List Mgmt. Trade & Free Agency talk Pt 5

Exactly what I have been saying about him to RJKtiger. Just cheats out the back, rarely tackles or pressures. No loss to us imo
A lot of us have been trying to point out the same thing
He’s turned into a seagull looking for easy goals out the back like a small or medium forward should be doing not a tall who should be hitting contests

Happy he’s found a place at Gold Coast but moving him on wasn’t a massive loss

Anyone who watched the vfl game today can see Ryan will offer just as much but probably a lot more

Jacob Hopper is overrated as hell. His output is miles behind his reputation.

Don't want to go near him, would be a horrible trade where we'd overpay in salary and trade.
Sounds a lot like the bloated opinion around Prestia prior to trading him in , hopper has been a good player in way better side than gc

A lot of us have been trying to point out the same thing
He’s turned into a seagull looking for easy goals out the back like a small or medium forward should be doing not a tall who should be hitting contests

Happy he’s found a place at Gold Coast but moving him on wasn’t a massive loss

Anyone who watched the vfl game today can see Ryan will offer just as much but probably a lot more

Chol had 8 possessions and kicked 2 goals tonight. It’s what he does. And did anyone see him give away a ruck free in the D50 halfway through the 2nd quarter? Giving away a free is fine …. but he just stood on the mark, didn’t jump, didn’t wave his arms, didn’t do a single thing to try and put his opponent off … just stood there like a big sook and watched the goal sail over his head.

Lazy …. As …. F*#*.

I wonder if we look at trading for players this year and look at drafting some kids from our VFL team like Tyler Young and Austin Johnson?

Torn between trading out our first for Taranto and then using our 2 seconds for drafting best available KPF talent or keeping our first and getting one of the higher rated KPF like Cadman/Jefferson/Keeler, trading 19 for Hopper and then using our second 2nd round pick for another KPF.

The second of those options is far better

People who think we should go into next year with the same midfield are completely bonkers.

"Hit the draft" is a 50/50 - we hit the draft last year and it's time to bring in ready made mids. Bringing in 25 and under midfielders like Hopper, Taranto types isn't bad management - you get 7 years out of them minimum - as good as hitting the draft with a known quantity guarantee.

Hopper being seriously underrated here. Will be our best mid behind meatball.
Yup, not quite the level of Taranto but absolutely fits the need of inside bull

The second of those options is far better
100%. Reckon we should be trying to bring forward next years first too. Trade for brisbanes 1st maybe.
People who think we should go into next year with the same midfield are completely bonkers.

"Hit the draft" is a 50/50 - we hit the draft last year and it's time to bring in ready made mids.
Yep. We can get Hopper and still draft another couple of highly rated kids.

100%. Reckon we should be trying to bring forward next years first too. Trade for brisbanes 1st maybe.

Yep. We can get Hopper and still draft another couple of highly rated kids.
Only way I’d be happy with our first for Taranto rather than pick 19 for Hopper is if we manage to package 19 and our second into an earlier pick but I’m not sure too many clubs would go for that

Re: Samson Ryan. Remember Harry McKay took a couple of years of VFL development to become a player. Rory Lobb took many years. Taberner matured at 26yo. Sandilands took years.

We’ve got an absolute beauty in Ryan …. getting loads of possessions, marks, hit outs and goals as a young 206cm beanpole is super exciting. He’s exactly what we need as a player capable of playing KPF and ruck.

Re: Samson Ryan. Remember Harry McKay took a couple of years of VFL development to become a player. Rory Lobb took many years. Taberner matured at 26yo. Sandilands took years.

We’ve got an absolute beauty in Ryan …. getting loads of possessions, marks, hit outs and goals as a young 206cm beanpole is super exciting. He’s exactly what we need as a player capable of playing KPF and ruck.

Agree. I don’t think he was on any other clubs radar at all either. Well done to our recruiting team.

Edit: I mean he’d been passed over and deemed not up to it.

Trade Vlastuin to Essendon for pick 23. Use it to draft an inside mid or Key forward.

Hopper/Taranto for Dusty

Pick 10 - best available key forward
Pick 19 - best available inside mid
Pick 23 - best available key forward
Pick 28 - best available inside mid
Fire sale? We aren’t Collingwood mate

Need to get creative put a big name on the table and get are few more picks. Is one of Taranto or Hooper really going to put us in the premiership window with our retirements and aging stars I say no.

I'd rather package our later 2nd and next years first for a 1st this year.
No way I'm trading next years first, as I believe we'll finish lower on the ladder than this year as we continue to rebuild.