Under 19 Premier Division - Part 2

AND Xavs will continue to beat De La in seniors footy until the De La put Edgar back in his place!! haha

Gee whiz- some bad blood there???? Quite extraordinary that you would be bagging a coach who has just taken a side to 2 straight premierships, been undefeated in the 20 games this season and been named by his peers on the VAFA Coaches Executive as Coach of the Year????!!!!
One could only assume that the Senior side at De La would be much better for the work of a coach like John.........pretty rough taking pot shots at him and the club!
Xavs are a great club and clearly the comp benchmark - I'm sure they would not support such ridiculous comments!

Gee whiz- some bad blood there???? Quite extraordinary that you would be bagging a coach who has just taken a side to 2 straight premierships, been undefeated in the 20 games this season and been named by his peers on the VAFA Coaches Executive as Coach of the Year????!!!!
One could only assume that the Senior side at De La would be much better for the work of a coach like John.........pretty rough taking pot shots at him and the club!
Xavs are a great club and clearly the comp benchmark - I'm sure they would not support such ridiculous comments!

No Bad Blood, De La won fair and square better team on the day and for the year, but when half the team are school kids how are De La Salle OLD BOYS meant to blood new talent with the school leavers, I think it would be safe to say if OX had its best 12 school boys playing (including the likes of Golds) they would also rarely lose

Thoughts?

No Bad Blood, De La won fair and square better team on the day and for the year, but when half the team are school kids how are De La Salle OLD BOYS meant to blood new talent with the school leavers, I think it would be safe to say if OX had its best 12 school boys playing (including the likes of Golds) they would also rarely lose

Thoughts?

Ridiculous comment. Half the team? Only 3 or 4 school kids in the De La team and if they were that good they would be playing TAC anyway. And do you seriously think a kid like Golds would bother playing in the VAFA U19s? That’s like saying Scully would play 19s at H’bury, Watts would play 19s at BGS etc.

And why take a pot shot at Jon Edgar. 2 flags from 2 attempts is a fair effort. De La is a small school in comparison to the APS schools and they rely on the talented kids all wanting to play together. Similar to what St Bedes has done recently. Also realise that this depth of talent won’t last forever and that the 2011 version will probably be significantly weaker (good news for all the other clubs) Xavs pretty humble in defeat and a healthy respect and rivalry between both clubs so I’m surprised to see this rubbish getting thrown around.

Well done to Xavs seniors. Outstanding effort once again but I wonder how many of those on the 19 Premier board taking pots at De La and revelling in the sustained success have even played seniors let alone been part of this flag winning dynasty.

Congratulations to De La Salle on being premiers and champions in 2010.

They were clearly the best team in the competition and the result in the GF on the weekend further reinforced this point.

Well Done On Jonny Edgar being named coach of the year ! Having pot shots at him is showing a lack of respect. Where do you get off ? They have won 22 games straight no one else in the comp ! Whatelse do you want him to achieve ? However saying this the DLS side would have been a lot easier to coach compared to a Marcellin or Uni Blacks this year. Players make coaches but only the best coaches can make players. Are they a better team by playing under Jonny ... I would say yes.

Sloth out :)

Well done to Xavs seniors. Outstanding effort once again but I wonder how many of those on the 19 Premier board taking pots at De La and revelling in the sustained success have even played seniors let alone been part of this flag winning dynasty.[/FONT] [/QUOTE]

?

The whole club benefits from the premiers victory, and to say that just because you didn't physically play for the premiers team you can't enjoy their success is ridiculous. If de la seniors had of won the premiership their under 19s would do the same.

A flawed statement.

The whole club benefits from the premiers victory, and to say that just because you didn't physically play for the premiers team you can't enjoy their success is ridiculous. If de la seniors had of won the premiership their under 19s would do the same.

A flawed statement.[/quote]

Nothing wrong with the entire club sharing in the success. Takes many people beyond just the players to make a club successful. But IMO it’s a bit ordinary if by extension everyone feels they have the right to start sledging and putting down others on the back of the senior teams success. Unquestionably OX has enjoyed an unparalled level of excellence and those directly involved have earned the right to say pretty much what they want. I have said many times that OX are a great club but it seems this sustained success at the senior level is creating a generation of hangers-on all wanting their share of the glory when they made little or no contribution themselves. Are you perhaps one of those ?

Congratulations to De La Salle on being premiers and champions in 2010.

They were clearly the best team in the competition and the result in the GF on the weekend further reinforced this point.

Well Done On Jonny Edgar being named coach of the year ! Having pot shots at him is showing a lack of respect. Where do you get off ? They have won 22 games straight no one else in the comp ! Whatelse do you want him to achieve ? However saying this the DLS side would have been a lot easier to coach compared to a Marcellin or Uni Blacks this year. Players make coaches but only the best coaches can make players. Are they a better team by playing under Jonny ... I would say yes.

Sloth out :)

Respect.... no one deserves respect if they do and say what he said on Sunday... he showed a massive lack of sportsmanship......

LOL few sore loser me thinks. think a couple boys bit upset coz they have been thumped by over90points collectively in two grand finals. last time i checked lads this was the under19 premier thread so senior results have little to nothing to do with it. De La have been the power house 19s team for 6 years now and xavs have been the power house in the seniors. i do think that de la will soon be a dominant force at a grade level. Still a little confused as to why jon edgar is coping a wack, the bloke has won 40 of his last 42 games you halfwits. Eat a big slice of humble pie because you came runners up....again.....maybe next year boys.

but congratulations to the de la boys. pretty rare seeing a team go through undefeated and be so so dominant. look forward to seeing a few of the boys progress through the senior ranks!

Nothing wrong with the entire club sharing in the success. Takes many people beyond just the players to make a club successful. But IMO it’s a bit ordinary if by extension everyone feels they have the right to start sledging and putting down others on the back of the senior teams success. Unquestionably OX has enjoyed an unparalled level of excellence and those directly involved have earned the right to say pretty much what they want. I have said many times that OX are a great club but it seems this sustained success at the senior level is creating a generation of hangers-on all wanting their share of the glory when they made little or no contribution themselves. Are you perhaps one of those ? [/QUOTE]

you have no idea. Its not necessary to explain the extent of ones contribution to a club on this forum, there are no "hangers-on" at old xavs - thats why the club is so strong. Your trying to find a negative aspect of the xavs senior success and its just not valid.
Enjoy your under 19 success, De La are truly the benchmark. As far as I'm concerned, every supporter is providing a contribution, and thats enough to warrant a share in the teams glory and success.

now that Edgar is gone, might mean De La Old Boys will stop using the 12 best yr 11 and 12s each week? which could equal the end of an era?

De La to miss the 4 next year?

Bloody hell MUF you just can’t let go can you. I guess consecutive Grand Final beatings will do that to you. Please refer to earlier post refuting your claims about ‘school kids’ filling the De La U19s. They have never once played a year 11 and only played 3 year 12s this season. Furthermore if they were that good they would be playing TAC cup anyway. Your best player this year (NIDAM) was not even a Xaverian so give me spell about the old boys thing.

You might be right about one thing though. The reign of De La has to end eventually. The 2011 team will have a different look about it but you are a very brave man to be writing them off in November.

Bloody hell MUF you just can’t let go can you. I guess consecutive Grand Final beatings will do that to you. Please refer to earlier post refuting your claims about ‘school kids’ filling the De La U19s. They have never once played a year 11 and only played 3 year 12s this season. Furthermore if they were that good they would be playing TAC cup anyway. Your best player this year (NIDAM) was not even a Xaverian so give me spell about the old boys thing.

You might be right about one thing though. The reign of De La has to end eventually. The 2011 team will have a different look about it but you are a very brave man to be writing them off in November.

from what I hear one of your best and fairest winners was a year 11?

plus imagine old xavs with some of their best school boys playing?

from what I hear one of your best and fairest winners was a year 11?

plus imagine old xavs with some of their best school boys playing?

Well you heard wrong. Perhaps you should substantiate your information before posting what you hear as being fact. And I can't imagine the Old Xavs with some of their best schoolboys playing because it wont ever happen. They are playing in the APS comp and we all know that takes priority. As I have said before if they were that good they would be playing TAC Cup anyway.

De La did not play any year 11s. Some other clubs may have and so what if they did! It is after all an UNDER 19 competition so as long you fit the age criteria you can play 15 year olds if you think they are up to it.

So what do we do now? Make some new restriction so The MUF is happy and Xavs are guaranteed to win the flag every year? We can start by banning all kids who are still at school from playing under 19s even though they fit the age criteria. And because ACC schools and many of the others don’t have boarders why don’t we ban any kid who was a boarder or came from outside the metro area. And while we are at it why don’t we ban anyone who didn't attend the school they are now representing.

Actually the last 2 probably wouldn’t suit you so how about we just leave it as it is. Any player who meets the age and other criteria as set by the VAFA is eligible no matter what there background or where they went to school (or even if they are still at school) Let’s just rely on recruiting, providing a good culture, work ethic etc so at the end of the season the best team stands a pretty good chance of success. And then let’s also promise we wont piss and moan about that particular team having some sort of fictional advantage.

Your obsession with this is wearing thin. It has been refuted several times now but still you go on…. OX are great club and they would not condone this incessant complaining. Furthermore there seems to be a healthy rivalry and respect between these clubs. Perhaps 2011 will be your year. If you continue to play at OX then surely at some stage a seniors flag is big possibility.

Well you heard wrong. Perhaps you should substantiate your information before posting what you hear as being fact. And I can't imagine the Old Xavs with some of their best schoolboys playing because it wont ever happen. They are playing in the APS comp and we all know that takes priority. As I have said before if they were that good they would be playing TAC Cup anyway.

De La did not play any year 11s. Some other clubs may have and so what if they did! It is after all an UNDER 19 competition so as long you fit the age criteria you can play 15 year olds if you think they are up to it.

So what do we do now? Make some new restriction so The MUF is happy and Xavs are guaranteed to win the flag every year? We can start by banning all kids who are still at school from playing under 19s even though they fit the age criteria. And because ACC schools and many of the others don’t have boarders why don’t we ban any kid who was a boarder or came from outside the metro area. And while we are at it why don’t we ban anyone who didn't attend the school they are now representing.

Actually the last 2 probably wouldn’t suit you so how about we just leave it as it is. Any player who meets the age and other criteria as set by the VAFA is eligible no matter what there background or where they went to school (or even if they are still at school) Let’s just rely on recruiting, providing a good culture, work ethic etc so at the end of the season the best team stands a pretty good chance of success. And then let’s also promise we wont piss and moan about that particular team having some sort of fictional advantage.

Your obsession with this is wearing thin. It has been refuted several times now but still you go on…. OX are great club and they would not condone this incessant complaining. Furthermore there seems to be a healthy rivalry and respect between these clubs. Perhaps 2011 will be your year. If you continue to play at OX then surely at some stage a seniors flag is big possibility.

Hey Rooster you seem to be in the know down at Dairy Bell so have De La announced a replacement for Edgar yet? If so could you please indulge us all by supplying a name.

Hey Mannix. Thanks for your interest. I believe they have appointed someone but it has not yet been made official. When the club announces to those within I will post it here but not until then. A very good appointment but I would expect it to be a much tougher job than in recent years. Any other U19 news around the traps. Which clubs looking the goods for 2011?

I heard that Xavs have a new coach(es) for 2011. I wonder if they are going to continue with co-coaches ?

Beauy has a new coach with their coach moving up to Senior Assistant.

Come on Rooster who is taking over at DLS. It would be hard to take on a side which took all before it in 2009 and 2010 under Jon Edgar.

I heard that Xavs have a new coach(es) for 2011. I wonder if they are going to continue with co-coaches ?

Come on Rooster who is taking over at DLS. It would be hard to take on a side which took all before it in 2009 and 2010 under Jon Edgar.

RFS we can always rely on you for the latest U19 news. I have been given a name but in fairness to the club and perhaps others who applied I will wait until it is in the public domain. And yes a very tough task for the new coach. They cannot possibly sustain that level of depth and fully expect to come back to the field a bit in 2011. OX and Scotch my early call as the teams to beat in 2011.

RFS who is the new Xavs under 19 coach. Doesn;t surprise me that they would appoint a new roach as my mail from the Xavs boys was that the players weren't big fans of Maule. Early call for next year but I think Uni Blues could be the bolters. Old Scotchies school side was terrible so don't see them threatening. Old Xavs will lose alot of their guns but should be there abouts, De La are the powerhouse but 2011 may see them challenged more often and Beauy could surprise a few. Rooster your thoughts?

Difficult to make an informed call at this early stage but I still reckon Xavs and Scotch will be thereabouts. Both clubs seem to recruit very well. Beauy will be a real threat as many of last years team can go around again and I’m hearing St Bedes will be strong on the back of some talented youngsters from their 17s & 18s. De La will find the going harder in 2011. Impossible to sustain that run of success but would never write them off. Not so sure about Uni Blues. Always have heaps of talent but take a while to get going. Any mail from other clubs? The Right Foot Sloth is always on the money with U19 news.

OM's have a new coach as reported on their web site.

Finally, in another huge announcement, we have secured the services of Stephen Nash as Under 19’s Coach. Stephen has held many roles in AFL football, most notably running the Victorian Football operation for the West Coast Eagles (during the Malthouse era), and in senior footy department roles for Carlton and the West Coast Eagles. Having also spent the past few years in a development role at Sandringham Dragons, Stephen will be a fantastic acquisition to the Club and critical to helping the next crop of OM’s stars make the leap from school boy footy to VAFA Premier grade.

OM's have a new coach as reported on their web site.

Finally, in another huge announcement, we have secured the services of Stephen Nash as Under 19’s Coach. Stephen has held many roles in AFL football, most notably running the Victorian Football operation for the West Coast Eagles (during the Malthouse era), and in senior footy department roles for Carlton and the West Coast Eagles. Having also spent the past few years in a development role at Sandringham Dragons, Stephen will be a fantastic acquisition to the Club and critical to helping the next crop of OM’s stars make the leap from school boy footy to VAFA Premier grade.

Nash is a good get by OM’s. Has a wealth of footy experience at many levels. Does anyone know if he still has a role at Sandy Dragons? I see also Wayne Oswald has landed at OM’s after just one season at Scotch. Any Scotchies care to comment? Perhaps Nash and Oswald are a package deal as they spent a few years together at TAC level.

Just checked the De La web site. It (the web site) has been updated but no reference to the new 19's coach. Now Rooster you can spill the beans now who is the new coach and their background at De La in 2011.

Sorry RFS I meant to post something when the news came out. The club website is in the process of being upgraded so it only contains scant information. The new coach for the U19 Premier team is Michael Brown. He is old boy of the school and a player at the club. Was an outstanding junior who got cut down by injury but has a natural flair for coaching.

He is a teacher at St James, also a Lasallian school that is a feeder for
St Bedes and De La. In recent times he has been a senior assistant, a role he was going to undertake again until Jon Egdar landed a job in the VFL.

A top bloke and a great appointment. We are under no illusions that it will be a much tougher gig than in recent years but are very happy to have Mick on board.

Tom Maule will still be coach of the u19 Premier side next year with his co-coach Pat Halpin moving up to coach one of the 2 thirds sides... Joe Rush will be the new assistant coach after coaching the U19 seconds side last season.