Certified Legendary Thread Welcome Tim Taranto & Jacob Hopper

It's interesting that it's all of a sudden two first rounders, when it started out at a top 10 pick for Hopper according to the media.
Next week it's going to change again lol.

It's interesting that it's all of a sudden two first rounders, when it started out at a top 10 pick for Hopper according to the media.
Next week it's going to change again lol.
Dusty first born is next

Gws asking for two firsts for Hopper...

They won't get that but it's a reasonable starting point to negotiations. Hopefully we can get the deal done quickly before Bruhn and Hill are off the books and GWS can dig their heels in if they do have the space for Hopper...
We have norfs 2nd round pick which is the next best thing to a first rounder.

I dont think Bruhn and Hill will be enough to ease their cap issues.
Has Bruhn even taken a new contract since he was drafted?

I dont think Bruhn and Hill will be enough to ease their cap issues.
Has Bruhn even taken a new contract since he was drafted?
This will be Bruhns first contract since being drafted. Taranto is apparently on $650k or so now so if they offloaded Taranto, Bruhn and Hill you'd think that'd go close to the reported $1.5mill space needed.

Told the misses (Swans) that media all of sudden questioning why we could get both Taranto and Hopper. Where a very well run club like her mob, we make smart recruiting moves within our salary cap and nuture our young talent from the draft. We only have 4 players on our list we got from other clubs, unlike the Cats who have 11 and the Blues who have 18 !!!! The AFL doesn't like the Tigers and Swans. We both wear it as a badge of honour !! 🎖 💪

If im being honest, Dunkley is currently a better player.
We don't know the ceiling that Taranto can get to though.
Dunkely is performing better currently, on that I agree. But Taranto is a rare talent in a plastic club. Get him across in front of 80k Tigers fans and you're gonna see the gulf between the two open up.

If im being honest, Dunkley is currently a better player.
We don't know the ceiling that Taranto can get to though.
No he's not really....
He gets a lot of it, butchers it (but it's classified as effective as it's over CD's 35m rule or whatever it is.
An average decision make who doesn't defend well...

Look, he gets a lot of it, and prob hits the scoreboard more than a lot of other mids, but think to yourself, why had bevvo had to try and find a position for him to play (like 2nd ruck) if he was soo good?

No he's not really....
He gets a lot of it, butchers it (but it's classified as effective as it's over CD's 35m rule or whatever it is.
An average decision make who doesn't defend well...

Look, he gets a lot of it, and prob hits the scoreboard more than a lot of other mids, but think to yourself, why had bevvo had to try and find a position for him to play (like 2nd ruck) if he was soo good?
Why did Leon Cameron do exactly the same with Taranto? Because both teams midfield are absolutely stacked which means the more versatile mids get pushed out. Versatility is a good thing for team balance.

Tough to call him stake knives but once upon a time Crisp at the pies was just that

We will need to give something valuable away, & Hopper/Taranto as defensive minded mids essentially takes his spot
Grahams best is very good but I reckon I could count on one hand how many times hes genuinely influenced a game. Hes a defensive mid in a midfield that still gets cut to pieces. Outside of his GF heroics who else has he done a defensive number on? Hes still young enough to have currency. If we land Hop and Tim well win so much of the ball there'll be no need for a specialist defensive mid.

I agree with the sentiment on Graham and I also believe he is expendable based on our current list.
He won't get traded though, Dimma loves him and I think he is a good person to have at the club. Sets strong training standards etc.

Very fair. And yep, no need to discuss political systems on a sports forum. I didn’t intend to make it about that.

Ignore that I said “socialists” it’s obviously a very loaded term.

What I mean is there’s an idea permeating society at the moment…. And it’s reared it’s ugly head in the past. The idea that the outcome ought to be even as evidence that things are “fair”. It’s not true.

And if we don’t call out people like Kane who make statements like this, then you simply risk more and more people following suit. Because that’s also what traditionally happens.

Look at what Richmond and Geelong have done on and off the field to attract players. Every club is free to do the same.

Look at what players have gone to GWS from other clubs.

Look at average ladder position over the last decade.

Look at the salary cap squeeze they’ve got.

Look at Collingwood losing players to Footscray in a similar squeeze and then in a prelim final the following year.

It’s just so lazy to have a sook “oh it’s a big club raiding a poor club”. It’s envy.

Just like it’s lazy to assume anyone/anything who got anywhere had some secret advantage or privilege and it’s the only reason why anything happens.

:)

Happy to have a discussion in a private chat about the Marx statement though.
I understand the type of person you're talking about, just disagree with the tag you gave them, I'd probs use the term idealists because it's just not based in reality, or achievable. I'm agreeing with you on the footy side of things

Also disagree with your last paragraph, everyone has varying degrees of privilege from many facets of their life and upbringing, but no one should be shamed for it as it's not really something they can control, and people with more "privilege" can work just as hard as anyone else, they just might be blessed with more opportunities. The proof of privilege is all the father son busts who should've never been on a list lmao. It's OK to recognise that privilege exists

Kane is a dolt though you're right, I just treat him as a shit stirrer and don't take anything from his words, tbf I kinda avoid most of the footy media anyway, but you do end up coming across the campaigners opinions cos he's on the tv, radio and in articles, can't escape the looser.

Uhhh anyway back on topic, how about that taranto hopper bloke

Pick 12 & 1st round pick next year for Hopper (as he is contracted)
Pick 19 & pick 30 / OR and a player for Taranto (he isn't contracted)

If they refuse the Taranto offer then we pull the Hopper offer. The Taranto deal needs to happen first.

Or

Pick 12 & 1st Round pick for Hopper

Trade up pick 19 & 30 for a later 1st rounder for Taranto. Same thing Taranto offer needs to happen first.

Plus as they will have numerous late picks that they wont need it would be nice to get a couple of 3rd rounders back.

“Richmond currently holds first-round picks for this year and year next year, which will make it difficult to satisfy the Giants to part with both Hopper and Taranto.”

Wot?
LOL it's going to get done, just sit back watch the gullible swallow the media bullshit.

Certified Legendary Thread Welcome Tim Taranto & Jacob Hopper