VFL VFL Season 2024

Not thrilled about this if it happens, was glad when he left. I found him too selfish and nicknamed him Shocker. He doesn’t seem the type to fit into this current Collingwood philosophy but that’s just a view from the outside. I’m sure Josh and the VFL team will do what’s best. So it’s a no from me but hey I’m just an anonymous supporter.
Yeah probably should have kept the comment to yourself..

Both quality, Sparkes has more runs on the board with Gippsland Power/Casey. Racks up heaps of footy inside & outside and doesn't waste it often. Met with a few clubs in his draft year but didn't pan out and then covid disrupted next couple of years so back for another crack. Imagine he might play more wing/HB at VFL level.

Hutchinson the one to watch for me though - hasn't been exposed to the AFL talent pathways after opting not to play with Gippsland Power and this being his first crack with a VFL club, keen to see how he goes with the step up to this level. Elite athletic ability, great speed & agility and big leap, could be massive development in him. Also took the best mark I've ever seen in a final last year - not the one in an earlier post in here but that was pretty good too!

Both quality, Sparkes has more runs on the board with Gippsland Power/Casey. Racks up heaps of footy inside & outside and doesn't waste it often. Met with a few clubs in his draft year but didn't pan out and then covid disrupted next couple of years so back for another crack. Imagine he might play more wing/HB at VFL level.

Hutchinson the one to watch for me though - hasn't been exposed to the AFL talent pathways after opting not to play with Gippsland Power and this being his first crack with a VFL club, keen to see how he goes with the step up to this level. Elite athletic ability, great speed & agility and big leap, could be massive development in him. Also took the best mark I've ever seen in a final last year - not the one in an earlier post in here but that was pretty good too!
I don't know too much of either, but Jack seems to be the unknown. There is very little footage -- except of that mark that was posted here, but ive heard he is a high flyer.
Is there anyway to find that mark in the final?

I don't know too much of either, but Jack seems to be the unknown. There is very little footage -- except of that mark that was posted here, but ive heard he is a high flyer.
Is there anyway to find that mark in the final?
It's at 2:17:10-2:17:20 in the below video. Might have to watch at 0.5 speed. Sadly the cameraman zoomed out at the wrong time & the YouTube footage is quite blurry. It was on Cluch before they went into administration and the footage was removed from there. This vision was posted to YouTube but it's not clear. You can still tell how high he was though over a big pack of defenders, huge in context of the game too - a spot in the grand final on the line & this mark and goal brought them back to within 3 points vs the undefeated side with 4 minutes to go. A big game player who seems to like the big moments, he's 6'2-6'3 so not quite KPF size but he's super quick and hard to match up on with his athleticism, hard to think of a comparison amongst AFL listed players, I suppose because he's that in between size but glad he's having a crack.

Of course the camera zooms out when the hanger comes... But if he can bring that to VFL level, it'll grab people's attention

137a4be3c3ed145d79bc04b396284659.jpg

83a3af65a8856452a3a9ec0ff42e8571.jpg

fc7cb00f14b49eb58f00b87a39f60bd0.jpg

I’d like to claim some responsibility (99 degrees of separation) or link to the Wonthaggi Power Footy Club 😉
I did the 8 day Great Vic Bike Ride (Orbost - Wonthaggi) which finished at the footy oval on December 3 (2 weeks ago).

My claim to fame is that I made a serious donation to the club via the magnificent sausage sizzle they put on.
🚴🚴

Oh I know.
I saw this. Took some screens shots, sent it to some friends, who then sent it around to some nuffie pages haha

There are carlton fans... and then there are those kind of carlton fans lol I mean yeah mate, he totally had a choice in being delsted.

Oh I know.
I saw this. Took some screens shots, sent it to some friends, who then sent it around to some nuffie pages haha

There are carlton fans... and then there are those kind of carlton fans lol I mean yeah mate, he totally had a choice in being delsted.
Apparently he's supposed to give up footy altogether when discarded by the Blues.

They don't mind taking our ex players though.

And these are the same supporters abusing their own players only months ago. Lol.

Apparently he's supposed to give up footy altogether when discarded by the Blues.

They don't mind taking our ex players though.

And these are the same supporters abusing their own players only months ago.
Yeah, they are highly hypocritical.

This was from May, but dont think you can be put on the vfl list mid year, so maybe he was training with us but didnt get a contract until now?

Impressed but not surprised.
While St Paul’s McKinnon coach Jason Heffernan was rapt Matt O’Brien’s performance on Saturday, he wasn’t overly shocked.

Heffernan believes the rover has “bigger and better things ahead of him”.

Those bigger and better things may occur as soon as this week, with Collingwood encouraging O’Brien to train with its VFL program.

Heffernan named O’Brien best afield in the Bulldogs’ 8.20 (68) to 8.12 (60) win over Port Melbourne Colts on Saturday as he believed it was an outing that displayed the young star’s versatility as a midfielder.

“It was probably a different game for Matt, there wasn’t a lot of free footy,” he said.

“He has always done well in terms of clearances and contested ball, but what he seems to be able to do is get not only those but get the balance on the outside as well.

“In my mind Sandy missed the boat, he was a contracted player last year and he didn’t get a contract this year, but he will start up with Collingwood this week.

“He has got bigger and better things ahead of him than St Paul’s, that’s for sure.”

When O’Brien didn’t make the Zebras’ list, the Bulldogs wasted no time in putting the feelers out.

“When he didn’t get contracted to Sandy, the calls went out,” he said.

“Collingwood sent someone down to have a look at him, which was great.

“With Collingwood, if they invite you, they see your potential, so if you’re invited, you’re apart of them whether you play or not.

“He’s had some interest from other stand-alone clubs, he never played in the (Sandringham) Dragons 16s or 18s, so he has really pushed his own barrow.

“Collingwood will be good for him for the rest of this year.”

By averaging over 30 disposals a game this season, Heffernan said the focus O’Brien is earning from respected opposition coaches is fast-tracking his growth.

“The guys we coach against put a lot of time into their opposition, Josh Caddy (Port Melbourne Colts), Steve O’Brien (Cranbourne), Des Ryan (Cheltenham) and Kris Thompson (Springvale Districts), they’ve had a lot of VFL experience,” he said.

“I think it’s really helping his development because they’ve all got to sit a good player on him and he’s still coming to the fore.

VFL VFL Season 2024