List Mgmt. Trade & Free Agency talk Pt 6

Of course they were

They have to underpin the level that would be required for him to leave to ensure a band 1 compo
5 years at $3.5 mil will be there offer to keep him and if he wants to leave then the club which he selects would need to beat that otherwise they match and trade.

But HH will stay at that salary imo

On the ‘Gettable’ podcast, they basically said that any free agent you generally have to pay a 20% tax on their contract worth to get it over the line.

With GWS’ cap what it is, I do think that there is an amount where they simply can’t match.

Just depends on what that is and whether we - or Sydney or Collingwood - are prepared to pay that.

On the ‘Gettable’ podcast, they basically said that any free agent you generally have to pay a 20% tax on their contract worth to get it over the line.

With GWS’ cap what it is, I do think that there is an amount where they simply can’t match.

Just depends on what that is and whether we - or Sydney or Collingwood - are prepared to pay that.
GWS cap will accommodate that even if they have to retire players like the old doggies bloke

Do you watch their games and VFL games?

Can tell you, all of those have performed better than our draftees. Watch the Collingwood VFL and it shows the difference quite clearly.

You’ve just put names on a page. Actually watch games of football mate. It helps form opinions.

Harley Harrison was performing amazing and got his debut. Finn Macrae is constantly performing as a kid at VFL level but can’t break into that top of the ladder side. It’s why I’d target him. He’d instantly be our best kid. Beau McCreery has been stellar in their wins. His performances late in games have got them over the line. Remind me again, which of our kids are doing the same? Like Draper again, at vfl level been very impressive.

Also their trading and drafting under this new team goes back only a couple of years. They inherited a mess, with major salary cap flaws and got themselves out of it with smart trading and drafting by going and getting better recruiters.

They also have Carlton’s second rounder to go along with their picks this year. Outstanding.
U sound like a opposition loving troll as let me tell u friend, since 2011 to 2023 tigers won 3 flags in a compromised draft,while your pies won thuk all,now be quite about draft picks, van root them, etc,has its all about flags and who cares how we got there.

Ryans issue is that while he is 204cm & 106kg he hasn't quite truly matured into his body, so he doesn't quite have the core strength to hold his position and take contact in marking contests. However give him another 6-12 months on the track and in the gym and that will become less of an issue and he'll become much harder to move out of contests.

Yes and no.

More strength will help in some situations but even when he's in perfect position and when he gets his hands to marks he should take he still drops them. He has stone hands not soft hands.

This is something you can pick up on early in players. He's not a forward. He's a ruck.

Treacy is starting to show a bit for Freo, i don’t think he’d be coming cheaply.

A 3rd rounder may not get it done for a kpf. I reckon their trade value is fairly high , even for a half decent one.

Unfortunately we are in a situation where we don’t have much to trade with, which is why FA is such a good option. You could trade a player but not sure we are the type of team that’d move on a Premiership favourite.

Soldo has lost currency, Graham imo isn’t worth a 2R. The player we might get something for is Cumberland.
Reckon soldo would still attract a 30-40 pic or even a direct swap for a young pies mid out of the team like McRae or Carmichael

Yes and no.

More strength will help in some situations but even when he's in perfect position and when he gets his hands to marks he should take he still drops them. He has stone hands not soft hands.

This is something you can pick up on early in players. He's not a forward. He's a ruck.
I'd disagree, having watched him at VFL level his hands were actually quite good, I just think at AFL level he panics a little when he thinks he's going to take contact and it causes him to drop those marks he should take. As I said with another 12 months of development I reckon those drops happen less and he begins to clunk them more. Confidence will do wonders for the kid and all it's going to take is one game where he does clunk a few contested grabs for him to start believing he belongs.

GWS were always going to make a formal offer to Himmelberg so it should come as no surprise.

If only because (unless the rules have changed) one of the ‘special ingredients’ that goes into assessing compensation is the original teams’ offer.

At the very least this sets the market for his services.
Go Home Omg GIF

Georgiades might cost us a bit - Graham and a second would be my initial offer. Depends how badly we want Bergman (Every Vic club apparently chasing him) be hard to get two good young players from Port let alone one.

Naughton (if rumours are true) would cost too much. King ditto and then some.

McClean -similar to Georgiades I'd guess. Sydney seem be easy to deal with usually but also can be campaigners when they want to be.

Riccardi would cost a third rounder at the most.

Someone like Treacy might be a good cheaper option I think.
At the very most, Jack Graham only would be my starting point. Don't be discrediting him too much - he's shown that he's a reliable September player multiple times. Oppo teams know that he can be trusted ... he stands up.

Very little chance Port win it this year imo, but if they continue their incline into next year, then the acquisition of a player such as Graham would make them a big chance.

They'll do what they need to do to bridge that last bit of the gap between themselves and this year's eventual premier, so we would have a pretty strong negotiation stance with them I'd imagine.

Besides, if Marshall, Dixon and Finlayson are still doing their thing in the forward 6, Georgiades won't be that difference.

U sound like a opposition loving troll as let me tell u friend, since 2011 to 2023 tigers won 3 flags in a compromised draft,while your pies won thuk all,now be quite about draft picks, van root them, etc,has its all about flags and who cares how we got there.

Take your rose coloured glasses off you absolute helmet.

Just because I can point to a opposition as doing something right, does not make me a fan of them. If we aren’t striving to get better and accept mediocrity at any level of our club, guess what, we go missing for another couple of decades. Pointing our recruiting flaws, despite what you can’t see as you wouldn’t know football if it kicked you in the face, doesn’t make me a troll.

Those Premierships are between 2017 and 2020. Great to win, but we are now 3 years past any finals wins and this year has been a mess. Plus our vfl side is showing very little promise each time I’ve watched them. We have sold our first round draft pick this year and have some legends about to depart which we would have known about for years.

So **** off and learn to type so your comments, as uneducated as they present, can be readable as well. I felt stupider reading them.

Georgiades might cost us a bit - Graham and a second would be my initial offer. Depends how badly we want Bergman (Every Vic club apparently chasing him) be hard to get two good young players from Port let alone one.

McClean -similar to Georgiades I'd guess. Sydney seem be easy to deal with usually but also can be campaigners when they want to be.

Someone like Treacy might be a good cheaper option I think.
Does anyone know what Fisher Macashy

Someone like Treacy might be a good cheaper option I think
Does anyone know what the Adelaide kid Fischer McAsey is doing?

If Himmelberg re-signs then do we turn our attention to
Riccardi, McLean , Georgiadis etc…
Whatever your opinion of HH we would have been getting a FA freebie now it’s a trade situation.
I’m not that enthused about losing any more picks in the 23 or 24 draft.
I’d rather roll the dice and take a punt on someone from the state league’s eg Buller 🙄
Buller has the height & bulk but can melt under pressure especially when the heat turns up in September! Jacob Kosciusko seems to be the better option. Bobby could be in the mix but he’s just a Hill & not big enough to be a Mt or KPF.

Do you watch their games and VFL games?

Can tell you, all of those have performed better than our draftees. Watch the Collingwood VFL and it shows the difference quite clearly.

You’ve just put names on a page. Actually watch games of football mate. It helps form opinions.

Harley Harrison was performing amazing and got his debut. Finn Macrae is constantly performing as a kid at VFL level but can’t break into that top of the ladder side. It’s why I’d target him. He’d instantly be our best kid. Beau McCreery has been stellar in their wins. His performances late in games have got them over the line. Remind me again, which of our kids are doing the same? Like Draper again, at vfl level been very impressive.

Also their trading and drafting under this new team goes back only a couple of years. They inherited a mess, with major salary cap flaws and got themselves out of it with smart trading and drafting by going and getting better recruiters.

They also have Carlton’s second rounder to go along with their picks this year. Outstanding.

Finn Macrae ..?? He’s into his third season and has played 11 games and kicked 1 goal. He might be a decent player one day, but if I was you I’d largely ignore VFL form.

Beau McCreery ..?? Yes, he’s having some impact in games occasionally - for a team on TOP OF THE LADDER. As part of this top team in 2022-23 he’s averaging 10 touches and less than a goal a game in a permanent half forward role. He’s a role player in a very good team and nothing more, so let’s not get too excited.

Other than Nick Daicos I think the Pies kids are actually pretty average. Other than Nick Daicos I couldn’t name a Pies player 22yo or under who would be in the top-20 in their B&F this season… maybe McReery just who is 22yo.

IMO the Pies best 6-players are DeGoey, Daicos, Daicos, Pendles, Sidey and Moore - 3 x kissed on the pecker father sons, 2 x top-10 picks from over a decade ago and a top pick from the Dayne Beams trade about 9-years ago. Then they’ve traded well for Titch, Adams, Crisp, Howe, Cameron etc..

But their current batch of drafted kids look pretty sh*te to me.

Finn Macrae ..?? He’s into his third season and has played 11 games and kicked 1 goal. He might be a decent player one day, but if I was you I’d largely ignore VFL form.

Beau McCreery ..?? Yes, he’s having some impact in games occasionally - for a team on TOP OF THE LADDER. As part of this top team in 2022-23 he’s averaging 10 touches and less than a goal a game in a permanent half forward role. He’s a role player in a very good team and nothing more, so let’s not get too excited.

Other than Nick Daicos I think the Pies kids are actually pretty average. Other than Nick Daicos I couldn’t name a Pies player 22yo or under who would be in the top-20 in their B&F this season… maybe McReery just who is 22yo.

IMO the Pies best 6-players are DeGoey, Daicos, Daicos, Pendles, Sidey and Moore - 3 x kissed on the pecker father sons, 2 x top-10 picks from over a decade ago and a top pick from the Dayne Beams trade about 9-years ago. Then they’ve traded well for Titch, Adams, Crisp, Howe, Cameron etc..

There are a couple of surprising things about Collingwood. One is just how tall they are. They fielded the second tallest team in rd 13 behind only GWS. Collingwood today fielded 11 players 190cm and above, with another at 189cm. The other thing is just how old they are. You add Degoey and Sidebottome back into their team and drop out say Harrison and McInness, they are already OLDER than Richmond's 2020 Grand Final team. By the time finals arrive this year they will be well older. If none of them retire this year then 10 of their best 22 will be 30+ to start the 2024 season. If Richmond has no retirements at all we would have a maximum of 9 of our best 22 30 or older by the start of the 2024 season. So they are an old team in historical terms. There would be a pretty serious chance if they made the GF in 2023 and Jeremy Howe got into the team they could be the second oldest Grand Final team ever. So their time to start winning flags was yesterday.

Their key experienced and or proven personnel under 30 at rd 1, 2024 will be:

28yo Degoey, Moore, Cameron, McStay

27yo Maynard

26yo Noble

25yo J Daicos

24yo Quaynor

23yo Hill

22yo McCreery

21yo N Daicos

And their 10 players over 30 Pendlebury, Howe, Cox, Sidebottom, Elliott, Mihocek, Mitchell, Adams and Crisp.

So they better hope Tigerbob is right and they are sitting on a very rich vein of youngsters.

I'd disagree, having watched him at VFL level his hands were actually quite good, I just think at AFL level he panics a little when he thinks he's going to take contact and it causes him to drop those marks he should take. As I said with another 12 months of development I reckon those drops happen less and he begins to clunk them more. Confidence will do wonders for the kid and all it's going to take is one game where he does clunk a few contested grabs for him to start believing he belongs.
I saw the same thing in quiet a few of his early VFL games, took a lot of marks between full & half forward and had a goal kicking % that i think would have been in the 70% + range no matter the angle. I see a very bright future though I think we are leaning more towards a ruckman than a forward at this stage. Good to have options.

Lipinski didnt play too often over 3y either , McRae was r1 pic , solid VFL form and there’s no opening , Carmichael would be worth a look too

It’s got to be a combination of both ways. It’s too risky as you leave that decision up to the FA and money. You can then severely overpay and damage salary cap. Which, we will have to overpay for HH to get him in but we have no other choice.

We have neglected our KPF in our recruiting. That can’t be argued. We chose a uncontested flanker over a guy JVR who would be our big white Hope right now. We then neglected two KPF who have gone on to dominate VFL in their first games again for two smaller types.

We’ve had opportunities and neglected it. Now we are in the s**t.
Yeah nah.
Rather spend xtra on a known quality than on a highly speculative which would take upto 3yrs too findout one way or another and 800k cost for those 3yrs.

Ginnivan kicked 40 goals in his second year. Could you imagine the carry on if Judson Clarke did that?

Noble is having an outstanding year and is far more consistent and reliable than Pickett. Wouldn’t surprise me if he was AA squad at the end of the year.
Noble.AA.lol
**** me.
They won't win the flag with him in the side.
Pies version of Steve Morris.