List Mgmt. Trade & F/A - 2018/2019 - Part 2!

Um the AFLPA MVP awards are on tonight in Melbourne. I got a feeling he might be attending.
He hasn’t been in contention for any awards this year, so why would he be going to it? Unless all the captains are invited or something...?

It's the Players Association awards all players are invited to attend as they are all members. This is the players award night.

Anyone like Hombsch from Port Adelaide? Could be gettable with a 3rd/4th and cover the loss of Dunn and Moore if he goes. Saw that Port are trying to move him and Pittard to get some of the SA boys in this years draft.

I'd take Pittard. Gun!

Steven May met his manager in Melbourne today, looking like he may be Vic bound.

If we want May we might need to go for him before his free agency year. It'd be a shame to lose our 1st rounder but i'd be comfortable if we did it.

Beams spent a lot of time emptying the sh@t can over Buckley and the club after he left - absolutely NO class onfield or off.

Thank FCK for that, good player but no class whatsoever on or off field.

As for his behavior in the media after leaving the club . . . not one trace of class.

Yep Heater has been good and more power to him, welcome back at any time.

Interesting view Jon but I dont share it. Like both of them and welcome both back. Still the way I look at it was Heater left because he was mucking up so much and disrupting the club he became a bad influence. Even though he has been gone longer than Beams he did choose to tip on Bucks this year and others at Collingwood. No great value in that.

Beams was a wanted player who left to be with his seriously ill father. He was keener on Brisbance than GC as his brother was there and especially with his fathers issues that would have been really important. Below are a couple of quotes from Beams shortly after he left the Pies. I dont recall him dumping on the Pies or Bucks after he left. Where did you hear that?

The passing of his old man 3 years after he left us absolutely vindicates his decision and backs up how important it was he went home. With us doing fantatically from the trade and Brissie getting a gun its a classic win win.

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct...5732679b5539&usg=AOvVaw2HwB7nGIRXCdIsFVI6NslW

"“Eighteen months ago I wasn’t even thinking about moving or changing clubs and then you get that instant five-minute phone call where a lot of things change,’’ he says of his father’s diagnosis.

“For me the number one value in my life is my family and I love them and love spending time with my old man, I have been down there most weekends and it’s great.

“Obviously when we all found out we didn’t know how serious it was, but it’s irrelevant whether he’s in remission or not, it’s more of me thinking that I would love to be here if this happened again and I don’t want to be the one who is always away from him."

Making up his mind that he wanted out of Collingwood — in the days after September’s Brownlow Medal — was in some ways the easy part for Beams.

Telling his club and getting a deal done represented a more significant challenge.

He rails at the notion he escaped for big dollars, which makes sense given the Pies would surely have offered something comparable to his five year contract.

811ac632d0045b80de2662d0d081739a

Dayne Beams in action for Collingwood last year. Picture: Getty
“Money was never an issue for me. I would have gone to Brisbane or the Gold Coast but Brisbane got the gig because my brother played there. Money never came into it.

“It was never in my thinking. All I said to (manager) Paul (Connors) was to get me there. I didn’t ask for any dollars or figures.

“I made the decision after the Brownlow and it wasn’t something I was looking forward to do but I knew I had to do the right thing.

“I didn’t want to do it over the phone or text. It’s like breaking up with your girlfriend over text message.

“”I caught up with Bucks for half an hour and then caught up with Eddie (McGuire) straight away and told him as well.

“It was nothing I was embarrassed about, I just had to do it the right way.

“Eddie and Bucks were fine. Eddie was understanding and I almost wouldn’t respect someone who didn’t respect me.”

He and Buckley haven’t spoken since.

Beams carefully navigates the question on his coach but it seems clear if that relationship didn’t drive him out, it didn’t demand he stay at Collingwood either.

“I had a working relationship with Bucks, as anyone else working in any other job does. They have working relationships with people and you also have people you would have a beer with.

238ceb7462ee5b8f84e1a75ff9a7396c

Collingwood coach Nathan Buckley with Dayne Beams last year. Picture: Herald Sun
“There were players in the group I had working relationships with and guys I was really close with. I have got no angst towards Bucks at all. At the end of the day he let me go and I am thankful for that and thankful for the footy club.

Just my thoughts on mentioned players.

Lynch. Yes but it seems he's Tiger bound.
Not fazed either way.
May. At the right price and now, not next year.
Goddard. Yep. He is a flog, no doubt, but as insurance and the cost of a spot on the list for a year I'd give him a go.

Other than that, lets go to the draft again and try to repeat last years efforts.

Moore. Sign the contract already.
While I understand his position, I don't have to like it.
If this how he's going to treat the club every time he's out of contract, I'd rather him leave.

If he wants to go he can GAGF.
I'm ok with the club telling him we'll find the best deal for us.
If that's his club of choice all good and well.
If not, stiff sh1t.
If that means he walks to the draft then so be it. Go play for Carltank. Ala Nick Stevens.

Gibbs said if a deal could be done he'd go but he'd of stayed if he had to. SOS traded him.

Gibbs was definitely still a required player at Carlton - not sure what point you're trying to make about his trade but it was arranged at Gibbs' request after requesting to go home for family reasons two years in a row, not because Carlton wanted him gone.

I could easily see them wanting to fill the void with a player like Beams, but after tonight's news any prospect of Beams wanting out of Brisbane early has been squashed by Beams himself.

Interesting view Jon but I dont share it. Like both of them and welcome both back. Still the way I look at it was Heater left because he was mucking up so much and disrupting the club he became a bad influence. Even though he has been gone longer than Beams he did choose to tip on Bucks this year and others at Collingwood. No great value in that.

Beams was a wanted player who left to be with his seriously ill father. He was keener on Brisbance than GC as his brother was there and especially with his fathers issues that would have been really important. Below are a couple of quotes from Beams shortly after he left the Pies. I dont recall him dumping on the Pies or Bucks after he left. Where did you hear that?

The passing of his old man 3 years after he left us absolutely vindicates his decision and backs up how important it was he went home. With us doing fantatically from the trade and Brissie getting a gun its a classic win win.

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=6&ved=2ahUKEwiI6I_jtpTdAhVPEXAKHWuDDzcQFjAFegQICRAB&url=https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/teams/brisbane/brisbane-recruit-dayne-beams-settling-to-life-outside-the-collingwood-melbourne-footy-bubbles/news-story/3d1f79a278706a8363095732679b5539&usg=AOvVaw2HwB7nGIRXCdIsFVI6NslW

"“Eighteen months ago I wasn’t even thinking about moving or changing clubs and then you get that instant five-minute phone call where a lot of things change,’’ he says of his father’s diagnosis.

“For me the number one value in my life is my family and I love them and love spending time with my old man, I have been down there most weekends and it’s great.

“Obviously when we all found out we didn’t know how serious it was, but it’s irrelevant whether he’s in remission or not, it’s more of me thinking that I would love to be here if this happened again and I don’t want to be the one who is always away from him."

Making up his mind that he wanted out of Collingwood — in the days after September’s Brownlow Medal — was in some ways the easy part for Beams.

Telling his club and getting a deal done represented a more significant challenge.

He rails at the notion he escaped for big dollars, which makes sense given the Pies would surely have offered something comparable to his five year contract.

811ac632d0045b80de2662d0d081739a

Dayne Beams in action for Collingwood last year. Picture: Getty
“Money was never an issue for me. I would have gone to Brisbane or the Gold Coast but Brisbane got the gig because my brother played there. Money never came into it.

“It was never in my thinking. All I said to (manager) Paul (Connors) was to get me there. I didn’t ask for any dollars or figures.

“I made the decision after the Brownlow and it wasn’t something I was looking forward to do but I knew I had to do the right thing.

“I didn’t want to do it over the phone or text. It’s like breaking up with your girlfriend over text message.

“”I caught up with Bucks for half an hour and then caught up with Eddie (McGuire) straight away and told him as well.

“It was nothing I was embarrassed about, I just had to do it the right way.

“Eddie and Bucks were fine. Eddie was understanding and I almost wouldn’t respect someone who didn’t respect me.”

He and Buckley haven’t spoken since.

Beams carefully navigates the question on his coach but it seems clear if that relationship didn’t drive him out, it didn’t demand he stay at Collingwood either.

“I had a working relationship with Bucks, as anyone else working in any other job does. They have working relationships with people and you also have people you would have a beer with.

238ceb7462ee5b8f84e1a75ff9a7396c

Collingwood coach Nathan Buckley with Dayne Beams last year. Picture: Herald Sun
“There were players in the group I had working relationships with and guys I was really close with. I have got no angst towards Bucks at all. At the end of the day he let me go and I am thankful for that and thankful for the footy club.
Would be a dull world if we all had the same views GC I respect yours and am happy with my own.

Get over yourself mate, you're an embarrassment.
You get proven wrong, then resort to personal attacks. Stop acting like a child.

Mr Pie above listed the various players we are linked to and others with a view on each.
Liked that idea.
  • Might be a nice excercise to do and revisit after the draft?
My insect says keep your first pick!

Tom Lynch: Yes. Makes us better but don't want to give up the farm; I'm a little tepid on him but still a yes from me. What we pay salary wise bothers me less than others but it should be fair even with a little mayo thrown in as required.

Steven May: Yes but at fair value only. If not wait a year.

Darcy Moore: sign him, he's a pivot. Offers so much if fit (yes that's the issue) if he must go send him to Carlton for pick 1 - make the deal with extras and reboot with Lukosious. If not just sign Darcy.

Gaff: We won't get him but be nice. Too fanciful an idea.

BJ Goddard: Too much of a flog, too much angst, fine player even now but just not worth the hassle.

Scott Thompson: Yes if he was easy to get as perfect Dunn type fill in. Suggest has about two years left.

D Beams: He'll stay at Brisbane. If he returned, we'd all forget the past, give him a hug and move on forward. Very good player.

McGovern, the lesser one: a no from me.

Dreaming: I'd really be strategic and look at Lukosious; be very very nice :)

If we believe we are a genuine flag chance next season, then May is a must this trade period.

We need Lynch or May.
It improves us significantly.
Yep either player are missing pieces that will put us right into premiership contention next year along with the natural improvement within our list. May currently is the greater need.