Was Bartlett a small forward?
I guess so
jed-bartlet-west-wing.jpg

HOW THIS GAME WILL END:

FULL TIME SCORELINE

WCE v CARL

14.9.93 plays 13.15.93

Extra Time: First Half

Naitanui taps to Shuey, runs past two defenders and breaks Judd tackle, kicks from 40 out, goal.

Murphy wins clearance, gives to Judd, kicks off a step from 50 out, goal.

Bounce, Priddis wins clearance, throws it on the boot, lands in front of LeCras 20m out HF pocket, collects, weaves around 3 defenders but concedes ground, dribbles it from the boundary line 35m from goal, open goal square, bounces 19 times before squeezing through for a goal.

Bounce, Hampson wins a rare tap, falls beautifully for Murphy who finds space after swerving past two Eagles, runs to the wing, kicks to Judd all on his own 40m out from goal left pocket, plays on, lovely weighted kick searing towards goal, hits the post.

Stoppage footy for remainder of half, Eagles by 5.

Extra Time: Second Half

Brutal, desperate contest, 15 tackles laid by each side in scoreless first 3 minutes, ball enters Carlton forward fifty, Hurn leaps onto Garlett's shoulders and takes the mark, plays on and boots it 60m out of defensive 50. Garlett subbed out with concussion.

Only 1 minute left in the game. Crumb, 40m out from Eagles goal, mass of 20 players around the ball, Judd swoops, handpass to Simpson, handpass to Murphy, handpass to Scotland, handpass to Yarran, elegant play by the Blues, starts a 30m dash out of defensive half, one bounce, two bounces, three bounces, Yarran run down by Selwood, holding the ball.

Selwood kicks to Embley but is brilliantly intercepted by Betts 40m out from Blues goal, kicks to Setanta who marks 20m out directly in front, triple fist pumps after taking the mark. Siren sounds. Setanta lines up, kicks out on the full.

Eagles win by 5 in front of sold out Patterson Stadium.

:D

Wow so Carlton should just show up then and we will get taught a lesson by our Victorian betters is it? You got a soft Essendon that tackled 67 times a pathetic effort. Here's a tip Murph and Yarran won't be having a laugh and a smirk running into our half back line like last week. You won at the MCG your own fans reckon is your true home ground and you beat a half fit piss weak excuse of a Freo team at Patterson we beat you at Etihad last time you played against soft opposition the week before. The only finals pressure you were under was the crowd, inside your coaches head and 15 minutes before Essendon turned into witches hats.

Wow a lot of anger mate, relax sit back and enjoy the game. if you guys win good luck hope you or Geelong go all the way, If not you guys or Geelong nex of the rank is Sydney then Hawkes.

What do tall forwards have to do with the FACT that I replying to?

Read the full post :cool:

Is lateral thinking banned in Victorian schools?

Betts - 89 marks
LeCras - 84 marks.

And? Joel Bowden used to often have massive marking numbers, was that because he was a "marking" player?

You believe what you like but Betts and Lecca are about as similar as NN and Q Lynch.

:confused: no one has said that.

You were the one who mentioned they have kicked the same total goals this year. I mean what was your point exactly?

The issue is you are dependent on small forwards and maybe a medium - this is typically not a recipe for success in finals ....

But now that you bring it up....Kennedy is 194cm, Walker 190cm. Walker can jump higher and is quicker and harder to match up on. Kennedy has a great workrate, will be very good player over the next 8 years (but we always knew that).

Walker also is quicker and jumps higher than Travis Cloke. How does that address your lack of a dominant, or even adequate, tall forward?

Walker is about the same size (and smaller build) as Judd ... I mean since we are making apparently irrelevant comparisons ...

You guys have a small forward line and lack quality talls. If we pressure your mids and the ball comes down slowly/not cleanly, you will struggle....

A simple point I would have thought ...

That is not a fact.

Its not a fact that your forward line lacks quality talls and relies heavily on smalls? Really?

Probably a lot more than you. ;) Living in Perth you tend to get the Eagles shoved down your throat. I bet I have seen more Eagles games this year than you have seen Carlton games..... :thumbsu:

If I lived in Perth that may be true.

I have seen, I reckon, every Carlton game this year bar maybe 1. I've seen every Eagles game.

You come across as about 15 years old. Footy has been going a while, I've seen about 16 AFL GF's live amongst other games over the journey. You ain't winning a pissing contest about watching footy...

Regardless, your observations re small forwards (i.e. coventry and ablett :D), that entire post, was silly and demonstrated a lack of any idea about footy. Nothing you've said since changes that ...

Carlton need to dominate in the middle on Saturday or they will lose. 50:50 won't cut it. And if we win the battle in the middle we will win easily. Its about that simple. I was interested to note that Brad Scott made the exact same comment on AFL Insiders tonight ...

I guess we will see ....

Its odd that you mention that reliance on a small forward is not a receipe for finals success. Its quite another thing to have 3 key small-medium forwards in the leagues top 10 goalkickers. Its unprecedented. As such you can throw the cook book you are using out the window.

Its odd to mention a generally accepted notion re small forwards?

The fact that small forwards have done well in a REGULAR season with more "easybeat" games than any other season in recent memory hardly alters the point.

Win some finals with dominant small forward performances and we might believe you ... at present, the point that teams struggle when dependent (almost entirely) on small forwards in finals remains valid ... beating an ordinary 8th placed team who applied little defensive pressure is irrelevant ...

We shall see but, at present, the reality remains you are dependent on small forwards and that has, typically, not been a formula that wins finals ...

no the point has previously been made with particular emphasis about Stephen Milne and St Kilda. Not about small forwards in finals. And not really about finals, its been about big games.

Darren jarman, Brad Pearce, Darren Bewick, Jason Akermanis and others may also have a few words about small to medium forwards in finals. Yes we get it, you guys have a tall forward line.

no the point has previously been made with particular emphasis about Stephen Milne and St Kilda. Not about small forwards in finals. And not really about finals, its been about big games.

Darren jarman, Brad Pearce, Darren Bewick, Jason Akermanis and others may also have a few words about small to medium forwards in finals. Yes we get it, you guys have a tall forward line.

And?

You are seriously arguing that he bulk of those players played in forward lines in which they were THE main players?

As I recall each of those players maybe with the exception of Jarman, played alongside quality KP forwards and their respective teams had a structure that involved key forwards and those players as crumbers playing a role ...

But hey, you feel free to ignore history to avoid the elephant in the room, your lack of a single quality KP forward....

FWIW, we have a weakness in the lack of a quality small forward to compliment our talls .... but its a weakness that is likely easier overcome ... I mean, lets say you guys end up struggling at times and are bringing the ball forward slowly and under pressure, whats your bail out option? I mean who is the tall target that can take a contested mark or threaten to do so in any meaningful way?

Fair enough if you can't see the most obvious structural weakness in your side (the other weakness being the number of hot/cold players but thats not structural) but most of the rest of us can ...

This weekends game is on your quality mids. They win it for you or you lose ...

50:50 in the middle won't get you there ...

I'm not really sold on the Carlton play well at Subi theory

The played against a injury depleted Freo this year in the midst of a seven game losing streak

Last year they got beaten resonably easily by Freo in a final and struggled against West Coast (trailing at half time) when we crap.

And?

You are seriously arguing that he bulk of those players played in forward lines in which they were THE main players?

As I recall each of those players maybe with the exception of Jarman, played alongside quality KP forwards and their respective teams had a structure that involved key forwards and those players as crumbers playing a role ...

But hey, you feel free to ignore history to avoid the elephant in the room, your lack of a single quality KP forward....

FWIW, we have a weakness in the lack of a quality small forward to compliment our talls .... but its a weakness that is likely easier overcome ... I mean, lets say you guys end up struggling at times and are bringing the ball forward slowly and under pressure, whats your bail out option? I mean who is the tall target that can take a contested mark or threaten to do so in any meaningful way?

Fair enough if you can't see the most obvious structural weakness in your side (the other weakness being the number of hot/cold players but thats not structural) but most of the rest of us can ...

This weekends game is on your quality mids. They win it for you or you lose ...

50:50 in the middle won't get you there ...

Just because something has never been done before, doesnt mean it cant be done at all. 3 forwards in the leagues top 10 goal kickers over the season in the same team - let alone 3 SMALL forwards - has never been done before either.

Its not 50:50 in the middle, its more 60:40. Id take murphy and judd over any west coast midfielder any day of the week. I suspect most people would.

Just because something has never been done before, doesnt mean it cant be done at all. 3 forwards in the leagues top 10 goal kickers over the season in the same team - let alone 3 SMALL forwards - has never been done before either.

Its not 50:50 in the middle, its more 60:40. Id take murphy and judd over any west coast midfielder any day of the week. I suspect most people would.

i would definitely take either of those guys above any west coast eagles midfielder for their total overall package. However in contested situations kerr is better inside than either of them. I'll also happily stand by a call that kerr has the best hands in the competition. (pendlebury and a couple of others are close)
If carlton can win it through the middle then they will be very competitive and are then at least a 50/50 of winning imo.

Once again however i actually think we match up better against teams with good ruckmen. This is because our ruck department is head and shoulders above every other ruck department in the league (this year) and because of this midfielders who play in other teams with strong rucks are used to reading the ball off their own rucks rather than trying to shark it from the oppositions taps.

I'm not really sold on the Carlton play well at Subi theory

The played against a injury depleted Freo this year in the midst of a seven game losing streak

Last year they got beaten resonably easily by Freo in a final and struggled against West Coast (trailing at half time) when we crap.

Don't remember that final? I remember round 22 getting done by a goal as we limped into the 8.

Re: small v tall forwards.

Traditionally teams have required big key position targets. But rarely have these big guys kicked multiple goals in finals. More about the contest they provide and the ability of other forwards to feed off them. If O'Hailpin and Hampson can provide that ontest and bring the ball to ground, then the Blues are in great shape.

Reason eagles won so easily last time was the number of marks the eagles took in defensive 50. That won't happen this time with players to actually kick to.

I cant see this being anything other than a close game.

Indeed. Q Stick could kick 10 goals too ...

Of course odds are he won't cos its never been done by him before. Just like the odds of doing well in finals relying exclusively on small forwards are pretty slim based on history. Simple enough?

When did English comprehension stop being taught in Vic schools? Serious question.

Read what I said. The game rests with your mids. You need to win comfortably in the middle. IF its a 50:50 result in the middle then you guys will lose the game. As in, if the battle is halved. If Carlton doesn't decisively win. etc etc ....

I wasn't rating the midfields. I was stating, categorically, that Carlton must win that battle decisively and that a 50:50 midfield result would see you lose the game.

Clear enough? :rolleyes:

Don't remember that final? I remember round 22 getting done by a goal as we limped into the 8.

Re: small v tall forwards.

Traditionally teams have required big key position targets. But rarely have these big guys kicked multiple goals in finals. More about the contest they provide and the ability of other forwards to feed off them. If O'Hailpin and Hampson can provide that ontest and bring the ball to ground, then the Blues are in great shape.

Reason eagles won so easily last time was the number of marks the eagles took in defensive 50. That won't happen this time with players to actually kick to.

I cant see this being anything other than a close game.

The bolded bit is largely true, however the issue remains that the KP forwards that provide the structure and provide the contest in genuinely good sides have typically been about 30 levels better than O'Hailpin and Hampson... they have been players one fears and plans around, players their teammates have faith in as bail out long kick options and players that could win the game if not clamped down on ... your big forward guys would need to play the game of their lives to be close to decent forwards ... its an issue and most Carlton people know it ...

Confirmed by whom? Gibbs could still raise his arm above his head and move it, he didn't look in much pain. I think they'll give him and jab and he'll play.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/ratten-rules-out-matthew-kreuzer-bryce-gibbs/story-e6frf9jf-1226136643124

CARLTON coach Brett Ratten says the Blues still don't know the cause of ruckman Matthew Kreuzer's foot injury.

Ratten this morning ruled Kreuzer out of Saturday night's semi-final against West Coast at Patersons Stadium.

He also said midfielder Bryce Gibbs was almost certain to miss with a shoulder injury he suffered in a goalsquare tumble during Sunday's thrashing of Essendon.

Ratten said Gibbs could play but was too big a risk because if he copped a knock to the shoulder the Blues would be left a player short.

I'd say they are keeping their options open on Gibbs ;)

It has been confirmed that Gibbs and Kreuzer won't be making the trip West.

No it hasn't.

Neither are likely to play. But I'd expect Gibbs to travel at least and to be given every opportunity to prove his fitness.

Kreuzer won't play this week at all I would think, so would probably travel to watch the game.

No it hasn't.

Neither are likely to play. But I'd expect Gibbs to travel at least and to be given every opportunity to prove his fitness.

Kreuzer won't play this week at all I would think, so would probably travel to watch the game.

If any are 100% not going to be played they will not travel to watch the game, if you don't know why this is I suggest you do some research into the effects of air travel on the human body, it would be silly to travel and not play if they are a chance to play next week.

Do I think both have been 100% ruled out 4 days before the game, hell no, nor will west coast think this.

The bolded bit is largely true, however the issue remains that the KP forwards that provide the structure and provide the contest in genuinely good sides have typically been about 30 levels better than O'Hailpin and Hampson... they have been players one fears and plans around, players their teammates have faith in as bail out long kick options and players that could win the game if not clamped down on ... your big forward guys would need to play the game of their lives to be close to decent forwards ... its an issue and most Carlton people know it ...

O'Hailpin might not be one of the most attractive players going around, but put that ball up in the air and i'd back him 9/10 to at worst bring the ball to ground.

Thats all he and Hampson need to do.

Carlton always play well at subi i think this game is going to be the best game of the finals . Carlton by 18 points.