Voss on Fev/Brown - Yikes!

Move on zee. ;)
ahh TheBrownDog, Brisbane's answer to celtic_pride and parrot.
*fixed*
Nothing to do with Murphy's height. 179cm is plenty tall enough for a rover like Murphy. Schammer was an exceptional junior, very much as accomplished as Murphy. Angus Monfries if you prefer, similar players and no way Monfries was going at 1.
Good and bad calls there. :)

Nice to get that return when he's four years older.

This is the crux of the matter. The fact that people in this thread still fail to understand it makes me realise that they don't WANT to understand it. Especially as it would expose the glaring contradictions in some of their "logic".

You know, I've really enjoyed this thread, because it's brought to the surface the pros and cons of the Fev trade from the Lions point of view. The Cons were glossed over immediately after the trade, and now the reality of the downside is playing on the minds of Lions supporters

The lengthy posts from Lions supporters tell me....

1) They're growing VERY anxious of the downside of the Fev plus recycleds' trading strategy

2) They can't quite put together the logic to explain away the downside of Vossy's top-up speeding spree i.e. selling the future to have a tilt at the flag over the next 1-2 years before Brown and Black retire, with GC17 and compromised drafts looming in the background. Many of the posts go around in circles, but just don't gel. Some Lions supporters have had several goes, and still struggle to justify their trading strategy. Insightful.

Anyway, we'll see over the next 1-2 years whether Vossy's gamble works or flops. There's no in-between with this strategy. And the round 2 result won't provide any answers either. There is massive pressure on the Lions this year. The premiership window expiry date is ticking down fast. A slip up this year would be disastrous.

:)

you misunderstood mate, meant that you're our enforcer of sorts ;)
:eek:

Is enforcer code for being called the most biased poster on Big Footy? :rolleyes:

BF's flogs can circle jerk themselves over Fevola being the saviour and an out and out champion.

Don't care.

Like any sort of belief, they'll just justify their actions in spite of the evidence that is staring them right in the face.

Evidence which is more garish than their new jumper.

Basically it's Fev and a pick downgrade for Henderson. A gamble, but one I would happily take as Henderson's next 4 years (if he was at Brisbane) would not have been the difference between winning a flag or not. Fevola is a completely different story. I think you're trying to convince yourselves a bit too much about the detrimental effect on Brisbane's future; when the trade itself in terms of KPP stocks is a lot worse than the Judd trade (net effect loss of two talls - Kennedy and Notte) where this is a KPP swap (admittedly a substantial age difference but nonetheless).

Basically it's Fev and a pick downgrade...

Basically Fev cost you 2 first round pick players plus Bradshaw. Plus you traded away a heap of other picks for B-grade recycled's. It is indeed a gamble. Like the Lions, Freo went down the "top-up with retreads and traded away the future" path, and the results were disastrous. Same situation. Different result? No wonder Lions supporters are getting a bit edgy.

You're conveniently ignoring pick 27. As I said, it's a pick downgrade and a proven superstar for a developing KPP who it's fair to say will be extremely lucky to reach the same heights as Fev. I'd say less than 5% if I had to put a figure on it. :):thumbsu:

Y... who it's fair to say will be extremely lucky to reach the same heights as Fev. I'd sa....:

You're in denial over the Lions Retread Trading policy. Don't sweat it, you're not alone. 2 first round picks, plus Bradshaw plus a heap of other draft picks for B-grade recycled's was the cost. Vossy went recycle-mad in trade week, but he didn't address your list weaknesses - midfield and defense (see 2nd final). Lot of quick fix and panic about it. Lots of Freo about it. Vossy rolled the dice big time.

Yes I'm in denial. In an extremely weak draft we effectively traded pick 12 (who as history shows is a 50/50 chance to be a half decent player) and two players who weren't in our best 22 for a seven time leading goalkicker and multiple Coleman Medalist plus 5 experienced bodies in the crucial 23-27 range who if nothing else will provide depth and competition for our younger players (thus driving them upwards and upwards to the ultimate success).

I sure wish we had a starting forward-line as dangerous as Yarran, Setanta, Garlett, Houlihan, Betts and Henderson. Josh Kennedy would be nice right about now. :)

Yes I'm in denial. In an extremely weak draft we...

Ok, so now you're going down the "weak draft" path to try to explain away the downside of Vossy's retread trading policy. Good luck. lol. In 2010 the Lions will have one of the oldest starting 22's in the comp. Even though Brown and Fev are pushing 30, you'll have the best 2 KP forwards in the AFL for 1, maybe 2 years BUT the midfield is still mid-quality, getting old, and still slow, and the defense is still shaky. Apart from trading away your future, Vossy didn't actually address the list weaknesses. It's so much like the Freo top-up era isn't it.

I sure wish we had a starting forward-line as dangerous as Yarran, Setanta, Garlett, Houlihan, Betts and Henderson. Josh Kennedy would be nice right about now. :)

Conveniently left out Waite, Kreuzer, Robinson, Walker and Murphy. I wouldn't knock other teams forward line depth if I were you, after Brown and Fev yours in non existent. An injury to either of them and your season is over.

Is there a revolutionary plan to have a 10 man forward line? 4KPPs, 3 crumbers and 3 mid-size forwards. Sounds like a Ratten special.

I agree the draft was very shallow - so it's extremely lucky that we got the Selwood/Swift of the draft in Callum Bartlett. Easily the talent of a top 10 pick.

In 2010 the Lions will have a similar 22 (in terms of average age) as the team that beat you in the elimination final. Interestingly enough, that team had a lower average age than Carlton's. You have a very confident demeanour parrot, but you're extremely light on content or fact. :)

I agree the draft was very shallow - so it's extremely lucky that we got the Selwood/Swift of the draft in Callum Bartlett. Easily the talent of a top 10 pick.

I think we've uncovered a closet Richmond supporter. Bartlett hasn't proven anything yet, let alone that he's a steal or anything comparable to Selwood. Oh you mean because he was injured. Well that injury meant he was passed 26 times in the draft, this could quite possibly end up being as much of a short sighted decision as trading for a bunch of guys that couldn't get a game at the clubs they were with.

Yes it could, but probably won't. Seriously have you watched his YouTube vids? Has superstar written all over him. :)

That was before the serious knee injury that caused him to be passed over 26 times in the draft. Don't talk him up while his future is still very uncertain. It's well known that he still wasn't even running at the time of the draft.

By the way, everyone's youtube clips make them look like superstars, they don't make highlights reels and put bad stuff on them.

That was before the serious knee injury that caused him to be passed over 26 times in the draft. Don't talk him up while his future is still very uncertain. It's well known that he still wasn't even running at the time of the draft.

By the way, everyone's youtube clips make them look like superstars, they don't make highlights reels and put bad stuff on them.

There were doubts whether Selwood would even to be able to play at AFL intensity. Swift played one game in two years due to his knee injuries. Bartlett's injury was far more straight-forward and less serious than these two examples. Does this mean that Bartlett will turn out better, well only time will tell.

It would appear that Carlton supporters believe that Lucas will be a great AFL player, and Henderson is a great developing KPP who is better than any of the KPPs available in the '09 draft, but Bartlett is 'unproven'.

Funny that. :):thumbsu:

It would appear that Carlton supporters believe that Lucas will be a great AFL player, and Henderson is a great developing KPP who is better than any of the KPPs available in the '09 draft, but Bartlett is 'unproven'.

You think there was no reason Henderson was taken at pick 8 in a much stronger draft, or that Lucas was taken at 12, 15 spots higher in the same draft? Do you think clubs don't do their research on players before picking them? Or is it just because he had a knee injury you think you can compare him to Selwood?

Voss on Fev/Brown - Yikes!