What They're Saying - The Bulldogs Media Thread - Part 4

That is a bit different then, but he should have known it was being recorded lol
But if the players are going to temper what they say in a documentary to be similar to how'd they talk to the media anyway, it kind of defeats the purpose of the documentary format doesn't it?

Sorry fellas, the seasons done: Fox Footy expert Jordan Lewis has us missing out on the 8 in favour of Essendon.

There's always next year.

Never seen such a pathetic club like Essendon get hyped up every year lol
It's the desperate self-flagellation of the Bomber types in the media, who in their heart of hearts know they are still years away from their next finals victory. I suspect the hype is just them lying to themselves, no intent to provide any balanced analysis.

Weirdly I didn't mind Lewis as an opposition player, despite the fact there were some obvious things to dislike about him.

But he is an atrocious pundit, and that's saying something given the competition he has in the world of AFL media. I can't recall hearing him say anything that wasn't either blindingly obvious or just plain wrong.

At least one team we don't expect to jump into finals likely will, but I'd be pretty shocked if it's Essendon. I'd give the crows or even the eagles more chance.

Weirdly I didn't mind Lewis as an opposition player, despite the fact there were some obvious things to dislike about him.

But he is an atrocious pundit, and that's saying something given the competition he has in the world of AFL media. I can't recall hearing him say anything that wasn't either blindingly obvious or just plain wrong.

At least one team we don't expect to jump into finals likely will, but I'd be pretty shocked if it's Essendon. I'd give the crows or even the eagles more chance.
Mention Essendon and you'll get the clicks/media fanfare which what he clearly craves. There is zero reason to expect a Bombers jump into finals contention, let alone the top 8.

I can honestly see why non-Bulldogs expect us to be shit. We lost our BnF and our best wing without bringing in any "stars."

But I think they're underestimating how big Liam Jones will be for us. I'm honestly expecting an AA year from him.

They are also not considering how many of our players were well below themselves last year. Bont, Macrae, Bailey Smith, Keath etc will all most likely be better this year by simply regressing to the mean.

Lobb will give us heaps, too. Not just because of his own game, but what he does for Naughton Jamarra and English. Naughts kicked a few goals last year but he didn't dominate like we know he can. Jamarra showed glimpses but seems set to really impact this year.

We've also ditched the stupid tactic that ****ed us over last year. We aren't trying to revolutionise the game anymore; we are keeping it simple and following the doggies ftw gameplan of just being tall as ****.

We've got the cattle. We've got a mature and settled line-up. And for the first time in our history, we've got HEIGHT.

I can honestly see why non-Bulldogs expect us to be s**t. We lost our BnF and our best wing without bringing in any "stars."

But I think they're underestimating how big Liam Jones will be for us. I'm honestly expecting an AA year from him.

They are also not considering how many of our players were well below themselves last year. Bont, Macrae, Bailey Smith, Keath etc will all most likely be better this year by simply regressing to the mean.

Lobb will give us heaps, too. Not just because of his own game, but what he does for Naughton Jamarra and English. Naughts kicked a few goals last year but he didn't dominate like we know he can. Jamarra showed glimpses but seems set to really impact this year.

We've also ditched the stupid tactic that ****ed us over last year. We aren't trying to revolutionise the game anymore; we are keeping it simple and following the doggies ftw gameplan of just being tall as *.

We've got the cattle. We've got a mature and settled line-up. And for the first time in our history, we've got HEIGHT.

Did you take your acid early?

Mention Essendon and you'll get the clicks/media fanfare which what he clearly craves. There is zero reason to expect a Bombers jump into finals contention, let alone the top 8.
Yep, lame stuff from Jordy.

At least he could've gone all out batsh.t crazy and tipped Bombers for the flag like Malthouse.

Now there's a media pundit who just gives zero f.cks.

How do we feel about going into round 1, Darcy, Lobb and Jamarra up front and Keath, Naughts and Jones down back?
That's one way to set Darcy & Jamarra up to fail given Lever & May will go directly to those two. Naughton is the one guy we have that can handle being the centerpiece of the forward line. The rest of the group (including Lobb) revolve around what he will do as the main guy.

Yep, lame stuff from Jordy.

At least he could've gone all out batsh.t crazy and tipped Bombers for the flag like Malthouse.

Now there's a media pundit who just gives zero f.cks.
Exactly. His direct quote was

"I just think the Bombers are one of those sides where they‘ve got an abundance of talent – I know its young talent – but once they get parts of their game right, I think it can really help them progress up the ladder,”

Even taking my Essendon hating hat off, where is this abundance of talent? Their spine is terrible, none of their young brigade has shown anything to suggest they will be anything but decent AFL players and their midfield is well documented as not being good enough. I think Brad Scott has done a great job trying to downplay all expectations, unfortunately for him the suck fest machine will keep doing him a diservice.

Exactly. His direct quote was

"I just think the Bombers are one of those sides where they‘ve got an abundance of talent – I know its young talent – but once they get parts of their game right, I think it can really help them progress up the ladder,”

Even taking my Essendon hating hat off, where is this abundance of talent? Their spine is terrible, none of their young brigade has shown anything to suggest they will be anything but decent AFL players and their midfield is well documented as not being good enough. I think Brad Scott has done a great job trying to downplay all expectations, unfortunately for him the suck fest machine will keep doing him a diservice.
Sheedy backgrounding media like Lewis. Trying to white-ant Scott, so Jimmy can ride back into Tullamarine on his white stallion to save the day.

Even if it's not true, it certainly would follow a pattern of behaviour.

(Off topic, but over the years I've heard whispers there are things that would tarnish Sheedy's legacy if they got out. So far everyone has stayed mum (allegedly). And apparently nothing to do with Derek Kickett.)

Can someone plz post the JUH Herald Sun article here?

Emerging Dogs star Jamarra Ugle-Hagan says his former teammate Josh Schache could be forgiven for being “frustrated” amid their selection battle last season.
The forward set up was at the centre of a documentary that was released last week where former Dog Schache bemoaned Ugle-Hagan’s selection ahead of his own, declaring he didn’t believe he had been given “a proper chance” at the Kennel.

Schache, who was traded to the Demons at the end of last season, said his then-coach Luke Beveridge had felt compelled to “justify” why he had selected Ugle-Hagan ahead of him.

But Ugle-Hagan – speaking at Fox Footy’s season launch on Thursday – said his former teammate could have been forgiven for feeling “a bit frustrated”.

“Yes, we were fighting for the same spot and there were times where he’d had a really good game in the VFL, and I had done my side of things,” he said.

“My dad sent me that (story last week).

“Josh is a good player – I would never talk down on him, at all. I could tell he was a bit frustrated obviously … because he probably did deserve a couple more games. But at the end of the day, I did work pretty hard and I played my role when I had to. I worked on what they wanted me to, and I went back in.

“At the end of the day, I would have been in the same situation if some teammates got put in before me, but it’s just for him now it’s out there.”

Ugle-Hagan, 20, also backed the “unreal” Western Bulldogs to rattle the best in the competition, and feels he is well-armed to be one of the Dogs’ prime forward targets this season.

The young gun said confidence has been key to unlocking his best game alongside close mate Aaron Naughton in a forward line that will now also include key recruit Rory Lobb.

And the former No. 1 pick said after taking time to find his stride at the top level, having a significant impact in his third season was not beyond him.

“I hope it is (going to happen). Our team is unreal, so we should be able to finish top four,” Ugle-Hagan said.

More Coverage​

Blues, Saints, Dons: What will decide De Koning sweepstakes?Hawks demand end to ‘fundamentally unfair’ Pies deal
“I think it’s just a confidence thing. Once you feel like you’re confident and comfortable, you just build from there.

“Obviously I think it’s respect from your teammates as well. When you feel comfortable with them and you build your connections, it makes you feel a little bit more at home and you don’t get in your own head.”

Emerging Dogs star Jamarra Ugle-Hagan says his former teammate Josh Schache could be forgiven for being “frustrated” amid their selection battle last season.
The forward set up was at the centre of a documentary that was released last week where former Dog Schache bemoaned Ugle-Hagan’s selection ahead of his own, declaring he didn’t believe he had been given “a proper chance” at the Kennel.

Schache, who was traded to the Demons at the end of last season, said his then-coach Luke Beveridge had felt compelled to “justify” why he had selected Ugle-Hagan ahead of him.

But Ugle-Hagan – speaking at Fox Footy’s season launch on Thursday – said his former teammate could have been forgiven for feeling “a bit frustrated”.

“Yes, we were fighting for the same spot and there were times where he’d had a really good game in the VFL, and I had done my side of things,” he said.

“My dad sent me that (story last week).

“Josh is a good player – I would never talk down on him, at all. I could tell he was a bit frustrated obviously … because he probably did deserve a couple more games. But at the end of the day, I did work pretty hard and I played my role when I had to. I worked on what they wanted me to, and I went back in.

“At the end of the day, I would have been in the same situation if some teammates got put in before me, but it’s just for him now it’s out there.”

Ugle-Hagan, 20, also backed the “unreal” Western Bulldogs to rattle the best in the competition, and feels he is well-armed to be one of the Dogs’ prime forward targets this season.

The young gun said confidence has been key to unlocking his best game alongside close mate Aaron Naughton in a forward line that will now also include key recruit Rory Lobb.

And the former No. 1 pick said after taking time to find his stride at the top level, having a significant impact in his third season was not beyond him.

“I hope it is (going to happen). Our team is unreal, so we should be able to finish top four,” Ugle-Hagan said.

More Coverage​

Blues, Saints, Dons: What will decide De Koning sweepstakes?Hawks demand end to ‘fundamentally unfair’ Pies deal
“I think it’s just a confidence thing. Once you feel like you’re confident and comfortable, you just build from there.

“Obviously I think it’s respect from your teammates as well. When you feel comfortable with them and you build your connections, it makes you feel a little bit more at home and you don’t get in your own head.”
Seems to have such a good head on his shoulders.

Bit of light relief:

2 min read
March 3, 2023 - 2:17PM
Sunday Herald Sun
Kye Beveridge has signed with Precision Modelling. Picture: Johnny Nicolaidis

He was destined to be a footballer, ended up a tradie and is now making waves as a model.

Meet Kye Beveridge, the sizzling son of Western Bulldogs premiership coach Luke.
If ever there was a reluctant model, it’s the 24-year-old, whose life took an unexpected turn after a direct message slid into his Instagram account.
No, not that kind of message.
Ebony Let, his long-time girlfriend since high school was already a model, but in spite of this insight into the industry it was never on his radar.
He was just a typical boy from Bayside who dreamt of following in his dad’s footsteps.
Luke Beveridge played 118 games at Melbourne, Footscray and St Kilda before going to coaching.
A stint in Collingwood’s VFL side was as close as Kye got before he turned his attention to a trade and began working as an apprentice carpenter.
Kye Beveridge was reluctant to model at first but he’s since embraced his new gig. Picture: Johnny Nicolaidis

Kye says his dad, Western Bulldogs premiership coach Luke Beveridge, is more proud of his son’s modelling career than ‘any other footy thing’. Picture: Michael Klein

Kye and Ebony, the easy-on-the-eye couple, headed north after Covid, eventually landing in Sydney.
And then came that DM.
It was from Precision Modelling director Sarah Etinger who’d seen him in some pictures on Ebony’s social media.
They really liked Ebony but they were also taken with the hottie by her side, with the piercing blue eyes, chiselled jaw and a shredded eight-pack.
But for Kye it was a firm, No.
Kye was scouted after he featured in pictures on his model girlfriend’s Instagram. Source: Instagram

Beveridge said at first he ‘couldn’t think of anything worse’ than modelling. Source: Instagram

“I was super against it at first, there is a kind of stigma around male models, you know that you love yourself and you’re a stuck-up person.
“I kept thinking about my mates and it was just so not me,” Beveridge laughs.
“To be honest at the time I couldn’t think of anything worse.”
He sure didn’t want to be an influencer, but he later decided hell with it and gave modelling a crack.
Now he has signed with modelling agent Precision, landing swimwear shoots and shots in campaigns for designer brands, all in between carpenter calls on site.
“I work as a chippie full-time but my boss is pretty chill when a job comes up and I have to take a day off for modelling.
“But I don’t take myself too seriously and now I really do enjoy it.”
So does his father!
“Dad and I are super tight. He was a good looking rooster when he was young so maybe he wishes he had done it. I honestly think he is more proud of this than any other footy thing.
“It’s surprised me how chuffed he is, he is always running his mouth off about it. When you strip Dad back he is very soft, caring and fun.”

More Coverage​

Rusty not the only ‘slob’ refused entryHywood’s sexy hijinks bared in tell-all book
A reluctant model no more, Kye admits to being a bit of a handful at photo shoots.
Not because of diva demands – he’s not that kind of model. It’s just his hands are usually covered in glue and gunk from the work site.

Article on the AFL site

HEADING into round one, one thing remains unclear at the Western Bulldogs: what end of the ground will Sam Darcy play in 2023?

The 2021 No.2 pick played predominantly in defence across his four games last season – the final month, including the elimination final – and has spent most of the pre-season training as a backman at Skinner Reserve. But in recent weeks, the 208cm utility has been swung forward in match simulation, where he played in the intraclub at Mars Stadium last weekend.With Rory Lobb (207cm) slotting in alongside star spearhead Aaron Naughton (196cm) this summer and Jamarra Ugle-Hagan (197cm) banking a full pre-season, the Western Bulldogs have a plethora of tall targets in attack this year – something they haven't had in the past.
If Luke Beveridge persists with all four as forwards to start the season, the Dogs will have the tallest forward line in the AFL when they face Melbourne on the first Saturday night of the season.

Western Bulldogs general manager of football Chris Grant said the club is considering using all four together if they continue to perform, even if the prospect of being that tall isn't common.

"Ultimately, form dictates selection. If all four are playing well, if we're playing well on the back of it, and if we're able to retain the ball and score, why can't it work? It all comes down to how they go, really," Grant told AFL.com.au this week.

"We don't often see it, but we used to say: how many 200cm players can you have in your team? But the 200cm players are now all athletes. It's the 205cm-plus options, so it is always changing."
With key defender Ryan Gardner sidelined to start the season after undergoing elbow surgery on Tuesday following a knock in the intraclub, Darcy may return to defence to cover the Tasmanian's absence.

The Bulldogs have plenty of coverage behind the ball after signing Liam Jones via free agency in October following 12 months out of the game. Josh Bruce has been moved down back and is more of a like-for-like replacement, while Alex Keath has also been a regular fixture since crossing from Adelaide at the end of 2019.
"In recent weeks Sam has been playing forward, but (with) Ryan's injury, there is a ripple effect from that. What transpires from that we don't know just yet. It probably does change things. Brucey has put his hand up for that position as well," Grant said.

"This is the deepest we've had in that area and what's pleasing is there is a spread across a whole different demographic. With Jonesy at his end and then Lobby and Brucey as well, there is a group below them age-wise. Jedd Busslinger is another one, who is brand new, but another key defender. We probably haven't seen this level of depth in some time."
The newfound depth this pre-season has led to some healthy discussions in match committee across the past few weeks, and they will intensify across the next fortnight leading into round one.

Regardless of where Darcy plays in season two, Grant said the club has been impressed with his training form across the past two months and his diligence this summer, after his pre-Christmas block was interrupted by a knee infection.

"The thing about Sam is he is a guy that is really committed to his development. He takes real ownership for that. That means he is asking all the right questions; he understands himself really well and has really good self-awareness of where he needs to improve and how he can improve. That's really encouraging for a young man," he said.
Photos
"I think for him, he is a growing person who has grown rapidly, and that comes with risks of being able to push it and have consistency of training at a really high level. We've had to monitor that. His initial injury forced us to do that and that's not a bad thing. He is still growing up and out, so we need to be careful. But to have someone of his age and size so comfortable playing senior footy is really encouraging."

After providing a glimpse of his prodigious talent late last season, the son of club great Luke Darcy will start his second season as one of the favourites for the Rising Star award.
Brisbane father-son Will Ashcroft is the clear favourite ahead of round one, but along with North Melbourne's Harry Sheezel, Hawthorn's Cam Mackenzie and Greater Western Sydney's Finn Callaghan, Darcy is a strong contender to claim the prestigious prize in 2023.

Now we wait to see where he starts the year.

Western Bulldogs v North Melbourne: Scores, stats and news from AFL pre-season​

The Bulldogs kicked a massive score on their way to a 58-point win over the Roos, but it was in their back half that a new addition stood out. See the match notes, news and updates here.

Sam Landsberger

March 4, 2023 - 11:42PM

Dashing defender Rohan Smith spent plenty of his 300-game career pumping the ball into the AFL’s smallest forward line led by his 182cm best mate Brad Johnson.

On Saturday Smith watched in awe as perhaps the tallest forward line ever assembled struck 22 goals in a demolition of North Melbourne.

The Dogs showed their hand at Ikon Park – surrounding 196cm spearhead Aaron Naughton with Rory Lobb (207cm), Sam Darcy (208cm) and Jamarra Ugle-Hagan (197cm) … with 208cm ruckman Tim English rotating with Lobb.

The wash-up was four goals for Naughton, three for Jamarra, two for Darcy, one for Lobb and migraines for undersized defenders watching on TV from home.

The Dogs tall forward line fired. Picture: Getty Images

At one stage Roos co-captain Luke McDonald was left to man Darcy (three contested marks), giving away about 20cm.

“We wanted to have a look at it today, and the four talls really played well,” Smith, the Dogs’ backline coach, said.

“You kick 22 goals in a game and at times we looked really dominant in the air, which is a great sign for us.

“They worked really well together as well. There was a couple of times where they flew against each other – but that’s terrific.

“It shows their competitiveness and their willingness to fly in the air. But the synergy and the cohesiveness that they had in our forward line was outstanding.

“It was a pretty positive sign.”

The Dogs are told to play on instinct. But Smith said that with so much size there was a get-out option.

Rory Lobb in his new colours.

“We’ve always got to know that there’s three talls down there, and don’t be afraid to kick it to a 1v1 or 2v2 contest.”

Roos assistant Leigh Adams warned the land of the giants attack wasn’t the lanky giants.

“It’s a really unique forward line because they can all move as well,” Adams said.

“They’re all pretty good ground-level players, particularly Naughton obviously who can do it all.”

The Dogs play 12 games under their Marvel Stadium roof, where conditions will suit the stand-and-deliver targets.

STOPPAGE SCARS

ONE positive for North Melbourne was 2020 first-round picks Will Phillips and Tom Powell (both 17 disposals) are fit and firing on the verge of round 1.

The bad news was they were given a lesson around the footy from the likes of Marcus Bontempelli, Tom Liberatore and Jack Macrae.

“I don’t think we’re going to be the last team who gets a good lesson from them,” Adams said.

“They’re the benchmark when it comes to reactions to get out of the contest. When they’ve got the ball in their hands and they can flick it around they can cause a real bit of damage.”

It’s going to take a lot more than one summer of Alastair Clarkson to make North Melbourne competitive against top-eight teams.

Will Phillips wasn’t prolific but looks fit for round 1.

Bontempelli – who has looked banged-up in recent seasons – looked as fresh as ever, and with Charles Sutton Medal votes awarded after the Dogs’ 58-point thrashing at Ikon Park it is not a stretch to say he is leading the best-and-fairest he has already won four times.

Fox Footy’s Jonathan Brown screamed: “Bont for Brownlow!” seconds before the captain slotted the first goal of the second half.

By full-time he had 27 disposals, 10 clearances (five centre) and two goals.

IMPASSABLE JONES

LIAM Jones started on Nick Larkey and started with nine disposals, five marks (one contested) and five rebounds in the first quarter.

The 32-year-old recruited for nothing from Palm Beach Currumbin finished with nine intercept marks as an impassable object at full-back.

Liam Jones marks ahead of Ben Cunnington.

With Ryan Gardner injured, Zaine Cordy at St Kilda and Alex Keath briefly sidelined for a concussion test (which he passed) it was left to Jones to stand up on Saturday.

And he did. The Tasmanian recruited to play full-forward for the Dogs 15 years ago might just be the missing link in their backline.

The positives flowed for the Bulldogs all over the ground.

Endurance machine Anthony Scott, restationed on a wing, booted three first-half goals while Oskar Baker showed outsiders why insiders have rated him as a pre-season standout.

The Melbourne recruit is a lock in coach Luke Beveridge’s best 22.

DOGS AND ROOS SCOUTING NOTES​

WESTERN BULLDOGS

1. ADAM TRELOAR.
Left-foot snap goal from boundary early in the first quarter was beautiful. Unselfishly gave his captain a goal in the third quarter. Looked sharp and will increase midfield minutes this year with best mate Josh Dunkley up north.

2. JAMARRA UGLE-HAGAN. Grew up idolising Buddy Franklin, but fell in love with the way Jeremy Cameron played in 2022. Mercurial talent who looks primed to breakout … and leave egg on the faces of those who questioned his development in 2021-222.

3. CODY WEIGHTMAN. Late withdrawal with a sore adductor. Still appears likely to play in round 1, where his tackling and pressure will be a huge asset at the feet of the league’s longest forward line.

4. MARCUS BONTEMPELLI. Jonathan Brown called: “Bont for Brownlow! He’s looked sensational today” seconds before Bontempelli slotted the first goal of the second half. Dogs outscored North by 50 points from stoppages and Bont had 10 clearances. You could sense footy was back when a bunch of Roos supporters heckled ‘Bont’ relentlessly over the boundary line for being ‘smug’ in the first few minutes. Started pre-season early with the club’s youngsters and has not missed a single training session. Watchout.

6. BAILEY SMITH. Started the second centre bounce out of the goalsquare, but that was a rarity as Instagram’s most-liked footballer chalked up 30 disposals and five clearances. Won a game-high 18 contested possessions playing inside.

7. RORY LOBB. Only the one mark and one goal as he searches for synergy in his third AFL forward line. Unmissable wherever he runs.

9. HAYDEN CROZIER. Dislocated finger, which popped through the skin, ended his afternoon after 13 disposals dashing out of defence. Wonder whether it will be Crozier or Vandermeer for a place in the backline when the latter returns from a broken leg.

10. SAM DARCY. Towering mark in the third quarter was a scary glimpse at what this kid will become. Played forward (although that didn’t stop him tackling Cunnington in the centre square) but is the one tall target – ahead of Naughton, Ugle-Hagan and Lobb – who is likely to be swung behind the ball when match-ups require.

11. JACK MACRAE. Played as an outside midfielder and pumped the ball inside 50m nine times. Luke Beveridge once noted that Macrae often starts AFL seasons slowly however he still had 32 in the warm-up game.

13. OSKAR BAKER. Plan was to stay on the bench, but with injuries the Dogs were forced to bring him on as a forward … and he kicked the first goal of the game. Former Demon has nice wheels.

14. RHYLEE WEST. The son of a gun was surprisingly dropped for last year’s elimination final and only came into the extended team when Weightman withdrew, and on to the field in the second quarter. Booted a last-quarter goal but on pre-season selection appears to be behind Arthur Jones. Hopefully West gets a good crack at it this season after a trio of father-sons (Cordy, Hunter, Wallis) all left the club.

15. TAYLOR DURYEA. Walked out of Ikon Park with the doctor in the first quarter wearing a neck brace. Taken to hospital for precautionary neck scans, but they came back all-clear. Big relief because the on-field leader and shutdown defender might be the man to play on Kozzie Pickett in the season-opener.

16. TOBY McLEAN. After playing just four games since suffering his first ACL in 2020 it was simply heart-warming to see McLean fit in March. Played on the wing at times and won 16 disposals. Only one tackle on Saturday but when the real stuff starts expect his animal-like attack to fire up once again.

17. JOSH BRUCE. Back to where it all began at AFL level for Bruce, playing as a key defender. He came on earlier than anticipated and took an intercept mark in the first term. Promising signs, particularly with Zaine Cordy gone and Ryan Gardner injured.

19. LIAM JONES. Eyebrows were raised when Jones, 32, was handed a three-year contract. Admittedly, it is still zero games into that contract – but after one scratch match it looks a shrewd decision. Might be the missing piece for a backline that was scored against too easily last year. Closing speed and competitiveness are elite and nine intercept marks showed he was often impassable.

20. ED RICHARDS. Suffered a bad corkie to his left leg in the second quarter. That won’t hamper his round 1 chances.

21. TOM LIBERATORE. Kicked two goals – one from about 50m – to go with eight clearances, 33 disposals and seven tackles. This was vintage Libba in the summertime as he caught the Kangas kids an onball lesson. Started last season at half-forward but lock and load him in the centre square this year.

28. ANTHONY SCOTT. One of the summer success stories after sealing a spot on the wing. As Rohan Smith said, Scott has a super tank so he can get up and down the ground, he’s got speed and, as three first-half goals showed, he hits the scoreboard. Set to play round 1.

31. BAILEY DALE. Nobody on the field kicked it more than Dale (22) and we’ve seen the past two years what a weapon that is.

32. ARTHUR JONES. The kid with ties to football greats Jim and Phil Krakouer is a bolter, although it would be a surprise if he played round 1. The Dogs need speed, pressure and competitiveness at the feet of their talls and this kid brings that. Booted two goals.

33. AARON NAUGHTON. Hard to know what was more impressive – six tackles or 4.0? Naughton’s first combined both, coming after winning a holding the ball free kick. That would’ve pleased the coaches immensely. The sometimes-wonky spearhead didn’t miss on Saturday after slotting 51.34 last year. Can Naughton convert 70 from, say, 100 shots this year? That would put him in Coleman Medal territory.

34. BAILEY WILLIAMS. Utility who often lined up on the wing last year played a mostly outside game with 12 disposals. Not one for SuperCoach.

35. CALEB DANIEL. The helmet was back – Daniel didn’t don it in the intra-club – and he was mainly deployed on a halfback flank.

39. JASON JOHANNISEN. Pleasing to see him run out for Footscray after the AFL game as the Norm Smith winner builds fitness.

42. ALEX KEATH. Passed a concussion test and returned to the field in the third quarter. With Ryan Gardner injured and Zaine Cordy at St Kilda … phew.

44. TIM ENGLISH. Is this the 2023 All-Australian ruckman? Gave away a few free kicks but his tap work has improved out of sight and is effectively an extra midfielder.

NORTH MELBOURNE

2. JAIDYN STEPHENSON.
Sat out the first half. Started the second with a shot on goal and finished with 1.1 from 10 touches. Alastair Clarkson will be the 2018 Rising Star winner’s fourth coach in as many years … will the penny drop?

3. HARRY SHEEZEL. The one-step snap after two teammates collided in the first quarter was very Luke Breust. But 10 disposals playing behind the ball in the fourth quarter has Roos thinking about reprogramming their teenage jet into a halfback, Nick Daicos-style.

7. JACK ZIEBELL. Started at halfback and mainly used the ball by foot. Important leadership alongside Luke McDonald in the back half.

8. BAILEY SCOTT. Played on the wing and had 10 disposals.

9. LUKE DAVIES-UNIACKE. Six clearances, three inside 50s and a goal for the kid who stormed to the finish line last season. Needs to roll that form into 2023.

10. BEN CUNNINGTON. Pleasure to watch the old warrior play. At 31 he had another nine clearances to show he will help lead the way for the glut of baby onballers.

11. LUKE McDONALD. Spent plenty of time on Jamarra Ugle-Hagan and the captaincy appears to be a snug fit for the fearless defender who racks up plenty of the ball. Reckon ‘Clarko’ would love this kid.

12. JY SIMPKIN. The other co-captain was North’s best player, leading the way with 31 disposals and four tackles. His handballs always seem to find a teammate and there’s a nice split between inside and outside possessions.

14. LIAM SHIELS. Premiership teammate Jordan Lewis said he was surprised the Hawks let Shiels go, and the Roos have loved the standards he has helped set. Spent some time on the wing and on McLean, and finished with 11 touches. Mids and wings are learning so much from Shiels.

16. AIDAN BONAR. Undersized defender who is on the fringe of selection.

19. GRIFFIN LOGUE. Former Fremantle swingman started on Aaron Naughton at full-back on what was an all-too-familiar difficult day for North’s defenders. But Logue put himself in good positions to mark the ball and will form a strong partnership with full-back Ben McKay.

20. NICK LARKEY. Snagged three goals from six kicks however so many of North’s straight entries were gobbled up by Bulldog backmen.

22. TODD GOLDSTEIN. The veteran had 19 hit-outs as the Roos played two genuine rucks alongside Xerri.

23. BEN McKAY. Difficult day playing against the land of the giants attack but McKay took an important step developing his one-two defensive combination with recruit Griffin Logue.

24. TOM POWELL. Never kicked two goals in an AFL match but slotted a pair in the last quarter. Got better as the game wore on and the Roos love the ball in Powell’s hands because he uses it so well, particularly forward of centre. Looked to have bulked up and is one Roo with a bright future.

25. PAUL CURTIS. Played as a pressure forward and finished with 1.2 with three score assists. Zero tackles on Saturday.

27. MILLER BERGMAN. Only came on in the final quarter, when he laid a couple of tackles and had five touches.

28. KAYNE TURNER. Small forward who spent some time on Bailey Dale and attended a few centre bounces, winning one takeaway.

29. WILL PHILLIPS. Won a nice centre clearance late in the last quarter to finish with four clearances for the match. Phillips, who missed all of 2022 with glandular fever, was still on a modified training program in November, so it’s a fair effort to put himself in contention for round 1. As Leigh Adams said: “We just can’t wait to get games into him and let the outside world see how good of a player we think he can be”.

30. CHARLIE COMBEN. The kid was badly beaten against an experienced defence and gave away five free kicks. Still, lots to like about the 199cm key forward.

31. JOSH GOATER. Rotated through the backline but turned the ball over a few times by foot. Another Roo who has talent but needs time.

38. TRISTAN XERRI. Won plenty of hit-outs but the Dogs’ onball brigade were dominant at stoppages. Looks like the Roos will back in the Xerri-Goldstein partnership.

39. FLYNN PEREZ. Nice tackle to bring down Adam Treloar was a nice moment for the young halfback who had 13 disposals and four rebound 50s.

44. CAMERON ZURHAAR. Sat out the second half with a tight calf after being held scoreless from eight disposals and no marks. Didn’t play as much centre bounce as last week, although that was due to Ben Cunnington and Jy Simpkin sitting out. Certain to be fit for round 1 and likely to play about a 70-30 split between forward-midfield.

SHEEZEL MOVED BACK BY CLARKO

Alastair Clarkson is considering reprogramming natural goalkicker Harry Sheezel into a halfback in a move that would see the No. 3 draft pick follow in the footsteps of reigning Rising Star winner Nick Daicos.

Sheezel, who was lauded as a fast learner after Saturday’s practice match loss to Western Bulldogs, showed shades of Hawthorn champion Luke Breust when he snapped a beautiful goal off one step in the first quarter at Ikon Park.

But the kid with enormous footy IQ and creativity was sent behind the ball in the final quarter – and won 10 disposals, four handball receives, two rebounds and one inside 50 to cause a round 1 rethink in Clarkson’s box.

“It’s a tough one. Early days I was really keen that he should play as a forward,” forwards coach Leigh Adams said.

“But seeing him in that last quarter today he gave us something probably a little bit different that we didn’t have in our back six for the first three quarters.

“His ability to get in the right position for handball receives and then link up and get multiple possessions and put the ball inside 50m for us.

Harry Sheezel was experimented in the back line for the final term. Picture: Getty Images

“It’s going to be an interesting one. I liken it a little bit to Nick Daicos last year, where he came in as a midfielder and they decided to sit him behind the ball to start with and ease him into the game a little bit more.

“He looked pretty good there. It’ll be a call for ‘Clarko’ to make, but probably after that last quarter it’s put a little bit more pressure on him to go back.”
Adams said he loved how Sheezel, 18, absorbed information.

“If there’s an area of his game he needs to work on then you have the conversation with him and within the next week it’s fixed,” he said.

“He just wants to get better, he wants to be a really good player and what he’s got is some real X-Factor.”

Adams conceded recruit Darcy Tucker (knee) was unlikely to be fit for the round 1 clash against West Coast at Marvel Stadium.

But Aidan Corr and Aaron Hall played in Saturday evening’s VFL match against Footscray and are on track while Cameron Zurhaar (calf tightness) is certain to line-up despite being substituted out at halftime on Saturday.

“We think we’re going to have 40 guys available for round 1, which is a real positive considering we’ve been short on numbers (at this time of year),” Adams said.

What They're Saying - The Bulldogs Media Thread - Part 4