What They're Saying - The Bulldogs Media Thread - Part 4

Ive now seen his comments in full.

One could easily frame an argument where Beveridge bringing up the issue of how flawed the AFL drugs policy is this morning was a deliberate strategy to shift the focus away from Smith and onto the game as a whole. One thing we know about Beveridge is that he picks his targets very strategically. The issue of the AFLPA compromised illicit drugs policy is one that I would imagine has been simmering away behind the scenes at all clubs for a very long time. He may well have seen this as an opportune time to play that card.

Thus killing two birds with one stone.
Certainly possible. I personally wouldn’t have done it that way as it essentially makes Baz the poster boy for this issue, not take the pressure off him.

Just my opinion though.

Certainly possible. I personally wouldn’t have done it that way as it essentially makes Baz the poster boy for this issue, not take the pressure off him.

Just my opinion though.
All good. We're in the opinion business here.

I'm happy with Bevo's comments. As others have said (FW, Norm) it's much better having Bevo speak about something he's passionate about than hear him pad out his media obligations with ums, ahhs and platitudes.

Too often everybody skirts around an issue and it needs somebody with the guts to call it out. Sounds like he has a lot of allies at other clubs who weren't prepared to speak out but this may be the catalyst for a more balanced and nuanced discussion (except from the usual sensationalist line of journos of course).

Is it true that no other major sporting code has an illicit drugs policy?

As for the AFL I don't think they'd be furious. Annoyed maybe ("it's that bloody Bevo bloke again") but they're smart enough to pay attention if they sense a change in the winds of public opinion.

As for Smith who knows? AT the end of the ABC article it indicates a penalty hasn't yet been decided.

If the AFL is sympathetic to the argument they might just issue a fine and a few days later announce a review of the policy. If they aren't he might get 4 weeks. It's the AFL after all. Hot one day, lukewarm the next, cold the day after.

Like any good leader must in a time of crisis, Bevo is just trying to draw attention to himself and away from his charge. It is designed to take the pressure off Bailey. Unfortunately, this may mean making some sort of statement in a calculated way that would involve something that would never happen. Bevo and the club know the AFL won't and can't abolish the drug policy.

Then there's the issue of Bailey and the front page. PR 101 - you don't pour fuel on a fire.

Why? Its a legitimate question that the game needs to answer. Just because its our club in the spotlight this time doesn't make it any less so.

What was the context of his statement. Was he asked to reply to Jeff Kennett saying the same yesterday. Does he think its pointless given how prevalent drugs are in our society. Or did he just blurt it out?

As a general principle and as somebody who has moaned plenty about the shitty messaging we can get from the club. I'd rather hear what he actually believes than some mealy mouthed nothing statement in support of Smith. If we've learnt anything under Bevridge, its that he isnt one for holding back or avoiding when asked a direct question. It was good when he torn Tom Browne a new arse live on TV and its good now.
Reporters generally ask leading questions, I doubt whether Bevo just came out with it without any prompting. Then the way the report is written implies Bevo rang someone up and told them that's what he thinks.

I know how this will play out, same as when Bev got angry earlier in the year. It’ll disappear within two to three weeks and be replaced by the next ‘interesting to the public’ story.

It's time for Smith to have a decent haircut and not one of those ridiculous shortbackers, shave off the moustache, stop taking drugs at nightclubs and resume taking communion at mass, spend more time practicing kicking on his non-preferred and stop reading the nonsense that's published about him. It's also time we left him alone. A couple of posters broke the "news" on this board well before it became public knowledge, shameful. He's a footballer, his private life shouldn't be our concern. The lad admits to mental issues, that's been in the public arena for a couple of years, now; being made the subject of gossip in the press throughout the land isn't helping him. As for those 2 Melbourne players who got into a fight, all I can say about that is... ah, doesn't matter. Here endeths my rant.

Apropos Jim Miller: I am old enough to see him play and he was part of one of our best centrelines, ie Miller,Hickey and Wearmouth.
I dont often post but:
1. Many BF posters have little idea, but must be allowed their opinion.
2. We need to keep Beveridge.
3. We need a CHB and another good ruckman.
4. Many of our team are overrated.
5. Go dogs.
When I first read that post, Dogforever I thought you must be close to receipt of the Queen's letter but If you watched Jim Miller in, say, 1948 and were, say, 8 years old, then you are a mere lad of 82 years. You'll most likely get your letter from King Chilla with an outside chance of it being signed by King Billy. Do you recall Dick Wearmouth and if so, how good was he ? The story I heard was that Dick refused to let Ronnie come to Footscray because of how poorly the club was run back in Dick's days. Any comment ?

I cannot wait for all the footy “analysis” from tonight that will start ripping into the club, namely
a) the Bulldogs have cultural issues
b) Bevo is clearly not coping
c) The Bulldogs should consider trading Smith while they can

Trying to dredge up any other insignificant issue that somehow justifies them getting paid to speak nonsense.

Caroline Wilson will no doubt be leading the charge of the high and mighty brigade.

I cannot wait for all the footy “analysis” from tonight that will start ripping into the club, namely
a) the Bulldogs have cultural issues
b) Bevo is clearly not coping
c) The Bulldogs should consider trading Smith while they can

Trying to dredge up any other insignificant issue that somehow justifies them getting paid to speak nonsense.

Caroline Wilson will no doubt be leading the charge of the high and mighty brigade.
More fool anyone who watches blathering heads whose only interest is self-promotion.

The people who criticise Bevo for (quite rightly) speaking his mind on this issue are the same people who would criticise him (and others) for being too media trained and not genuine. I've got nothing wrong with his want to protect both Bailey and all AFL players by adjusting the existing policy. There are a lot of things wrong with the AFL, and we are often quick to criticise coaches and players for drawing attention to these issues because it might create "bad publicity". Newsflash, the bad publicity is caused by old mate taking a selfie of himself holding a bag of cocaine. Nothing wrong with Bevo creating the discussion about a valid issue.

What a mental health charity got to do with his sponsorship deals with Cotton On and Maccas? Beyond Blue wouldn’t be paying for anything.
Take it easy, just an observation. I work in the not for profit sector.

The people who criticise Bevo for (quite rightly) speaking his mind on this issue are the same people who would criticise him (and others) for being too media trained and not genuine. I've got nothing wrong with his want to protect both Bailey and all AFL players by adjusting the existing policy.

The question is where is the president of our football club . Major drug scandal from a young player who struggles from mental health from our club and she is no where to be seen or heard Can we bring back Gordo please

Give it until the end of today's game where Melbourne losing will be the bigger headline.
Nah they’ve packed up for the day and we’re still number one item

The question is where is the president of our football club . Major drug scandal from a young player who struggles from mental health from our club and she is no where to be seen or heard Can we bring back Gordo please

Well in general, presidents like Gordo and Eddie are the minoritry where they feel the need to be in the media all the time. It does not make them bad in how the club is run behind the scenes necessarily.

She is never in the media though. Issue like this I think she should get on the front foot and be heard.

What They're Saying - The Bulldogs Media Thread - Part 4