Mega Thread Trade/Free Agency Open Discussion - RFC Forum

[QUOTE="docko911, post: 41426716, member: I don't really get the desire for a "big fish". As a long time Richmond fan would you really want premiership success to come off the back of recruiting say Patrick Dangerfield? I mean it would feel like we we were sharing it with Adelaide because he will always be an Adelaide player to me.

*Besides I actually don't think clubs that recruit big fish go very well after. Look at Carlton now, and look at where Sydney will be...

As a Richmond fan I like players who have their backs to the wall and are either looking to prove themselves at a new club or looking for redemption.

Miles and Hunt are great examples. Both got thrown to the wolves and both are seeking redemption.

That's why I think if we end up with players like:

Yarran - mistreated by previous coach and club.
Townsend - overlooked behind an excess of talent and overrated talent.
J.Anderson - starved of opportunity despite being capable of getting games at pretty much any other club in the AFL.

If we get these 3 blokes and keep our first then it's a massive win. You usually have to pick up your top end talent in the draft so keeping our first is ideal for the future, and keeping Lennon.[/QUOTE]

How was Anderson starved of opportunity? Hartung was getting games ahead of him FFS!

Mr Magic[/QUOTE]

How was Anderson starved of opportunity? Hartung was getting games ahead of him FFS![/QUOTE]
You answered your own question there.

I have calmed down since last night and if we dont get an A grade player the following scenario wont be so bad.

Firstly is Anderson a poor mans Bennell?

Step 1 Lock up Lennon for another 3 years.
Step 2 Trade Astbury to Brisbane for their 3rd round pick
Step 3 Yarran for 2016 2nd round pick (next years depth in the draft is meant to be better)
Anderson for Brisbanes 3rd round pick
Townsend for 2015 3rd round pick
Step 4 Give Stevie J a 1 year with option of 2nd contract
Step 5 shop Griffiths around for a pick from 19 to 25.*
Step 6 Draft this A chee bloke with pick 12 and best available big bodied mid with our 2nd.
Step 6 Upgrade Lambert with our token pick.

* If we can get a decent pick for Griffiths hopefully that could land us Dunkley.

Thoughts?
Am I being unrealistic with Anderson for our third?
Don't recon Griff is going anywhere, Dimma likes him in the team gives Ivan a chop out in the ruck and we 're not into any of the rucks on the move by the sounds of it.
Our biggest mistake was to announce the "war chest" clubs know we have money and their gunna make sure we use it!

"He said Carlton's Chris Yarran remained their priority as a rebounding defender and they would part with their first-round pick for him (No.12)."

This is from the AFL trading winds article today.
They've just quoted the Herald Sun piece but then pulled this one out of their ass. Dan didn't say this. Whoever writes that stuff hates Richmond.

"He said Carlton's Chris Yarran remained their priority as a rebounding defender and they would part with their first-round pick for him (No.12)."

They've just quoted the Herald Sun piece but then pulled this one out of their ass. Dan didn't say this. Whoever writes that stuff hates Richmond.
Sporting journalism is becoming a bit of a joke

If the club gives up 12 for Yarran never mind chook poo they burn the joint down!

We will not use our 1st for Yarran.
Im starting to think 2016 2nd round pick.

I remember one game, maybe in the preseason where Dermott was raving about Anderson. Quick and can lay a serious tackle. They thought he was going to have a breakout season. Would like to get him across.

There are some complete halfwits writing on the AFL site.

It wasn't some guy named Howard Kotter was it?

He's a Carlton supporter and one of the cleaners at AFL house I think. He can barely string 2 words together without stuffing up. Don't think he's the full quid.

*Edit - written by some guy called Nathan Schmuck. Go figure.

Sorry for the intrusion lads. It's pretty heavily thought that with Jed being contracted (and a Burgouyne replacement) we won't trade without top value.

Most who have seen him rate him very late first round.

Here's my proposal that gets you guys up and about

Richmond Gain: Yarran & Anderson
Lose: First this year, Third 2016

Carlton Gain : Hawks first 2015 and Tigers 3rd 2016
Lose: Yarran

Hawks Gain: Tigers First 2015
Lose: Anderson & First 2015

Lmao Dan and Blair the best in the business
What would the Hawks mob be rated as? The aim is too win flags not lose EF Dan I can give a pass to , but Blair and Casino should be lining up at Centrelink
Amazing how we forget the lost draft picks that we have boomed out on and hawthorn haven't .

Collingwood must surely be running low on cap space. They paid overs for adams and greenwood and now trelor. We know Cloke is on enormous coin. Are they all getting third party deals and therefore why they are 'attracting all these players.

Don't need a salary cap when you've got footy show money

Sorry for the intrusion lads. It's pretty heavily thought that with Jed being contracted (and a Burgouyne replacement) we won't trade without top value.

Unless its for a serious A grade talent our first isnt going anywhere.
We are Richmond if its not a bargain we arent interested.

Anderson will not get you get guys that high a pick for what its worth. Hes contracted and it all depends on what Hawks want to do by him.

Who would have thought? A BF poster who actually proposes a fair trade for ALL parties. I like it.

Our first to your first is about the right value but we would then hand you Oliver which you are apparently into which I would think the club should be reluctant to give up .
Carlton win in your scenario as tartan isn't worth a first rounder at all and certainly isn't worth any more .
I could see the Hawks and tigs coming to an arrangement for Anderson tbh .

Deal. :)

I like it.