Week one of the finals all out of Victoria ?

The only ones that care about whether there is finals in Melbourne are the suits at AFL house, you get all year to qualify for finals and where it lands it lands. Every bit as exciting no matter where they are played. Finals are only more exciting in Melbourne for Melbourne people.

Well I'm not sure about that. I'd be excited if Essendon were playing a final in Melbourne and I live in Queensland.

Didn't follow footy at that time. It was a n even season. But wasn't the double chance because of the old McIntyre finals system of top 6? The winner of the qualifying final and highest placed elimination final winner face each other in the Semi where you get a double chance (if you lose)

It was the experimental time of final sixes.
Really poor system because previously to rise a ranking in the finals series you had to challenge the team above you to rise a spot in ranking. So if you were 5th you had to beat, 4th, then 3rd, then 2nd and the only other team you not played to win the right to be number one ranking and get the flag. The problem with 1993 system was for some odd reason they had 1 v 2 in first week and the result of game was to decide the first ranked team and third ranked team after week one. Why? god only knows. Why the second best team of seaosn to that point should drop to third if they lost to top team made no sense. But that is what happened.
Adelaide beat Hawthorn in 4 v 5 Elimination Final. Their prize for winning , double chance into grand final because 3rd lost to 6th.
It was the last season of final 6.
1994 we had a final 8 and have ever since.

The Old McIntyre system always had 1 v 2 in Second Semi-Final as the game to decide the first team to advance to grand final. The loser got a double chance via preliminary final.
Problem with final 6 was it bastardised that second week semi-final because 1 v 2 had already been played the week before so it manipulated one of teams below second to leapfrog the loser of 1 v 2 into the double chance reward.
1990 was the last season we had the pure McIntyre system where true top two teams got a double chance to advance to grand final.
1993 was last season we had just a singular preliminary final in the system.
Since 1994 no one gets a double chance to reach grand final. Two preliminary finals and four sides get a double chance opportunity to advance to prelim final stage. It changed the nature of finals system as now we kind of have two sides of a draw and you can skip some teams if draw falls your way in right manner.

Yeah, i know I am rambling but does fascinate me how we have got used to this system and always laugh at the finals system we had during the 1990s that literally had some weird things happen that look back now and wonder how the league ever allowed those crazy things to come about in first place.

1993 was weirdest season we had and most even because 1st on ladder was only 3 wins clear of 12th. Then include the weird finals system and weirdest season for mine.
Crows getting double chance from 13th win to reach grand final just highlights how weird it was.

Some clubs have won more games and missed top four in other seasons.

It was the experimental time of final sixes.
Really poor system because previously to rise a ranking in the finals series you had to challenge the team above you to rise a spot in ranking. So if you were 5th you had to beat, 4th, then 3rd, then 2nd and the only other team you not played to win the right to be number one ranking and get the flag. The problem with 1993 system was for some odd reason they had 1 v 2 in first week and the result of game was to decide the first ranked team and third ranked team after week one. Why? god only knows. Why the second best team of seaosn to that point should drop to third if they lost to top team made no sense. But that is what happened.
Adelaide beat Hawthorn in 4 v 5 Elimination Final. Their prize for winning , double chance into grand final because 3rd lost to 6th.
It was the last season of final 6.
1994 we had a final 8 and have ever since.

The Old McIntyre system always had 1 v 2 in Second Semi-Final as the game to decide the first team to advance to grand final. The loser got a double chance via preliminary final.
Problem with final 6 was it bastardised that second week semi-final because 1 v 2 had already been played the week before so it manipulated one of teams below second to leapfrog the loser of 1 v 2 into the double chance reward.
1990 was the last season we had the pure McIntyre system where true top two teams got a double chance to advance to grand final.
1993 was last season we had just a singular preliminary final in the system.
Since 1994 no one gets a double chance to reach grand final. Two preliminary finals and four sides get a double chance opportunity to advance to prelim final stage. It changed the nature of finals system as now we kind of have two sides of a draw and you can skip some teams if draw falls your way in right manner.

Yeah, i know I am rambling but does fascinate me how we have got used to this system and always laugh at the finals system we had during the 1990s that literally had some weird things happen that look back now and wonder how the league ever allowed those crazy things to come about in first place.

1993 was weirdest season we had and most even because 1st on ladder was only 3 wins clear of 12th. Then include the weird finals system and weirdest season for mine.
Crows getting double chance from 13th win to reach grand final just highlights how weird it was.

Some clubs have won more games and missed top four in other seasons.

Adelaide had a double chance in 1998 from 5th spot when the 8 McIntyre system was adopted (which lead to a flag). Although it benefited us, what I dont like about the system then is that other results determine whether you have a double chance or not. For example if you finish 6th and lose week 1 final, you can still play next week unless a team below you (7th or 8th) win. Also if you finish 3rd and win week 1, you either play next week or go straight to prelim (if 1st or 2nd lose week 1). I think the current final 8 is much better and most likely it wont be changed (unless changed to a final 10 or something like that)

Yes, you are right. It won't be changed. The first version of final 8 was a bit too weird. There was always anomalies that did not feel right about seasons 1997, 98 and 99. For example my club was slaughtered in week one of 1999 finals series against Lions at the Gabba. We were 6th on ladder but instead of being eliminated we got a double chance . Weird stuff it felt. But hey, that was the silly system of the time. We then played our best football for season the next two weeks and made grand final after epic 1999 prelim upset overly highly fancied Dons at the time. We were nowhere near second best side of season but here we were playing off in grand final. Makes a mockery of grand final meant to be best two sides of season. Was a silly system.
System we have now ensures 5th to 8th cannot get double chance which always should have been the case. This is not a perfect system but in a league that is more about entertainment now rather than pure sporting comp it is simple to follow for the average theatre goer consumer of sport that is the sign of these times. As a purist I appreciated the fairness of the final five we had in deciding the premiership.
With the final 8 I appreciate having two preliminary finals to enjoy each season. It works well enough so will never go back to a final 5 for 18 club league. 8 is where it should stay. Final Five was perfect for it's time of 12 club league. Final Eight we have now is best fit for 18 club league.

The majority of footy fans watch the finals on tv anyway, so it doesn't really matter where the games are played.........and it won't make one iota of difference to the build up to the finals.

Love how half this thread is from non-Vics complaining about Victorians self of entitlement (or however they phrase it).

Only thing lacking is Vics actually doing that...

Pretty much confirms what I've been saying about the Vic v non-Vic 'problem' being more a matter of a chip on the shoulder of non-Vics than an actual problem.

So, if I started a thread called Week one of the finals all out of WA or SA or NSW or QLD? (choose a state).

What sort of response would be the reaction? Probably something about delusional interstater. Possibly something about supports plastic franchise club.

To pose the OP question demonstrates the sense of VFL entitlement.

btw, I live in Melbourne.

Love how half this thread is from non-Vics complaining about Victorians self of entitlement (or however they phrase it).

Only thing lacking is Vics actually doing that...

Pretty much confirms what I've been saying about the Vic v non-Vic 'problem' being more a matter of a chip on the shoulder of non-Vics than an actual problem.

And yet this whole thread exists purely because there might be a weekend of footy played in places other than Melbourne.

Plenty of extra incentive for North to beat GWS next week. A loss and they play them again in week 1 up in Sydney whilst a win probably sees them playing the Dogs at Etihad.

If Sydney finish first, Adelaide 2nd GWS 5th and Bulldogs 6th, will they play Bulldogs and West Coast at the MCG. Both teams would prefer not the MCG but as an eagles fan youd rather play the bulldogs at the MCG than Ethiad

So, if I started a thread called Week one of the finals all out of WA or SA or NSW or QLD? (choose a state).

What sort of response would be the reaction? Probably something about delusional interstater. Possibly something about supports plastic franchise club.

To pose the OP question demonstrates the sense of VFL entitlement.

When you only have two clubs in a state - having no finals isnt as remarkable as when you have more than half the bloody league miss a home final. He clearly states it will be a bit bland. And it should be, given Victoria hasnt missed a final in the first week of the finals - ever. Its easier to be flippant about the whole thing when you miss having a final every other year or so.

finalsfirstweek87-2015.png

Cry me a river. Remember when West Coast, Adelaide, Brisbane etc earned home finals but were forced by that inflexible contract to 'host' those finals at the MCG, against sides who really had the G as their home ground? Most Victorians are normal, reasonable people, but the minority of insular flogs are absolutely insufferable.

That inflexible contract ended in 2002 for the most part. And by the same token Victorians can say that South Australians and Western Australians are entitled whiners unable to let go of their own past glories and accept that they joined the VFL. I mean if we're going to generalise, we should all be able to do it.

Note: am Queenslander.

Unbelievable that a team can be on 15 wins and rather than be suiting up for the top 4 be staring at 7th. Been a massively strong year. Hence the 8 or most of it decided so early. Think it will end up:
1 Swans
2 Crows
3 Geelong
4 Hawks
5 Dogs
6 GWS
7 WCE
8 North

If Sydney finish first, Adelaide 2nd GWS 5th and Bulldogs 6th, will they play Bulldogs and West Coast at the MCG. Both teams would prefer not the MCG but as an eagles fan youd rather play the bulldogs at the MCG than Ethiad

The Bulldogs would much prefer that the game is played at the MCG too. One of the biggest myths in the AFL is that we are "Etihad specialists". Our game plan is better suited to large (especially our defensive structures and forward line set up), wide grounds like the MCG and SCG, not narrow grounds like Etihad, Subiaco or Kardinia Park.

Why would we want to play at Etihad, 3 from 3 at G, 3 from 4 interstate we play better away from Etihad, would love to get West Coast at G.

Dogs have two very easy games coming up, WCE their third tough encounter in a row (Crows in Adelaide). More than likely the Dogs will finish 6th and host them at the MCG in Week 1.

Yeah

I reckon we can beat crows ....no one else thinks this ...why because we've shown the hardness required in the last two weeks

Crows were not impressive in beating port .....we have an extra days break also (bout bloody time I might add after we have had 8 yes 8 six day breaks this year) Which was the most of any team

So it could mean all our of Melbourne ..no prelim in Melbourne is likely and week 2 there might be two games of geelomg and Hawks don't win

Dogs likely to face Hawks ..GWS WILL play geelomg or the Other way around

Oddly I can see GWS getting through to a prelim ...I think on dry MCG day they can take Hawks or Geelong part with pure speed

Why would we want to play at Etihad, 3 from 3 at G, 3 from 4 interstate we play better away from Etihad, would love to get West Coast at G.

I agree that the dogs are better off getting more experience at the MCG as that's where the he is played

In my view west coast prefer Etihad

Eithad surely.

The afl has an MCG contract to play a certain amount of finals at the MCG ......with limited MCG finals this year I suspect dogs will play Eagles at the MCG

Imagine next year

I think Hawks will slide big time and geelomg and dogs will be ok

I think Gold Coast and freo will play finals next year ...freo get Fyfe, Bennel and a quite a few others back

We might one day see only one Victorian team n the finals .....imagine port, crows, swans GWS Gold Coast, freo and west coast ..it's numerically possible

if that team finished 7th or 8th then there would be no finals in Melbourne until grand final day

Plenty of extra incentive for North to beat GWS next week. A loss and they play them again in week 1 up in Sydney whilst a win probably sees them playing the Dogs at Etihad.

Nah

Dogs will finish 6th

GWS five ...north win they still finish 8th .....