Wettest game you have seen or been to involving your team

Fitzroy v North Melbourne at Princess Park in late 80's, early 90's, only about 5000 people there too - for memory Kangas kicked 5 odd goals and we kicked 2 - one of the worst games I went to - at least I was in a box, but you could hardly see out of it.

For me it was the oft-mentioned Brisbane v Bulldogs swimming contest at the Gabba.

Slightly off-topic (it does involve two 'teams' just not football teams :) ) I was also at the Gabba for a Cricket Test match back in the '90's when a massive summer hail storm hit.

Some may remember Dean Jones with batting helmet on his head, running out into the blanket of hail with Batting helmets for the ground staff as they tried to get the covers over the pitch in a raging thunderstorm. :)

Living in Tassie I've seen a fair few over the years.

1992 TFL Preliminary Final between Hobart and North Launceston at North Hobart was one of the worst ones I've ever seen.
70mm of rain fell between 1am on the Saturday morning until the end of the seniors.
There was snow falling at times, 80km/h win and it never got above 2°C after 7am that day.
Ground was covered in thick mud and deep lakes of water, only a small strip of green grass up the terraced wing remained.
Surprised the match wasn't called off to be honest, it was that bad for such an important game.
North picked a tall side for the match punting on dry weather, they finished minor premiers and Hobart had been beaten by nearly 100-points in the QF by North Hobart only two weeks earlier.
Hobart 5.5 (35) v Nth Launceston 3.5 (23) - Robins went out in straights sets.
Only 1,853 brave souls turned up - it was a dreadful day.

The other would be an SFL game between Hobart and Glenorchy at the TCA Ground back in 2001.
It bucketed down all night, snowed heavily right the way through the Under-18's, and Reserves and then poured with rain for the first half of the seniors, then snowed for the entire second half.
Worse still, being located high up on a hill facing directly at Mt Wellington, the winds were over 100km/h for much of the day, windchill temperature up on the mountain was -23°C on the day - most of that hitting the TCA Ground smack on.
The ground had been flooded on the Tasman Bridge wing, to the point where it was deemed to be a throw-in if the ball hit the lake, play was conducted through the centre and main stand side only.
Ground was so muddy every player was a two-legged ball of black goop, playing jumpers and faces were indistinguishable for both teams.
Hobart kicks three goals out of nowhere in the last 8 minutes to win 4.12 (36) to 3.11 (29) in front of just 362 people.
I had to stand in this crap all day, discovered a hole in both my steel-capped workboots as well, after stepping through frozen puddles :(

1995 TFL Grand Final when David Rhys-Jones finally got North Launceston a premiership was played in constant pissing rain and bitter cold.
Was the second lowest TFL grand final crowd since the 1940's, a real hard and at times violent slog.
I stood on the wing and was frozen solid, didn't help when the ground announcer got on the PA telling everyone it was 1°C at three quarter time!
Hail, a coastal storm and a kingtide at West Park in Burnie is a whole new experience - you just don't want to even go there :thumbsdown:

The 1983 night series GF between Richmond and Carlton was postponed for a week due to the state of Waverley after heavy rain.

At the same venue it was Essendon v St Kilda c.1995 and Wanganeen went ballistic getting severe leath poisoning. I think it was the Bombers by at least 60+ points that day.

Haven't read through the thread, so apologies if this has been covered...

That was one of the single best performances I have seen Essendon involved in.
We absolutely flogged them by 116 points.

Gav was great, Mercuri was best on ground (38 disposals, 3 goals).

The other wet one was at the Gabba against Brisbane in 2000.
We won by 10 goals, poured down all night.

Moorcroft kicked that goal where he slid on his back and kicked it over his head.

1984 sydney v hawthorn - scg. hawks belted us in a swamp
1990 Nsw v Vic state of Origin. just torrential rain all night as john longmire booted 8 and the blues beat the vics
1996 rd 22 sydney v wce at scg . swans had to win to finish minor premiers. coldest and wettest night ever at the scg
1997 sf sydney v st.kilda scg . we were seated in the concourse and the rain came down in the last quarter .totally soaked .
2004 sf sydney v wce at telstra stadium. lightning and thunder and torrential rain.

For me it was the oft-mentioned Brisbane v Bulldogs swimming contest at the Gabba.

Slightly off-topic (it does involve two 'teams' just not football teams :) ) I was also at the Gabba for a Cricket Test match back in the '90's when a massive summer hail storm hit.

Some may remember Dean Jones with batting helmet on his head, running out into the blanket of hail with Batting helmets for the ground staff as they tried to get the covers over the pitch in a raging thunderstorm. :)

Gabba has put on some classics storms - I was at the Brisbane - Bulldogs game that night and the noise the rain made was amazing .

Best thunderstorm I remember was back in the 70's - Shield game Qld against NSW went to catch the final session after school but thunderstorm cut the day short, went from fine day to night in about 15 minutes . Turned down my mate's dad offer to take us in on Saturday to watch and Thommo took 8 wickets for 20 odd on Saturday morning .

I turned down the same mate's offer to go to the final day of a Qld - Vic shield game a couple of years ago - the day Symonds went beserk and got Qld an unlikely win . It irks me to this day I missed those two.

Ahh it was Richmond @ Football Park but cant remember what SA team it was against. Scores ended up about 35-28 if I remember correctly, an absolute slog.

That would be back in 98 or 99 from memory. Port kicked something like 4.7 & Richmond kicked 3.12 & the game was in danger of being called off due to the lightning... i'll go with that game as well or the one where port played Geelong earlier this year in the pre season cup.

Why is it - if your team wins one of those filthey, wet, miserable games it is just about the best day you've had - if they lose, it is the worst.
I remember at the Richmond-Hawks at Waverly in 95, when Richmondgot a 6point lead at the 20-minute mark of the last quarter, some Hawk fans started leaving - the ground was so wet, there was no chance of any more scoring.

I got another one

I watching 90s the decade that delivered right and the most wettest game i seen when Fitzroy v St kilda i cant remember what year But it was in Waverly. It hailed so much the players didnt not know where were they kicking the ball to.

Richmond Vs Fremantle, Round 3 2003

Around an inch of rain recorded in Melbourne

storm13403kq4.gif

Yep, I agree with this one, I was at the game and it was raining so heavily I could barely make out the boundary fence on the other side of the ground.
The MCC had been demolished at this stage and through the gap the entire city had disappeared. We won too which was nice.

WCE vs Hawthorn at Subi circa 1993, so wet it damaged the surface and caused them to look into improving the drainage at Subi (which is now reputedly up there with the best in the country).

Was also Tony Godden's first game for WCE, he looked pretty good too.

It was an odd day.

A little irrelevant but in u10s we had fog so thick that from the centre you couldn't see the chf. Only one goal was kicked that day, IIRC, and we still lost
ha ha ha - yeah, I played in one of them in the under 16s. Standing at half forward it was a case of trying to work out whether the footsteps and shouts in front were getting louder or quieter to work out what happened at the centre bounce. Was the ball perhaps coming this way?

A couple of Eagles games from their premiership year in 1992. In a game at Waverley against St.Kilda they were getting done at half time but a huge storm hit the ground which had the lot - rain, hail, thunder, lightning. It was a skating rink after that and the Eagles only managed 3 goals.

About three weeks later they went to the Western Oval and it poured down all day. At 3/4 time they only had 0.2 and going into time on in the last quarter they still hadn't managed a goal but got three cheap ones in junk time.

It'd be fair to say that the Eagles were probably pretty happy when Grand Final day that year dawned in nice spring sunshine.
There was actually five weeks between the two games, but they still astonish me even having watched them on DVD (if you really want to understand footy from that era, you should certainly get both).

What is striking is that what really bothered the Eagles from that period was not rain per se, but the slowness of the grounds caused by mud. Earlier in 1992, the Eagles kicked seventeen goals against Adelaide in equally wet weather at the WACA. Against Collingwood at Subiaco, they got ahead in heavy rain but the Magpies pipped them in drier conditions. Then, against Richmond on the same ground two weeks before the Footscray game, conditions were described as “dry” even though significant rain fell during play!

Going back to 1987 one sees them kick 16.18 and beat Fitzroy by twelve goals in torrential rain at the WACA ground (same round as the Collingwood v North Melbourne game) but then were beaten by bottom side Richmond on a muddy MCG. That same day, Fitzroy kept Melbourne to four goals in similar conditions at Princes Park.

Isn’t it notable how wet-weather football in Perth is nothing like wet-weather football on the clayey Melbourne and Adelaide soils? To me, this difference is a further argument against having a stadium with a roof because the number of different possible conditions is increased more than it would be if all soils were the same. Even in Melbourne, high scoring has occurred in heavy rain when soils are not saturated so the ground is merely slippery rather than muddy. In 1979, Fitzroy in steady rain kicked over 100 points in the second half at Arden Street, and Richmond on the same day at the MCG kicked 22-26 (158) without Roach against Footscray.

played a game for Frankston East U16s v Chelsea at Chelsea in 1991 where it rained so much the night before and in the leadup that by the time we played the ground was literally mud. You couldnt see a blade of grass in the centre square...just mud.

(the same year we played a game under lights where the lights went out before the end of the match, and we were playing by the lights of cars around the oval before they came back on)

played a game at full back for Flinders College against some school i cant remember in the same year where it rained so heavily that myself and the opposite full forward wandered off and stood under a tree near the boundary for shelter. the ball never came down our end anyway.

wettest afl match ive seen, carlton v footscray where the blues kicked 1.10

Played in game at under 13's level at Jacana football Club back in 1974, the ground was that flooded that when I kicked out from fullback, the water spray went further than the ball. I was actually standing in water and saw dust up to my ankle at one end of the ground and the other end was fairly dry.

Yep, I agree with this one, I was at the game and it was raining so heavily I could barely make out the boundary fence on the other side of the ground.
The MCC had been demolished at this stage and through the gap the entire city had disappeared. We won too which was nice.

I went, and my dad took his Old School Mate from Perth (in his 70s) - he was visiting Melbourne and going to the MCG for the first time. He oo'ed and aah'ed appropriately at how big it was, remarked on the cool weather (he was wearing his bright new Freo scarf and his Perth Winter jacket - ie, suitable for a Melbourne Spring). He also wanted to sit out in the open to get 'The Full Atmosphere'.

Then it turned Arctic and started to rain. And Freo got thumped. I don't think he's talked to my dad since:D.

Still, the game did have the legendary 'Greg Stafford tries to Play On and Run Around Aaron Sandilands On the Mark, and Both Get Stuck in the Bog'.

Wettest game you have seen or been to involving your team