Dannnnnnnnnn
- Aug 24, 2012
- AFL Club
- Western Bulldogs
- Other Teams
- T'Wolves/Patrick Beverley/Footscray
Can we get Zaine Cordy on loan from the Geelong Falcons? Jayden Foster may also help. SOS.
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
No heart may be the wrong term, depending on your definition. There just seems a lack of care and a lack of urgency. No leadership and no one wants to take responsibility. Whether that equates to a lack of heart or not is irrelevant. Either way, it's not good enough and so disappointing to see. At the moment we're a lazy, slow, small footy team that lacks skill, confidence and direction. That's a massive, massive drop off from the second half of last year.I've gotta be honest...I can kinda see where fronkalicious is coming from.
I think "no heart" may have been the wrong choice of words - we showed in the last that we genuinely want to win and will throw our bodies on the line and do anything possible to get across the line. But the question needs to be - why is there no desperation for the first three? For much of the preceding three quarters we didn't run hard enough, didn't throw our bodies on the line, had too many passengers and couldn't man up to save our lives. Why does it take almost losing to an average team to pump us up?
The commentators would not shut up about how good Frawley and Dawes were but they did not seem to do too much when it counted. Stringer, Morris and Fletcher not exactly our no 1 defence did pretty well IMO. BTW are 2 tall forwards kicked 7 between them, not really mentioned by the Channel 7 geniuses.I reckon Melbourne despite their talls were also lacking on the forward line when it counted. I believe our work rate was fine, it is the polish that is probably missing at the moment, but as the game wore on, we got a bit of spit on the ball and we looked the goods. You put Roughy back in the team, and a few of our injured players return and I think you might see a different result. 4 POINTS yeahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
Sure was, and boy oh boy....wowee....were the scarf brigade, and 4WD Mt Buller Skiers upset...........stiff!Yes I know the umpiring was terrible, Melbourne having at least 12 more free kicks, however, the worst one of the night cost Melbourne the game. The free Crameri got was the game breaker.
Hit the nail on the head. I don't agree that there's no leadership and no one wants to take responsibility, look at Morris or Boyd for example, and Roughead being out is a massive blow on both of those counts. But we seem to just be lazy, and don't seem to care or want to actually do the hard stuff for the most part. And this has been a problem for the past few weeks. We know we're capable of playing far better, we've seen it in bursts. But we have no consistency, and the players seem to all drop off and stop all cohesion for no reason whatsoever.No heart may be the wrong term, depending on your definition. There just seems a lack of care and a lack of urgency. No leadership and no one wants to take responsibility. Whether that equates to a lack of heart or not is irrelevant. Either way, it's not good enough and so disappointing to see. At the moment we're a lazy, slow, small footy team that lacks skill, confidence and direction. That's a massive, massive drop off from the second half of last year.
Whilst it's fair enough to say Crameti decision was a poor one, you could say the exact same thing about Kennedy-Harris. He got a free kick, inside 50, from an equally poor decision, in an equally tense moment in the game. Crameri slotted it and he didn't.Yes I know the umpiring was terrible, Melbourne having at least 12 more free kicks, however, the worst one of the night cost Melbourne the game. The free Crameri got was the game breaker.
Again, Wood had a fairly good game. I'm glad to see he is putting in effort this season
Have to say Tutt was pass mark again, still a lot of improvement required,so mate grab this opportunity and make yourself a best 22 by years end.
Can't argue with any of this mate. Things have to change and things have to improve. I can see things that have improved from last year though - our spread, our forward line, our foot skills and our ability to dig our heels in and grit through adversity and injury to come out on top - which is what's getting me through. Regrettably, other areas have dropped off and it's shielding our development. I know you may disagree, and that's fine, but I personally believe that we have now seen, over the past 12 months, EVERY aspect of the game played very well by this side, just in different games. Every single aspect. We now need to link it up, get some continuity and be capable of bringing it all together for four quarters on a consistent basis. This, I agree, is a huge challenge, and something that isn't going to come easily. It's giving me great confidence to know, though, that I believe we have the pieces there and we've seen them in action. I'm bullish on our progress, even if it isn't genuinely showing in games yet.No heart may be the wrong term, depending on your definition. There just seems a lack of care and a lack of urgency. No leadership and no one wants to take responsibility. Whether that equates to a lack of heart or not is irrelevant. Either way, it's not good enough and so disappointing to see. At the moment we're a lazy, slow, small footy team that lacks skill, confidence and direction. That's a massive, massive drop off from the second half of last year.
That's called Justice.Yes I know the umpiring was terrible, Melbourne having at least 12 more free kicks, however, the worst one of the night cost Melbourne the game. The free Crameri got was the game breaker.
Yep - more than ready to say I was wrong on this one. Well done Easton, you've been a real shining light in a disappointing season thus far. Kudos to him.Wood has had an unreal past month, good to see him finally showing his potential.
Yes I know the umpiring was terrible, Melbourne having at least 12 more free kicks, however, the worst one of the night cost Melbourne the game. The free Crameri got was the game breaker.
Can't argue with any of this mate. Things have to change and things have to improve. I can see things that have improved from last year though - our spread, our forward line, our foot skills and our ability to dig our heels in and grit through adversity and injury to come out on top - which is what's getting me through. Regrettably, other areas have dropped off and it's shielding our development. I know you may disagree, and that's fine, but I personally believe that we have now seen, over the past 12 months, EVERY aspect of the game played very well by this side, just in different games. Every single aspect. We now need to link it up, get some continuity and be capable of bringing it all together for four quarters on a consistent basis. This, I agree, is a huge challenge, and something that isn't going to come easily. It's giving me great confidence to know, though, that I believe we have the pieces there and we've seen them in action. I'm bullish on our progress, even if it isn't genuinely showing in games yet.
Care factor = zero.
Any of our fans that feel guilty about the Crameri free and any Melbourne fan having a cry about it should look at the armchair ride Melbourne got tonight.
Make absolutely no mistake, we were screwed over by the umpiring tonight.