Autopsy vs WBD - Rd 21

First of all, I'd like to thank the club for producing a competitive season, sure, we shot ourselves in the foot in the NM tradition because we do not have high standards, but it hasn't been too often we haven't look like trying, which is more than a lot of other clubs can say.

Going forward we need to start addressing some of the major issues we have that are major obstacles in us playing consistent footy. We had dropped a number of winnable games due to having some poor standards, we took some steps forward this year, but we have a long way to go.

We need to start paying our entire TPP on the current crop of players if we are any hope of moving forwards, we can't just go on year after year with a major shortfall in spending due to being unable to lure decent quality players. The club needs to focus more effort on clubs that aren't doing great, targeting players that are happy in top 4 sides is a tough ask.

We aren't serious about playing finals and wishing to contend if we go into 2019 or whenever with defenders who can't kill 1v1 contests, have a number of forwards who are dicey in the corridor, have numerous mids who can't run both ways, lay effective tackles or are a dud root offensively. If you can't hit targets, you are liability.

He looked pissed. Like wasn't having any of it. I hope he gave the boys a proper spray, tactics weren't all that great to begin with, too many in defense.

But man, I think the majority of that loss falls on like half the team. It was a shit effort.
Just another shit effort that will be rewarded with selection next week under the Brad Scott regime.

There is too much of a soft underbelly under Scott’s watch. No ramifications for poor performances. We all know under the Scott playbook that some first or second year player will be made the scapegoat while the usual suspects continue to spud it up while he blindly believes they will redeem themselves.

Good sides make tough decisions and until he is prepared to make some tough calls at selection expect the half arsed efforts to continue.

There is no way Denis Pagan would have put up with shit like that. Denis cared about one thing, winning, the rest is irrelevant.

BIN-GO!

We talked about this before the match Groggster, don't let them run & gun! IT'S THE ONLY ******* CHANCE THEY HAVE TO WIN THE GAME!

Apparently the coach is too tactically ******ed to crack on to this.
The definition of stupid.

We always set up like this.

Some teams that suits, some it doesnt.

Dogs match up very well against us and we predictably played to their strengths.

He looked pissed. Like wasn't having any of it. I hope he gave the boys a proper spray, tactics weren't all that great to begin with, too many in defense.

But man, I think the majority of that loss falls on like half the team. It was a shit effort.

He should be pissed considering the boys just had 3 days on the Gold Coast enjoying the sun so we didn’t get over run in the last half today.

No ramifications for poor performances.

Just about the biggest peeve of mine for Scott, Chris does the exact same shit too. I don't get it.

We just don't reward effort when its there, and smack players down when its consistently bad.
No wonder someone like Preuss wants to walk, Goldstein spudded it up for a whole year and he still only played like 2-3 games.

Overall the season has been a success considering expectation.
If the expectation was bottom four, and we finish 9-10, how is that a 'success'?

Seems to me like more of a failure to fail properly.

The following is just my opinion.

Players who proved themselves to be capable, long-term prospects this year:

Ahern
Majak
Dumont
Anderson

Players who confirmed they still have top level footy in them:

Higgins
Jacobs (pending recovery)
Cunnington
Brown
Ziebell
EVW

Players who confirmed they can play a role 'going forward'

Macmillan
Williams
Clarke
Hrovat
Atley
Langford
Goldstein

Players with question marks:

Tarrant (injured?)
Wright (still finding groove?)
Thompson (one more year?)

Players with huge questions marks:

Wood
Waite
McDonald

Players I didn't know how to categorise

Simpkin
The kids

So it seems to me that four players have either proven or established their credentials, while several others have gone backwards (either due to age or some other reason).

If there are no finals, and no high draft picks, is that really a successful season?

Well you can say what you want about Brad. But the players didnt put in. They got dominated/destroyed. Brad had a ordinary day but the players had a much worse of one. We should of won easily.

But being scored too easily against quickly is a long problem of ours and that has been due to our midfield getting dominated.

Having said that we could changed a few things, hence the ordinary day in the box to swift momentum. But sorry its more on the players.

Will this Coach ever take us to the Promised Land?

From where we are right now it looks unlikely.

Sans a group of supporters threatening to oust the board I cannot see anything changing anytime soon.

We need a massive trade/draft and a refresh on assistants.

Brad won't walk and we won't fire him.

Just about the biggest peeve of mine for Scott, Chris does the exact same shit too. I don't get it.

We just don't reward effort when its there, and smack players down when its consistently bad.
No wonder someone like Preuss wants to walk, Goldstein spudded it up for a whole year and he still only played like 2-3 games.
The bloke is a soft touch and the players know it.

Yes a coach needs to be a mentor and support, but at this level he also needs to be a mongrel and demand performance and make sure the players are under no illusion that poor performance is not acceptable.

This list will always have these unacceptable performances because they know there are no ramifications. Sometimes fear can be a great motivator.

From where we are right now it looks unlikely.

Sans a group of supporters threatening to oust the board I cannot see anything changing anytime soon.

We need a massive trade/draft and a refresh on assistants.

Brad won't walk and we won't fire him.

That's the problem. There is an entrenched self interested clique that is holding the club back.

North is in dire need of a regime change.

Not sure about that most of us would’ve been celebrating the No 1 draft pick instead of pick 9. :)

Rubbish.

The week to week would have been absurd.
Some of the Melty McCheeses would have been in here burning memberships and doing stupid shit like that I guarantee it.

I for one never want us to win a spoon. Not now not ever.

With us, there always seems to be triggers that kick off our downfall. Today, it was Marley - who had quite a good game overall. However, he had a horror minute early in the third that cost us two goals and opened the floodgates. The Bulldogs just came in waves after that. Then, we started dropping marks that we held in the first half - particularly, Thommo and Maj.

That's the problem. There is an entrenched self interested clique that is holding the club back.

North is in dire need of a regime change.

There's a lot of hate for Brad but he's clearly got board backing.

No whinging or moaning will change that.

In terms of regime change reckon the rank and file have battle scars about relocation talk and are wary of doing anything like ousting the board.

The bloke is a soft touch and the players know it.

Yes a coach needs to be a mentor and support, but at this level he also needs to be a mongrel and demand performance and make sure the players are under no illusion that poor performance is not acceptable.

This list will always have these unacceptable performances because they know there are no ramifications. Sometimes fear can be a great motivator.

Ironically its the young blokes who are in fear of being dropped more than anyone else, I'm glad thats there to make them hungry, but on the flip side how can one be motivated to get into the team when even at their absolute worst the seniors won't get dropped?

**** off Val, don't try to save the coach by picking out a single player.

If Atley sat on Daniel he wouldn't get a ******* kick!

Atley spent heaps of time on Daniel. Did he tag him? No. But he was matched up on him for a lot of the game. Atley backed himself to beat him at winning the ball but doesn’t have the smarts of Daniel.

I’m not trying to save the coach. I’m neither here nor there regarding Brad, or Atley fwiw.

Daniel was killing us and the move was made far too late, but even when it was Daniel still had his way with us.

Edit- don’t tell me to **** off. I haven’t disrespected you.

Atley spent heaps of time on Daniel. Did he tag him? No. But he was matched up on him for a lot of the game. Atley backed himself to beat him at winning the ball but doesn’t have the smarts of Daniel.

I’m not trying to save the coach. I’m neither here nor there regarding Brad, or Atley fwiw.

Daniel was killing us and the move was made far too late, but even when it was Daniel still had his way with us.

Daniel absolutely carved us up all day, you could've fooled me Atley was on him, he let him run riot.

Rubbish.

Some of the Melty McCheeses would have been in here burning memberships and doing stupid shit like that I guarantee it.

I can handle us finishing mid table, but it should have never been at the expense of moving the list forward.

We took out shot and came up short and now Brad has to accept the responsibility for falling short and effectively setting us a year back in our development.

If he was going to be bold enough to have a crack at finals in front of development then he had to make finals. It’s a results driven industry and at the moment this is probably the worst result in the context of our future.

Just woken up to the st nicholas church bells ringing away. Dissapointed the season is over but not suprised. Looking at the worm it would have been extra dissapointing that we had a handy lead then didnt come out after half time watvhing the game. Stay thick folks and on to the draft fiscussion ee go. Rince and repeat.

Rubbish.

That and it would be extremely difficult to attract players we need to the club. We may end up with Gaff and 1-2 others and if we were in the Bluws spot now, it would be a very long time until we would see North being a good side. And it would probably mean we'd be a shitshow next year too with Kelly finishing his contract. Sure we finished 14th last year but lost a number of close ones and were much better than the 14th....especially with the injuries we had that piled up.

Winning culture is a much better one. Glad we are not Bluws or Saints.

Our ball use was appalling today, even by our standards. Slow, hesitant ball movement starting from defence has been a feature for a long time now, which is a symptom of a lack of confidence, decision making and skill. Our defenders generally intercept and read the ball well and did that well in the first half but are so reluctant to counter attack fast. We've been killed off half back by Essendon, Collingwood, Sydney and now the Bulldogs because they take the game on from half back with foot speed and quick ball movement. We are just so static, lack fast half backs and lack skill.

Even though we got beaten on the inside, around stoppages today that is not an ongoing weakness. It's our ongoing inability to defend the opposition spread - they just constantly rack up uncontested possessions and marks. We can't defend it and we don't spread well ourselves. We just don't have the speed or endurance - lots of plodders who can't use the ball. Richmond can lose the clearances by a fair way and still win easily because they defend the spread so well. We're no chance of winning when we lose the inside battle.

While the list is young, the 22 that has played each week hasn't been - we have a number of players who have racked up 75-100+ games who for 2 or 3 years now have shown they're way too inconsistent and are a big the reason we're a mid table side. The question is, will the club cut its losses and start moving these guys on? We have too many plodders and too many who turn it over.

Autopsy vs WBD - Rd 21