List Mgmt. Trade & Free Agency talk Pt 5

Well then the next question gets posed.

With an injured and aging profile, where Cotchin and Prestia lead all comers with clearances in a team ranked bottom 4. Why when Dustin Martin is out, Shai Bolton is moved from half forward, Jayden Short, Liam Baker moved from defence,

Why isn't 24 year old Jack Graham playing more midfield?

Because he got run down multiple times this and whilst an endurance runner, he isn't fast and agile. He can't read the ball as well. His delivery inside 50 is elite but we got Short, Prestia and Cotch for that too
Yep pretty well nailed it

Well then the next question gets posed.

With an injured and aging profile, where Cotchin and Prestia lead all comers with clearances in a team ranked bottom 4. Why when Dustin Martin is out, Shai Bolton is moved from half forward, Jayden Short, Liam Baker moved from defence,

Why isn't 24 year old Jack Graham playing more midfield?

Because he got run down multiple times this and whilst an endurance runner, he isn't fast and agile. He can't read the ball as well. His delivery inside 50 is elite but we got Short, Prestia and Cotch for that too

Or what do we do with Baker and Short?

Because they are reading like inbetweeners without a solid role to fall back on

What we are talking about here is poor list management and who is head of footy?

If Graham was any good, or as good as some are saying. Then we wouldn’t be in a situation where we have to go out and get Taranto and Hopper, or both anyway

I know it’s not all about possessions. But how often do you see it? Graham will have a 30 touch game and you think “he’s arrived” to then have a month of 12-16 touch games thereafter

Im happy if he chooses to stay as he’s a solid foot soldier, but that’s all he is

If Graham was any good, or as good as some are saying. Then we wouldn’t be in a situation where we have to go out and get Taranto and Hopper, or both anyway

I know it’s not all about possessions. But how often do you see it? Graham will have a 30 touch game and you think “he’s arrived” to then have a month of 12-16 touch games thereafter

Im happy if he chooses to stay as he’s a solid foot soldier, but that’s all he is
Spot on

With the stand rule and 6-6-6, we can't rely on driving numbers behind the ball anymore to win the rebounding pill.

Teams have slaughtered us with quick inside 50 delivery on the back of clearance work. Lachie Neale ended our season once Prestia went down.

Hopper and Taranto are a boost in the arm. Jack Ross can slot into Jack Graham's role

I'm usually too busy drinking and celebrating goals and disagreeing with every umpiring decision when I watch matches to pretend I have any clue as to game plan, structures, etc.

But I do admit, I've been disappointed that Graham has never seemed to step up as the main man in the midfield when Prestia, Cotch, Dusty are missing.
I'd assume he is the most senior after that trio?

What part of this I agree with is RFC has too many solid foot soldiers. Nothing wrong with solid footballers but some start to get overrated and I am not talking about Graham. We need more players closer to the gun category.

Hopper is another foot soldier and Taranto might be closer to gun category. De Goey is gun territory

Our stars where JR, Cotch, Rance (now left) and Dusty and all are older.

This is what happens with later draft picks and not cherry picking aging stars as FA

really? Shock us all why don’t you!!!!! You’re like a broken record Mate & as I said before, we get it🤷‍♂️

You simply can't produce the positives.

Hopper is not a gun.

Taranto is a gun.

Too many of our players are not guns. We need guns,

Here is another newsflash. Bolton is not Dusty.

Bolton is a star, but he is not in the Dusty category and those pushing him in that category like in the media are reaching

Hopper is not a gun.

Taranto is a gun.

Hopper not a gun? Well he’s a far better clearance player than anyone on our list at this time. Take the blinkers off Mate.
Anyway, I’m done discussing this with you as you have your mind set on us not getting a very very good mid, who excels in clearance work and tackles well too.
Please don’t respond, I know your view and don’t need to hear it again

Hopper is not a gun.

Taranto is a gun.

Bolton is a star, but he is not in the Dusty category and those pushing him in that category like in the media are reaching
Phew phew 🔫

Hopper not a gun? Well he’s a far better clearance player than anyone on our list at this time. Take the blinkers off Mate.
Anyway, I’m done discussing this with you as you have your mind set on us not getting a very very good mid, who excels in clearance work and tackles well too.

No he is not, he spent a lot of time in the guts because Coniglio was injured and out and Greene was moved forward.

A lot of stats are about proximity to the ball.

Hopper is a good player, but he is not a star or gun

Hopper is not a gun.

Taranto is a gun.

Hopper is verging on gun status. A lot can change when brought into a club with a passionate supporter base, big crowds and winning culture. Dont reckon anyone will ever get the best out of themselves playing for team AFL.

A lot of deja vu this trade period.
Prestia was also apparently not a gun.

Let's let the people who get paid to do this role, do the role.

If you dont like it, go support GWS.

Over It Ugh GIF

A lot of deja vu this trade period.
Prestia was also apparently not a gun.

Let's let the people who get paid to do this role, do the role.

If you dont like it, go support GWS.

I tell you what, Prestia gets a lot of injuries.

If Lynch did not arrive as a FA, oh boy, wow wee

Let me give you some names. De Goey gun

Crisp of Magpies, gun from Brisbane, Docherty at CFC from Brisbane gun

Hopper is not a gun.

Taranto is a gun.

Hopper will be our best clearance player by a mile, see stats below. This is why we need both to match a Cripps (161), Oliver(184), Miller(174) and Neale(160)

Clearance Numbers 2022
1. Prestia 112
2. Cotchin 95
3. Nankveris 92
4. Bolton 83
5. Short 58
6. Graham 38

GWS Clearance Numbers 2021
1. Hopper 145
2. Ward 104
3. Taranto 103

Taranto 128 tackles in 2021, Hopper 88 tackles, Graham 95.

Its a no brainer, numbers tell the facts !!!

Hopper will be our best clearance player by a mile, see stats below. This is why we need both to match a Cripps (161), Oliver(184), Miller(174) and Neale(160)

Clearance Numbers 2022
1. Prestia 112
2. Cotchin 95
3. Nankveris 92
4. Bolton 83
5. Short 58
6. Graham 38

1. Hopper 145
2. Ward 104
3. Taranto 103

Not interested.

I want premierships and Neale has not won one, nor has Cripps, nor has Miller, and Oliver has one

Clearance Numbers 2022
1. Prestia 112
2. Cotchin 95
3. Nankveris 92
4. Bolton 83
5. Short 58
6. Graham 38

1. Hopper 145
2. Ward 104
3. Taranto 103

Numbers say Greene was in the forward line and Coniglio out

Look at Tarantos tackles compared to Hopper and Hopper was in there around 75 percent

Graham was in there less than a third of Hoppers time, so by stats, Graham has more clearances

Hopper can play, no one is denying that, but your expectations on stats are inflated I think