty sure Wills received 2 more years, earlier this year.

I'm not liking the connection of Jake Neade to Collingwood. He's super quick forward. But not AFL standard as a sub one goal a game small forward who doesn't find nearly enough of the footy.

When I think unwanted, underrated forwards. I think Tim Membrey if I want someone who can take a grab and Jeff Garlett if I want someone who can crumb/pressure. Daniel Menzel is unwanted and is good for two goals a game and is one of the more dangerous general forwards in the competition and completely undervalued as one of not only the best goalkickers but also having the skills and setting up a lot of goals. Luke Dahlhaus would also be excellent, though conditional on the asking price being low - though he's expected to go to Geelong. Ben Keays has long been underused by Brisbane - though looks set to go to Gold Coast. There are some good options out there and better ones than Neade who can be had cheaply. Aaron Hall if we want outside speed - he's extremely undervalued on the open market and North will be robbing Gold Coast if they can get him for a late pick.

If Atu through the draft isn't enough. Boyd Woodcock if he's available late is one through the draf could be something like Jarryd Blair has been, if not a similar type who can offer slightly more scoreboard impact. He's had a great finals series with 3 goals in a winning grand final (albeit 3 cheap goals), 3 goals the week before and 25 disposals and 2 goals the game before that all in finals. Pretty good for an u18 kid in the SANFL at League level. Mitch Maguire from the NEAFL or Haiden Schloithe from the WAFL while they can also play through the midfield are much better forwards and have fairly complete games as two who can pressure, win it and hit the scoreboard. Ben Cavarra in the VFL has his fans. Ben Sokol can take a grab and has the endurance to push up the ground and find a lot of it. There's some talent out there.

As for May. It's the right move to sign up Langdon/Moore and not move both for May, who is to say Moore doesn't have a better career than May, or Langdon for that matter? The 2018 first rounder and 2019 second rounder can always be offered for May and if that's not enough, then that's fine. There are younger, more durable key defenders who can be had more cheaply elsewhere.

*Also as a further side comment. With Sam Murray likely to get done with the ASADA business, I'm looking at our own Marty Hore as someone who is able in his own right to earn a best 22 position in defence. Callum Wilkie I also like for that same role from the SANFL.
Of all this, I like Menzel. Gives our forward line another string without upsetting crazy structure that got us so far this year

I’m pretty sure Wills received 2 more years, earlier this year.

It was last year but yes, Wills was signed for two years:

http://m.afl.com.au/news/2017-10-13...ls-for-young-duo-rupert-wills-and-josh-thomas

I wouldn't at all be surprised if he requests a trade though - 26 next year and is a capable inside mid at AFL level, but I can't see him breaking into our AFL side now so he probably needs to go elsewhere to have a better chance of getting two more contracts to finish out his career.

Fasolo
Oxley
Kirby
Smith
Wills ?
Blair
Broomhead
Wells
Crocker
Reid
Murray

You need to brush up on when players are out of contract.

Wills and Crocker are not going anywhere this year unless they ask for a trade. Unlikely for Crocker as it's pretty clear he loves the club and is pretty close with a lot of the other boys. If they get delisted it will be end of 2019.

Wells' manager has already said he will be seeing out the last year of his contract in 2019. There's no use delisting him just to create a space because his salary (which is significant) will still be on the books.

Reid has a contract for next year too.

It was last year but yes, Wills was signed for two years:

http://m.afl.com.au/news/2017-10-13...ls-for-young-duo-rupert-wills-and-josh-thomas

I wouldn't at all be surprised if he requests rtade though - 26 next year and is a capable inside midmat AFL level but I can't see him breaking into our AFL side now so he probably needs to go elsewhere to have a better chance of getting two more contracts to finish out his career.
We would get absolutely bupkis for him.

Of all this, I like Menzel. Gives our forward line another string without upsetting crazy structure that got us so far this year

He's a realistic get.

It's curious, Champion Data listed Menzel one of Geelong's four 'elite' players based on 2017 performance. And yet last offseason no one wanted him and the best he could do was return to Geelong on a one year deal.

Clubs are all about forward pressure, and rightly. And with that a key part of Champion Data's evaluation, they still view Menzel as elite with his offence with the third most goals per game of a general forward and providing that elite delivery by foot to set up teammates i50 for scoring opportunities.

He's a realistic get.

It's curious, Champion Data listed Menzel one of Geelong's four 'elite' players based on 2017 performance. And yet last offseason no one wanted him and the best he could do was return to Geelong on a one year deal.

Clubs are all about forward pressure, and rightly. And with that a key part of Champion Data's evaluation, they still view Menzel as elite with his offence with the third most goals per game of a general forward and providing that elite delivery by foot to set up teammates i50 for scoring opportunities.
Interesting. I really liked Varcoe before we got him from the cats too ;).
Keep up the great work mate. Love your posting.

Menzal doesn't run or chase and if not kicking goals becomes a liability on the defensive end.

No different to De Goey, especially in the last 2 minutes of the Grand Final.

Not everyone needs to be a pressure forward, but if we can get a bloke guarantees 2 goals a game. Also, allowing De GOEY to play more midfield time. Then so be it.

Chris Scott clarified on AFL 360 during the year that the reason Menzel is only offered 1 year contracts is because of his injury history and likelihood of recurrence.

No different to De Goey, especially in the last 2 minutes of the Grand Final.

Not everyone needs to be a pressure forward, but if we can get a bloke guarantees 2 goals a game. Also, allowing De GOEY to play more midfield time. Then so be it.
Everyone needs to be a pressure forward.

Besides, if Elliot is fit next seasons he averages near 2 goals per game and does work very hard on defence.

Menzal doesn't run or chase and if not kicking goals becomes a liability on the defensive end.

Menzel doesn't need to kick goals. If he's not kicking goals, he's setting them up and hitting targets i50 in positions they can convert from. That's why Champion Data evaluate Menzel as an elite forward.

I also see Menzel's game as having backline compatibility. He obviously has the ball use, he's good 1v1 and a good mark who reads it well in flight. He could be a better Langdon in a Collingwood context, and not that he has to necessarily displace Langdon, but I could see him playing that same role to a similar standard just with substantially better skills.

Good run assessment.

Your opinion on Jack Lonie?