Under-19 Stars who Amounted to Nothing

drafted Heath Shephard "The Freak" in '88 I think under F/S. Kicked 5 goals and took an absolute screamer on debut against st kilda at vic park. Only played 11 games in 2 years, went to tassie, and then played 4 games for the bears.

Was there at Vic. Park for this game, and I still get a bit of a tingle down the spine thinking how special Heath Shephard's debut was. I think he kicked 5 goals 7 behinds or something rediculous, took screamers, did it all. I remember going to a party that night and telling all my mates I had just seen the debut of a future absolute star. So disappointed he didn't go on with it.

Terry Keays had it all, and Andrew Tarpey who I've seen others post in this thread was ok, but nowhere near as good as Christian or Starcevich.

Was there at Vic. Park for this game, and I still get a bit of a tingle down the spine thinking how special Heath Shephard's debut was. I think he kicked 5 goals 7 behinds or something rediculous, took screamers, did it all. I remember going to a party that night and telling all my mates I had just seen the debut of a future absolute star. So disappointed he didn't go on with it.

Terry Keays had it all, and Andrew Tarpey who I've seen others post in this thread was ok, but nowhere near as good as Christian or Starcevich.

Both had far more application than Tarps but couldnt near him one on one.
Probably like the grog too much though and his missus was a strange cookie.
Sybil we used to call her.

Keys lacked disicpline off the field. Someone close to me knew him. He was a teenage prodigy playing senior footy but it takes more than talent.

Can't recall his age but I remember Gordon Sumner's debut and watched Peter Mckenna give him BOG and proclaim him the brownlow meadalist the next morining on the World Of Sport panel. Retired because he didn't have the drive of AFL. Unlike some others he didn't hang around and blame external factors hr just admitted it wasn't for him. Sort of bloke you wish all the best to.

Chris Dalkin was around in the early 80's (from memory). His nickname was skills. I thought he was going to be gun. Think he ended up at Port Adelaide. Probably lacked a yard.

Keys lacked disicpline off the field. Someone close to me knew him. He was a teenage prodigy playing senior footy but it takes more than talent.

Can't recall his age but I remember Gordon Sumner's debut and watched Peter Mckenna give him BOG and proclaim him the brownlow meadalist the next morining on the World Of Sport panel. Retired because he didn't have the drive of AFL. Unlike some others he didn't hang around and blame external factors hr just admitted it wasn't for him. Sort of bloke you wish all the best to.

Chris Dalkin was around in the early 80's (from memory). His nickname was skills. I thought he was going to be gun. Think he ended up at Port Adelaide. Probably lacked a yard.[/quote]

Chris Dalkin ended up with a knee reco (possibly 2) - which didn't help.

I recall the same thing about Sumner as well. It's a shame when guys who have the ability don't really 'want it', but it's not for everyone.

Dallas Normington.

I never saw him play or anything, I just really like the name.

Anybody know anything about him?

From what I remember Dallas was recruited to the Pies in 90 from Melbourne via the bush. Good little back pocket/rover type. Was never gonna bypass Shawry or Kerro.

I think Gordon Sumner (not the bloke from the Police) was actually a Coventry. Could be wrong though.

Jason Croall was captain of the 1987? U-19 premiership side that formed the bones of our 1990 premiership team - so he obviously had some talent.

Peter Daicos's brother Victor played U19's as well but by all accounts wasnt any good.

What about the other two Shaw brothers?

Neville played a handful of senior games I think, but did the other one play U19's?

I think Gordon Sumner (not the bloke from the Police) was actually a Coventry. Could be wrong though.

Jason Croall was captain of the 1987? U-19 premiership side that formed the bones of our 1990 premiership team - so he obviously had some talent.

Peter Daicos's brother Victor played U19's as well but by all accounts wasnt any good.

We won the under 19's flag coached by Keith Burns in 1986 and I am thinking it could have been Brett Gloury who may have been our skipper during that under 19 season. However it could well have been Jason Croall. This is the side that produced Brown, McGuane, Crosisca, Monkhorst and ultimately help propel our seniors to the '90 flag.

^ Jason Croall was the captain of the 1986 premiership side and the vice captain was Gavin Brown.

Croally got the best out of himself. I think he kept Mick Martyn to 2 goals leaving him stranded on 98 for the season. I remember one of the players players playing with a broken jaw. Mouth fully wired up and all. Cant remember who it was though. I vaguely remember that a guy by the name of David Partridge winning the B&F that year. Not sure though.
What memories!!

Croally got the best out of himself. I think he kept Mick Martyn to 2 goals leaving him stranded on 98 for the season. I remember one of the players players playing with a broken jaw. Mouth fully wired up and all. Cant remember who it was though. I vaguely remember that a guy by the name of David Partridge winning the B&F that year. Not sure though.
What memories!!
Longmire?

Martyn was full back

Yes, and I think Presti was a CHF in his junior days, not sure about Luke Godden though
I'm just shy of 6'1 and I spent a few games playing in the ruck. :eek: Perhaps not quite AFL level comp but when I had to ruck against a 7 foot guy it got pretty awkward. At least I had him for mobility.

Mark Orval is the story that stands out above the rest.

Was an absolute superstar in the late 80's, but once out of the under 19's he just couldn't get on the park.

Best comparison is obviously to Rusling, as Orval was a fast moving forward who could have been a gun, but injuries ruined that.

Only played 7 games for the pies, was such a pity, he would have been part of our 1990 premiership team without a doubt.

Very sad to see this guy give it away. Stress fractures of the feet from memory. They'd fix him these days.

drafted Heath Shephard "The Freak" in '88 I think under F/S. Kicked 5 goals and took an absolute screamer on debut against st kilda at vic park. Only played 11 games in 2 years, went to tassie, and then played 4 games for the bears.

Could have been anything, saw his first game and was just blown away.
Nice guy, had quite a few after game drinks in the social club with him. Unfortunately, that was his downfall... far too fond of a frothy to work hard enough to make it.

I'm just shy of 6'1 and I spent a few games playing in the ruck. :eek: Perhaps not quite AFL level comp but when I had to ruck against a 7 foot guy it got pretty awkward. At least I had him for mobility.

But Stephen Patterson played a couple of good games didn't he?

Could have been anything, saw his first game and was just blown away.
Nice guy, had quite a few after game drinks in the social club with him. Unfortunately, that was his downfall... far too fond of a frothy to work hard enough to make it.

Shep was a sensation cricketer as well. He got stuck into the punting scene and was too much of a socialiser to make it big. He once made 210 out of 260odd in a final and got beat!

I
We won the under 19's flag coached by Keith Burns in 1986 and I am thinking it could have been Brett Gloury who may have been our skipper during that under 19 season. However it could well have been Jason Croall. This is the side that produced Brown, McGuane, Crosisca, Monkhorst and ultimately help propel our seniors to the '90 flag.

I thought Brett Gloury was captain too,
Monkey stood out.
Athos was a freak back then.
Faully went to Brisbane. Remembering him doing his quad pre season.
Think it was Shane Bennett in a back pocket that could have went further with the club.

Shep was a sensation cricketer as well. He got stuck into the punting scene and was too much of a socialiser to make it big. He once made 210 out of 260odd in a final and got beat!

If you reckon Heath Shepherd was a freak....you should have seen his dad Graham. That guy would have won a Brownlow if we'd been able to get him to Collingwood earlier from Tassie.

And just harking back to the Shaw brothers....Neville wore 51 and was easily the most talented of the Shaws. Unfortunately like so many other "talents"....he couldn't push himself hard enough to satisfy Tommy Hafey and he didn't go on with it. If Nifty Nev had Tony's heart he'd have been a world beater.

Under-19 Stars who Amounted to Nothing