Banter TRTT Part 14: 2022 Goodbye (To 2023)

Get one of these. Almost as easy as instant and makes a better coffee that a plunger - far superior to pod coffee.

i was gonna get one of those guys for bush camping, but when you've hoofed in somewhere on foot a bag of instant coffee is pretty much as good as the real thing

Feel like I'm living in the worst iteration of the The Matrix when I need to point out that coffee isn't that great and that I don't need direct experience to suggest that coffee shat out by a weasel is probably particularly worth avoiding.

Yup, just have a nice cup of tea ffs.

But they drink it in India so it must be better, like cricket.

But the British introduced it to India from China and that whole situation has always been a bit iffy.

I maintain that the British only like tea because it’s a conveyance for sugar.

I mean yeah and I would almost say the same about beer, but there's still times in life where you just want a coffee.

I am not one to get a machine however, can't be ****ed. I don't need an awkward middle ground between instant coffee and a cafe.

Sent from my Nokia 7.2 using Tapatalk

i'll probably change my tune come winter, but iced lattes are where it's at. small glass, chuck the coffee in, heaps of ice, then add a bit of your milk of choice.

gradually over the course of my life i've wanted coffees tasting stronger and stronger. can't stand getting a coffee that tastes like warm milk. probably be on the espressos permanently soon.
It's time to become a long macchiato guy

"Ham is pointless" "Coffee is bad" do you have any good opinions

Anyone know much about the NDIS?

I mean our daughter is on it so we use it, but I was talking to a mate today who is on it, and to my knowledge his only disabilities are related to speech impediments. He has a job, a license and car, shops for himself, goes to the club for a beer with mates, goes on holidays (to watch the crows, maybe that's another disability...), Etc.

Today he tells me that he's going to New Zealand next month and the NDIS is paying for most of it. What gives there? What I'm trying to say is he's a guy in his 30s who functions close to a normal unhindered human adult, and he's getting shouted a holiday, when I know of others who have really struggled to get anything, and we did for a while and are now burning through our funds purely on therapies for our four year old.

Anyone know much about the NDIS?

I mean our daughter is on it so we use it, but I was talking to a mate today who is on it, and to my knowledge his only disabilities are related to speech impediments. He has a job, a license and car, shops for himself, goes to the club for a beer with mates, goes on holidays (to watch the crows, maybe that's another disability...), Etc.

Today he tells me that he's going to New Zealand next month and the NDIS is paying for most of it. What gives there? What I'm trying to say is he's a guy in his 30s who functions close to a normal unhindered human adult, and he's getting shouted a holiday, when I know of others who have really struggled to get anything, and we did for a while and are now burning through our funds purely on therapies for our four year old.

Clients get NDIS budgets to spend on certain categories like outings, things they like to do, hobbies etc. One of his may be travel of some kind. He might just be spending his yearly budget on the trip. Case managers normally have some sort of say in it. He may not use any other support. Having said that, you dont know what he qualifies for and why. There are certainly people who take the piss though.

NDIS is an absolute mess. Its single handedly murdered supported employment for many people with disabilities. NDIS made it unviable to run supported employment programs...but nevermind, MINDA are still here and they pay the supported employees in the single figures per hour as they have always done. They are slave drivers under the guise of not for profit. Horrible organisation. Their employment programs survive because they treat it as a rort.

I can guarantee he accesses other regular services including outings, normally just to menindee lakes or Silverton, maybe Mildura, or whatever in town. Another mate of mine is occasionally his support person. Small town eh. Small school. Big dickhead (me).

I don't know his full details or situation or how he is managed, we found is pretty farcical being managed and only since we mocked to a semi managed self self managed arrangement have we started to get anywhere with actually using our fund. Maybe for some if works a lot cleaner. The biggest issue we faced is once we were on the NDIS our access to services through the public system was stopped, bar maybe once a year assessment by therapists and our sort of regular paediatrician appointment, which during the middle of covid basically meant sweet **** all was available to us out here in the sticks, once we were removed from NSW Health and Allied Health. Most things required a trip across borders to Victoria or Adelaide, but that's a niche whine about a niche issue that most wouldn't face.

Point is, I dunno, I just feel if a mostly self sufficient man in his 30s can take an outing to New Zealand on taxpayer dollars, perhaps that could be better utilised elsewhere? I'm glad my friend will get this experience an overseas trip, there's some things in life he hasn't been able to experience so I am happy for him, but it makes me think wtf? It is a mess. That is quite clear. Even our experience with it has been a lot cleaner than others.