Mega Thread VICBias - Genuine Discussion

You don’t seriously think the coaches of non vic clubs tell they’re players they are disadvantaged do you
I think enough people are that the coaches will be having to fight it and not all are some are encouraging it.

Hardwick's been talking aobut the difficulties of travel and his team becomes terrible when they get anywhere near an airport.

What? No. You cited the Victorian history of the league as a reason for bias in determining the location of the Grand Final as exclusively in Victoria.

Perhaps we should go back to hubs. That's the only history of the league where there wasn't an MCG grand final. It's the history and tradition of the league whether you want to acknowledge it or not.

Are you happy with the shape of the ball? A round one bounces more fairly...

I’m not demanding any unsporting concessions, just that the Victorian clubs have their unsporting concessions removed.

For example, the GF is locked to your home ground regardless of what happens over the course of the preceding five months. This match decides the entire season.

That is a ridiculous policy for what is supposed to be a professional and top level league.
So you'd have a neutral grand final where heaps of years 40,000 less fans could go?

Just cut all the corporate seats and double the amount of members tickets for each club, so you've got more fans attending from each club.

Of course it's a disadvantage. And of course it's a disadvantage that the granny is at the MCG. But we've got the whole league only sooking about their disadvantages and ignoring their advantages

Being in Sleepy Hollow (Geelong) has always had disadvantages, until the Cats started looking at their advantages and have worked the hell out of them.

We've got 4 Northern clubs who have been given a very big recruiting advantage sooking about their diadvantages.

The WA teams who have been gifted a huge share of a big market of both fans and players and all the benefits of that are sooking about their disadvantages. Whilst knocking back an extra team in the state that would reduce their disadvantages.

The SA teams with an extra home game and short flights sooking about their disadvantages. Not to mention their cheaper housing making the salary cap go further.

The only teams with a right to feel they only have disadvantages are the smaller Dockland tenants.

We hear calls for a neutral grand final, why aren't these same teams calling for the neutral preliminary finals - like higher ranked Vic teams often have to play?

Are there calls to address situations like what happened in 2018 - Richmond finished top comfortably - their path to the granny was two neutral finals. WCE finished second - their path to the Granny was two Home ground advantage games - against teams facing the flight that is apparently a huge disadvantage. Similar situations happen most years. Should WCE have been forced to play those games at neutral venues to make the respective paths to the GF fair? Or ar we able to accept the rub of the green, the bounce of the ball or the umpires decision. We're clearly not.

Really well said.

I’m getting a bit sick of VIC Bias calls. It’s not VIC, it’s big vic teams.
Does anyone realise north get on a plane just as many times as the SA teams this year?
The teams at the biggest disadvantage imo are Saints, Roos and Dogs.
They will never get home finals, away fans will outnumber them often and they play at the G as regularly as interstate sides.
That is where they get home finals, a ground they play at maybe 2 times? They’ll maybe have to host a side that plays the G 14-15 times a year and has the crowd on their side.

People can cry about the Home and away season all they like but the games that matter are finals, and there are VIC sides that do not get home ones. That’s the 1 massive disadvantage in the game.

The 2 years Victorians travelled all year (2020-21) and were rarely home. Guess who made the Grand Finals?
All VIC sides.
How can interstate sides complain so much?
Every other year since 2012 an interstate side has made a grand final. Teams that travel a lot make plenty of Grand Finals. It’s obviously not that disadvantageous.
Time to get over it.

Starting next year Collingwood will travel every second week to Perth and play a grand final, if they are good enough in Perth.

Enjoy 🤣🤣🤣

P.s. Watch out for creeping airfares.
Grand final weeks are usually gouged out by Qantas and the Virg by a good grand or 2.
🤣

What the point is, those stats show that travel is not why teams lose.

No-one is yet to show stats to prove the travel causes teams to lose, in fact since AFL, I think Collingwood now have a better away record, so maybe travel helps.
it does make it more difficult to keep players, and for how long a player is likely to remain in the competition

Really well said.

I’m getting a bit sick of VIC Bias calls. It’s not VIC, it’s big vic teams.
Does anyone realise north get on a plane just as many times as the SA teams this year?
The teams at the biggest disadvantage imo are Saints, Roos and Dogs.
They will never get home finals, away fans will outnumber them often and they play at the G as regularly as interstate sides.
That is where they get home finals, a ground they play at maybe 2 times? They’ll maybe have to host a side that plays the G 14-15 times a year and has the crowd on their side.

People can cry about the Home and away season all they like but the games that matter are finals, and there are VIC sides that do not get home ones. That’s the 1 massive disadvantage in the game.

The 2 years Victorians travelled all year (2020-21) and were rarely home. Guess who made the Grand Finals?
All VIC sides.
How can interstate sides complain so much?
Every other year since 2012 an interstate side has made a grand final. Teams that travel a lot make plenty of Grand Finals. It’s obviously not that disadvantageous.
Time to get over it.

I think in the year doggies defeated Sydney in gf, Sydney had had one more mcg game than the bulldogs that year

Starting next year Collingwood will travel every second week to Perth and play a grand final, if they are good enough in Perth.

Enjoy 🤣🤣🤣

P.s. Watch out for creeping airfares.
Grand final weeks are usually gouged out by Qantas and the Virg by a good grand or 2.
🤣
A grand or two?

There'll be about 5,000 seats for each clubs members. We all know how much WA clubs love gouging their members. If you want to see Freo in a grand final, you'll be paying more than that for a members ticket that gets you a grand final ticket when your club makes it. And you won't just be paying it when your team is in the grand final - you'll pay it every year.

it does make it more difficult to keep players, and for how long a player is likely to remain in the competition
So what I think you are trying to say is taveling is a pain?

If so I would agree with you, but being a pain in the butt, is not the same as losing games because of it.

Even if Vic teams travels extra, that is not going to help the WA teams, they are still going to travel.

I really don't know why they don't play in blocks if it's so much of a pain, they have had years to work this out.

I think in the year doggies defeated Sydney in gf, Sydney had had one more mcg game than the bulldogs that year
Na they were the same

Both had two H&A games at the G (both in May actually).

Both then had 1 final at the G, before the GF.

The Dogs were the team who travelled most during September, but it didnt seem to bother them.

Unless youre a Melbourne supporter and can afford ski's, footy and shit coffee is all you have in Winter so its hardly surprising that the great unwashed flock to the G to forget all else.
lol, your parody is assuming that all vic fans are poor and only have spare cash for sh*t coffee and goin to the g.

Your last coupla pages look like a desperate want for vic fans to be upset coz non vic won some flags on the run and kept vic clubs out of the big dance a coupla times nearly 2 decades ago.

Oh the humanity! (insert cry face). Will admit the meeja jumped on it and sensationalized at the time, but who cares, all the vic clubs are here now and their fans in unprecedented numbers.

That's not 'broken', but if it makes you feel better then you believe that it is

The energy sapping part of travel is the organisation, the delay’s, the stress of connecting flights, buses etc. The modern players have this all organised. They can surely organise their exercise regimes around this?

Thats nonsense, 1st tier is first tier.

The EPL is first tier, the Spanish league is first tier, the italian league is first tier. The EPL is better than those other two but it does not change that they are top tier comps.

It appears you are upset that the reality is that first tier footy is first tier footy. Some leagues are stronger than others but they are still first tier. The VFL was the strongest of the 3 first tier leagues. That doesn't change that winning the premiership in 1975 in the WAFL/SANFL/VFL was the exact same achievement.
The VFL of the time was much stronger at the time, as it was the top tier of football.

SANFL and WAFL fell somewhere in-between VFL and VFA.

But hey, I am sure you are all for equality and participation ribbons also, so if you want to recognize them as Tier one, go your hardest.
It doesn't really matter.

The VFL of the time was much stronger at the time, as it was the top tier of football.

SANFL and WAFL fell somewhere in-between VFL and VFA.

But hey, I am sure you are all for equality and participation ribbons also, so if you want to recognize them as Tier one, go your hardest.
It doesn't really matter.
I guess it's subject to opinion.

Just because the vfl had more public interest (purely because vic has much larger footy interested population), attracted the best players, staff etc. from around the country doesn't equate to it being a tier above.

I'd argue that you'd find yourself in the minority with this view.

I guess it's subject to opinion.

Just because the vfl had more public interest (purely because vic has much larger footy interested population), attracted the best players, staff etc. from around the country doesn't equate to it being a tier above.

I'd argue that you'd find yourself in the minority with this view.
Quite possibly.
Though it is only my view and I have been known to be wrong before.

That is the beauty of opinions, everyone has them and at the end of the day, it is all they are.

The energy sapping part of travel is the organisation, the delay’s, the stress of connecting flights, buses etc. The modern players have this all organised. They can surely organise their exercise regimes around this?
And then they get put up at quality hotels, and eat food prepared by hotel chefs under guidance of club, have extra time for team bonding etc.

Laughable how SA and NSW fans try to claim a short 1hr flight is a huge impost to them, but it isn't for Hawthorn.

WA based teams are the only ones who face a travel disadvantage.

An obvious answer to minimise cross continental trips is to spend a week East a few times each year and knock over 2 away games in the one hit.

Perhaps we should go back to hubs. That's the only history of the league where there wasn't an MCG grand final. It's the history and tradition of the league whether you want to acknowledge it or not.

Are you happy with the shape of the ball? A round one bounces more fairly...
No-one is talking about ignoring history, or changing the shape of the ball. Wtf are you on about now?