2nds VFL Round 6 - Geelong v North Ballarat, Skilled Stadium, 10:40AM Saturday 7 May (curtain raiser)

1.Mitch Brown-didn’t have a lot of supply but was good with what we had. Took a couple of nice marks and a lovely ground level pickup and snap in the third. Very mobile and smart and has a good future.

15.Jordan Schroder-laid a couple of great tackles and worked hard but was generally quiet. Fitness needs to increase and then we’ll see his talent.

18. Josh Cowan-RR and I and others have questioned his hardness a little bit at times but boy was he hard at it today. One contest near the goals I feared he’d hurt himself because the thud was so loud. Worked in and under, disposal was good, and kicked a nice goal in the last. AFL debut can’t be too far away.

23. Marcus Drum-injured early, very sad, hope it’s not too serious. The kid has missed so much footy.

24. Mark Blake-big wrap to him, Stephenson is one of the best rucks in the VFL and Blake at least broke even with him. As others have mentioned they stood off him all day and he used the space, some reasonable kicks and even sidestepped a couple of blokes. Still can’t play in the same side with Ottens, but his effort is pleasing and most commendable.

25. Tom Gillies-worries me. Did a couple of nice things, including one massive 30 m handball which set Joffa free and ended up in a Brown goal, but he seems to lose his way in body contests a lot. Contrast that with what Lonergan does and you can see why I would be worried if he has to play any AFL footy this year.

29. Cam Guthrie-didn’t notice a lot of him, but what I did notice was very clean, on a day where a lot of his teammates weren’t.

32. Steven Motlop-good game. Still not consistent enough but did some lovely things. A couple of times broke through traffic in a Varcoe esque way, and while the end result wasn’t always a goal, the coaches will be pleased with his attacking mindset. Just such a smooth mover if he can do it more often. Unlike last week I thought he actually worked very hard defensively and laid a lot of tackles. Has so much talent, just needs time and confidence and bigger shoulders.

36. Nathan Vardy-didn’t do heaps but the delivery wasn’t great, worked well from limited opportunities. Was involved with second efforts when in the ruck. Coming along nicely.

38. Ben Johnson-presented all day, one thing I’ll give him is he’s a real workhorse. Marked well but needs to show more ability at ground level. Gives away silly free kicks at times which he needs to cut out of his game, but the commitment is there.

41. Jesse Stringer-don’t know if it’s because he’s starting to get fitness back but he looked much quicker today than last week. Like some of the others, laid some ripping tackles, and others that won’t be credited on the stats (i.e. chases that put on referred pressure).

42. Josh Walker-can really mark a footy, reads the play well, showing some nice signs. Noticed he was having issues with his groin in the last quarter so still developing the fitness to run out games

43. George Burbury-had a couple of touches that told me he’s a smart player, but was generally quiet.

46. Jonathan Simpkin-very pleased. Ran straight lines, was one of the few mids to take the game on, didn’t always come off but no doubt the coaches would have been pleased. Was inside and outside today, getting in packs and taking knocks and also using his speed on the outside. Repeat efforts to get to second and third contests are great, and it stands out in a sea of kids, but he’s the one that consistently flogs himself on the defensive spread when we turn it over, and saved some goals with such chases today. Some of the other young kids have more natural talent, but by geez if he got an AFL game he wouldn’t let you down, all toughness and consistent commitment. If he plays a few more games like today (which reminded me of his NAB games) he’ll be close to a senior elevation.

Of the VFL guys, Selwood showed plenty of courage, Barham showed manic chasing but butchered the footy, Firman is just such a calm and collected small defender, and Raidme looked like he'd regained a bit of his pre injury form from last year. McLean, despite having a few kicked on him, was quite useful, and Corrigan was just classy in everything he did.

Unbelievable, Drum just cannot stay fit.

Poor kid, I wonder whether they brought him back too early or whether he's just plain unlucky.

Hopefully give him at least a month with this rehab to be on the safe side. I really feel for him, it must be very tough mentally.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/lake-amiss-again-despite-williamstowns-win-20110507-1edjs.html

Cats VFL general manager Ben Waller said the youngster was shattered after the build up of making his return via the VFL. Before the match, Cats development coach Dale Amos praised Drum for his persistence of getting over yet another injury and was hopeful he could string a few games together after only four VFL appearances last season.

I've uploaded 27 photos from the game yesterday to my facebook photography page... look up Arj Online Images to see the Motlop mark, etc.

Great thoughts on the game guys too, great write up PO

Poor kid, I wonder whether they brought him back too early or whether he's just plain unlucky.

Hopefully give him at least a month with this rehab to be on the safe side. I really feel for him, it must be very tough mentally.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/lake-amiss-again-despite-williamstowns-win-20110507-1edjs.html

Not sure I'd call a 24 y.o a "kid" PO!:p

It's unfortunate he can't show us whether he can cut it due to a string of injuries.

Were injury issues one of the reasons he didn't cut it with Freo?

When was the last time Drum had uninterrupted preSeason? Is his body up to it? he must be getting very close to "enough already".

I was talking to a few BF posters yesterday after the game, and one made the suggestion that Drum's body may be telling him that AFL is not his game. I could not challenge him as history is in favour of his position at the moment.

25. Tom Gillies-worries me. Did a couple of nice things, including one massive 30 m handball which set Joffa free and ended up in a Brown goal, but he seems to lose his way in body contests a lot. Contrast that with what Lonergan does and you can see why I would be worried if he has to play any AFL footy this year.

This has been my criticism of him too Mr.Ownage.
I was hoping that he would make a move to senior selection this year but he has been a disappointment.

I saw the writing on the wall during the NAB cup clashes when Tom would work hard for front position in a marking contest only to surrender that advantage at the crucial time and be out bodied/marked.

Watching him this year I have come to the conclusion that he would get murdered at AFL level in a key defensive post. He seems ok with the ball at ground level, but as you suggested, the body contests are a real issue.

I even thought in the past that he may even be a future replacement for Dasher. I now have severe doubts about his future in the hoops, as I do not think he is up to AFL level.

Not sure I'd call a 24 y.o a "kid" PO!:p

It's unfortunate he can't show us whether he can cut it due to a string of injuries.

Were injury issues one of the reasons he didn't cut it with Freo?

Yes, although not the extent here.

He had a few hamstring injuries in his second and third years at Freo AFAIK.

I still reckon we persist, I saw enough in his 3 games last year to tell me the talent is there.

I agree that there might be question marks over whether his body will ever cope, but we've got to keep trying until all options have been exhausted, at least that way us-and him-know we've given it the best shot possible.

With Drum it just sounds like a conditioning issue. Quads strains are not uncommon in unfit players. Normally they might go a little later in a game though than what his did.:eek:

You're right.

Quads are also the sort of thing that even if you feel right, if you try to come back a bit early, they can go again on you very easily.

I reckon they'll take it very slowly with this re-injury and hopefully this is the last re-injury.

Re: Drum

OK. If it is just a strain and not torn, how long will he be out of the game for?

We won't know and we may never know. Balme's injury lists are what they are :p

Seriously, he spent the whole game on the bench (rather than going somewhere else for treatment) with first ice and then a compression bandage on it so it can't be at the worse end of the scale.

My guess would be a month out just to be cautious.

Poor Drum, it would just do your head in copping injury after injury - the poor bastard wouldnt know what it feels like to have a fully fit body!!

On another note, whats the likleyhood of Vardy playing this week in place of Mooney?
Big call I know, esp given the game, but from saturdays game it looked as though mooney was being utilised more as a second ruck than a forward - perhaps vardy would be more suited to that role as its what he was mainly used as, plus he can kick goals if he marks in front of the sticks....

Once again our boys won plenty of the ball but the disposal by hand and particularly by foot was terrible. Our main ball winners in Joffa & Corrigan were the biggest culprits. You wouldn't want to be a backline player at the moment as the basic error turnovers are killing them in transition. Gillies, Guthrie & McLean were slaughtered by their own team mates on Saturday. Turn overs and lack of mid field numbers back in support is making them look very ordinary.

The forward line structure just didn't function either with Johnson, Brown & Vardy getting in each others way. The previous 2 games it has worked beautifully with limited opportunities but the 3 talls didn't work on Sat.

Blake was clearly our best with a big gap to the next. He is really working hard and is actually taking the game on. He could have easily thrown his hands up and chucked it in but to his credit he is having a genuine crack at improving his game.

The VFL team is very young and are clearly playing with no confidence. We are lacking a General. It's like watching a ship without a rudder.

Poor Drum, it would just do your head in copping injury after injury - the poor bastard wouldnt know what it feels like to have a fully fit body!!

On another note, whats the likleyhood of Vardy playing this week in place of Mooney?
Big call I know, esp given the game, but from saturdays game it looked as though mooney was being utilised more as a second ruck than a forward - perhaps vardy would be more suited to that role as its what he was mainly used as, plus he can kick goals if he marks in front of the sticks....

Agree, that said good to hear Amos say all the boys are right behind him, which I could tell by the fact that so many senior players went out of their way to go see how he was at HT on Saturday.

The hardest challenge from here on in will be mental, I have the feeling the club will show faith in him, and he might not be out for that long, but if mentally he doesn't have any faith in his body he'll find it hard to play good footy from here on in. Hopefully he can overcome that.

On Vardy, this is probably not the week to make that call, I'd rather drop Mooney for a small/med (i.e. SJ if he comes in) but I think Vardy will debut in the near future.

Once again our boys won plenty of the ball but the disposal by hand and particularly by foot was terrible. Our main ball winners in Joffa & Corrigan were the biggest culprits. You wouldn't want to be a backline player at the moment as the basic error turnovers are killing them in transition. Gillies, Guthrie & McLean were slaughtered by their own team mates on Saturday. Turn overs and lack of mid field numbers back in support is making them look very ordinary.

The forward line structure just didn't function either with Johnson, Brown & Vardy getting in each others way. The previous 2 games it has worked beautifully with limited opportunities but the 3 talls didn't work on Sat.

Blake was clearly our best with a big gap to the next. He is really working hard and is actually taking the game on. He could have easily thrown his hands up and chucked it in but to his credit he is having a genuine crack at improving his game.

The VFL team is very young and are clearly playing with no confidence. We are lacking a General. It's like watching a ship without a rudder.

Maybe his positive attitude has something to do with him being encouraged by the coaching staff who are working with him to see if they can make him into more than just a tap ruckman.

Chris said on radio tonight the new sub rule meant ruckman have to have more than one string to their bow. So the coaching staff are attempting to improve Blake's marking so he could also be a forward option. I noticed he played forward quite a bit against Sandy.

It's good to see the club is pro active with its players, but turning Blake into a marking option up forward - well, good luck with that.

Blake's marking skills are still his achilles heel, both his own ability to mark the footy and in particular the ability to stop the opposing ruckman taking marks when they drag him forward. Both are largely the reason why he isn't playing AFL, and may never again do so.

That said, I do agree with RR that some of his other around the ground stuff was good, and you certainly cannot fault his effort at the moment. I'm not sure whether he's got the capability to improve as required, but he's certainly trying as hard as he can.

2nds VFL Round 6 - Geelong v North Ballarat, Skilled Stadium, 10:40AM Saturday 7 May (curtain raiser)