Under 19 Premier Division - Part 2

Good call. Maybe let them play everyone once so % is fair for all but after round 9 they go back to South 1 even if it does create a bye. Current situation no good for the Brighton players and no good for the opposition.

How about in 2012 we go back to A, B, C and then 2 geographical divisions. Too many lopsided results through all grades at the moment and something needs to be done.

Safe to say you didn't rate them at all Muf :eek:

great call rooster! sounds like something that may work considering that north and south 1 are merging after round 9... would be easier to sort it out then!!

Sloth I feel sorry for them more then not rating them and there coach is an absolute prick the way he treats his players! calling all of them useless at 1/4 time isnt the way to coach 19's if you ask me!!

great call rooster! sounds like something that may work considering that north and south 1 are merging after round 9... would be easier to sort it out then!!

Sloth I feel sorry for them more then not rating them and there coach is an absolute prick the way he treats his players! calling all of them useless at 1/4 time isnt the way to coach 19's if you ask me!!

Geez thats a bit rough by the coach. They kick their only goal that quarter so I would hate to see what happened at the other breaks :eek:

We tend to forgive poor grammar when the posts contain insightful footy comment or jovial banter.

Insightful footy comments??? Definitely going to question that.

I'm sorry that I ask for proper grammar, hopefully your spelling is fine when you hand in your resume to future employers. Just trying to look out for you or your mate (Over the Post).

Insightful footy comments??? Definitely going to question that.

I'm sorry that I ask for proper grammar, hopefully your spelling is fine when you hand in your resume to future employers. Just trying to look out for you or your mate (Over the Post).

Agree. Proper grammar would be important when you hand in your resume to future employers. But it is largely irrelevant when posting opinions or thoughts on an amateur football forum such as this. Good to have you on board OnceAgain and I look forward to further contributions from you.

meow, garfield again.

all i am saying is its nice to see de la is producing some spuds in year 8,9,10, 11 and 12 this year that they are using to make the competition more equal...or maybe just dont use any at all, then we have a real 19's comp :p;):D:thumbsu::):eek:

:heart::spade::heart::spade:

meow, garfield again.

all i am saying is its nice to see de la is producing some spuds in year 8,9,10, 11 and 12 this year that they are using to make the competition more equal...or maybe just dont use any at all, then we have a real 19's comp :p;):D:thumbsu::):eek:

So to make it a ‘real’ 19s comp we all agree not to play 20 years olds? Suggestion is that Xavs have more 19 1/2s than any other team.

So your ‘real’ 19s comp does not involve 17 year olds but 20 years olds are ok? Good luck to them (and the others with over age kids) As they fit the competition age criteria they can play as many over age kids as they like but it’s a bit rich when they then start bleating about a few school kids when their teams are full of 20 year olds.

Anyway lets talk footy :D

A couple of the games this weekend with significant influence on the make up of the Top 4 prior to the Queen's Birthday weekend break.

The Scotch vs Xavs game should be a ball buster :footy:

Old Melburnians
vs
De La Salle

St Bedes/Mentone Tigers
vs
University Blacks

University Blues
vs
Beaumaris

Old Xaverians
vs
Old Scotch

Fitzroy
vs
Old Brighton

meow, garfield again.

I didnt want to reply to your absurd comment - but I couldnt help myself.

Full credit to De La for beating everyone with Yr 11's running around.

Lets just drop it there!!! Its not going to change so move on.

Tips for this week:

Old Melburnians vs De La Salle - OM's have found some form and I think they will be in it for most of the match with De La pulling away in the last... would not surprise me to see an upset though!

St Bedes/Mentone vs Uni Blacks - Never easy for an away team to go down to Brindisi and get the points... this being no exception, SBM by 30

Uni Blues vs Beaumaris - A must win game for both clubs here! I would suggest this is an 8 point game come the end of the season! Blues by 12

Old Xaverians vs Old Scotch - Match of the round... everyone already knows that! I doubt anyone will be able to take points away from the Dust Bowl this season... should be the game of the season and Xavs will be looking to get that 2 game break over both Scotch and De La in the next 2 weeks... Im sticking with Xavs but for them to only pull away late.... Xavs by 12

Fitzroy vs Old Brighton - Fitzroy to improve their percentage!

Thoughts??

Tips for this week:

Old Melburnians vs De La Salle - OM's have found some form and I think they will be in it for most of the match with De La pulling away in the last... would not surprise me to see an upset though!

St Bedes/Mentone vs Uni Blacks - Never easy for an away team to go down to Brindisi and get the points... this being no exception, SBM by 30

Uni Blues vs Beaumaris - A must win game for both clubs here! I would suggest this is an 8 point game come the end of the season! Blues by 12

Old Xaverians vs Old Scotch - Match of the round... everyone already knows that! I doubt anyone will be able to take points away from the Dust Bowl this season... should be the game of the season and Xavs will be looking to get that 2 game break over both Scotch and De La in the next 2 weeks... Im sticking with Xavs but for them to only pull away late.... Xavs by 12

Fitzroy vs Old Brighton - Fitzroy to improve their percentage!

Thoughts??

Interesting thoughts there MUFF.

Apologies in advance to any touchy posters (Saha) for any incorrect grammar!! Its ok I wont be applying for a job with you mate.

As far as the weekend goes; I can’t wait! Will be heading down Burke Road to watch "match of the round”.

Although I have reservations about the legitimacy of the Old Scotch Challenge!

Countless times this year I have passed K2 stadium at around 5.30 on a Thursday, expecting to see large numbers of young red men trying for a game. But all I see is 25-30 boys!! This is an indictment on the Club that so few follow on from one of the strongest APS programs going around. But that’s a discussion for another time.

As far as the Xavs v Scotch game – I believe that the gulf between the top two will be fully realised. Scotch was lucky to get close to De La the other week and won’t be nearly as lucky this weekend. As always Scotch will be found out as the perennial pretenders of the competition.

Old Melburnians vs De La Salle . This could get nasty. Please hold all this rubbish chat about the De La dynasty being over…. It is far form it. De La will only get stronger as the year goes on and the injury curse subsides. The boys from Straddy wouldn’t want to be getting all that comfortable as the team that has had the wood on them for 3 years…..Will eventually awake from its slumber.

SBMT vs Uni Blacks – SBMT will be hard to beat down there and will give Uni a good touch up.

Uni Blues vs Beaumaris- Beauy to lift their work rate and get across the line against Blues.

Fitzroy vs BYE – Fitzroy will relish the week off and should be fresh after a week off and a good percentage boost.

P.S – MUFF Stradbroke Park should really no longer be called the dustball . Having seen it a month ago it is in terrific condition.

Unfortunately some of you blokes accept mediocrity in life (in regards to the spelling), I am only looking out for you and your careers. Anyway:

TIPS THIS WEEK

Old Melburnians vs De La Salle - 10 goal win to the boys from the Dairy Bell.

St Bedes/Mentone vs Uni Blacks - Uni Blacks talls to pose a threat, however St Bedes but to win strongly on their postage stamp home ground.

Uni Blues vs Beaumaris - Upset of the round, Blues getting their stuff together after a slowish start. Uni Blues as my team to come home strong at the end of the year.

Old Xaverians vs Old Scotch - Wish I could be watching this game, should be a hotly contestested contest. Still think Xavs will get the choccies here. (4 goal margin).

Bit concerned at (Once Again's) rant about Old Scotch, not sure what he means by him driving past K2 stadium and not seeeing large numbers of young red men trying for a game. Mate, it's not a gay club (aka YMCA). 24 blokes can play and maybe a few others not selected. You must have a real vendetta against the club. We all know they are underachievers (just don't have so much hate). I wouldn't classify them as contenders at all.

Fitzroy vs Old Brighton - Roy boys home in a canter.

Thanks

Bit concerned at (Once Again's) rant about Old Scotch, not sure what he means by him driving past K2 stadium and not seeeing large numbers of young red men trying for a game. Mate, it's not a gay club (aka YMCA). 24 blokes can play and maybe a few others not selected. You must have a real vendetta against the club. We all know they are underachievers (just don't have so much hate). I wouldn't classify them as contenders at all.

Your a twit!

Simply put its a long year and with 25-30 blokes only on your playing list, things get very hard when injuries / holidays hit. Point being they will fall away significantly as the season goes on. Wouldnt surprise me if they didnt make top 4.

Dont know about "hate" , I actually feel sorry for them. Compared to the likes of Collegians / De La and Xavs they have a laughable culture. No surprise that they have had no success for 50+ years.

Your a twit!

Simply put its a long year and with 25-30 blokes only on your playing list, things get very hard when injuries / holidays hit. Point being they will fall away significantly as the season goes on. Wouldnt surprise me if they didnt make top 4.

Dont know about "hate" , I actually feel sorry for them. Compared to the likes of Collegians / De La and Xavs they have a laughable culture. No surprise that they have had no success for 50+ years.

Don't you mean - You're a twit rather than 'your a twit'???

Just checked their team stats, they have had 35 blokes that have played a game this year. Not that it counts though as they are no good when it will come down to the crunch - I have seen them play this year and they are forward runners of the ball.

I agree probably 5th or 6th this year.

Anyway enough of Old Scotch, what do the fellas think of Uni Blues chances this year?

OMs V De La. OMs on the improve but De La to win this easily. With the Junction vacant will they move the game away from that goat track on the other side of the road?

STBM V U Blacks. Blacks another big improver but St Bedes hard to beat on that weird little oval.

U Blues V Beauy. Beaumaris travelling a bit better. Blues a bit up and down but it will be the closest game of the round.

OX V Scotch. Match of the round but Xavs to win comfortably. No one has got close to them yet and I can’t see that changing this week.

Fitzroy V OB. Full credit to the Brighton boys for rolling up every week. Hope they get close and continue to get better but the Roys to win this one comfortably.

OMs V De La. OMs on the improve but De La to win this easily. With the Junction vacant will they move the game away from that goat track on the other side of the road?

I had a feeling that as part of the deal with Cricket Victoria only the Seniors were allowed to play on the Junction! So it looks like its the Goat track once again!

Your a twit!

Firstly, this is an under 19 premier forum so any talk of the purples needs to stop as collegians haven't been in premier for a number of years and are by no means dominating in south 1.

Interesting opinion on the boys down at K2. Were struggling for numbers early but now have 35 boys on the playing list with hot competition for spots in the best 24. Have also won 5 of their first 6 albeit against the weaker sides in the competition. Real test will come this week against the form side of them comp. Scotch got the choccies last year at stradbroke park and i would not be surprised if they did it again. Xavs may be a bit too strong though.

Verdict: Xavs by 9 points

Just had a quick look at the numbers played for each team so far. Also the amount of players who have played in all games so far.

Old Brighton 27 players 11 all games
Old Xavs 29 players 16 all games
St.Bedes/Mentone 35 players 13 all games
Uni Blues 35 players 14 all games
Old Scotch 35 players 11 all games
Fitzroy 32 players 11 all games
Uni Blacks 39 players 8 all games
Old Melbourians 33 players 11 all games
De La Salle 34 players 10 all games
Beaumaris 32 players 13 all games

Interesting breakdown. Xavs especially impressive with 2/3 playing each of the first six rounds.

Firstly, this is an under 19 premier forum so any talk of the purples needs to stop as collegians haven't been in premier for a number of years and are by no means dominating in south 1.

Interesting opinion on the boys down at K2. Were struggling for numbers early but now have 35 boys on the playing list with hot competition for spots in the best 24. Have also won 5 of their first 6 albeit against the weaker sides in the competition. Real test will come this week against the form side of them comp. Scotch got the choccies last year at stradbroke park and i would not be surprised if they did it again. Xavs may be a bit too strong though.

Verdict: Xavs by 9 points

Yes Yes they did take the chocolates last year ....but two very different outfits in 2011.

I look forward to the game. Maybe I will be proven wrong .....but lets wait and see.

Rumour floating around Monash Uni this arvo - Xavs FF ( the one who has kicked a bags last few weeks) will not be playing. Any truth to this??

Apparently his dad ran over his foot with the family porsche!!

STBM V U Blacks. Blacks another big improver but St Bedes hard to beat on that weird little oval.

U Blues V Beauy. Beaumaris travelling a bit better. Blues a bit up and down but it will be the closest game of the round.

OX V Scotch. Match of the round but Xavs to win comfortably. No one has got close to them yet and I can’t see that changing this week.

Fitzroy V OB. Full credit to the Brighton boys for rolling up every week. Hope they get close and continue to get better but the Roys to win this one comfortably.

This weeks winners are

De La
Tigers
Blues
Xavs
Lions.

Sloth out.

Good effort by scotchies to beat xavs in what appears to been an arm wrestle at steadbroke park. The premiership is no longer a one horse race.

Blues will rue missed shots against beauy in a high scoring clash. Dickinson was very good for the sharks.

OMs must have been a little unlucky yesterday ?

Absolute belter of a game down at stradbroke park yesterday. Was lucky enough to witness it first hand and can say that it was one of the best games of under 19 football I've seen.

Xavs came in undefeated favourites and started well kicking 4 goals to 2 in a competitive first quarter, denton and woodley dominating around the stoppages. In an ugly incident that cast a shadow over an otherwise brilliant game of football, 2010 under 19 team of the year member and scotch vice captain James Sansom broke his leg after courageously running back with the flight and colliding with a teammate. After leading by 2 goals at quarter time and facing a Sansomless scotch, xavs looked the goods but scotch kept fighting, going in at half time only 13 points down. The 3rd quarter was an armwrestle with stoppage after stoppage being contested across the scotch half forward line. They couldn't hit the score board however and xavs stretched their lead to 23 points through Barry, who kicked 5 at FF, and looked to have finally seen off a gallant scotch outfit. Scotch refused to buckle and came back again, kicking the last 2 of the quarter to be within 10 at 3/4 time and carrying some momentum into the last. In a see-sawing final term the lead changed 3 times and it seemed unfair that one of the teams had to lose, unfortunately for some this team was xavier as charlie perry kicked a goal with 8 seconds remaining to put scotch 5 points up.

Woodard, Knight and Newman did a power of work in the guts for the cardinals with their clearance work a key factor in the victory, Hummerston also did a great job on Hannan at CHB. Xavs remain premiership favourites but have been dealt a reminder that the season is far from over, with the scotchies showing that they may be ready to take that next step and finally break the finals hoodoo that has hung over the club for many a year.

Once Again these are your words in the lead up to this weekend...

"As always Scotch will be found out as the perennial pretenders of the competition."

Ridiculous