List Mgmt. Welcome Campbell Chesser (Pick 14, 2021 National Draft)

Was really good with ball in hand last night, like what he did in the defensive end of the ground had a couple really effective handballs to outside players that started rebound chains. Also seems to be getting confidence to take on tackles and draw contact (must be the influence of the Reid friendship). Still don't see him as an outside winger and feel his talents are wasted in that role. Hope to see him get some time inside, really hope we don't see Sheed fill the Yeo role, he is clearly so lacking in fitness and ****s to give.

Reading this thread and I feel Chesser may have done the dirty with a certain poster’s missus.

Feel like Chesser is a fair way off being one of the pressing problems with this team. Beating up on Sheed on the other hand, now that is something I can on Board with.

He was solid last night I thought, used it well and contributed another goal from the wing. Should have had 2. Production is his main issue, but I am feeling more and more assured that he will use it well when he does get it. I don't think I could have said that at the start of the year so he's definitely improved in that sense.

Thought about this last night, we should give him some kick ins every now and then. Will boost his confidence and get him involved in the game more.

Instead it’s Gov and Duggan every time.
I like it.

In fact give anyone who's a bit down the kick outs to get the feel of the ball

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Was only marginally better than he has been. Just 12 possessions which is about his average and way below what a bloke who plays in the midfield but never gets any attention from the opposition should be getting. Was always going to miss that very gettable set shot. He doesn't exude confidence in any way. Needs to hunt the ball instead of hoping it comes his way.

Totally agree atm mate

The fact that most of his goals have come from the goal square says to me he is running hard & running the right patterns.
We just have to get used to the fact that he's playing the dead side wing so overall possessions will be low.

I'm sure he will get a good chance to get more of the ball in coming years as he develops & gains confidence in his body.

Feel like he is slowly getting into more dangerous positions too.

If he can get 12-15 but snag a goal or 2 every now n then it's huge

Needs to take his chances though

Checked his stats. He played 14 games last year and averaged 12 disposals, 8 games this year averaging 10 disposals. He's kicked 4 goals in those 22 games.

My issue is I don't see him creating many chances to take. I'd love to be proven wrong, but I'm finding it hard to see many positives.

The fact that most of his goals have come from the goal square says to me he is running hard & running the right patterns.
We just have to get used to the fact that he's playing the dead side wing so overall possessions will be low.

I'm sure he will get a good chance to get more of the ball in coming years as he develops & gains confidence in his body.
That's right, I think Sheed and Ginbey all rotate through the wing at times, but the dead wing is a thankless role, the fact that he's squeezed a couple of goals out of it, 'aint half bad? He's building his tank and confidence...I reckon Chess is showing some good signs and is doing just fine!

Just wish he would get more around the back cheapish kicks then run carry and kick

Checked his stats. He played 14 games last year and averaged 12 disposals, 8 games this year averaging 10 disposals. He's kicked 4 goals in those 22 games.

My issue is I don't see him creating many chances to take. I'd love to be proven wrong, but I'm finding it hard to see many positives.
Why extrapolate it to 22 games, so disingenuous.

He’s kicked 4 goals in 8 games which is very handy for a wing.

I want Chess to break out and make a great career of it but gotta say he has been very lucky so far.

Compared to whipping boy Brander who was given the same amount of games (they're both on 22 WCE games)

Branders stats appear to be a lot better than Chesser.

Is it a fear of trading another 1st rounder and hoping he'll come good

I want Chess to break out and make a great career of it but gotta say he has been very lucky so far.

Compared to whipping boy Brander who was given the same amount of games (they're both on 22 WCE games)

Was better than Chesser and......

Feel like he is slowly getting into more dangerous positions too.

If he can get 12-15 but snag a goal or 2 every now n then it's huge

Needs to take his chances though

Tbf if Brander was recruited three years ago he would also being playing heaps of footy atm. Circumstances. Good teams won’t carry kids that aren’t contributing a heap and teams developing will pump games into kids.

JB had no appetite for the contest. The two couldnt be more different imo.

He’s had a couple of low disposal games. But also, out of his 8 games this year he has been subbed on or off in 3 of them.

If we take his player rating as a way to measure impact or effectiveness we can see he has a slow, but clear trend of improvement.

Comparing Chesser’s 2024 to 2023 we can see small improvement in everything except disposals, and he has played less time on ground (68.4% in 2024 and 73.1% in 2023).

Despite the less TOG Chesser is averaging

• more contested possessions
  • more inside 50’s
  • higher disposal efficiency
  • higher kicking efficiency
  • more score involvements
  • improved avg player rating from 3.11 to 6.72
  • higher metres gained

The improvements aren’t huge, but we are comparing all of last season, to 8 games in 2024 where he has been subbed on or off in almost half his games.

Chessers growth and development is slower than we’d like, but to say he hasn’t improved and using one (useless?) stat to make your point doesn’t really stand up.

I thought last game was his best game even though he had the ball 12 times. He ran with the ball and took the game on each time he had Iit.

Additonally he got himself in the right sport to score goals.

I'm willing to live with 15 possession game/low possession games if he can score goals or is in the position to score goals.

List Mgmt. Welcome Campbell Chesser (Pick 14, 2021 National Draft)