Coach Welcome to Hawthorn : Robert Harvey

Would love Ratten back. Elite assistant coach with senior AFL experience twice now. Might fit well in with our other less experienced team. Many other successful teams have a Lepptich, Bolton, Mark Williams, Richardson etc, who have done a stint, and I reckon a very good thing. Ratts didnt have quite the skill set for a senior coach, but reckon he would be awesome as a specialist midfield coach to implement what Mitchell wants for us going forward. Especially good timing if Harvey does leave.

Hypothetical trade:

Saints lose Ratten and Roughy. Gain Harvey

Hawks lose Harvey. Gain Ratten and Roughy
Add in David Rath to us.

Wouldn't there be a date by which a club can say no to assistants moving? End of October seems late in the piece for an assistant to move for planning for next season
I think the general understanding is clubs let them go, but the destination club pays the other club's costs of head hunting a replacement

August 31 is the date assistance coaches need to be told about the following year, re contract renewals or not

Not sure Rath is held in such high esteem by many in the AFL community outside of Hawthorn.

It's an odd side note that I can't understand either way.

Just read Sam Mitchell's autobio Relentless for the first time the other day. Rath is spoken of very highly by our man Sam.

Joel Selwood assistant coach? Footy IQ and successful culture?
Or David Mundy?
Good idea but development coaching roles only. Neither have coached a day in their lives (yet).

We should be seeking line coaches who bring a wealth of coaching experience from other clubs / programs. Not simply playing experience.

Why?

It’s not as if our midfield (the line he was responsible for) was particularly devastating in 2022.

Or have I missed something?
Harvey wasn't going to change that in the 11 months he was with us.
All the young blokes spoke glowingly of him, as did the other coaches.

Harvey wasn't going to change that in the 11 months he was with us.
All the young blokes spoke glowingly of him, as did the other coaches.
If he’s happy to go from Collingwood, to Hawthorn for a single season and then to St Kilda….well frankly there’s lots of other line coaches out there about whom heaps of great things are said by their players and fellow coaches.

In fact rarely to we actually hear anything but “glowing” testimonies all around do we?

Coach Welcome to Hawthorn : Robert Harvey