2nds VFL Round 6 - Geelong v North Ballarat, Skilled Stadium, 10:40AM Saturday 7 May (curtain raiser)

Sorry, he's the other one I forgot.

Rabbi mentioned that he spoke to him at the Torquay game and Jack said he was about 8 weeks away. Not sure of the specific nature of the injury though.

That's a shame, he impressed me in the few games i've seen him play and looks a likely type.

That's the one thing i miss about moving north. Not getting to see the VFL boys play and the limited info other than this board about injuries, development etc.

Living in WA dont get any news on the VFL just wondering how Brown is going and if he's close to a birth in the seniors also good to see drum back saw a bit of him when he was at freo

I'll give you a tip next curtain raiser, if you come in early in the Ablett Terrace and tell security you're there for the GA at the back, you can actually once they're busy come up the front. I sit in the reserved section and there's about 3 people at the curtain raisers, because no one bothers to turn up that early, so you can borrow a seat to take photos because most people don't come until near the end of the VFL. Worst comes to worst you can actually sit in the aisle and take photos, because there's so few people around at that time you're not impeding anyone.

Well that's blown that little scheme!:D

Living in WA dont get any news on the VFL just wondering how Brown is going and if he's close to a birth in the seniors

On form (7 and 5 goals in the last two matches) probably yes, especially considering Pods, Hawkins and Mooney aren't exactly setting the world on fire.

But they'll want him to string a couple of months of decent footy together first, as this is his 3rd season at the club and he really hasn't been able to do that yet.

The 1's are obviously in good form, and combining that with the coaches knowledge of Brown's talent, and not wanting to physically crush him again by throwing him in too early, they won't select him for a while yet.

If he keeps his form up then Round 10 against the Suns might be a good chance to give him a taste of it.

On form (7 and 5 goals in the last two matches) probably yes, especially considering Pods, Hawkins and Mooney aren't exactly setting the world on fire.

But they'll want him to string a couple of months of decent footy together first, as this is his 3rd season at the club and he really hasn't been able to do that yet.

The 1's are obviously in good form, and combining that with the coaches knowledge of Brown's talent, and not wanting to physically crush him again by throwing him in too early, they won't select him for a while yet.

If he keeps his form up then Round 10 against the Suns might be a good chance to give him a taste of it.

They are treating him as a first year recruit, he has played what, 15 games of football in 2 and a half years? fair enough.

:eek:damn, thought it was more than that. Scott will likely keep him in the reserves all year even if his form warrants selection considering the pressure Hawkins has been under from most. Brown has something similar to Josh Kennedy and exactly what we have needed since Nathan Ablett's departure

Geez! Don't compare Nathan Ablett with Mitch. Nathan is a grossly overrated player. Not being able to hold his place with the GC in their VFL side last year illustrated that.

On the other hand Mitch will play 200 games with us providing his body stands up.

Geez! Don't compare Nathan Ablett with Mitch. Nathan is a grossly overrated player. Not being able to hold his place with the GC in their VFL side last year illustrated that.

On the other hand Mitch will play 200 games with us providing his body stands up.
Not training properly in four seasons (after already missing out on crucial elite underage training) would do that to anyone.

Oh really! Think his old man would have still got a kick or two.;)

I take your point, he is lazy. Though with the defector up there this year he was reputed to have really put in a hard pre-season. Still can't make it.

He was fortunate that we had no real key forward options as an alternative when he was with us. That fact got him the number of games he played with us. Unless you count McCarthy of course.:eek:

you can't deny that Nathan had enormous potential from an early age. He was a very good mark and good kick for goal. Had he wanted to play the game he would certainly be our 2nd best key forward today but Mitch has yet to play a senior game and proven himself but ye am pretty sure he'll be a great player for us. Mooney still remains our best key forward since Brownless, Stoneham and Kinglsey:)

Yes, I still think Nathan has/had more natural ability than his brother.

Mate. You're joking.

If Ablett would be our 2nd best key forward today, as you say, why isn't he presently the best or 2nd best key forward with an ordinary Gold Coast side? And why wasn't he their best key forward last year when they played in the VFL? He spent most of last year with Broadbeach.

Living in WA dont get any news on the VFL just wondering how Brown is going and if he's close to a birth in the seniors also good to see drum back saw a bit of him when he was at freo

Brown missed two games with shoulder soreness and has been back for 2 weeks, in which he's kicked 7 and 5 goals respectively. Purely on form he'd be in the senior side this week, but Scott said they're treating him as a first year player because he's missed so much footy, so he needs to play a few more good weeks before he comes in. If his formline stays the same, I reckon he might debut vs GC in a few weeks.

Poor Drum, was flying in the pre season and then their attempts to manage the ankle failed and they had to operate in December. First game back for him, so it's been a long road with injury 10/11.

Mate. You're joking.

If Ablett would be our 2nd best key forward today, as you say, why isn't he presently the best or 2nd best key forward with an ordinary Gold Coast side? And why wasn't he their best key forward last year when they played in the VFL? He spent most of last year with Broadbeach.
Because since the age of 16 he's missed about 7 out of the 10 years that other key forwards have had at the elite level.

If you have the ability some say (didn't you suggest more than his brother?) you'd be doing much better than being an ordinary player in a park team.

He's had plenty of years to hone the skills you believe he has.

If you have the ability some say (didn't you suggest more than his brother?) you'd be doing much better than being an ordinary player in a park team.

He's had plenty of years to hone the skills you believe he has.
Which years apart from 2005-2007?

2nds VFL Round 6 - Geelong v North Ballarat, Skilled Stadium, 10:40AM Saturday 7 May (curtain raiser)