West Coast Eagles Priority Pick (2024)

The soft cap was introduced to the AFL in 2015. WCE had the same soft cap expenditure available to them as everyone else did in 2018, the year we won a flag.

I get that your poor club, that can't match it financially with bigger clubs, wants everyone brought down to their level so that they have a chance.

How's that worked out for North so far?

The competition's poorer for it .

He could only introduce his zone defence with the help of a billion assistants. There were articles at the time about the volume of support staff he had. Why do you think they introduced the soft cap after that time!?

The damage was already done by 2018. Now that WCE have no soft cap we hear Simmo crying about poor players not being recruited - sure mate!

WCE are poorer for no soft cap - and the competitions better for that!

He could only introduce his zone defence with the help of a billion assistants. There were articles at the time about the volume of support staff he had. Why do you think they introduced the soft cap after that time!?

The damage was already done by 2018. Now that WCE have no soft cap we hear Simmo crying about poor players not being recruited - sure mate!

What the **** are you even talking about? The soft cap was introduced in 2015, for the start of the season.

The zone defence was introduced because our 2 main key defenders at the time, McKenzie and Brown, both did an ACL right at the start of the season. What 'billion' assistants did WCE have that other clubs didn't, considering WCE also had to work within the soft cap?

The soft cap wasn't brought in simply to cull the expenses big clubs were spending to train and get even a 1% advantage over the competition, it was so basket cases such as North/St Kilda stopped being the gigantic drain on the rest of the competition they pretty much always have been, because they have had inept management for such a long time that they've been nothing but a financial burden on the competition for ages. Why should the majority of clubs be punished because of a few irresponsible clubs continually cycling coaches and paying them out, being in debt yet having a publicly announced 'war chest' to lure players, then getting the wrong players and sending them to the VFL on said contracts, etc?

Basket case clubs who make disastrous off-field decisions shouldn't be given PPs whatsoever, including WCE, yet all we seem to hear every year is how North plan to approach the AFL for more handouts. It's ridiculous. If the club is so inept that it can't be managed properly and have to go begging cap in hand every year in an attempt to remain competitive, then they offer little to no value to the competition as a whole.

At the very least, North appear to have turned it around off-field, as far as financials go. That's a start. PPs should only be given in consideration of other off-field measures that clubs begging for them adhere to and not a few years of poor results.

All the PPs in the world won't turn a shitshow into a competitive side, it just dilutes the integrity of the competition even further.

Again, show me an article where WCE have asked for a priority pick. I'll wait.

View attachment 1714832 :eyes::eyes::eyes::eyes::eyes:

LMAO.

Show me where WCE have been begging for 'handouts'?
Hey check this out:

“Every year is assessed on its merits,” McLachlan said on Monday.

“We had a year when they got mature-aged players only – I think they picked up (Chris) Burgess, (Josh) Corbett and (Sam) Collins in that draft. And then they were still deemed to be needing more picks and assistance, and they came back and they got an additional pick then.

“If we take that first year of Gold Coast, it’s pretty analogous, which is, ‘they need some help now, this will help them do that’.

“Brad (Scott) and the footy team know what they’re doing, and I reckon it’s a pretty mature response”.

McLachlan was also pressed on why the picks had to be traded.

“Because they need a specific package,” he answered.
“These guys understand their list incredibly well, they understand the needs of North Melbourne, and also the impact on the broader industry.

“The assessment is that they actually will be able to make the list management decisions they need and get the help they need through these future picks that they can trade to get the players they want now and have an immediate impact in 2023 – which I what I think everyone wants. Both North Melbourne supporters and the broader industry”.

Logue definitely had an immediate impact and he gets to play in his preferred position. Tucker not so much.

The implication of this quote is that if we're like the GC and still shithouse and if we keep losing players like we did our No 1 draft pick last year (ie McKay, possibly Thomas) then we may get other assistance from the AFL the way the Gold Coast did in 2019.

I guess you better join me hoping we win three or four games after the bye and make that whole question pointless.

Don't need (and haven't asked for) a PP, we need to rebuild just like everyone else.

HOWEVER.

How about we address the borderline draft tampering that's creeping in where the Vic boys are all crying about having to play interstate? Makes it hard to rebuild when we're being told not to draft the best talent because they're going to sook it up for 2 years then leave.
Hardly a Vic only issue. The Northern teams get Academies to compensate, the teams from the footy states seem to have to pray for good luck that the draft falls the right way or they can trade in/out/around the issue.

At least from a WA perspective you've got a 50:50 shot of getting the guys who go home or are adamant that they'll stay.

There's more of the same in Victoria but it's only 10% chance of getting them. Far less than 10% for the clubs that aren't Geelong and/or stocked with sponsors and wealthy coteries.

I think one tactic is for a team to draft a kid and let them stay home for their first year post draft and train with an unaffiliated state league club. Bit of tough love and outside the box thinking and see how long it takes them to decide they'll move out of home and have a crack at AFL games.

Hey check this out:

“Every year is assessed on its merits,” McLachlan said on Monday.

“We had a year when they got mature-aged players only – I think they picked up (Chris) Burgess, (Josh) Corbett and (Sam) Collins in that draft. And then they were still deemed to be needing more picks and assistance, and they came back and they got an additional pick then.

“If we take that first year of Gold Coast, it’s pretty analogous, which is, ‘they need some help now, this will help them do that’.

“Brad (Scott) and the footy team know what they’re doing, and I reckon it’s a pretty mature response”.

McLachlan was also pressed on why the picks had to be traded.

“Because they need a specific package,” he answered.
“These guys understand their list incredibly well, they understand the needs of North Melbourne, and also the impact on the broader industry.

“The assessment is that they actually will be able to make the list management decisions they need and get the help they need through these future picks that they can trade to get the players they want now and have an immediate impact in 2023 – which I what I think everyone wants. Both North Melbourne supporters and the broader industry”.

Logue definitely had an immediate impact and he gets to play in his preferred position. Tucker not so much.

The implication of this quote is that if we're like the GC and still shithouse and if we keep losing players like we did our No 1 draft pick last year (ie McKay, possibly Thomas) then we may get other assistance from the AFL the way the Gold Coast did in 2019.

I guess you better join me hoping we win three or four games after the bye and make that whole question pointless.
For the record, I didn't mind the assistance package North got last year. I think it was a much smarter package than simply giving out top picks, even if the situation they ended up in was because they decided to cull most senior players. Simply giving draft picks to North to draft young players won't improve them significantly over the next couple of years, whereas attracting some mature heads will help to steady the ship and assist in seeing meaningful growth from the current playing group.

North definitely do not need more PPs this year though. They look to have sufficient talent on the list to build from, just need to get it right off-field, which they'd looked to have done until the Hawthorn stuff blew up and threw a spanner in the works.

Gold Coast got far too much and pissed half it away to Geelong in crazy trades. The Anderson pick the next year probably should've been enough. Recognition that they lost too many superstars from their initial list build and a chance to mitigate that.

North don't lack for elite talent. You have an elite midfield in waiting, could be seriously challenging sides next year with some coaching and the right combination of forwards and backs

If you're still wanting more priority picks that's pretty sad. If you need to bring in more talent urgently then use future picks.

For the record, I didn't mind the assistance package North got last year. I think it was a much smarter package than simply giving out top picks, even if the situation they ended up in was because they decided to cull most senior players. Simply giving draft picks to North to draft young players won't improve them significantly over the next couple of years, whereas attracting some mature heads will help to steady the ship and assist in seeing meaningful growth from the current playing group.

North definitely do not need more PPs this year though. They look to have sufficient talent on the list to build from, just need to get it right off-field, which they'd looked to have done until the Hawthorn stuff blew up and threw a spanner in the works.
We didn't cull "most senior players" we got rid of the ones who weren't good enough to play AFL and traded a couple of others for valuable picks. BTW the guy responsible for that list was in charge of handing the picks out when we got our PPs and now he coaches Essendon. I'm pretty sure the only player we culled that is on another club's list is Mason Wood. And we sacked him because he could barely get on the park, despite his talent and endurance. Trent Dumont maybe but I think he wanted out after the Hub, which really ****ed us up.

But I agree it was a good thing and gave us exactly what we needed. Well one piece anyway.

See the bolded - all of the players we drafted last year that aren't injured have made our list better, even the guys who are still in the VFL and haven't played yet. A bunch of players we've drafted since 2020 have made us better this year. Phillips, Powell, Ford, Goater, Bergman and Curtis (before he smashed his head into a post) have improved our onfield side this season as well as (obviously) Sheeze and Warlord.

I'd love PP btw, cos every side with any success seems to have had one or some sort of leg up. But I don't really want one either.

West Coast have been one of the more successful clubs in the AFL era.

Making finals 24 times in 34 years (including this year)

7 Grand Finals winning 4 premierships.

Compare that to their state rival
Made finals 8 times (maybe 9 this year) out of 29 years.

1 grand final winning 0 premierships.

West Coast currently are in a bad spot, but they are not a club that needs assistance

What the * are you even talking about? The soft cap was introduced in 2015, for the start of the season.

The zone defence was introduced because our 2 main key defenders at the time, McKenzie and Brown, both did an ACL right at the start of the season. What 'billion' assistants did WCE have that other clubs didn't, considering WCE also had to work within the soft cap?

The soft cap wasn't brought in simply to cull the expenses big clubs were spending to train and get even a 1% advantage over the competition, it was so basket cases such as North/St Kilda stopped being the gigantic drain on the rest of the competition they pretty much always have been, because they have had inept management for such a long time that they've been nothing but a financial burden on the competition for ages. Why should the majority of clubs be punished because of a few irresponsible clubs continually cycling coaches and paying them out, being in debt yet having a publicly announced 'war chest' to lure players, then getting the wrong players and sending them to the VFL on said contracts, etc?

Basket case clubs who make disastrous off-field decisions shouldn't be given PPs whatsoever, including WCE, yet all we seem to hear every year is how North plan to approach the AFL for more handouts. It's ridiculous. If the club is so inept that it can't be managed properly and have to go begging cap in hand every year in an attempt to remain competitive, then they offer little to no value to the competition as a whole.

At the very least, North appear to have turned it around off-field, as far as financials go. That's a start. PPs should only be given in consideration of other off-field measures that clubs begging for them adhere to and not a few years of poor results.

All the PPs in the world won't turn a shitshow into a competitive side, it just dilutes the integrity of the competition even further.

Again, show me an article where WCE have asked for a priority pick. I'll wait.

I can't find the article now but definitely remember reading about the truckload of support staff Adam Simpson brought in and it being commented as some the largest ever in the AFL.

He came in 2014 and the soft cap was steadily increased after it was introduced.

And yeah that's it just hate on the smaller clubs as a "drain on the competition". May as well parade around with a sticker on your head saying I support a big rich franchise who never worked hard for anything.

Haven't requested a PP? Just wait another year

You literally typify the entitled attitude of a West Coast Eagle fan.

I can't find the article now but definitely remember reading about the truckload of support staff Adam Simpson brought in and it being commented as some the largest ever in the AFL.

He came in 2014 and the soft cap was steadily increased after it was introduced.

And yeah that's it just hate on the smaller clubs as a "drain on the competition". May as well parade around with a sticker on your head saying I support a big rich franchise who never worked hard for anything.

Haven't requested a PP? Just wait another year

You literally typify the entitled attitude of a West Coast Eagle fan.
I'm not interested in getting a PP.

Yeah, entitled :rolleyes:

There's no article about Simpson having a 'truckload' of support staff in 2015, because he didn't. That's why you can't find it.

Still waiting for you to produce any kind of evidence of WCE asking for a PP this year, by the way.

Cool story. Don't let the facts get in the road of it. :thumbsu:

Wow get over it mate - you're sooking over decisions our club ("bunch of clowns") made 20+ years ago.

You should be more worried about decisions at your club that are happening as we speak.

Any poor decisions Freo have made pale into insignificance compared to what you guys are letting unravel right now. For all Freo's failings, we've never been mentioned in the same sentence as Fitzroy.
Of course you haven't, but that's only because Fitzroy had some silverware.

Because you won a flag 5 years ago, and threw the kitchen sink at another one, which put you in this mess.

No one to blame but yourselves, suck it up.
Lets not pretend Hawthorn, Collingwood, Richmond and Melbourne havent all benefitted from the AFL's cavalier approach to handing out priority and/or suspicious free agency compensation picks whilst it was benefitting Victorian clubs.

Pendlebury (Collingwood), Franklin (Hawthorn), Brayshaw (Melbourne - Frawley compo), Deledio (Richmond) - resulted in Josh Caddy trade.

Lets not pretend Hawthorn, Collingwood, Richmond and Melbourne havent all benefitted from the AFL's cavalier approach to handing out priority and/or suspicious free agency compensation picks whilst it was benefitting Victorian clubs.

Pendlebury (Collingwood), Franklin (Hawthorn), Brayshaw (Melbourne - Frawley compo), Deledio (Richmond) - resulted in Josh Caddy trade.

Agreed, that was a terrible rule, and yes we did hit the jackpot

Even the current system is clueless, need a weighted lottery for the top picks

As a West Coast supporter I am fundamentally opposed to PPs - even to the extent that I certainly don't want them for West Coast even if offered.
Last thing we need is even more that is done by discretion instead of by system by AFL House, competition is already compromised as a level playing field as it is.

At least before 2012 the PP system was just that, a system - it was systemised and therefore every club was under that same system.

I am however supportive of the 2 expansion clubs receiving either subsidised salary cap payments or soft cap relief to help them establish themselves in the league because it is for the good of the league - clubs like North or even my beloved West Coast should not be getting help which Fs every other club over by further compromising the draft.

RFA compensation picks can F right off too while we're at it. Why should every other club drop a place in the draft when a trade is done between two other clubs!? Bizzare system imo

Um. Where was this sentiment when the crows were shithouse in 2020?

Reckon there was still some lingering fall out from the controversial camp (at the time)

Anyhow the Crows and now Hawthorn are showing/proving clubs can actually rebuild their lists for a few years without needing any priority draft picks/assistance.

As a West Coast supporter I am fundamentally opposed to PPs - even to the extent that I certainly don't want them for West Coast even if offered.
Last thing we need is even more that is done by discretion instead of by system by AFL House, competition is already compromised as a level playing field as it is.

At least before 2012 the PP system was just that, a system - it was systemised and therefore every club was under that same system.

I am however supportive of the 2 expansion clubs receiving either subsidised salary cap payments or soft cap relief to help them establish themselves in the league because it is for the good of the league - clubs like North or even my beloved West Coast should not be getting help which Fs every other club over by further compromising the draft.

RFA compensation picks can F right off too while we're at it. Why should every other club drop a place in the draft when a trade is done between two other clubs!? Bizzare system imo
Exactly the same view here. Opposed to these modern ad-hoc PP campaigns, was okay with the prior ('tanking era') system of PPs which had a transparent sense of fairness, and support assisting expansion clubs to establish themselves (and non-abused COLA where felt appropriate to attract and retain talent with sufficient morale). I'd rather us just weather the storm naturally without pity help (which read as disingenuous shade towards a typically proud club) or compromising the overall comp; this hole will pass and the overall comp will manage in the interim.

West Coast do have a priority pick this year, it's the preseason draft pick #1. It will be a mature player for near immediate impact and it's exactly what a team at the bottom needs - an extra established player.

The issue is the attitude around this within the industry but it is what it is.

The reason other clubs prefer an extra first or second round pick over the PSD being used as a free hit tells you the advantage it is, it cuts out the risk of a draft pick and you go straight to securing the player you want, knowing exactly what you'll get.

WC should be securing an out of contract player with it.

The soft cap was introduced to the AFL in 2015. WCE had the same soft cap expenditure available to them as everyone else did in 2018, the year we won a flag.

I get that your poor club, that can't match it financially with bigger clubs, wants everyone brought down to their level so that they have a chance.

How's that worked out for North so far?

The competition's poorer for it .
Interesting that WC's drafting / development issues started around 2015/16. I wonder if resources were cut in those areas first rather than game day coaching initially and it is really impacting now with the middle missing out of the list.

Interesting point.

I lot is made of the fact that WCE haven't had a top 10 draft pick for over a decade but the 2nd round drafting has been somewhat diabolical over that period, other than 2017/18. 2019 onwards is too difficult to tell, due to the covid lost years that everyone went though. Is that due to drafting, or development?

I don't recall any of the players WCE picked going on to be overly successful at other clubs from the second round, from memory, but how much of that is down to poor talent identification vs poor development? Or, is it simply a lack of top end talent due to not having picks at the pointy end of the draft for over a decade?

West Coast Eagles Priority Pick (2024)