Mega Thread VICBias - Genuine Discussion Part 2

So after crows v richmond the most hard done by due to MCG grand final, which was next?

Personally I don’t think there've been that many, where the non vic team should have home advantage and had clear personnel advantage over the opponent

Looks at the thread title…

My problem is having numbnuts mcg tenants claim that just because they are very good at their home ground = they would play as well away.

Just lamely trying to justify the bullshit mcg deal…..

You guys ever notice that fans from the non mcg teams in vic are never backing you up on this argument…… because everyone knows it’s bs.
Who cares mate. That one example you make is from almost a decade ago to validate some stupid point over and over.

So what if teams are better at home than away. That’s the natural assumption with home ground advantage.

You seem obsessed with Richmond’s 2017 year.

Quite simple really, for NM and StK (and add in WB and Melbourne)... for decades they've gotten prop-up funding
While simultaneously getting screwed in a stadium deal that cost those clubs money. Those clubs basically were paying it off for everyone else.

That same stadium that saved footy in covid.

Who cares mate. That one example you make is from almost a decade ago to validate some stupid point over and over.

So what if teams are better at home than away. That’s the natural assumption with home ground advantage.

You seem obsessed with Richmond’s 2017 year.
Richmonds 2017 year is the single most egregious example of the mcg tenants advantage.

Finals week one - you belt second placed geelong at the mcg - after being beaten by them at their home ground 3 weeks earlier.

Grand final you meet Adelaide - finished first at your home ground again despite Adelaide winning all their finals.

And your lot have the hide to argue that you would have won if you had played a gf in Adelaide…

Richmonds 2017 year is the single most egregious example of the mcg tenants advantage.

Finals week one - you belt second placed geelong at the mcg - after being beaten by them at their home ground 3 weeks earlier.

Grand final you meet Adelaide - finished first at your home ground again despite Adelaide winning all their finals.

And your lot have the hide to argue that you would have won if you had played a gf in Adelaide…
Mate you’ve been arguing this one point for the good part of 4 years.

Yep, there’s an advantage for MCG tenants playing an interstate team on GF day. We all know that.

There’s also significant advantage for sides like West Coast that have significant HGA throughout the year.

This has been argued over and over.

The fixture and the GF location isn’t fair.

And as for playing the GF in Adelaide? Who knows? We are talking hypotheticals here. Who thought we would beat Port in Port in the 2020 prelim? If we never played them there you could assume we would have lost. But we didn’t.

Rd 6 is all you need to know.

Richmond timed their runs they peaked in August and September.

Adelaide were a mentally fragile team who failed to handle the pressure and then imploded.
They played and won all their finals. They were primed and Richmond got to play on their home ground. To argue that playing the GF on your home ground against an interstate team isn't an advantage is just silly.

Yep, there’s an advantage for MCG tenants playing an interstate team on GF day. We all know that.

There’s also significant advantage for sides like West Coast that have significant HGA throughout the year.

And as for playing the GF in Adelaide? Who knows? We are talking hypotheticals here. Who thought we would beat Port in Port in the 2020 prelim? If we never played them there you could assume we would have lost. But we didn’t.
That's fine, so long as it's understood that it is a disadvantage to interstate clubs playing the GF on the MCG against an MCG tenant club.
Having that as an advantage is something that should be addressed, and the fact that it continues shows a Victorian bias.

While simultaneously getting screwed in a stadium deal that cost those clubs money. Those clubs basically were paying it off for everyone else.

That same stadium that saved footy in covid.
But from what I've been told all the marvel clubs are shit at footy and just financial leeches.
Really they should have to play more H/A games at China or NZ to pull themselves out of debt,
They don't deserve good stadium deals.

thought I'd save everyone the hassle of replying to you :)

Seems pretty silly considering the Giants look like a serious contender this year and only playing at the Grand Final venue once in early March could genuinely cost them later in the season. Maybe there should be a rule that ensures every team in the AFL plays at least two games at the MCG each season OR they get at least one game at the MCG every year that must be played in the second half of the season. It's just not right to have 4 teams (all non-Vic clubs) play at the MCG just once for the entire season.
It’s not just games at the mcg it’s also who you play.

So often your one game a year at the mcg is against a cellar dweller like perennially crap Melbourne. Meanwhile you play Collingwood at Etihad and hawks in tassie.

In round 12 2015 eagles played Richmond at the mcg - Melbourne in Darwin, Collingwood at marvel.

One game in round 12 at the gf venue out of three possibles.

It’s one grand final in however many. I put out a challenge to name the second most. They get more and more debateable.

It’s not a case of a Glib ‘but you get MCG home grand finals. More often than not the home ground is earned

Opposed by the significant disadvantage of playing the other half of those games interstate.

Why is it you lot continually spruik one without the other?

Richmond fly to big scary Perth - omg hard

Eagles fly to nice fluffy Melbourne - omg easy

By 2020 Richmond was a hardened unit that had got used to winning in the road. That’s a hard earned skill.

In 2016/2017/2018 they had one significant win against a top 8 team on the road.

The Crom should have gone the Haka as well as the stance. That would have sorted your lot out.

That's fine, so long as it's understood that it is a disadvantage to interstate clubs playing the GF on the MCG against an MCG tenant club.
Having that as an advantage is something that should be addressed, and the fact that it continues shows a Victorian bias.
Of course it is.
Just like Gather Round is a ridiculous leg up in the fixture for the Adelaide clubs. And North playing home games against WA teams in their own state.

There’s multiple examples of bias.
It just depends which side of the fence you are on for you to choose which to fixate on, and which to discard.

Tigers were brilliant in September 2017, they timed their run to perfection and stood up when it mattered. Crows were too busy doing power stances and training camps on the Gold Coast in the middle of finals. What happened in round 6 is irrelevant.

People seem to think an Adelaide GF would be like a H&A game or week 1-3 final with the home town crowd. That's not how ticketing works, Tigers would have half or even more of the crowd.

Opposed by the significant disadvantage of playing the other half of those games interstate.

Why is it you lot continually spruik one without the other?

Richmond fly to big scary Perth - omg hard

Eagles fly to nice fluffy Melbourne - omg easy

By 2020 Richmond was a hardened unit that had got used to winning in the road. That’s a hard earned skill.

In 2016/2017/2018 they had one significant win against a top 8 team on the road.
How convenient.

Of course it is.
Just like Gather Round is a ridiculous leg up in the fixture for the Adelaide clubs. And North playing home games against WA teams in their own state.

There’s multiple examples of bias.
It just depends which side of the fence you are on for you to choose which to fixate on, and which to discard.
Gather round should have the crows play port - it’s as obvious as the nose on my face.

That way no one is advantaged.

North playing home games against the eagles in Perth - is that any different to the leg ups Richmond and Collingwood get from playing both home and away games against Etihad gmbha tenants at the mcg?

And then never having to play Etihad / gmbha tenants in finals at their home ground?

There’s a good argument Richmond would never have even made the grand final in 2017 - week 1 against geelong at the cattery……

Then you have to go the hard road with winner of swans 6th vs bombers at home - vs swans - win that

Then Adelaide in Adelaide …… see ya…..

There’s a good argument Richmond would never have even made the grand final in 2017 - week 1 against geelong at the cattery……

There's an even better argument that recent Sydney teams wouldn't have made their grand finals without home ground advantages in the qualifying and prelim finals. Some will say they deserved those advantages due to finishing higher, but it's not an even draw so that's a pretty dodgy argument.

The fairest would be all finals at neutral venues. However, it would suck for supporters and the opportunity to watch a team live in a final and thus there'd be shitty crowds.

No doubt Vics have an advantage if playing a non-vic team in a final; however the flip side is that the Non-Vic teams who make the GF do often get an easier path to the GF and probably more opportunities to win GFs.

There's an even better argument that recent Sydney teams wouldn't have made their grand finals without home ground advantages in the qualifying and prelim finals. Some will say they deserved those advantages due to finishing higher, but it's not an even draw so that's a pretty dodgy argument.

The fairest would be all finals at neutral venues. However, it would suck for supporters and the opportunity to watch a team live in a final and thus there'd be shitty crowds.

No doubt Vics have an advantage if playing a non-vic team in a final; however the flip side is that the Non-Vic teams who make the GF do often get an easier path to the GF and probably more opportunities to win GFs.
It’s not even close to an even draw.

Sydney fly 11 times a year.

That’s uneven.

How you come up with the idea we get an easy run to finals is hilarious.

Our way to HOME finals involves winning games of football on the road.

You guys can finish 8th after losing every single game away from the mcg - if we lost every single game away from our home ground we wouldn’t make finals.

and then after that you could never leave the mcg in finals. If we finish 8th we would travel all four weeks….

You are having a laugh aren’t you?

Gather round should have the crows play port - it’s as obvious as the nose on my face.

That way no one is advantaged.

North playing home games against the eagles in Perth - is that any different to the leg ups Richmond and Collingwood get from playing both home and away games against Etihad gmbha tenants at the mcg?

And then never having to play Etihad / gmbha tenants in finals at their home ground?

Then you have to go the hard road with winner of swans 6th vs bombers at home - vs swans - win that

Then Adelaide in Adelaide …… see ya…..
Ahh so deflect the bias in the fixture that doesn’t suit your argument. Typical.

The fixture examples I gave are a leg up for WA and SA clubs and you know it. Don’t be so ignorant not to acknowledge it.

Tigers were brilliant in September 2017, they timed their run to perfection and stood up when it mattered. Crows were too busy doing power stances and training camps on the Gold Coast in the middle of finals. What happened in round 6 is irrelevant.

People seem to think an Adelaide GF would be like a H&A game or week 1-3 final with the home town crowd. That's not how ticketing works, Tigers would have half or even more of the crowd.
Yup, these hypotheticals about how Adelaide and Richmond would have performed are just that.

Truth is, Adelaide had already run their race before the grand final. They assumed turning up would be enough. They even bought the premiership cup a seat on the flight home they were that arrogant. They didn’t turn up, and it’s likely they wouldn’t have at the Adelaide Oval either.

The whining is hilarious though.
I remember after they lost the SA journos were complaining that there was no best of three grand final series. That all seemed to dry up the next year when West Coast too home the trophy for some strange reason.

It’s not even close to an even draw.

Sydney fly 11 times a year.

That’s uneven.

How you come up with the idea we get an easy run to finals is hilarious.

Our way to HOME finals involves winning games of football on the road.

You guys can finish 8th and never leave the mcg in finals. We would travel all four weeks….

And neither team is likely to make the GF - let alone win it.

When you're a top team though and a good chance to win the GF - who usually has an easier run into the GF? Whose more likely to have an advantage in the qualifying final/prelim? Does Sydney beat Collingwood in the 2022 prelim if that was at a neutral venue? Would they have gotten past GWS in 2024 at Engie Stadium? 2023 Collingwood finished top and played a neutral venue qualifying final - How often does that happen to non-vic teams who finish top. It didn't happen to the team that finished 2nd and were our opponents in the GF - they got two finals with a home ground advantage.They got the easier run into the Grand Final. Geelong never get a home ground advantage in finals - only state. Same with all the Marvel tenants. The non-vic teams on the other hand nearly always do when they're the higher rated team.

that has nothing to do with ground advantage those results are fixed

Poor Krank still infernally whinging to anyone who will listen that Adelaide were a better club on the day in the 2017 GF. Apparently MCG tenants have a 20 goal HGA over non-Vics and Geelong 😂
He's been carrying this bitterness for years. The injustice is unbearable.

I also love how when MCG co tenants play each other at the G, they both simultaneously get a massive HGA advantage 😂😂😂

Let's look at a much better comparison of MCG Grand Final advantage:
kranky al insists that a comparison between the Adelaide Richmond game at the AO in early April is a reasonable comparison to a GF in late September and absolute proof of a 20 goal advantage to Richmond at the MCG compared to if the GF was played at AO.

Yet somehow, a comparison between the 2018 West Coast Collingwood final on September 10 isn't comparible to the GF 3 weeks later even though the trave distances are far greater. Seems inexplicable :think:

The only explanation must be that the obviously better comparison doesn't fit in with the whinging, whining, entitled victim narative. This guy seriously makes MAGA and Murdoch drones blush.

Mega Thread VICBias - Genuine Discussion Part 2

Write your reply...